Sinn Féin,s "Republic Day".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 OldIrishWulf

Iwasfrozen wrote: »
    You realise you can be Irish without being in our jurisdiction. Yes?

Like the royalist from Hackney/Islington just Cork ?

• Administrators Posts: 56,572 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Happyman42 wrote: »
    Correct.
    So it's not a bank holiday where you are from then. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

awec wrote: »
    So it's not a bank holiday where you are from then. :)

I can be from wherever you want, if that is what floats your boat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,042 ✭✭✭who the fug

I'd also like to tell you to go outside and play hide and go fugk yourself , but I read the rules and regs and it asks that I something the post not the poster .

Anyway , we weren't so rich . I remember being quite happy to eat horrible frozen burgers when I was younger .

BTW do you think the dna testing was much betterer back then ?

dna testing was a question on the inter, the answer was crick and watson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

Correct.
    Good because I think a lot of nordys* forget that.

*Yes I used nordy, it's no more offensive then culchie or jackeen.

dna testing was a question on the inter, the answer was crick and watson

Really ?

http://www.time.com/time/nation/article/0,8599,1905706,00.html

Since the advent of DNA testing in 1985, biological material (skin, hair, blood and other bodily fluids) has emerged as the most reliable physical evidence at a crime scene, particularly those involving sexual assaults. DNA, or deoxyribonucleic acid, contains the complex genetic blueprint that distinguishes each person. Forensic testing can determine if distinctive patterns in the genetic material found at a crime scene matches the DNA in a potential perpetrator with better than 99% accuracy. In 1987, Florida rapist Tommie Lee Andrews became the first person in the U.S. to be convicted as a result of DNA evidence; he was sentenced to 22 years behind bars. The next year, a Virginia killer dubbed the "South Side Strangler" was sentenced to death after DNA linked him to several rapes and murders around Richmond. DNA is also responsible for snaring Gary Ridgway, the infamous "Green River Killer" of Washington State, responsible for a string of murders around Seattle in the 1980s and '90s. After being implicated by genetic testing, Ridgway pleaded guilty and was sentenced to 48 consecutive life sentences. Law-enforcement agencies around the world are assembling DNA databases, which have yielded matches that investigators may otherwise have missed. The FBI now has DNA records on more than 5 million convicted offenders, and sex offenders in all 50 states are required to submit DNA samples to law enforcement.

Read more: http://www.time.com/time/nation/article/0,8599,1905706,00.html#ixzz2LaaHHrmI

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

Good because I think a lot of nordys* forget that.

*Yes I used nordy, it's no more offensive then culchie or jackeen.

What you and Enda forget though is that they have every right to stand in the dail and question him and get answers, not juvenile tuants, because they are as Irish as him.

*and Nordy is offensive when it is used in the way Awec used it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 388 ✭✭Truncheon Rouge

I like this idea.
    Such a day would be good.

The finer points of what it represents have to be worked on however, ideally it should celebrate rebellion against imperialism/suppression.

The wording has to be careful though, its difficult to include ... or indeed to not include... those who were fighting in the spirit of rebellion against an apartheid state in their own opinion up north.

Which is where rebellion against imperialism fits in, let it be known that officially the day celebrates the founding of the state but leave wording open to interpretation as a nod to those who found themselves fighting the ruc/British army and orange fascism.

Ideally its a day that can cross the border and merge north and south yet is clearly understood to be pro-united Ireland.
    A bit like a paddys day but more historic nationalism and less inflatable shamrocks and face paint.
    Yet at the other extreme it shouldn't be some kind of overt fecking brits out day. Not to be a celtic and cider day, a family day.

I like the idea of enough people in the north phoning in sick/booking the day off to the point where it is either adapted as a national day (a nice kick up the hole for unionists) or serves as an annual problem of large scale and reminder that the orange state is buried. That times are changing and the old guard better adapt their ways.

Something respectable on the world stage that celebrates all those who fought in Ireland for the right to be Irish.
    A day primarily recognizing the founding of the state with a pro united Ireland sentiment.

It shouldn't offend people in GB or be seen as unacceptable on the world stage, northern unionists will naturally have a problem with it .... if only because it culturally invades N.I and rubs pro UI sentiment in their face... but thats the best bit of it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

What you and Enda forget though is that they have every right to stand in the dail and question him and get answers, not juvenile tuants, because they are as Irish as him.

*and Nordy is offensive when it is used in the way Awec used it.
    I'd agree with you, but any elected representative deserves a proper answer from the Taoiseach, Irish or not.

I like this idea.
    Such a day would be good.

The finer points of what it represents have to be worked on however, ideally it should celebrate rebellion against imperialism/suppression.

The wording has to be careful though, its difficult to include ... or indeed to not include... those who were fighting in the spirit of rebellion against an apartheid state in their own opinion up north.

Which is where rebellion against imperialism fits in, let it be known that officially the day celebrates the founding of the state but leave wording open to interpretation as a nod to those who found themselves fighting the ruc/British army and orange fascism.

Ideally its a day that can cross the border and merge north and south yet is clearly understood to be pro-united Ireland.
    A bit like a paddys day but more historic nationalism and less inflatable shamrocks and face paint.
    Yet at the other extreme it shouldn't be some kind of overt fecking brits out day. Not to be a celtic and cider day, a family day.

I like the idea of enough people in the north phoning in sick/booking the day off to the point where it is either adapted as a national day (a nice kick up the hole for unionists) or serves as an annual problem of large scale and reminder that the orange state is buried. That times are changing and the old guard better adapt their ways.

Something respectable on the world stage that celebrates all those who fought in Ireland for the right to be Irish.
    A day primarily recognizing the founding of the state with a pro united Ireland sentiment.

It shouldn't offend people in GB or be seen as unacceptable on the world stage, northern unionists will naturally have a problem with it .... if only because it culturally invades N.I and rubs pro UI sentiment in their face... but thats the best bit of it :D

I like that . It could be called Green day and they could hand out some of the confiscated cannabis , enough for a few joints and all legal for that one day .

Really ?

http://www.time.com/time/nation/article/0,8599,1905706,00.html

Since the advent of DNA testing in 1985, biological material (skin, hair, blood and other bodily fluids) has emerged as the most reliable physical evidence at a crime scene, particularly those involving sexual assaults. DNA, or deoxyribonucleic acid, contains the complex genetic blueprint that distinguishes each person. Forensic testing can determine if distinctive patterns in the genetic material found at a crime scene matches the DNA in a potential perpetrator with better than 99% accuracy. In 1987, Florida rapist Tommie Lee Andrews became the first person in the U.S. to be convicted as a result of DNA evidence; he was sentenced to 22 years behind bars. The next year, a Virginia killer dubbed the "South Side Strangler" was sentenced to death after DNA linked him to several rapes and murders around Richmond. DNA is also responsible for snaring Gary Ridgway, the infamous "Green River Killer" of Washington State, responsible for a string of murders around Seattle in the 1980s and '90s. After being implicated by genetic testing, Ridgway pleaded guilty and was sentenced to 48 consecutive life sentences. Law-enforcement agencies around the world are assembling DNA databases, which have yielded matches that investigators may otherwise have missed. The FBI now has DNA records on more than 5 million convicted offenders, and sex offenders in all 50 states are required to submit DNA samples to law enforcement.

Read more: http://www.time.com/time/nation/article/0,8599,1905706,00.html#ixzz2LaaHHrmI

Did the inter before 85, and DNA testing took awhile to cross the ocean

Like the royalist from Hackney/Islington just Cork ?

Royalist, No just West Cork

I'd agree with you, but any elected representative deserves a proper answer from the Taoiseach, Irish or not.

He was useless in opposition . Now its all gone to his head and he's a proper celebrity .He shared a platform with Husein O'Bamma and the queen of england . He can even act , people really believed that little whimper at the end of that apology the other day .

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 514 ✭✭✭RUSTEDCORE

paddys day celebrates being irish.....is there not also a day everyone goes to the garden of rememberance or somthing.

Unless there is a point to it...like dressing up in green and marching around belfast with hurleys and helmets with at least 1 million of us I dont really care.

and stop bashing the IRA if USA invaded the UK in an attempt to colonise them and the UK fought back a bit with a couple small bombs would you call them terrorists or think ill of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,059 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

9 bank holidays and 1 bank robbery holiday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

Is Gerry still the leader of the ira? We could have a day of rememberance for all the victims of the ira criminals and all the other murdering scum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

Old IRA =good.
    New IRA =bad.

Boring.
    I say yes, all Republicans are equal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,299 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

osarusan wrote: »
    9 bank holidays and 1 bank robbery holiday.

I already suggested Traitors' Day about the so-called bailout. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

realies wrote: »
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2013/0221/368919-sinn-fein-republic-day/

Sinn Féin has published legislation that would create an extra bank holiday, to be called "Republic Day".
    Party spokesperson Aengus Ó Snodaigh said the holiday would be on 24 April, the anniversary of the reading of the 1916 Proclamation outside the GPO by Padraig Pearse.
    Mr Ó Snodaigh said this would bring Ireland, which currently has nine bank holidays, closer to the European average of 11.
    He said the holiday would mark the sacrifice of men and women who gave their lives in pursuit of an independent Irish Republic.
    Asked if that included members of the Provisional IRA who died in the course of the Troubles, Mr Ó Snodaigh said it did.

Well would you be in favor of having such a day ?

After hours answer, I would, anything for an extra paid day of.

Serious answer, Cant see it happening especially as it includes P IRA members. But I would be in favor of it.

What date will "Provo Victims" day be? Perhaps the anniversary of Warrington, or the anniversary of the Le Mon Bombing.
    The neck on the batsards!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

SF in "Attention whoring shocker".

British or loyalists asking for a day of remembering those who suffered at the hands of the IRA is akin to Nazi Germany wanting a cross between Poland and the allies to be apologetic for German losses.

Ireland and even the IRA wanting to remember is akin to jewish camp survivors and french occupied agents remembering the loss/sacrifice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,679 ✭✭✭Crooked Jack

Correct , no chance of getting the day off in the North. Why , do you think you would get the day off?
    Of course. silly me. pearse did after all stand on the steps of the gpo and declare a 26 county free state.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭TheCoolWay

RUSTEDCORE wrote: »
    British or loyalists asking for a day of remembering those who suffered at the hands of the IRA is akin to Nazi Germany wanting a cross between Poland and the allies to be apologetic for German losses.

Ireland and even the IRA wanting to remember is akin to jewish camp survivors and french occupied agents remembering the loss/sacrifice.

Will Sinn Fein ever not just F**k off?

TheCoolWay wrote: »
    Will Sinn Fein ever not just F**k off?

I am not 1 of those crazy sinn fein people... I couldnt give a sh*t who owns NI

I just look at things logically and as the UK attempted to invade/colonise Ireland I really dont get how they dare moan when the Irish fight back....whats a few bombs to hundreds of years of rape and murder of an entire country.

If I punch your dog for several hundred years and it eventually starts to bite me would you be ok with me whining about how your dog is evil and aggressive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭TheCoolWay

I just look at things logically and as the UK attempted to invade/colonise Ireland I really dont get how they dare moan when the Irish fight back....whats a few bombs to hundreds of years of rape and murder of an entire country.

If I punch your dog for several hundred years and it eventually starts to bite me would you be ok with me whining about how your dog is evil and aggressive

I agree that 'a few bombs' is nothing in comparison to what happened here but if you don't let go we will never have total peace on this island in any shape or form. As if David Cameron or Ed Milliband are planning another few hundred years of the same anytime soon!

I do agree it would be nice to have some kind of commemoration day to celebrate Irish Independence. However Sinn Fein are clearly ripping off the American Independence Day celebration for brownie points.

Their continued push for the 32 is so irrelevant at this point for so many reasons. I know of many Catholics up North who would much rather stay in UK.

Better infrastructure, cheaper goods (in general) a stronger overall economy except for traditionally high unemployment which could hardly be much higher than it is here atm!

You sound like a crazy Sinn Fein person to be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

A sh*t-stirring, unnecessary and time wasting excercise by SF.

They'd be better off trying to think of ways to reduce health care waiting lists or getting us out of the fiscal mire that we're in.

TheCoolWay wrote: »
    I agree that 'a few bombs' is nothing in comparison to what happened here but if you don't let go we will never have total peace on this island in any shape or form. As if David Cameron or Ed Milliband are planning another few hundred years of the same anytime soon!

I do agree it would be nice to have some kind of commemoration day to celebrate Irish Independence. However Sinn Fein are clearly ripping off the American Independence Day celebration for brownie points.

Their continued push for the 32 is so irrelevant at this point for so many reasons. I know of many Catholics up North who would much rather stay in UK.

Better infrastructure, cheaper goods (in general) a stronger overall economy except for traditionally high unemployment which could hardly be much higher than it is here atm!

I dont need to let it go ive never cared...give England the rest or sell it to china I really dont care... I just have to say somthing when someone is being absolutely ridiculous. I have never really thought about the IRA much until an American asked me about them over xbox live.

He asked me about what england did and I explained how they invaded and colonised. He then asked why in movies like a 007 he had seen where the IRA called terrorists.. I said in my opinion they are not and it is simply Britain slandering their enemy. sure if they bombed to cause fear as a way of getting what they want then by definition its terrorism... but they bombed an enemy they had been at war with for hundreds of years and who (or should I say whom) had committed terrifying atrocities for the singular purpose of getting what they wanted.

Two wrongs dont make a right but only Britain claims that the IRA are a terrorist organization and even then they admit its only the post 1960,s provisional splinter group.

Any way you look at it Britain attacked - Ireland defended
    Britain where in the wrong and should be apologetic.
    Loyalists by all means remember your dead ancestors but know that they were on the immoral side of a war and what happened to them is due to their government and their own participation in it.

This is a fact

A sh*t-stirring, unnecessary and time wasting excercise by SF.

They'd be better off trying to think of ways to reduce health care waiting lists or getting us out of the fiscal mire that we're in.

Their next campaign is to banish illness.

Then we will all have jobs, new schools, no usc, earn a fortune, have lots of days off and be sickness free.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Not like Sinn Fein to come out with a tub-thumping, populist suggestion.