How worried should we be about N. Korea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,299 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

El Spearo wrote: »
    How worried should we be about N. Korea

Level of worry about our own safety?

Zero.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 279 ✭✭Brinimartini

My dog is nervous about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭donegal_road

dont worry, there is no oil in North Korea

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,029 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Nuclear weapons are pretty useless except in defence. Not even N.K. is MAD (cwidt?) enuf to commit nuclear suicide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,134 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

I think we should launch a pre-emptive strike, where does Enda keep the warheads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭Mahou

Sure don´t we all have iodine tablets unless you´ve smoked yours already.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 797 ✭✭✭Dwork

Kim Yin Pong, or whatever luder they have running the show in N.Korea at the moment doesn't even know there is an "Ireland". If he does, he will imagine it's somwhere in Northern Britain. And even then, they're such a bunch of backward tosspots, they couldn't hit a camels hole at ten paces with a roundy stone. I'm more worried that Tesco will run out of cheap tins of beans, tbh, and I feckin hate beans..North Korea is like the rowdy, scrawny scumbag with a can of Dutch Gold down the back of the Luas - noisy, vaguely annoying, on the surface threatening, but really, just looking for attention. And a hug. Someone hug the short, fat little dictator, ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Maire2009

Dwork wrote: »
    Kim Yin Pong, or whatever luder they have running the show in N.Korea at the moment doesn't even know there is an "Ireland". If he does, he will imagine it's somwhere in Northern Britain. And even then, they're such a bunch of backward tosspots, they couldn't hit a camels hole at ten paces with a roundy stone. I'm more worried that Tesco will run out of cheap tins of beans, tbh, and I feckin hate beans..North Korea is like the rowdy, scrawny scumbag with a can of Dutch Gold down the back of the Luas - noisy, vaguely annoying, on the surface threatening, but really, just looking for attention. And a hug. Someone hug the short, fat little dictator, ffs.

Nth.Korea wishes Ireland a happy national day every year on Paddy's Day, and wasn't there something about some IRA guy caught over there to launder money - they know we exist, you don't get in there otherwise. I bet they can spell better and are less ignorant as well :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭jjbrien

somefeen wrote: »
    Just the usual bollox.
    Nothings gonna happen

Yup nothing will happen.

They are only making nukes so Amercia wont invade them. Its all about self preservation.

Lets say your Obama would you attack somewhere you know for sure has nukes?

Maire2009 wrote: »
    Nth.Korea wishes Ireland a happy national day every year on Paddy's Day, and wasn't there something about some IRA guy caught over there to launder money - they know we exist, you don't get in there otherwise. I bet they can spell better and are less ignorant as well :rolleyes:
    :D:D:D Hi Kim!

Less ignorant??? Last time I checked, I forgot to feed the cat once last week. Auld Kimmy seems to have forgotten to feed a bit more than the cat lately. From me, N Korea can shove its "happy national day wishes" up its pyong yang.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

We need to resurrect the Skiberreen Eagle to keep an eye on North Korea now that Russia is no longer a threat.

:D:D:D Hi Kim!

Less ignorant??? Last time I checked, I forgot to feed the cat once last week. Auld Kimmy seems to have forgotten to feed a bit more than the cat lately. From me, N Korea can shove its "happy national day wishes" up its pyong yang.

You take that back :mad: He wanted to feed them but they gave all their food back to their Supreme Leader who has done some crazy shizz :eek:

Seriously though, I have read up on North Korea and you can only feel for the poor people. Having said that, Tallafornia has just come on tv and least they don't have to suffer that sh!te...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭Killer Wench

Here I am sitting in the US. I looked at Yahoo, Huffington Post, CNN, and MSNBC and saw nothing on this story. There simply aren't many damns to give.

Especially when he pulls his stunt the day before the Oscars!!!!!

Seriously though, I have read up on North Korea and you can only feel for the poor people. Having said that, Tallafornia has just come on tv and least they don't have to suffer that sh!te...
    Strangely enough, I don't lie awake at night fretting about them. If Jung-Al-Kim-Wong-Chung decreed it, they'd be running up my driveway with bayonets fixed screaming "Opah Gangnam style".

And yes, I know Psy is a Southie, but sure what's a border between friends.

Strangely enough, I don't lie awake at night fretting about them. If Jung-Al-Kim-Wong-Chung decreed it, they'd be running up my driveway with bayonets fixed screaming "Opah Gangnam style".

And yes, I know Psy is a Southie, but sure what's a border between friends.

There's an image :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭Ranicand

I would stay we should be very worried.

Just remember you have to chop off the heads of those zombies and burn the bodies.:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 62 ✭✭mewithoutyou

Meh

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,505 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

http://www.korea-dpr.com/membership.html
    Any person in the world interested in the DPRK and regardless of race, nationality, politics or religion who shares the common goals of the KFA

In order to join the KFA, please send an e-mail to intelorgsec@korea-dpr.com with your complete name, address, telephone, birth date and e-mail. The membership is totally free. The members participate actively in the association, creating cultural and friendship links between the DPRK and all the countries in the world.

I'd Say you'll end up on every US terror List before your email arrived...

Its True!
    Kim Yong Nam, president of the Presidium of the DPRK Supreme People's Assembly, Saturday sent a message of greeting to Micheal Higgins, president of Ireland, on the occasion of its national day.
    Kim in the message wished the president success in his work for the prosperity of the country.

No thread About North Korea is Complete without The North Korea Funk...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 260 ✭✭Franticfrank

Verbal threats are all they have. And sure, even though they claim to have hundreds of artillery batteries targeting Seoul.,I think the South Korean military would crush the North Koreans in any conflict - as huge and ferocious as the North's army seems to be, most of its equipment dates from the 60s and 70s. Most important of all, the North Korean soldiers are probably already starving and surrender en-mass for the chance of food in the event of hostilities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,059 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

A friend of mine went there on a heavily supervised touris visit. He got (or bought, I'm not sure) a Korean/English phrasebook.
    Some of it was usual stuff, with phonetic Korean transliterations such as; how do you get to the station, how much is this book, etc, but some of it was hilarious; thank you for letting me experience this socialist paradise, I have been truly impressed by your education system and free press.

To answer the OP question, given my location, more than the average on this thread, but not as much as when I lived in Yokosuka, site of Japan's biggest naval fleet at the time, as well as the US Navy's biggest fleet outside USA.

But, contrary to what seems to be the opinion on here, I'd say that the North Korean leaders, through a combination of smart politics and a lack of any resources which make invasion attractive, have been canny enough survive for decades.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭JangoFett

http://www.rte.ie/news/2013/0223/369198-north-korea-us-south-korea/

what are people opinions on this? is it all smoke with no fire or should we be buying bomb shelters?

there is a huge varience in the world wide news coverage of this at the moment which can perhaps be attributed to time difference i dont know....

just seems like this is the great threat to world peace at the moment.

Somewhere between not-at-all and entirely. Be in a constant state of calm terror.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭rn

Simply put... we shouldn't be anywhere near as nervous as South Korea or Hawaii.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,656 ✭✭✭El Inho

http://www.rte.ie/news/2013/0329/378915-korea/

hmmm....surely a little more cause for concern?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭smileyj1987

hmmm....surely a little more cause for concern?

It'll be grand !!!!

http://redditpics.fpapps.com/?thingid=t3_1b8mad&url=http%3A%2F%2Fi.imgur.com%2FgQI6CJa.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭Ranicand

Don't be so sure they look ready to launch in under 45mins.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Someone better launch a fucking rocket somewhere or else I've wasted a fortune on my underground bunker. All well-endowed females welcome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭StinkyMunkey

Think two old women with hand bags, but the US has a bigger hand bag.

They won't attack the US, it's all bluster.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 919 ✭✭✭wicklowstevo

its one solution to the economic situation , end the world and reset ,

im all for it , just let me get some more rounds for the auld shottie in case theres anarchy

as a wise man once said its time to craic open each others heads and feast on the goo within