Joan Burton Heckled

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

maringo wrote: »
    TBH I think Joan Burton is reforming the welfare system and bringing in schemes to help people get back to work. Unfortunately some employers will exploit any avenue to get workers for free if they can get away with it. But if the schemes help some people to get work thats good. Heard on radio 1 business programme this morning that 60% of people who went on the Jobbridge scheme got jobs out of it so I don't knock it although it mightn't be perfect. I think JB is doing her best in the circumstances. My daughter is availing of one of the schemes and I'm hoping it will open opportunities for her and get her off benefits which she hates having to take.

Maringo / harango, to close for comfort, is it you JB, is it,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Ebbs

At last at bit of fight from the Irish people. I hope we see more of this.

If only we lived in some sort of system where the Irish people could choose who they want in government.

Some day with a lot of booing Im sure the system will be changed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

Everyones a fruit & nutcase.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Nodin wrote: »
    ....where are we all getting the "eirigi" notion from?

It's suits their argument and defence of this Government if they can accuse the people of belonging to some discredited organisation.
    They just can't understand that people have a genuine gripe with policies.
    It's as if the FG/Labour Govt brainwashed them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭Suceed

humberklog wrote: »
    Nasty lot that Eirigi.

I know the uploader of the video, who is not a member of Eirigi or a supporter of republican movements.

Why do you say it's an Eirigi protest?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,299 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Don't mind them Joan.

Just ignore them hecklers.

That fat salary (170k a year?) and being able to look after your mates more than makes up for mingling with the proles every so often.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/budget/news/disability-uturn-joan-burton-in-storm-over-128k-aide-pay-26800033.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

The best bit was when somebody threw a comb at her :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 959 ✭✭✭maringo

Maringo / harango, to close for comfort, is it you JB, is it,

Naw, sorry. Loved the VB show when she turned on Vinnie. He is one of the best haranguers and such a wasp but I'm quite addicted hehehe :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,516 ✭✭✭Maudi

humberklog wrote: »
    Nasty lot that Eirigi.
    wasnt eirigi..was ordinary people..fed up parent.grandparents students etc.95%of the people in the center turned on her the other 5%work there so cudnt but i bet they heckled her in their minds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,320 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

It's a shame people who wanted to hear the speech weren't allow because of a small element of bullies.

It's a shame that people who want to fed their kids can't because her and her buddies on their fat salaries impose cutbacks and tax hikes to serve the interests of foreign banks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

You couldn't believe a word they'd tell you anyway.
    No credibility left in that party.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 797 ✭✭✭Dwork

You're right, and sorry if I appeared 'rowdy'!.. just don't like that sort of drive-by post insulting an entire town full of people =p
    It was a drive-by shyteing:D Nothing wrong with a good old heckle, sure all they would be drowning out would be a load of whiney, nasal waffle anyway. Joan would get on a vicars nerves with that fog-horn of hers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Arpa

frankosw wrote: »
    On the dole are we poppet?

Poppet? Ridiculously inane word. You lose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,320 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Zebra3 wrote: »

It's a shame that people who want to fed their kids can't because her and her buddies on their fat salaries impose cutbacks and tax hikes to serve the interests of foreign banks.

Clueless.
    You couldn't believe a word they'd tell you anyway.
    No credibility left in that party.

Still shouldn't stop people from being allowed too see it if they want.

Clueless.

Go on then, tell me which part is wrong. :rolleyes:

Ironic to hear about people giving out about Burton being heckled, she does enough of it herself in Dáil Éireann.

Clueless.

Still shouldn't stop people from being allowed too see it if they want.

I know a lot of people who would like her to hear them too but it's kinda hard when they're in Canada, United States and Australia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭John.Icy

1 in 4 children in Ireland are obese.

For **** sake people, the country could do with less food!

Jesus...I hate this food argument during the recession. Ireland is a stupidly fat nation, and one of the massive complaints of the people is they can't eat enough. And by that it means they can only afford a regular sized meal, not their usual gluten portion.

But go ahead Zebra and all who want to continue overfeeding their children.

Will be a sad day when all the youth start keeling over from heart attacks. So many overweight young ones. The stats are frightening. But no, let's complain about some people bull****ting about not having food.

God some people talk as if we were in Africa. Skin and bones with no food.

Bloody hardly! Fat, obese and lazy nation more like it.

I for one welcome if the majority of the country can't afford as much food as years gone by...what's the stat? Something like over 40% of Ireland is overweight?

Shocking this is what people give out about...abit of food. Malnutrition doesn't exist in Ireland, gowaay out of that. Unbelievable...anything to give out about the Government.

Bunch of moaners!

^^^^^

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Arpa

^^^^^

What the fooook has this got to do with food? It's Joan Burton in Dundalk...jeebus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,236 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

What an odd thing to assume.

Oh sorry, I just assumed that you might have watched the news at some point recently. It's hard to know how far back to go when explaining this because you seem to be full of questions. Anyway, the island of Ireland isn't all under the same jurisdiction. In the part known as "Northern Ireland" there's been a bit of a kerfuffle rumbling on for quite a while about whether it should remain under UK rule or be independent or join the rest of the island so the island is part of one country independent of the UK.
    So then, I don't know how much you know about how governments operate but many (maybe all) towns and cities and the like have local governments. In the case of Belfast (which is in Northern Ireland) this local government is Belfast City Council. Recently it voted to have the flag of the UK only fly on specific dates rather than year-round. Some people weren't happy about this and have been protesting since the decision was made. These people are commonly known as "flag protesters". The most famous "flag protester" is a lady who was recorded shouting in the door of City Hall early in the protests. Unfortunately the original video is no longer on Youtube, the ones on now cut in after she repeatedly shouted "Shame!" and "Shame on yis!" and only catches when she shouts "No surrender!". The video below, in an attempt at comedy, edits that video to make it seem as though the lady is trying to break down a door with an axe, much as Jack Nicholson's character in the film "The Shining" did.

The lady mentioned above, it's probably fair to assume, is what's known as a "Loyalist" or a "Unionist". Now maybe it's only because I've lived in Dundalk all my life but I happen to know that Dundalk in recent history has been something of a "stronghold" of "Republicans" and "Nationalists" who generally are in opposition to "Loyalists" or "Unionists". In what was supposed to be an throw-away and jokey comment I thought it somewhat ironic that a crowd from a town like Dundalk would be unable to come up with a decent chant and instead ended up using a phrase that was memorably used by a "Loyalist" or "Unionist" protester quite recently.

I'm glad you explained that properly. I didn't understand your original comment either.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,442 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

doolox wrote: »
    Until the present shower are put out of office and a proper government is put in power.

Like the French do on a regular basis, we need a new republic and a new constitution put in place to recognise that the present set-up has failed miserably in providing stability, jobs, protection and proper ways to lead good lives for a lot of our people.

Ireland does not provide for the weak in our society.

If you are young you have no job and no hope of getting one.

If you are uneducated likewise and now fees are being brought in and increased to exclude even more people.

If you are in the private sector no hope of getting a loan for a proper place to live as most jobs in private sector are contract or in danger of being lost..
    A range of fees and service charges are being introduced with little or no account being taken of ability to pay, past impositions and taxes which were originally set to include these costs or what will happen to jobs depending on the money thus taken from general circulation.

Any wonder people are angry,

We should bring back Fianna Fail. Or put the greens in power. For a real laugh we could put Sinn Fein in power.

As bad as the present group are, they're the least incompetent best of a bad lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,442 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

John.Icy wrote: »

Jesus...I hate this food argument during the recession. Ireland is a stupidly fat nation, and one of the massive complaints of the people is they can't eat enough. And by that it means they can only afford a regular sized meal, not their usual gluten portion.

Will be a sad day when all the youth start keeling over from heart attacks. So many overweight young ones. The stats are frightening. But no, let's complain about some people bull****ting about not having food.

I for one welcome if the majority of the country can't afford as much food as years gone by...what's the stat? Something like over 40% of Ireland is overweight?

Shocking this is what people give out about...abit of food. Malnutrition doesn't exist in Ireland, gowaay out of that. Unbelievable...anything to give out about the Government.

Bunch of moaners!

To be fair, obesity is caused by eating the wrong type of food. You'd never become fat by gorging on apples. Poorer people tend to eat more cheap starchy food and have less information on nutrition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,194 ✭✭✭eviltimeban

doolox wrote: »
    Until the present shower are put out of office and a proper government is put in power.

Who do you suggest?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,236 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Who do you suggest?

Not the protesters

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

maringo wrote: »
    TBH I think Joan Burton is reforming the welfare system and bringing in schemes to help people get back to work. Unfortunately some employers will exploit any avenue to get workers for free if they can get away with it. But if the schemes help some people to get work thats good. Heard on radio 1 business programme this morning that 60% of people who went on the Jobbridge scheme got jobs out of it so I don't knock it although it mightn't be perfect. I think JB is doing her best in the circumstances. My daughter is availing of one of the schemes and I'm hoping it will open opportunities for her and get her off benefits which she hates having to take.
    Yeah.. I'm calling BS on that 60%.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,214 ✭✭✭Bloody*Mary

frankosw wrote: »
    The only politician willing to do anything about the dole scroungers and benefit frauds.

Correct, and they know it.

Some people seem very happy to pay their taxes to be abused by those who are defrauding the system.......oh wait......:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭John.Icy

^^^^^

See? Your claim was totally moronic to the extent you had to reply in such a manner.

How does it feel being completed destroyed?

Although, I'm sure you're happy either way seeing as you have a permanent following of dole munchers/ anti government/ pro Luke Ming Flanagan fools.

Don't bring up a point of feeding in Ireland if that'll be your response. Try be factual.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 805 ✭✭✭SB2013

Bunch of moaners!

Perhaps you should take a stroll around some of the less well off areas and play "find the fat kid". You won't find him so easy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

See? Your claim was totally moronic to the extent you had to reply in such a manner.

How does it feel being completed destroyed?

Although, I'm sure you're happy either way seeing as you have a permanent following of dole munchers/ anti government/ pro Luke Ming Flanagan fools.

Don't bring up a point of feeding in Ireland if that'll be your response. Try be factual.

http://www.barnardos.ie/media-centre/news/latest-news/1-in-10-going-hungry-as-least-well-off-shoulder-worst-of-budget-cuts.html
    Speaking at the launch of Barnardos’ Children’s Budget 2013, CEO Fergus Finlay, said that successive budgets have eroded critical supports for at risk families leaving many unable to put food on table or properly heat their homes: “The Department of Social Protection itself recently did research which shows 1 in 10 people are now living with food poverty. Unsurprisingly the people most affected by this are those we know have shouldered the heaviest burden in recent budget cuts: people who are unemployed, those on low incomes, families with 3 or more children and lone parents.”

You destroyed no one. That poster had a valid point and you just went off on some tangent about obesity.