Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Putting NUIM on your CAO form and want to ask a question? Post here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭Barster

Hi all ,

Currently have NUIM down as no.1 with Product design. I was just wondering has anybody on here got some extra information on the course. I've reviewed the prospectus, qualifax,boards and even the product design website onmany occasions but It would just be nice to hear more from the student side of things. Honest un-biased opinions that sorta thing :P

Also just general info about the college , For a prospective first year whats reccommended getting a house with other random 1st years or moving in on campus? Budget factors included:P

I'm from Wexford myself and Will need to commute at the weekends does anybody have any experience of the handiest,cheapest studentish commute? :P

thanks in Advance!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

Barster wrote: »
    Also just general info about the college , For a prospective first year whats reccommended getting a house with other random 1st years or moving in on campus? Budget factors included:P

I would suggest moving in on campus. You'll be in with a load of other students who are in the same situation - away from home for the first time and who know only a small few people.

Living on campus in first year isn't a necessity but it is really helpful. You're right beside the college, and there are plenty of parties and goings on in the different halls most nights, and you will be introduced to new people on a constant basis.

My best friends in college were the guys that I lived in first year. They're still my best friends nearly 5 years later.

Living off campus might suit you better for financial reasons or whatever. I would seriously recommend campus accommodation though.

I would suggest moving in on campus. You'll be in with a load of other students who are in the same situation - away from home for the first time and who know only a small few people.

Living on campus in first year isn't a necessity but it is really helpful. You're right beside the college, and there are plenty of parties and goings on in the different halls most nights, and you will be introduced to new people on a constant basis.

My best friends in college were the guys that I lived in first year. They're still my best friends nearly 5 years later.

Living off campus might suit you better for financial reasons or whatever. I would seriously recommend campus accommodation though.

Yeah Campus would be priority but I just want to have other options too yano? with regards on campus though whats the best accomodation to apply for? where your going to be in with all first years and will have no trouble making friends? :) Also when would you say is a good time to apply for accodation?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭degausserxo

Just applied for accommodation :D has anyone ever lived in the Irish speaking apartments? What's it like? How do they assess your level of Irish for entry?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭plumpote

Just applied for accommodation :D has anyone ever lived in the Irish speaking apartments? What's it like? How do they assess your level of Irish for entry?

The Irish speaking apartments are one block in the River apartments (Gweedore). As far as I know there's no 'assessment' of your level of Irish-I think it's just random. The Residence office supposedly encourages Irish in the apartments, and organises events etc. But NUIM is nowhere near the likes of Trinity or other universities with interviews and selection process!

People are applyinf for accomodation already? :O I'm more than likely going to be at NUIM next year , when is the best time to apply for campus accom?

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭suitcasepink

Where do people generally recommend for 1st years to live?
    On the open day they were pushing the river and village apartments, is it really just an either or thing? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,810 ✭✭✭Seren_

You don't have to pay a deposit or anything (unless it has changed this year which I doubt) so you can apply now if you want. You just fill in a form on the residence office website and that's it. Even if you're not sure if you'll even end up going to NUIM you might as well fill it in, 'cause accom is only given out after you accept your course.

Re: where exactly to live - first years live all over the apartments, so it's not like there is one specifically for first years. River rooms are ensuite and the buildings are newer (hence why they're more expensive), but other than that there really isn't much difference! Actually I don't think Village is fully accessible for people with disabilities (no lift etc) so that's something to keep in mind if it applies to anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,989 ✭✭✭PictureFrame

Village, although not as fancy, is much better and more craic than River IMO. Given the choice I would've chosen Village over River when I first applied!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭Boeing777

I agree with PictureFrame, I'm in Village and River apartments with friends almost every single day and I know for a fact that there's more craic in Village. I personally think it's because in River you have your own bedroom to yourself with a bathroom so there's no incentive to leave your room except when your cooking obviously. Whereas in Village, everybody seems to be in their living room with each other all the time which is so much nicer! Village is more homely I think!

Boeing777 wrote: »
    I agree with PictureFrame, I'm in Village and River apartments with friends almost every single day and I know for a fact that there's more craic in Village. I personally think it's because in River you have your own bedroom to yourself with a bathroom so there's no incentive to leave your room except when your cooking obviously. Whereas in Village, everybody seems to be in their living room with each other all the time which is so much nicer! Village is more homely I think!

The craic does be mightyyyyyyyyyy in Leavey! Best part of campus by far! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 FatherFrost

How much does accommodation generally be in the campus areas?
    Never rented a flat near or in a college area, Hope to be going as a mature student(if the interviews go well) in Sept, and cheap place to stay for the term be great. Esp since I plan to get BTEA and work the weekends at home, so could cover it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

Quick question about accommodation. What happens with 1st year Mature students that stay on campus, do they get grouped together or does age matter when they assign rooms?

I think everybody is just mixed in

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,441 Mod ✭✭✭✭XxMCRxBabyxX

This isn't definite but I have seen 'older' groups mixed in together before. A mature student friend of mine lived with older international (and maybe another mature) students in campus when she was in first year and my apt this year was all final year students and internationals.

I don't really know of any mature students who have lived with younger students on campus.

This isn't definite but I have seen 'older' groups mixed in together before. A mature student friend of mine lived with older international (and maybe another mature) students in campus when she was in first year and my apt this year was all final year students and internationals.

I don't really know of any mature students who have lived with younger students on campus.

Thanks, I'm not that old but I don't think living with students straight from their LC would be ideal!

Is anyone here doing law (LLB) and able to give me an insight to what it's like? It's a complete career change for me so any info would be great.

Thanks, I'm not that old but I don't think living with students straight from their LC would be ideal!

Is anyone here doing law (LLB) and able to give me an insight to what it's like? It's a complete career change for me so any info would be great.

The mature students I know are late 20s and early 30s if that helps :)

I do the BCL with History so I have a fair idea of the course if you want to shoot any Qs at me :)

The mature students I know are late 20s and early 30s if that helps :)

I do the BCL with History so I have a fair idea of the course if you want to shoot any Qs at me :)

Pretty much the same as myself then, although I don't look my age so even partying with the younger ones I wouldn't look out of place! It will be my second degree as a mature student and last time they couldn't even believe I was a mature student! Think that's a good thing.

How many hours of lectures a week is there? I know trinity is only something like 12hrs a week or so. NUI the same?

What's the difficultly of the course like?

Do students get sent on work experience?

Class sizes?

What's the social life like? Does everything happen in Maynooth town?

I only have Maynooth down as my 2nd choice but think I'm starting to regret that now. Still think I can change though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 509 ✭✭✭TO_ARTHUR!

On the campus, there is one building especially full of Mature and International students and this Erne Hall. And I know that, one of the the few, only or any buildings that allow smoking is Erne. I'm not sure if smoking is allowed there now but when you're applying and you want an apartment there, you say on the application that you smoke and that's where they put you (providing you got River firstly)

I've lived in Erne and I can say that there was no mad partying, loud music or drunken shenangans in the building apart from the apartment that I was living in: which seemed to be the designated madhouse of campus, that of Erne 1. But the closer you are to the campus office, (ie. Carrick, Boyne and Erne) the more likely it is that the RAs will break up the party (For better or for worse:) )

To adress what the other lads were saying, I think that no matter where you live there's gonna be good craic, River, Rye or Village. True enough, village and rye aren't as good as river and sure as feck, they're colder too but in first year when the exams aren't too hard (There are exceptions), I don't think it matters really (Unless you're ill or have a disability, in which case you can ask to be moved to better accomodation) and you can get on with the business of making friends and enjoying yourself without too much of a walk from the SU bar.

Me? I'm a River man :pac:

How many hours of lectures a week is there? I know trinity is only something like 12hrs a week or so. NUI the same?

I think I had 14 each year for my two subjects so I'd imagine that the LLB hours would be similar as you will have more Law modules and tutorials. You will have plenty of readings and assignments to take up the extra time though! All lectures are also compulsory attendance and you do have to sign in.
    What's the difficultly of the course like?

I really think that's a personal thing but I found it alright. I really enjoy law and find it easy to get into. The course has changed since I started (in 2009 - before the LLB existed) and I know they are trying to keep it challenging. You will have a good few assignments but I never struggled too much.
    Do students get sent on work experience?

Yes, every year more opportunities are offered for placement in 3rd year or for after graduation. I worked in Matheson last year and it was one of the best parts of my degree. An amazing experience that really helped e learn an awful lot.
    Class sizes?

I'm not sure about the LLB. My class was ~90. I think the LLB is saller but you will share a lot of classes with BCLs and BBLs as well as Arts students in first year. From Second Year onwards you will see people transfer into the LLB and will still share with the BCLs and BBLs.
    What's the social life like? Does everything happen in Maynooth town?

I LOVE it! I'm a huge Maynooth fan. It's one of my favourite places to be day and night. There's a good community in Maynooth so during the day you will always find someone to hang around with. The common room is good for that.

At night, most people go out in Maynooth Town. The trend is usually Monday: Roost or Mantra, Tuesday: No one goes out, Wednesday: Bradys or Mantra and Thursday is always a Roost night (though some losers go to Mantra!).
    Some people do travel up to Dublin sometimes though you will have to find somewhere to stay/fork out €50 for a taxi if you do that.
    I only have Maynooth down as my 2nd choice but think I'm starting to regret that now. Still think I can change though.

Regret in a good or bad way? You have plenty of time to work on your CAO so don't worry about that! :)

Keep shooting Qs if you want. You can always PM me if you want too.

I think I had 14 each year for my two subjects so I'd imagine that the LLB hours would be similar as you will have more Law modules and tutorials. You will have plenty of readings and assignments to take up the extra time though! All lectures are also compulsory attendance and you do have to sign in.

I really think that's a personal thing but I found it alright. I really enjoy law and find it easy to get into. The course has changed since I started (in 2009 - before the LLB existed) and I know they are trying to keep it challenging. You will have a good few assignments but I never struggled too much.

Yes, every year more opportunities are offered for placement in 3rd year or for after graduation. I worked in Matheson last year and it was one of the best parts of my degree. An amazing experience that really helped e learn an awful lot.

I'm not sure about the LLB. My class was ~90. I think the LLB is saller but you will share a lot of classes with BCLs and BBLs as well as Arts students in first year. From Second Year onwards you will see people transfer into the LLB and will still share with the BCLs and BBLs.

I LOVE it! I'm a huge Maynooth fan. It's one of my favourite places to be day and night. There's a good community in Maynooth so during the day you will always find someone to hang around with. The common room is good for that.

At night, most people go out in Maynooth Town. The trend is usually Monday: Roost or Mantra, Tuesday: No one goes out, Wednesday: Bradys or Mantra and Thursday is always a Roost night (though some losers go to Mantra!).
    Some people do travel up to Dublin sometimes though you will have to find somewhere to stay/fork out €50 for a taxi if you do that.

Regret in a good or bad way? You have plenty of time to work on your CAO so don't worry about that! :)

Keep shooting Qs if you want. You can always PM me if you want too.

Sorry, I can't muti-quote on my phone.

Yeah I heard there is lots of reading and studying involved but that's something I enjoy so hopefully that's not going to be a problem.

Assignments should be grand as long as I don't leave it to the last minute!

90 is ok, not a fan of lectures with 200 people in them!

It sounds like a good place to go and I'm sick of going out in Dublin so maynooth would be a nice change! Is it true that its a ghost town wk ends and holidays?

Well not do much regret but I've put TCD as my first choice but the more I think of it the more I think Maynooth would fit me a bit better. Not sure if I can change my preferences as mature applicants had to be in by the first of feb.

What are the lecturers like? Friendly, approachable? I've met some lecturers in my time and the last thing they want to do is help!

Also what's the job situation like for law graduates?

Thanks for taking the time to answer me, first drink on me in September! :)

Sorry, I can't muti-quote on my phone.

Yeah I heard there is lots of reading and studying involved but that's something I enjoy so hopefully that's not going to be a problem.

Assignments should be grand as long as I don't leave it to the last minute!

90 is ok, not a fan of lectures with 200 people in them!

It sounds like a good place to go and I'm sick of going out in Dublin so maynooth would be a nice change! Is it true that its a ghost town wk ends and holidays?

Well not do much regret but I've put TCD as my first choice but the more I think of it the more I think Maynooth would fit me a bit better. Not sure if I can change my preferences as mature applicants had to be in by the first of feb.

What are the lecturers like? Friendly, approachable? I've met some lecturers in my time and the last thing they want to do is help!

Also what's the job situation like for law graduates?

Thanks for taking the time to answer me, first drink on me in September! :)

Sorry on my phone so my answers might not be as detailed.

Yea Maynooth is dead during any sort of break. Most people seem to go home every weekend and holiday.

Most lecturers are great! Some have come from abroad so have different styles and can clash with students but they all mean well and are approachable.

Job situation really depends on what you want to do. Of my old classmates (who have graduated ahead of me due to my placement year) a good few have gotten training contracts or are now doing masters. It is a difficult climate but remember you'll have 4-6 years before you really need to face it.

No problem! I'm more than happy to help!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,168 ✭✭✭Ms. Koi

In the online application there is a part that asks why do you wish to study at maynooth? Im not sure what to say. do i say maynooth is the best etc etc or is it more of a personal statement,

Be honest. Give your reasons for choosing the college (modules, lecturers, location) and try to let them know the real you. If you are honest, explain your reasoning behind wanting to come to Maynooth and what you want to do afterwards with your degree. The people who read your statement will be more open to your statement if it is honest and open.
    The majority of lecturers operate an open door policy, whether its during office hours or via email. They are there to help you advance and they want you to do well.

The village is very quiet at weekends and breaks, the population of the town is doubled when the students are in, so there isn't many people about when they go! (It's nice ha)

Ok so I was accepted on the LLB and changed maynooth to my 1st choice so obviously I'll be heading there come September. I'll be looking to move out that way and I'm wondering what's best. Accommodation on campus or rented off? Pros and cons of both if someone could answer it would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭Paczini

Ok so I was accepted on the LLB and changed maynooth to my 1st choice so obviously I'll be heading there come September. I'll be looking to move out that way and I'm wondering what's best. Accommodation on campus or rented off? Pros and cons of both if someone could answer it would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!
    I only lived off campus so I can only give you my opinion on that. My house is cheap enough (less than €300/month), gas heating and it isnt too bad but it is a long walk from the campus. Most of the student houses Ive seen are in quite bad condition and cheap or in good condition but expensive. Most houses in Maynooth have oil heating but to be honest they are just student houses and from my own experience I know that the people who live in the house can make it a palace. For example I prefer my friends' old and cold house to my warm and confy room. Also I dont mind the walk therefore Im gonna live off campus again next year, just to save money

• Closed Accounts Posts: 320 ✭✭andrew369

Hey guys really minor question, just wondering what the smoking areas are like on campus. Is there a designated area, is it ok to smoke while just walking around outside etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭Paczini

andrew369 wrote: »
    Hey guys really minor question, just wondering what the smoking areas are like on campus. Is there a designated area, is it ok to smoke while just walking around outside etc?
    You can smoke anywhere you want as long as it's not inside the building.

Bit of a pointless question, but curiosity is getting the better of me!
    Around how many people would be in business module lectures, such as " PRINCIPLES OF MICROECONOMICS I" or "CRITICAL THINKING FOR PROFESSIONALS" where there'd be an overlap of courses using those modules? Like would they be very large orr?
    I dont even know why Im asking tbh, think its just to mentally prepare myself for the difference to secondary school! :pac:

deise_girl wrote: »
    Bit of a pointless question, but curiosity is getting the better of me!
    Around how many people would be in business module lectures, such as " PRINCIPLES OF MICROECONOMICS I" or "CRITICAL THINKING FOR PROFESSIONALS" where there'd be an overlap of courses using those modules? Like would they be very large orr?
    I dont even know why Im asking tbh, think its just to mentally prepare myself for the difference to secondary school! :pac:

Hey deisegirl :) I was doing Business/Economics as subjects at the start of this year and I can tell you that the classes are very very big. Business (particularly at the beginning of the year) will have between 450-550 in each lecture. Economics is slightly less but still quite full, this will reduce within the first few weeks as people finalise their subject choices/ change degree (as I did) etc.

Thanks a million for this! Im really considering doing Equine Business and Im yet to find anyone thats done the course and was wondering if this meant the classes would be tiny! Then I saw a lot of the modules overlapped with other business courses so I started thinking about it. Never would have guessed 450-550 though! Oh my god, definitely not in secondary school anymore :L