Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Five held after Real IRA shooting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

The real IRA even bothering to include the letters I, R and A in their name is laughable.
    Another rival drug dealer shot for the good of the Republic was it...
    Maybe the murderers will eventually be let out on the good Friday agreement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,031 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Interestingly, the ERU had him under surveillance but he still got murdered.

Seems like they weren't too bothered about doing their job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Zebra3 wrote: »

Maybe they have the same idea as the majority of the public on how much a 'loss' him being shot constituted to society..

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,545 Mod ✭✭✭✭spockety

Knowing all of the particulars of the incident as you do, what exactly would you suggest the surveillance team should have done?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭laoch na mona

The real IRA even bothering to include the letters I, R and A in their name is laughable.
    Another rival drug dealer shot for the good of the Republic was it...
    Maybe the murderers will eventually be let out on the good Friday agreement.
    i agree but whats with the GFA reference any group that hasn't decommissioned is viewed as a criminal group

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭Crooked Jack

i agree but whats with the GFA reference any group that hasn't decommissioned is viewed as a criminal group

Some people just cant resist getting a dig in at the provos even when it has nothing to do with them. As with all these threads expect Sinn Fein bashing before it moves on to Gerry Adams and then finally descends into repeated howls of Warrington, Jean McConville, Jerry McCabe before being closed for going completely off topic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

Thread should really be closed now.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Provo crime = good
    Dissident crime = bad
    mkay?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,612 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Some people just cant resist getting a dig in at the provos even when it has nothing to do with them. As with all these threads expect Sinn Fein bashing before it moves on to Gerry Adams and then finally descends into repeated howls of Warrington, Jean McConville, Jerry McCabe before being closed for going completely off topic.
    Fancy the provos eh?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭gallag

Thread should really be closed now.
    Why?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 805 ✭✭✭SB2013

spockety wrote: »
    Knowing all of the particulars of the incident as you do, what exactly would you suggest the surveillance team should have done?

Have you never played video games or watched a movie? They should have hit the slow time button as soon as they saw a gun, then the protagonist (we'll call him max power) runs in and disarms the main bad guy with a number of well executed combos while his colleagues point guns at the accomplices who drop their weapons in fear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

gallag wrote: »
    Anyone any info?

Yeah a guy was shot and now 5 people have been remanded in custody over it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭gallag

AnonoBoy wrote: »

Yeah a guy was shot and now 5 people have been remanded in custody over it.
    You probably get this all the time but have you ever considered a career in investigative journalism?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭juice1304

They woud'nt have the right to arrest them unless they have committed a crime.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Not that different from the Provo's including the letters I,R and A in their name, apart from the fact that the current crop of riff raff
    are not half as lethal as their predecessors. Thank God.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭tin79

juice1304 wrote: »

So if someone is about the murder another person in full view of the Gardai they cant do anything until after the person is dead as up to that point no crime is comitted? :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,096 ✭✭✭SoulandForm

My prayers are with the three young children of this man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

If you are sitting in a car watching someone across the road and a car quickly pulls up next to a person, one guy jumps out and shoots him 5 times I'd say it would be pretty much impossible to stop it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

LordSutch wrote: »
    Not that different from the Provo's including the letters I,R and A in their name, apart from the fact that the current crop of riff raff
    are not half as lethal as their predecessors. Thank God.

The provos will be remembered as the definitive IRA era. The early stuff is good too but its more like a debut album.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

Thread title should be changed to "drug dealing scum killing each other", because that is all this is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,031 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

anncoates wrote: »
    Maybe they have the same idea as the majority of the public on how much a 'loss' him being shot constituted to society..

I didn't realise the guards were meant to pick and choose who they let die and who they save. :rolleyes:
    spockety wrote: »
    juice1304 wrote: »

Intervene? :confused:

Bambi wrote: »
    The provos will be remembered as the definitive IRA era.

Yes indeed, the definitive killing machine era/ one of the bleakest eras to ever haunt this island.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

I didn't realise the guards were meant o pick and choose who they let die and who they save. :rolleyes:

Please be more specific.

Or do you, like me not have a clue of the particular circumstances and therefore should not make assumptions of what the guards should or should not have done?

Yes indeed, the definitive killing machine era/ one of the bleakest eras to ever haunt this island.

You obviously dont know much about Irish history if you can say that.

If you are going to live (mostly) in this country maybe it would be a good idea to really learn something about it before commenting on events in it, particularly events that have their root causes in the actions of your own ruling class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,624 ✭✭✭Hoop66

I didn't realise the guards were meant o pick and choose who they let die and who they save.
    They're not, but they do, Fairly regularly as far as I can make out. Both here and in the UK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

I never mentioned the provisional, the continuity or official IRA. My point is that the Real IRA are no different than any other drugs gang. The IRA branding is the biggest load of bull**** when all they're interested in is controlling the drugs trade.

You obviously dont know much about Irish history if you can say that.

Have you ever once condemned the Provisional IRA and their actions?

I didn't realise the guards were meant o pick and choose who they let die and who they save. :rolleyes:

Could you be more specific in what particular action they should have taken in this instance?
    Hoop66 wrote: »
    They're not, but they do, Fairly regularly as far as I can make out. Both here and in the UK.

I'd love to see some shred of proof for that one. Even a sensationalist Daily mail article would be a start

Have you ever once condemned the Provisional IRA and their actions?

Yes I have as a matter of fact.

But the root cause of the violence was British colonialism.

Yes I have as a matter of fact.

But the root cause of the violence was British colonialism.

Their we have the excuse again. The excuse for what the Provo's did in the name of the Irish people.

Disgusting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,687 ✭✭✭✭jack presley

When they say under surveillance, it's not like its the Secret Service and the US President. They arent there to act as protection for him, theyre checking out what he's up to. They have to be discreet and keep there distance or they'd blow their cover. I think if they pulled up behind him in the car park he might realise he's being watched.

And as someone else said, if someone else drives up and shoots him and they are a distance away, there would be nothing they could do. I'd actually give then credit for the fact that they caught them so quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,081 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Apparently he was warned more than once that his life may be in danger. Other than that I don't see what the Gardai could do to stop it. They can only work on the intel they have, and within the confines of the law.

Fancy the provos eh?

I'm totes going to meet them behind the bike shed.

There is an interesting discussion could be had on dissidents and organised criminality but we can never have it here because it always descends into SF bashing or blaming the IRA (the actual IRA, not these clowns) for everything under the sun by the end of the the first page. It's tiresome, repetitive and boring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 pinkpetal

When they say under surveillance, it's not like its the Secret Service and the US President. They arent there to act as protection for him, theyre checking out what he's up to. They have to be discreet and keep there distance or they'd blow their cover. I think if they pulled up behind him in the car park he might realise he's being watched.

And as someone else said, if someone else drives up and shoots him and they are a distance away, there would be nothing they could do. I'd actually give then credit for the fact that they caught them so quickly.

The Guards were swarming the area hours before the shooting, on a normal day you'd be lucky to see one at all here. The guys obviously didn't plan their getaway well either as the road the took afterwards has had road works on it the past two weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,624 ✭✭✭Hoop66

SB2013 wrote: »
    I'd love to see some shred of proof for that one. Even a sensationalist Daily mail article would be a start
    I should probably clarify, I'm more suggesting here that what Garda/Police consider to be what they charmingly call "scum on scum" killings/assaults are not always as thoroughly investigated or aggressively prosecuted as they might be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭monkeypants

I'm disappointed to find that this thread isn't an announcement for a new Enid Blyton novel after all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 799 ✭✭✭Logical_Bear

anncoates wrote: »
    like the way garda surveilance stopped 24hrs before the general got hit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

It took 30 posts for someone to blame the Brits.

You stay classy, boards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 428 ✭✭OCorcrainn

Their we have the excuse again. The excuse for what the Provo's did in the name of the Irish people.

Disgusting.

Do you ever answer questions put to you or do always just ask irrelevant questions in response and making excuses instead?

In fact I always see you condemn what Irish nationalists have done but nobody else. You derail a thread about drug dealers into something about the Troubles. Yourself, Vladimir and a few others make me sick with this constant derailment and whataboutery, ignoring the circumstances and the environment which the unionists and British created to cause otherwise decent Irish folk who were treated like sub-human second class citizens to finally end up committing violence as all their peaceful protests were met with brutality and death.

Seeming as you and some others have no clue about the conflict I suggest you read this and stop your narrowminded pontificating.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1969_Northern_Ireland_riots

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

When are we going to learn the difference between one group of unelected terrorists who use crime to finance their dream of a 32 county Ireland and another one group of unelected terrorists who used crime to finance their dream of a 32 county Ireland?

It's simples people. Why can't anyone differentiate?

Hoop66 wrote: »
    I should probably clarify, I'm more suggesting here that what Garda/Police consider to be what they charmingly call "scum on scum" killings/assaults are not always as thoroughly investigated or aggressively prosecuted as they might be.

I have never heard that phrase before.

And can you point out one case that wasn't investigated in any way thoroughly. In actual fact, the only murder i know of in the last while that hasn't resulted in a prosecution is the one of a Garda.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 428 ✭✭OCorcrainn

You should be asking yourself that question Vladimir, by the way feel free to spout the usual ráméis and ignore the link I posted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭Fozzie Bear

No doubt you are completely correct sir and know the full and exact circumstances of the shooting. SEEMS like you were there? SEEMS like you withness it? SEEMS like you done nothing to save this mans life? You sir SEEM to be worse then Hitler.

The ERU have no doubt got countless dirtbags under suveillance around the country. And Ipso facto those same dirtbags should be safe from all and any harm be-falling them by your logic. Right? Fall and scratch their knee? Not to worry the ERU is there to kiss away their boo-boo and put a plaster on it.

But I digress, Do enlighten the rest of us would you? How many of the lazy sod Gardai were surveilling him at that exact moment? Was there van loads of them sitting in the car park? Probably too busy eating doughnuts and coffee too cos you know thats what they eat all the time. Being the Gardai and not being too bothered about doing their job.

Funnily enough those same lazy sods put their lives on the line to stop the armed killers, all 5 of them, all be it after waiting for them to off the dude first of course. Because they weren't too bothered about doing their job.

Or so it SEEMS...

OCorcrainn wrote: »
    You should be asking yourself that question Vladimir

Indeed. The answer of course is that the real patriots are the ones I personally favour. Anyone else is a scumbag criminal masquerading as a patriot. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

Is Real pronounced like Real Madrid?

In fact I always see you condemn what Irish nationalists have done but nobody else.

Tosh of the highest order^ only recently I turned on the Loyalist low lifes during the Union Flag/Pipe band trouble.
    You derail a thread about drug dealers into something about the Troubles.

No, I only pointed out in post#16 that the Provo's also used IRA in their name!

Bambi then ran with it in post#20 by saying
    Bambi wrote: »
    "The provos will be remembered as the definitive IRA era".

Which then prompted me to post the following in post#23
    "Yes indeed, the definitive killing machine era/ one of the bleakest eras to ever haunt this island".

Then SoulandFarm got into it, and then you arrived on the IRA defensive bandwagon.

It may indeed "make you sick" that people like me condemn the PIRA/RIRA, but I refuse to do otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,592 ✭✭✭2ndcoming

It may indeed "make you sick" that people like me condemn the PIRA/RIRA, but I refuse to do otherwise.
    When are we going to learn the difference between one group of unelected terrorists who use crime to finance their dream of a 32 county Ireland and another one group of unelected terrorists who used crime to finance their dream of a 32 county Ireland?

It's simples people. Why can't anyone differentiate?

You're both deliberately linking this band of criminals whose only interest is control of the drugs trade or profiteering from said drugs trade for personal gain in a time of relative peace with a group of terrorists who commited regrettable acts under huge provocation in a time of subjugation and conflict, purely because it suits your Daily Mail fueled point of view.

There is no link in the motivations, ideals or goals of either group, that's a pretty big difference in my opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Do you ever answer questions put to you or do always just ask irrelevant questions in response and making excuses instead?

In fact I always see you condemn what Irish nationalists have done but nobody else. You derail a thread about drug dealers into something about the Troubles. Yourself, Vladimir and a few others make me sick with this constant derailment and whataboutery, ignoring the circumstances and the environment which the unionists and British created to cause otherwise decent Irish folk who were treated like sub-human second class citizens to finally end up committing violence as all their peaceful protests were met with brutality and death.

Seeming as you and some others have no clue about the conflict I suggest you read this and stop your narrowminded pontificating.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1969_Northern_Ireland_riots

Well said.

This should be cut and pasted into any thread that touches on the troubles.

These people you mention would have been the type of people who stuck their heads in the sand and contributed to sustaining the conflict.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 663 ✭✭✭space_man

Freemason. wrote: »
    One less Republican terrorist to worry about. Ulster will be safe tonight. Enjoy the meal earthworms.

no 6 less to be correct!:D

Fair play to the Gardaí.
    i know they get criticized a bit but they reacted very well on this occasion, showed immense courage and have taken these scummers off the streets hopefully for a considerable length of time.

Freemason. wrote: »
    One less Republican terrorist to worry about. Ulster will be safe tonight. Enjoy the meal earthworms.

The people of Donegal, Cavan and Monaghan can sleep soundly