Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Joan Burton Heckled

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

JB is feckin gorgeous!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,189 ✭✭✭drdeadlift

shame on yeow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

That's the export fair for the unemployed.

Can't get a job here? Go to work in Hungary for €2/hr! Edna is a scoundrel !

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,665 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

Nasty lot that Eirigi.

humberklog wrote: »
    Nasty lot that Eirigi.

Nasty lot that Government

• Closed Accounts Posts: 632 ✭✭✭Forest Demon

At last at bit of fight from the Irish people. I hope we see more of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭gg2

Was this today?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

JB is feckin gorgeous!

Saltwater... he drank it!

C'mon...who wouldn't want to wake up next to that Picasso every morning?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

At last at bit of fight from the Irish people. I hope we see more of this.

More handbags than a fight really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

Heckling sounds so much better in a Dundalk accent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 632 ✭✭✭Forest Demon

pmcmahon wrote: »
    More handbags than a fight really.

What would you like to see?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 809 ✭✭✭frankosw

The only politician willing to do anything about the dole scroungers and benefit frauds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

I'd say that heckling wreaked her head as she hates being interrupted while she's talking :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

Ah the poor creature was being harranged again, life's so unfair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

squod wrote: »
    That's the export fair for the unemployed.

Can't get a job here? Go to work in Hungary for €2/hr! Edna is a scoundrel !

No, no... this is the other one. The JobsPlus thingy, where the government bribes businesses to employ those on the live register by paying quarter of their salary. Of course it won't be abused the same way the Jobs Bridge scheme was, or lead to companies failing to hire the best people for the job! :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

What would you like to see?

An actual debate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Are you sure that's not a cattle mart?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭gallag

Smithers, are they booing me?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 797 ✭✭✭Dwork

Yeor nahh welcum heaor soo yor noh.:D I love the Dundalk accent. It's like a cavan man chewing a blade of grass and speaking, all at once. Good to see a bit of backbone. Pols don't like it when the plebs get noisy. It rattles tham soh it dos. They need rattling. I'm also a bit surprised the gards didn't arrive with batons drawn to put down the "rioters".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

gallag wrote: »

They were saying "Boo-urton, Boo-urton!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭donmeister

gallag wrote: »

No..............Their saying Boo-urns......Booo-urns....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

pmcmahon wrote: »
    An actual debate.
    Like that has ever worked in Ireland...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭doolox

Until the present shower are put out of office and a proper government is put in power.

Like the French do on a regular basis, we need a new republic and a new constitution put in place to recognise that the present set-up has failed miserably in providing stability, jobs, protection and proper ways to lead good lives for a lot of our people.

Ireland does not provide for the weak in our society.

If you are young you have no job and no hope of getting one.

If you are uneducated likewise and now fees are being brought in and increased to exclude even more people.

If you are in the private sector no hope of getting a loan for a proper place to live as most jobs in private sector are contract or in danger of being lost..
    A range of fees and service charges are being introduced with little or no account being taken of ability to pay, past impositions and taxes which were originally set to include these costs or what will happen to jobs depending on the money thus taken from general circulation.

Any wonder people are angry,

The irony of a crowd in Dundalk co-opting the flags protester's "Shame on You" should be pointed out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,026 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

Few cans and that would have been a great session

The irony of a crowd in Dundalk co-opting the flags protester's "Shame on You" should be pointed out.

Are you choking on a thesaurus or something?

What the **** are you talking about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭VEN

No, no... this is the other one. The JobsPlus thingy, where the government bribes businesses to employ those on the live register by paying quarter of their salary. Of course it won't be abused the same way the Jobs Bridge scheme was, or lead to companies failing to hire the best people for the job! :pac:

jeez don't ask businesses to pay a quarter of the salary, now they'll think JobsPlus is a scam.

What the **** are you talking about?

I mean you're talking a load of shite.

Now, care to clarify your poorly written comment regarding Dundalk people?

I mean you're talking a load of shite.

Now, care to clarify your poorly written comment regarding Dundalk people?

What's your issue with the content of what I said? Both in terms of its stylistic merit and the point being made? Did I accidentally use some complicated words that made me seem like an elitist and you thought that I must have found them in a thesaurus?

No, I genuinely thought you were choking on a thesaurus.

The bolded bit doesn't make much sense really. 'the flags protestor's' :confused:

So what point were you trying to make about Dundalk people?

Seems like a plainly put statement to me. I dont understand the response!?

The bolded bit doesn't make much sense really. 'the flags protestor's' :confused:

People were recently protesting an issue involving flags. They used the slogan 'shame on you'......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭carpejugulum

She should know better and have this when dole is paid.

It's funny though. Without Labour in the gvt., these people would not be able to enjoy welfare rates that challenge oil countries.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 797 ✭✭✭Dwork

They're lovely, so they are. Chillax, sure there's no need to be gettin rowdy.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 901 ✭✭✭ChunkyLover_53

OAPs down the back were shouting "Shave our Ewe"

Dwork wrote: »
    They're lovely, so they are. Chillax, sure there's no need to be gettin rowdy.:)

You're right, and sorry if I appeared 'rowdy'!.. just don't like that sort of drive-by post insulting an entire town full of people =p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭Sound of Silence

People were recently protesting an issue involving flags. They used the slogan 'shame on you'......

Can "shame on you" really be considered a slogan?

Seems like a pretty common string of words..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭nice_very

hogan recently ran away from some of us here in Waterford too.. is the penny starting to drop?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Anyone

What do you mean heckled???? Thats cheering in Dundalk.

What an odd thing to assume.
    Oh sorry, I just assumed that you might have watched the news at some point recently. It's hard to know how far back to go when explaining this because you seem to be full of questions. Anyway, the island of Ireland isn't all under the same jurisdiction. In the part known as "Northern Ireland" there's been a bit of a kerfuffle rumbling on for quite a while about whether it should remain under UK rule or be independent or join the rest of the island so the island is part of one country independent of the UK.
    So then, I don't know how much you know about how governments operate but many (maybe all) towns and cities and the like have local governments. In the case of Belfast (which is in Northern Ireland) this local government is Belfast City Council. Recently it voted to have the flag of the UK only fly on specific dates rather than year-round. Some people weren't happy about this and have been protesting since the decision was made. These people are commonly known as "flag protesters". The most famous "flag protester" is a lady who was recorded shouting in the door of City Hall early in the protests. Unfortunately the original video is no longer on Youtube, the ones on now cut in after she repeatedly shouted "Shame!" and "Shame on yis!" and only catches when she shouts "No surrender!". The video below, in an attempt at comedy, edits that video to make it seem as though the lady is trying to break down a door with an axe, much as Jack Nicholson's character in the film "The Shining" did.

The lady mentioned above, it's probably fair to assume, is what's known as a "Loyalist" or a "Unionist". Now maybe it's only because I've lived in Dundalk all my life but I happen to know that Dundalk in recent history has been something of a "stronghold" of "Republicans" and "Nationalists" who generally are in opposition to "Loyalists" or "Unionists". In what was supposed to be an throw-away and jokey comment I thought it somewhat ironic that a crowd from a town like Dundalk would be unable to come up with a decent chant and instead ended up using a phrase that was memorably used by a "Loyalist" or "Unionist" protester quite recently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭guinnessdrinker

She should know better and have this when dole is paid.

It's funny though. Without Labour in the gvt., these people would not be able to enjoy welfare rates that challenge oil countries.

These people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,852 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

totus tuus wrote: »
    Fair play to the people of Dundalk!! :D

The people of Dundalk?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭Chinasea

Has there been a complete media block out up there in Dundalk. Where the f do they think the money is all coming from to pay for the multitude of fairly generous benefits that they claim??

Never heard a decent answer to this yet?

The welfare cuts have been very tame imo and goes toward propagating dysfunctional lifestyles amongst many of these morons that were there behaving like savages.

The people of Dundalk?

Yeah I could've sworn there were at least a few hundred more people living here than shown in that video.

The people of Dundalk?

Burton herself has said that the hecklers have shone Dundalk in a bad light. It's a good job there's never any heckling in the Dail which might shine it in a bad light!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 809 ✭✭✭frankosw

Chinasea wrote: »
    Has there been a complete media block out up there in Dundalk. Where the f do they think the money is all coming from to pay for the multitude of fairly generous benefits that they claim??

Never heard a decent answer to this yet?

The welfare cuts have been very tame imo and goes toward propagating dysfunctional lifestyles amongst many of these morons that were there behaving like savages.

Its an easy option for many people..either they dont want to work at all or they're expecting a 50k per year job to drop into thier laps whilst they sit at home watching television.

Meanwhile we have thousands of foreigners working thier arse off in jobs that irish peopl feel is "beneath them".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 352 ✭✭Best username ever

Ireland is a land of idiots, governed by idiots.

People here are stupid, thick and love a good rodgering by the government.

The typical response in Ireland when the ruling party bring in a new 'rodgering' tax is;

" it's right, we should all do this"