Enda's nephew jailed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 980 ✭✭✭stevedublin

he sounds brainy for a wild youth, he got offered a scholarship at Trinity according to the article! :confused:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15,824 ✭✭✭✭paddy147

lolz

source

Let the puns begin.

Let me say this...... "you are not responsible"

:pac::pac::pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15,824 ✭✭✭✭paddy147

You gotta love the good auld...Dutch Gold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,227 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

Agricola wrote: »
    If similar news of Bertie Aherne's nephew had come out, it would have been "Drumcondra mafia" jokes and "keeping it in the family". But since Enda is such a straight laced, pole in the arse type of fellow, its especially funny knowing the squirming he'd be doing at this news.

certainly Enda has done more positive things for the country , than "won it at the races" Anorack Aherene

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭juan.kerr

So Enda Kenny is now responsible for the behaviour of his nephew, OP?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

The humour here comes from the fact that it's Enda, not the office of the Taoiseach. If similar news of Bertie Aherne's nephew had come out, it would have been "Drumcondra mafia" jokes and "keeping it in the family". But since Enda is such a straight laced, pole in the arse type of fellow, its especially funny knowing the squirming he'd be doing at this news.

What humour?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

Oh dear OP. This didn't really turn out as you intended, did it?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

thebaz wrote: »
    certainly Enda has done more positive things for the country , than "won it at the races" Anorack Aherene

You might be getting slightly ahead of yourself there. Bertie remember did bring peace to NI (mostly by himself ofc) and much of the trappings of prosperity that are visible in the country today are due to his party's (admittedly flawed) policies. So far Enda has..... lengthened the term on our unsustainable debt burden. (slow clap) If and when he rights the capsized ship that is this state, then he will qualify for the title "Glorious Leader"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 805 ✭✭✭SB2013

The court heard how losing his grandmother two years ago, with whom he was very close, had had a serious impact on him

What a disgraceful excuse to use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

juan.kerr wrote: »
    So Enda Kenny is now responsible for the behaviour of his nephew, OP?

the apple does not fall far from the tree:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭Matt_Trakker

Oh dear OP. This didn't really turn out as you intended, did it?!
    No, I thought After Hours woulda had a right laugh at this, some witty banter, good jokes etc.
    Naw, looks like Friday afternoon is a tough crowd.........and die-hard Enda lovers :P
    Shoulda waited until the more vexed evening crowd got it.
    Lesson learned....wait.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭davet82

Actually Op polling shows that a majority of the Irish people would ultimately empathize with poor Enda's situation...

put that in your pipe and smoke it :cool:

davet82 wrote: »
    Actually

What poll is that?

I can't really sympathize with some scrot that goes around robbing cars and beer while high on drugs.
    If you say that most people do, then it's clear Ireland has got it's priorities mixed up. :(

No, I thought After Hours woulda had a right laugh at this, some witty banter, good jokes etc.
    Naw, looks like Friday afternoon is a tough crowd.........and die-hard Enda lovers :P
    Shoulda waited until the more vexed evening crowd got it.
    Lesson learned....wait.

Yeah, you'd think the friday feeling would have kicked in by now wouldnt you? You'd have been better off posting this on Friday night when all the self righteous are gone out after a hard week's work and all the disenfranchised, poor and lonely bitter people clock in! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭davet82

I can't really sympathize with some scrot that goes around robbing cars and beer while high on drugs.

That Enda is a characher alright :pac:

Yeah, you'd think the friday feeling would have kicked in by now wouldnt you? You'd have been better off posting this on Friday night when all the self righteous are gone out after a hard week's work and all the disenfranchised, poor and lonely bitter people clock in! :D

Aye Agri, think it's just me an you wanted to get the boot in on Edna.
    Ah well, back to the gambling threads for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

Stealing Dutch Gold in Swinford? It's obvious that the Hardy Bucks is to blame for rotting the mind of this lad - who is obviously from good stock.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

"Everybody in Ireland went mad stealing Dutch Gold"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,227 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

You might be getting slightly ahead of yourself there. Bertie remember did bring peace to NI (mostly by himself ofc) and much of the trappings of prosperity that are visible in the country today are due to his party's (admittedly flawed) policies. So far Enda has..... lengthened the term on our unsustainable debt burden. (slow clap) If and when he rights the capsized ship that is this state, then he will qualify for the title "Glorious Leader"

the economic mess was created under the Fianna Fail watch - Aherne and Cowen were commanders in chief as the country went bust - and what prosperity today , most people I know are suffering economically - fair play to Bertie on NI peace process, but economically his reign was a fraudulent disaster , Enda was elected to fix the mess he inherited

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

You have problem families like this all over the country

thebaz wrote: »
    the economic mess was created under the Fianna Fail watch - Aherne and Cowen were commanders in chief as the country went bust - and what prosperity today , most people I know are suffering economically - fair play to Bertie on NI peace process, but economically his reign was a fraudulent disaster , Enda was elected to fix the mess he inherited

He built the road(s)!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭juan.kerr

What poll is that?

If you say that most people do, then it's clear Ireland has got it's priorities mixed up. :(

I don't 'sympathize' with him and I don't see what the relevance of his being Enda Kenny's nephew is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭mikeym

Why didnt he rob some exspensive beer instead of Dutch Mould :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 800 ✭✭✭Wicklowandy

A scholarship to trinners for someone who hasn't completed schooling?

And the picture of him outside the court in his trakkies?

The version that the defence solicitor tried to paint of a young man who went down the wrong road etc. was thank god demolished by a probation report.

Im no fan of endas, but it seems like he got an appropriate sentence with no signs of any nepotism. I'd say his mother was trying her brother for any bit of pull she could get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,334 ✭✭✭earlyevening

wouldn't get that sort of thing with Ahern's or Cowen's nephews...;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭books4sale

Like most parents, i'm sure Enda Kenny has enough to be doing to look after his own family never mind throwing his extended family into the bargain. In other words, it's none of his business what goes on in his sister's family.

His nephew made some bad decisions and now muct live with the consequences of that. Pesonally, I hope he gets a hard time for it in the detention centre. I couldn't see too many having sympathy for him.

Having a family connection to the Taoiseach opens more opportunities than most people can get in this country. Instead he choose to squander it, typical traits of a self-entitled fool!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,233 ✭✭✭robman60

Some of the comments here are unfair, especially when people here no little or nothing regarding his life. I won't go into the details, but this guy has had a more difficult youth than 90% of the general public, of that I assure you.

It doesn't excuse anything he's done, but maybe you should give that some consideration before you ridicule him...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

The only thing that baffles me is that he stole some Dutch Gold. Who would want to steal Dutch Gold like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭hames

books4sale wrote: »
    Having a family connection to the Taoiseach opens more opportunities than most people can get in this country.
    Bear in mind he wouldn't have his name plastered in the national media if he were not the Taoiseach's nephew.

cos apart from that, I'm not sure what the Taoiseach's nephew gets that 'most people' cannot get...

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,589 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

driving while under the influence of drugs

There's one thing I just have to know

did they catch him on the magic roundabout ?