Not accepting a homosexual as a roommate. Discrimination/Homophobic?

• Administrators Posts: 56,574 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

tunedout wrote: »
    So isn't it fine to say that some straight people might be more comfortable living with straight people aswell?
    Have you any issue with that?
    Of course it's fine. As I said, you are free to decide who you want to live with. If you'd rather live with straight people that's 100% fine. You are not a homophobe.

If you'd rather live with gay people that's 100% fine. You are not a "heterophobe" or whatever the fecking word is.

If you are a girl and you want to live with girls you are not sexist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

It's not right but its understandable. I've lived with guys gays straights and gays and different ethnicities and I've never found any singular grouping more or less desirable. Some annoyed me others didn't but it was never gender/so/ethnicity specific

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Some houses advertise as female / male only. I don't think it's discrimination, no one should be forced to live with some one, there's plenty of other houses to rent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,943 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

orestes wrote: »
    You're not looking for a less biased opinion, you're looking for people to back up your bullsh1t.

person wants to choose who they live with shocker!

i didn't take one option on a place in dublin because the person who showed it to me had a really screechy voice. who did i discriminate against there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

IM0 wrote: »
    maybe you dont want to hear two guys going at it, on the other side of your accommodations thin plasterboard [usually] wall

guys no, girls...yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,683 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Wouldn't be comfortable hiring/living with a woman: sexual discrimination

Wouldn't be comfortable hiring/living with a man: sexual discrimination

Wouldn't be comfortable hiring/living with a Homosexual: sexual discrimination

Wouldn't be comfortable hiring/living with a Catholic: religious discrimination

Wouldn't be comfortable hiring/living with a Protestant: religious discrimination

Wouldn't be comfortable hiring/living with a Muslim: religious discrimination

Wouldn't be comfortable hiring/living with a Jew: religious discrimination

Wouldn't be comfortable hiring/living with a Black person: racial discrimination

Wouldn't be comfortable hiring/living with a White person: racial discrimination

Wouldn't be comfortable hiring/living with a Homicidal Maniac: common sense

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

the people you are going to live with are not your employers, so can decide who they want to live with. the only reason discrimination exists is because it a law punishable by whatever the punishment is according to whats been broken. basically you have no leg to stand on get over it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 277 ✭✭fortuneteller

A friend of mine had a gay friend of his renting a room in his house in london..
    only problem was he'd didnt know he was gay until he was met on the landing one morning by a big black male.......that had just emerged from this guys room...He asked him to leave that evening, And i'd have done the same...

Can you see why someone's sex, age, race, religion would make them any harder to live with?
    If we assume that they can't coexist. Right off the bat though you're assuming things about the person, like "Oh he's an Atheist, so like, he wouldn't have any fear of trying to steal from me or rape me etc." Or perhaps you assume the muslim applying is a tyrannical jihadist. Or that the girl you bring in is going to clog up the shower drain and smear dirty tampons on the window.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

It's clearly discrimination. It's practically a textbook definition of it.

Any decision not to let anyone be your roomate is discrimination. Whether it's because they're a girl, black, smelly, on the sex offenders register or cross-eyed you're discriminating. Whether your discrimination is reasonable is a different discussion.

It's a pretty clear case of homophobia and I mean that in the literal sense - a phobia of gay people. It sounds like you have a level of discomfort with gay people due to an ignorance of what they're like. Doesn't mean you'e the devil or anything, but it is silly.
    I have a similar phobia but I know it's silly and it wouldn't cause me to discriminate against someone for being gay (or at least I hope it wouldn't).

Incidentally, I think that a good way to cure that phobia would be to actually get a gay roomate. Take away some of the mystique and misconceptions about it - they'd be "your roomate Steve" as opposed to "some gay fella".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Some people need to cop on, in every choice you make you're discriminating something/someone.

Prefer to drink Lyon's tea = discriminating Barry's tea
    Prefer to eat pork = discriminating all other meats
    Prefer to live with a football fan = discriminating non football fans

and so on...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

OP would you mind if it was a lesbian?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭Rothmans

A friend of mine had a gay friend of his renting a room in his house in london..
    only problem was he'd didnt know he was gay until he was met on the landing one morning by a big black male.......that had just emerged from this guys room...He asked him to leave that evening, And i'd have done the same...

Hold on, are you saying its ok to be racist or homophobic, or both :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,204 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

Why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Your friend is clearly racist and homophobic.

So racism and homophobia to boot. Classy.

I remember hanging out at a friends place once where her gay room mate was having a guy over with barry white playing in the background. We just thought it was funny, not offensive. Live and let live.

Wow.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 448 ✭✭tunedout

OP would you mind if it was a lesbian?

I'm not sure. Definitely not, if we were looking for another lad to have the craic with in the evenings/go on the p*ss with etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

Your friend is clearly racist and homophobic.
    Overheal wrote: »
    So racism and homophobia to boot. Classy.

I remember hanging out at a friends place once where her gay room mate was having a guy over with barry white playing in the background. We just thought it was funny, not offensive. Live and let live.
    efb wrote: »
    Wow.

You didn't let him finish.

Turns out the large black man was his friend's boyfriend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

To be honest I'd have done the same?

Why? Because the flatmate had a stranger over without first asking me if I was ok with that. If a busty blonde emerged from the lads room I would have done the exact same.

P_1 wrote: »

Why? Because the flatmate had a stranger over without first asking me if I was ok with that. If a busty blonde emerged from the lads room I would have done the exact same.

I would have sent her straight into my room.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

P_1 wrote: »

Probably because the friend fancied the flatmate himself :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭MickFleetwood

Why?

You think they'll molest you or something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

in b4 its closed again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,189 ✭✭✭boomerang

The fact that you're calling the person a homosexual signals to me you are not comfortable with gay people!

As someone already said, getting to know some gay people would actually take the fear and uncertainty away for you.

Personally I think it stinks that someone would turn down a potential flatmate just because they're gay. The guy was decent to have told you in advance, in case you weren't comfortable with it and it got unpleasant. He shouldn't have had to do, because his sexual orientation is his own private business, same as anyone else, but he's clearly better off for having asked.

If the potential flatmate was a male mate of mine, I'd be fecking furious on their behalf, tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭MickFleetwood

Are you afraid you'll catch the gay off of him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

I'm not sure. Definitely not, if we were looking for another lad to have the craic with in the evenings/go on the p*ss with etc.

Lesbians can be fun.

boomerang wrote: »
    The fact that you're calling the person a homosexual signals to me you are not comfortable with gay people!

As someone already said, getting to know some gay people would actually take the fear and uncertainty away for you.

Personally I think it stinks that someone would turn down a potential flatmate just because they're gay. The guy was decent to have told you in advance, in case you weren't comfortable with it and it got unpleasant. He shouldn't have had to do, because his sexual orientation is his own private business, same as anyone else, but he's clearly better off for having asked.

If the potential flatmate was a male mate of mine, I'd be fecking furious on their behalf, tbh.

But would you be/get furious if your mate got turned down because they were actually looking for a middle aged man to share the house with? Not anybody young say. If not, why the difference?

I would have sent her straight into my room.

Sent her??? Is this 1950???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

You had your chance to have a civil debate on the subject but didn't take it OP.

Don't be thinking you can get banned from one forum and start the exact same craic here.