Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is multiculturalism wanted??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭fianna saor

in response to the thread title no multiculturalism is not wanted and we should learn from other countries that it doesnt work. im happy to report that more and more people are copping on that immigration needs to be put on hold in this country

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Push Pop wrote: »

From my point of view I see the benefits as:
    3. No more Celtic Tiger taxi lines.

Nothing to do with immigration. Bobby Molloy brought that about.
    There was a shortage of licenses, not a shortage of drivers
    Push Pop wrote: »

From my point of view I see the benefits as:
    5. Maybe Irish as a school subject could be dropped as so much time will be spent teaching English to more and more non-English speaking children.
    We need to focus on the positives people.....

Maybe Irish will be dropped one day but having students who struggle badly with English is going to slow the entire class down

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

Any links to back up your claim?

Dumb post, back up what claim?

in response to the thread title no multiculturalism is not wanted and we should learn from other countries that it doesnt work. im happy to report that more and more people are copping on that immigration needs to be put on hold in this country
    What countries are they? Do you also propose that we put a hold on emigration?
    BTW you do realise that the vast majority of non Irish currently resident in the state are EU citizens who are fully entitled to be here and cannot be prevented from entering or working in the country?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 596 ✭✭✭Thomas_I

old hippy wrote: »
    Lies and scaremongering. Apart from the racist murder of Toyosi a few years back it's pretty harmonious. My niece and nephew have friends with and school with people from all over. The local church is completely mixed and most people rub along just fine. The only negativity comes from people such as yourself.

Here in London. I live on a street with people from all over the world, many different colours and creeds. It's not a ghetto and neither is Tyrellstown back home.

Many Londoners told me the same as you did in your post. It´s more those Englishmen living in other parts of the UK who have an issue with immigration. Not less of the very differing and contrary opinions on that matter are depending on the social environment of the people concerned. My late Grandmother, for example, lived for decades in Oldham and in the early 1990s she moved to small town in County Lancashire because some of these "Immigrants" threatened her and her husband and made some damage on their house. I have to add, that she was an immigrant herself when she came to England in around 1950.

Oldham is situated what is nowadays called the area of "Greater Manchester" and the last time I went there to visit her, I took a day trip to Manchester and I didn´t felt very safe there at all. Quite more peacefully it was in this small town where she lived. There are also immigrants living, but I didn´t noticed some problems, neither told me Grandmother about something similar to Oldham.

From my personal experiences in England, one can get along quite well with people from different countries and cultural background. It´s just that one has to show some respect towards them. The same way as every normal person wants to be treated respectfully. If one is caught up an area with high crime rates, I think it doesn´t make a difference whether he´s turned into trouble by some "natives" or "immigrants", bearing in mind that not less of these "immigrants" are already born in their second or even third generation in the UK and refer to themselves as "British" in the first place.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 862 ✭✭✭Grand Moff Tarkin

Dumb post, back up what claim?
    Can you back up your claim with links and statistics or do you expect people to just take your word for it?

What claim do you want me to back up.
    You asked a question , I answered it, I quoted no facts or stats in my answer, so what do you wanty a link to exactly?
    I expressed an opinion stating that I personally had yet to be presented with any evidence that multiculturalism had caused harm, how in the name of fúck I am I supposed to to provided evidential links that show that I have yet to be presented by such a scenario.
    Your demands do nothing except show you up for what you are!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

He stated that he hadn't seen any reports or evidence. How could he have statistics to back up something he hasn't seen. Surely if he had the links to reports that you are demanding then he wouldn't have stated that he hadn't seen any.

I'm not even sure what the hell he didn't see reports claiming but it's pretty astounding that someone would demand statistics and reports to back up a claim that someone has made stating that they haven't seen any evidence or reports.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

African Irish...........................Nigerian Irish ?????

What are you getting at, caller? Do you automatically think that when you're holding forth on Tyrellstown?

I'd rather a hold on monoculturalism and the sort that promote it, myself.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 862 ✭✭✭Grand Moff Tarkin

What claim do you want me to back up.
    You asked a question , I answered it, I quoted no facts or stats in my answer, so what do you wanty a link to exactly?
    I expressed an opinion stating that I personally had yet to be presented with any evidence that multiculturalism had caused harm, how in the name of fúck I am I supposed to to provided evidential links that show that I have yet to be presented by such a scenario.
    Your demands do nothing except show you up for what you are!
    This might come as a shock but i am all for multiculturalism and there are many advantages to integration of new peoples and ideas to Ireland. Sporting wise Ireland will surprise a lot of people in the next 15-20 years.

That doesn't answer my reply to your ludicrus demands that I provide stats and links to reports I stated i had never heard of or seen!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Multiculturalism, which is really just an influx on people from other countries. Has always been the best thing that can happen to a state. Rome allowed other cultures to join them not long after they were the largest Empire the world had ever seen. The Modern example is the US, if the native Americans hadn't invited all us Europeans over they may not have the country they know and love today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭VEN

ScumLord wrote: »
    Multiculturalism, which is really just an influx on people from other countries. Has always been the best thing that can happen to a state. Rome allowed other cultures to join them not long after they were the largest Empire the world had ever seen. The Modern example is the US, if the native Americans hadn't invited all us Europeans over they may not have the country they know and love today.

i think it's a good thing in small doses i.e. needs to be controlled. these are different times we live in, this is Ireland not the New World or another planet for that matter that can hold them all. Say for example and i know it's unlikely to happen but theres actually nothing could stop it now, 29 million Romanian and Bulgarian nationals land in Ireland over the next 10 years. You think that would be the best thing to happen to Ireland? If you do then you're completely out of touch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

VEN wrote: »
    i think it's a good thing in small doses i.e. needs to be controlled. these are different times we live in, this is Ireland not the New World or another planet for that matter that can hold them all. Say for example and i know it's unlikely to happen but theres actually nothing could stop it now, 29 million Romanian and Bulgarian nationals land in Ireland over the next 10 years. You think that would be the best thing to happen to Ireland? If you do then you're completely out of touch.

Why would they?

Say for example and i know it's unlikely to happen but theres actually nothing could stop it now, 29 million Romanian and Bulgarian nationals land in Ireland over the next 10 years. You think that would be the best thing to happen to Ireland? If you do then you're completely out of touch.

Why give such an example when you know its ludicrus!
    We have more chance of being hit by an asteroid ffs!

Nodin wrote: »
    Why would they?

to learn Gaelic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,247 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

to learn Gaelic

Wrong country!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

Multiculturalism has been around for as long as humanity has been around, and is most definitely older than the idea of a nation state.

I find the notion of carving a line down a map and then tell people they're not allowed to cross it highly ludicrous.

People have always wandered, that's how we came to live anywhere outside of Africa in the first place. And people are not going to stop this now because someone somewhere declares that this piece, see this bit here between the rock and that tree, that's his bit and he will only allow people with brown eyes and curly nose-hair to live there.

The only static culture is a dead culture, any living culture will thrive when new things show up.
    And the problems that the mono-culturists like to list about the problems these new cultures bring along do really remind me of the problems people some 50 years ago didn't associate with "foreigners" but with "the poor".
    It's nothing new, it's not a new problem. It's just handy that now, the problem they were always on about has an easily identifiable new skin colour.

Why give such an example when you know its ludicrus!
    We have more chance of being hit by an asteroid ffs!

As unlikely as the UKs initial forecast of 13,000 Poles per year but ended up with over a million after 5 years. A ludicrous forecast.

What scares you so much?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

You still haven't explained why the Bulgarians and Romanians would come here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

i think it's a good thing in small doses i.e. needs to be controlled. these are different times we live in, this is Ireland not the New World or another planet for that matter that can hold them all.
    Ireland is fairly unique in that we have a constant flow of our best and brightest out of the country. We were very lucky to get the boom so that we could attract the best and brightest from other countries. Having all our good people leave may have been having an impact on our gene pool. With this new influx of genes from around the planet it can only be a good thing for the Irish community in the long run.

People moving around is an unstoppable force of nature. Just as birds migrate every year humans will emigrate to new places constantly, it's what humans do. To try and stop it would be as futile as doing a rain dance.

Your right about controls but the controls shouldn't be about keeping foreigners out it should be about bringing the best ones in. The best aren't always collage educated rich people either. The guy who dragged himself out of some slum to make it to Ireland on the hope of a better life may well be a much more dedicated person than the collage fund med student that only wants to party and go home.

Say for example and i know it's unlikely to happen but theres actually nothing could stop it now, 29 million Romanian and Bulgarian nationals land in Ireland over the next 10 years. You think that would be the best thing to happen to Ireland? If you do then you're completely out of touch.
    Why do Irish people love to come up with extreme and highly unlikely scenarios as a way of trying to prove their point?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 495 ✭✭bootybouncer

Attenborough says humans are a plague on earth .................... generally there is too much breeding going on in the world......................... I personally believe that the multi cultured society will be the eventual snuffing and breeding out of the white skinned human

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,892 ✭✭✭bizmark

lucky Attenborough will soon be dead then and be one less self hateing bull****er in the world traveling around telling everyone they are a "plague" while liveing the high life.

As for the "snuffing out" of white people its amazing how such casual extermination of a race of people is banned about so happly once its the europion breed being targeted say that about anyone else and see what will happen.

Thankfully 1 billion+ of us says other wise id imagen

bizmark wrote: »
    lucky Attenborough will soon be dead then and be one less self hateing bull****er in the world traveling around telling everyone they are a "plague" while liveing the high life

Mans a genius and has it spot on....................... you dont like white dudes then ????

Maybe he just doesn't like smallminded racists:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,892 ✭✭✭bizmark

Hes far from a great man just another self important tv celeb if he believed what he said he should go throw his 86 year old useless ass out a window and set an example but id imagen hes far to important in spreading the word of blessed earth to the ignorant masses to do that right ?.

Self hating bull**** infuriates me always headed up by the smug rich bastards like attenborogh or al gore and happly parroted by the idiotic self hater's,

Im white fyi im quite fond of my race and the cultures we have fostered i was pointing out i don't think we will be snuffed out by anyone or thing

Maybe he just doesn't like smallminded racists:confused:

Just because you disagree with multiculturalism doesn't make you a racist you absolute bafoon, anytime you disagree with anything, social welfare tourism, nigerians fleeing from war torn countries and generally things that involve you bending over and taking it up the whole from another country you are a racist ............................I have you take note that most of the immigrants and migrants stick to their own and actually aren't a fan of the mixing too..........................your just one of those everybody into the jacuzzi types...................

bizmark wrote: »
    Hes far from a great man just another self important tv celeb if he believed what he said he should go throw his 86 year old useless ass out a window and set an example but id imagen hes far to important in spreading the word of blessed earth to the ignorant masses to do that right ?.

Self hating bull**** infuriates me always headed up by the smug rich bastards like attenborogh or al gore and happly parroted by the idiotic self hater's,

Im white fyi im quite fond of my race and the cultures we have fostered i was pointing out i don't think we will be snuffed out by anyone or thing

So you are promoting suicide now............................