Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Putting NUIM on your CAO form and want to ask a question? Post here!

• 13-01-2013 8:48pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,810 ✭✭✭

Hey there.

Most of us posting here will remember the confusion that CAO time brings, so I thought having a thread where people thinking of applying to NUIM can ask questions would be a good idea.

There are some really useful threads on the forum, which might be a good idea to read - Link to Useful Threads thread

We'll try and help as much as we can, so ask away!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,810 ✭✭✭Seren_

I made a balls of merging the two threads! - Seren_

Hey does anyone have any experience or knowledge about staying in student accommodation for first year?
    I'm really considering going here but don't know anyone else going or where to stay :( so has any of ye got experience of staying here and what did ye do about making friends etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 PrincessNemo

I'm going to NUIM to do PPE :) I live in Tallaght though and worry about getting there every day especially in the winter when it does be cold but NUIM is my first choice and nowhere else does a course like PPE!

Hey does anyone have any experience or knowledge about staying in student accommodation for first year?
    I'm really considering going here but don't know anyone else going or where to stay :( so has any of ye got experience of staying here and what did ye do about making friends etc.

I didn't know anyone in Maynooth either back when I started. It's so easy to make friends though (I was pretty quiet and I still managed to make some :)). Clubs and socs are a great way to meet people. I lived in Village apts in first year, and enjoyed it a lot. However, they are really noisy. If you're a very light sleeper and aren't into parties etc I would maybe avoid it. But it's good craic! Off-campus rent is usually cheaper.
    I'm going to NUIM to do PPE :) I live in Tallaght though and worry about getting there every day especially in the winter when it does be cold but NUIM is my first choice and nowhere else does a course like PPE!

A good few people from Tallaght seem to go to Maynooth so you should be okay! B1tch of a commute though I'd say!! Politics is part of PPE yeah? I studied some politics modules as part of sociology (they're the same department) and they were so interesting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 320 ✭✭andrew369

Hey I'm pretty close to you in Clondalkin and there is a coach service run by Slevins which goes through Tallaght definitely. I'm not sure where exactly but it would probably beat getting a bus into town and then another bus or train out to Maynooth. And I am doing Philosophy so might see you in a few modules. :)

My own question is I am pretty sure I want to do an Arts Degree with English and Philosophy but I haven't a clue what to take for a third subject in first year. Do you get long to pick which subjects you want to do? I heard it was something along the lines of 6 weeks to pick for sure but that sounded a little too long to be true.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,849 Mod ✭✭✭✭suitcasepink

Youre going to regret this thread before long.. Ill have trawled through all the past threads reading every question thats ever been asked iswell as finding 100s more needing to be answered :pac:
    Anyway my first, is just wondering if anyone here is from Waterford and what they found to be the easiest(as in combination of cheapest and quickest) way to travel up and down? Ive read all the trains and buses but so much of it involves changing around, hearing from someone who experiences it would be nice :)

Alsoooo, does anyone(or know anyone) do Equine Business? And how they find that? Like is the work difficult, are the class sizes big or just any general comments! Ive read the web page a hundred times and went to the open day talk but its just kinda nice to hear about it from as many as possible, seeing as theres such few sources!
    Thanks a million. And beware.. I will be back :pac: Probs with more general living questions!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭degausserxo

There's a coach that leaves from the social welfare at the Square at 8am, returns every day at 2 and 6 I think! I'm from Tallaght and I'm going to Maynooth in September too :) what's PPE?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,989 ✭✭✭PictureFrame

andrew369 wrote: »
    My own question is I am pretty sure I want to do an Arts Degree with English and Philosophy but I haven't a clue what to take for a third subject in first year. Do you get long to pick which subjects you want to do? I heard it was something along the lines of 6 weeks to pick for sure but that sounded a little too long to be true.

Sociology is pretty easy if you want a nice subject. Psychology (my course) is pretty good too, just make sure you're interested in it though. LOADS picked it through MH101 thinking it would be easy and now they're stuck doing it until the end of this year and have no interest in it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 320 ✭✭andrew369

Sociology is pretty easy if you want a nice subject. Psychology (my course) is pretty good too, just make sure you're interested in it though. LOADS picked it through MH101 thinking it would be easy and now they're stuck doing it until the end of this year and have no interest in it.

I was thinking of trying psychology but was put off by how much work I would have to put into it, and if I really liked it I wouldn't be able to take it with English or Philosophy in second year, would have to take it on its own if I even got high enough marks to get into the second year course. Will sit in a few a few lectures anyway and thanks will look into Sociology. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,007 ✭✭✭kksaints

deise_girl wrote: »
    Youre going to regret this thread before long.. Ill have trawled through all the past threads reading every question thats ever been asked iswell as finding 100s more needing to be answered :pac:
    Anyway my first, is just wondering if anyone here is from Waterford and what they found to be the easiest(as in combination of cheapest and quickest) way to travel up and down? Ive read all the trains and buses but so much of it involves changing around, hearing from someone who experiences it would be nice :)

Alsoooo, does anyone(or know anyone) do Equine Business? And how they find that? Like is the work difficult, are the class sizes big or just any general comments! Ive read the web page a hundred times and went to the open day talk but its just kinda nice to hear about it from as many as possible, seeing as theres such few sources!
    Thanks a million. And beware.. I will be back :pac: Probs with more general living questions!

Re commuting Im not sure if there is a bus directly from waterford to Maynooth but the handiest way down was to get a train from Maynooth to Connolly which is around €4 and then get a bus from Bus Aras to Waterford City which Im not sure of the price (It was around €14 when I was a student but I was only going to Thomastown). You can also get a train from houston which is definitely more expensive if you dont pre-book. The two buses from Maynooth the 66 and 67 will drop you off at Houston. The cheapest way from me was a direct bus from Kilkenny to Maynooth but thats of no use to you. But when I couldnt get that bus I got the train into Dublin and the Bus to Thomastown which is the same one to Waterford. Bus Aras is only 2 mins from Connolly Station in Dublin and the Train station in Maynooth is only around 5 min from the college. Hope this is of some use to you.

I think you get 4 weeks to choose your subjects in Arts. It's a good idea to go along to a lecture in any subject that sounds remotely interesting to you - you never know what might be the perfect subject! I went along to sociology on a whim and I ended up loving it :) Geography is a nice subject to do in first year too; the course is quite similar to what you study for the LC but in a bit more detail. Anthropology is always very popular in first year too.

kksaints wrote: »
    Re commuting Im not sure if there is a bus directly from waterford to Maynooth but the handiest way down was to get a train from Maynooth to Connolly which is around €4 and then get a bus from Bus Aras to Waterford City which Im not sure of the price (It was around €14 when I was a student but I was only going to Thomastown). You can also get a train from houston which is definitely more expensive if you dont pre-book. The two buses from Maynooth the 66 and 67 will drop you off at Houston. The cheapest way from me was a direct bus from Kilkenny to Maynooth but thats of no use to you. But when I couldnt get that bus I got the train into Dublin and the Bus to Thomastown which is the same one to Waterford. Bus Aras is only 2 mins from Connolly Station in Dublin and the Train station in Maynooth is only around 5 min from the college. Hope this is of some use to you.

Thanks it definitely is of use! Im such a loser but Im like gathering all this info for a word document with all the options to filter through which is most viable :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 941 ✭✭✭11Charlie11

Do many people go to may moth and not know anybody? Like in student accommodation will there be a good few people that don't know anybody? I put it down as my first choice :)

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,441 Mod ✭✭✭✭XxMCRxBabyxX

Do many people go to may moth and not know anybody? Like in student accommodation will there be a good few people that don't know anybody? I put it down as my first choice :)

I lived on campus in first year and came there knowing one guy. By the end of the year I felt like I knew everyone! Quite a lot people start in Maynooth knowing no one so I wouldn't worry about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭Boeing777

Tbh, I think it's nearly better not knowing anyone when you first start. I didn't know anyone and it forced me to come out of my shell a bit and try make friends with new people. Whereas, if I knew a lot of people beforehand I'd probably just cling to them and never mix with new people. So don't be worrying, you'll be grand! :)

Boeing777 wrote: »

Tbh, I think it's nearly better not knowing anyone when you first start. I didn't know anyone and it forced me to come out of my shell a bit and try make friends with new people. Whereas, if I knew a lot of people beforehand I'd probably just cling to them and never mix with new people. So don't be worrying, you'll be grand! :)

This.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

I knew one guy from my school going there. We barely spoke apart from the first two weeks or so. After that we found our feet and met new people. The guys that I lived with on campus ended up being my best friends, and they still are 4 years later.

As was said before, you're almost better off going on your own. It forces you to meet new people and branch out. Whether that's something you're comfortable with is up to yourself.

Don't let a decision as big as this be dictated by the amount of friends you have going to a particular college/city.

Don't fall into the 'Sociology is easy' trap. If you have no interest in it then don't pick it. You never know, you may end up keeping it on in second and third year, and it ain't so easy then.

I have to say, NUI Maynooth is seriously the easiest place to make friends in. Everyday I meet someone new either through lectures, tutorials, societies or through other friends. Everyone is just so unbelievably friendly.

Do not hesitate to come to NUIM it honestly is like a 2nd home and I can't imagine myself in any other college now to be honest! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,487 ✭✭✭banquo

It is the easiest place to make friends in the world. I was pretty introverted and quiet when I started, and now I have some friends for life.

Without question, I just finished my exams today and i'm really looking forward to start my 2nd semester in Maynooth, I absolutely love it and know most people feel the very same about the place!

banquo wrote: »
    I was pretty introverted and quiet when I started

:-O ?!?!

This is like when AdmialNimitz told me that he used to never drink...

:-O ?!?!

This is like when AdmialNimitz told me that he used to never drink...

What?! I point plank refuse to believe that.

/bumps into Admial in town

"Hey Admial, how are - oh, never mind, you're drunk."

Didn't he recently have to take part in a parade dressed as a bird, got smashed with mates and ended up stalling the parade by quite a bit?

What?! I point plank refuse to believe that.

/bumps into Admial in town

"Hey Admial, how are - oh, never mind, you're drunk."

Didn't he recently have to take part in a parade dressed as a bird, got smashed with mates and ended up stalling the parade by quite a bit?

It's true! It took him ages to convince me but it is!!!

I haven't heard that story but I'd well believe it!

I heard from the horse's mouth itself!

But seriously, nobody has to worry about making friends while studying in Maynooth, regardless of how shy you are or how popular you are in school now. I know people in their 60s who are the best of friends with a student in their 20s, and people who were total outcasts in their LC years but now have a circle of friends with similar interests. There really is something for everyone here.

I heard from the horse's mouth itself!

But seriously, nobody has to worry about making friends while studying in Maynooth, regardless of how shy you are or how popular you are in school now. I know people in their 60s who are the best of friends with a student in their 20s, and people who were total outcasts in their LC years but now have a circle of friends with similar interests. There really is something for everyone here.

^^ This is true! Two of my good friends from my Psychology/Sociology class are in their late 30's and i'm 19!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 Conor94

I looked through the "What to expect from [subject]?" thread, but I couldn't find much about the 'B.Sc. Science (MH201)' course. I think I'm going to put the course down on my CAO but I don't really know what to expect from it, so if anyone doing the course could give me any advice or tell me about their experience with it or whatever it'd be much appreciated.

The only subject (apart from maths obviously) I'm sure about taking if I do the course is Biology. I'm considering Computer Science and either Exp. Physics or Chemistry, so if anyone has done Comp. Sci and either of those subjects I'd really appreciate any info on what's covered, how difficult the subject is etc. I have no idea what particular area of science I'd like to focus on yet, which is why I'm putting down the general science degree as opposed to a more specific degree.

Thanks.

Conor94 wrote: »

Ok, I'll try to answer as best I can. I don't do General Science myself, but I do Science Ed which is identical to General Science in first year, so I'll give it a go!

Science in Maynooth is great. Like yourself, I only had Biology coming in. I was so worried about that because I thought I'd be at a huge disadvantage but it turned out that I wasn't at all. Subjects in first year are essentially the LC course all over again and are designed to get everybody up to scratch and at the same standard before second year. I found chemistry very easy to pick up because I found that I had an interest in it. I done OL maths for the LC and I'm not going to lie, I am finding it hard in first year. But, it's not impossible. If you're any way good at maths you'll be absolutely fine. The beauty about NUIM is the fantastic support they offer in maths. The maths department is excellent and the Maths Support Center is truly invaluable. It's is a place were, if you've any difficulties at all, you can get help and guidance.

As part of my course I have to take Exp. Physics in first year. I don't like physics so naturally I find it hard and boring. But I do know lots of people who love it. The physics department is excellent, very easy going and the lab practicals are actually quite enjoyable (coming from somebody who has zero interest in the subject). :rolleyes:

Biology has always been my favourite subject and I still stand by that. Biology in NUIM is good. The lecturers are mostly good. There are certain ones who you may not like but I think that's the case in every college so I wouldn't be worrying. The lab practicals in Biology are mostly enjoyable. A few times I found them very stressful and chaotic, but they're mostly good!

As for hours in the course, you're definitely looking at 23 hours + per week. That's split up in the following way:
    Lectures: 12 hours (4 subjects x 3 hours each week)
    Labs: 3 hours for Biology, 2 hours for chemistry (two workshops per semester that are 3 hours long), 2 hours for physics and I'm not sure about computer science?
    Tutorials: 1 hour for maths, 1 hour for physics, 1 hour for chemistry, and again I'm not sure about computer science or any of the other subjects on offer.

Overall, Science in NUIM is great. It really is. I couldn't imagine myself doing it in any other college. It's often overlooked on many CAO forms because it's not as popular as the Dublin colleges, but tbh they really don't know what they're missing. Maynooth has an indescribable effect on people both academically and on a personal level.

I hope this helps! Best of luck with your decision! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭peacock169

Ok, I'll try to answer as best I can. I don't do General Science myself, but I do Science Ed which is identical to General Science in first year, so I'll give it a go!

Science in Maynooth is great. Like yourself, I only had Biology coming in. I was so worried about that because I thought I'd be at a huge disadvantage but it turned out that I wasn't at all. Subjects in first year are essentially the LC course all over again and are designed to get everybody up to scratch and at the same standard before second year. I found chemistry very easy to pick up because I found that I had an interest in it. I done OL maths for the LC and I'm not going to lie, I am finding it hard in first year. But, it's not impossible. If you're any way good at maths you'll be absolutely fine. The beauty about NUIM is the fantastic support they offer in maths. The maths department is excellent and the Maths Support Center is truly invaluable. It's is a place were, if you've any difficulties at all, you can get help and guidance.

As part of my course I have to take Exp. Physics in first year. I don't like physics so naturally I find it hard and boring. But I do know lots of people who love it. The physics department is excellent, very easy going and the lab practicals are actually quite enjoyable (coming from somebody who has zero interest in the subject). :rolleyes:

Biology has always been my favourite subject and I still stand by that. Biology in NUIM is good. The lecturers are mostly good. There are certain ones who you may not like but I think that's the case in every college so I wouldn't be worrying. The lab practicals in Biology are mostly enjoyable. A few times I found them very stressful and chaotic, but they're mostly good!

As for hours in the course, you're definitely looking at 23 hours + per week. That's split up in the following way:
    Lectures: 12 hours (4 subjects x 3 hours each week)
    Labs: 3 hours for Biology, 2 hours for chemistry (two workshops per semester that are 3 hours long), 2 hours for physics and I'm not sure about computer science?
    Tutorials: 1 hour for maths, 1 hour for physics, 1 hour for chemistry, and again I'm not sure about computer science or any of the other subjects on offer.

Overall, Science in NUIM is great. It really is. I couldn't imagine myself doing it in any other college. It's often overlooked on many CAO forms because it's not as popular as the Dublin colleges, but tbh they really don't know what they're missing. Maynooth has an indescribable effect on people both academically and on a personal level.

I hope this helps! Best of luck with your decision! :)

Very good post. I might just add, if you have no physics going into this course, the first part of the course is all mechanics and goes at a ferocious pace. Don't fret, Astronomy comes in the second half of semester 1, and if you can enjoy and understand that (which I did), you don't need to do any mechanics questions in the exam. This is all assuming that you don't intend to continue with Physics for the rest of your life, obviously!

If anyone has any questions about the first year experience in NUIM, Clubs or specifically my course: MH106 (BA Psychology) feel free to ask! Oh yeah before I forget my 2 additional subjects i'm doing this year are English & Sociology!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 ronnieboy1968

In the online application there is a part that asks why do you wish to study at maynooth? Im not sure what to say. do i say maynooth is the best etc etc or is it more of a personal statement,

Is this for a mature student entry? I'd imagine its more of a personal statement tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭Barster

Hi all ,

Currently have NUIM down as no.1 with Product design. I was just wondering has anybody on here got some extra information on the course. I've reviewed the prospectus, qualifax,boards and even the product design website onmany occasions but It would just be nice to hear more from the student side of things. Honest un-biased opinions that sorta thing :P

Also just general info about the college , For a prospective first year whats reccommended getting a house with other random 1st years or moving in on campus? Budget factors included:P

I'm from Wexford myself and Will need to commute at the weekends does anybody have any experience of the handiest,cheapest studentish commute? :P

thanks in Advance!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

Barster wrote: »
    Also just general info about the college , For a prospective first year whats reccommended getting a house with other random 1st years or moving in on campus? Budget factors included:P

I would suggest moving in on campus. You'll be in with a load of other students who are in the same situation - away from home for the first time and who know only a small few people.

Living on campus in first year isn't a necessity but it is really helpful. You're right beside the college, and there are plenty of parties and goings on in the different halls most nights, and you will be introduced to new people on a constant basis.

My best friends in college were the guys that I lived in first year. They're still my best friends nearly 5 years later.

Living off campus might suit you better for financial reasons or whatever. I would seriously recommend campus accommodation though.

I would suggest moving in on campus. You'll be in with a load of other students who are in the same situation - away from home for the first time and who know only a small few people.

Living on campus in first year isn't a necessity but it is really helpful. You're right beside the college, and there are plenty of parties and goings on in the different halls most nights, and you will be introduced to new people on a constant basis.

My best friends in college were the guys that I lived in first year. They're still my best friends nearly 5 years later.

Living off campus might suit you better for financial reasons or whatever. I would seriously recommend campus accommodation though.

Yeah Campus would be priority but I just want to have other options too yano? with regards on campus though whats the best accomodation to apply for? where your going to be in with all first years and will have no trouble making friends? :) Also when would you say is a good time to apply for accodation?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭degausserxo

Just applied for accommodation :D has anyone ever lived in the Irish speaking apartments? What's it like? How do they assess your level of Irish for entry?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭plumpote

Just applied for accommodation :D has anyone ever lived in the Irish speaking apartments? What's it like? How do they assess your level of Irish for entry?

The Irish speaking apartments are one block in the River apartments (Gweedore). As far as I know there's no 'assessment' of your level of Irish-I think it's just random. The Residence office supposedly encourages Irish in the apartments, and organises events etc. But NUIM is nowhere near the likes of Trinity or other universities with interviews and selection process!

People are applyinf for accomodation already? :O I'm more than likely going to be at NUIM next year , when is the best time to apply for campus accom?

Where do people generally recommend for 1st years to live?
    On the open day they were pushing the river and village apartments, is it really just an either or thing? :)

You don't have to pay a deposit or anything (unless it has changed this year which I doubt) so you can apply now if you want. You just fill in a form on the residence office website and that's it. Even if you're not sure if you'll even end up going to NUIM you might as well fill it in, 'cause accom is only given out after you accept your course.

Re: where exactly to live - first years live all over the apartments, so it's not like there is one specifically for first years. River rooms are ensuite and the buildings are newer (hence why they're more expensive), but other than that there really isn't much difference! Actually I don't think Village is fully accessible for people with disabilities (no lift etc) so that's something to keep in mind if it applies to anyone.

Village, although not as fancy, is much better and more craic than River IMO. Given the choice I would've chosen Village over River when I first applied!

I agree with PictureFrame, I'm in Village and River apartments with friends almost every single day and I know for a fact that there's more craic in Village. I personally think it's because in River you have your own bedroom to yourself with a bathroom so there's no incentive to leave your room except when your cooking obviously. Whereas in Village, everybody seems to be in their living room with each other all the time which is so much nicer! Village is more homely I think!

The craic does be mightyyyyyyyyyy in Leavey! Best part of campus by far! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 FatherFrost

How much does accommodation generally be in the campus areas?
    Never rented a flat near or in a college area, Hope to be going as a mature student(if the interviews go well) in Sept, and cheap place to stay for the term be great. Esp since I plan to get BTEA and work the weekends at home, so could cover it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

Quick question about accommodation. What happens with 1st year Mature students that stay on campus, do they get grouped together or does age matter when they assign rooms?

I think everybody is just mixed in

This isn't definite but I have seen 'older' groups mixed in together before. A mature student friend of mine lived with older international (and maybe another mature) students in campus when she was in first year and my apt this year was all final year students and internationals.

I don't really know of any mature students who have lived with younger students on campus.

This isn't definite but I have seen 'older' groups mixed in together before. A mature student friend of mine lived with older international (and maybe another mature) students in campus when she was in first year and my apt this year was all final year students and internationals.

I don't really know of any mature students who have lived with younger students on campus.

Thanks, I'm not that old but I don't think living with students straight from their LC would be ideal!

Is anyone here doing law (LLB) and able to give me an insight to what it's like? It's a complete career change for me so any info would be great.

Thanks, I'm not that old but I don't think living with students straight from their LC would be ideal!

Is anyone here doing law (LLB) and able to give me an insight to what it's like? It's a complete career change for me so any info would be great.

The mature students I know are late 20s and early 30s if that helps :)

I do the BCL with History so I have a fair idea of the course if you want to shoot any Qs at me :)

The mature students I know are late 20s and early 30s if that helps :)

I do the BCL with History so I have a fair idea of the course if you want to shoot any Qs at me :)

Pretty much the same as myself then, although I don't look my age so even partying with the younger ones I wouldn't look out of place! It will be my second degree as a mature student and last time they couldn't even believe I was a mature student! Think that's a good thing.

How many hours of lectures a week is there? I know trinity is only something like 12hrs a week or so. NUI the same?

What's the difficultly of the course like?

Do students get sent on work experience?

Class sizes?

What's the social life like? Does everything happen in Maynooth town?

I only have Maynooth down as my 2nd choice but think I'm starting to regret that now. Still think I can change though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 509 ✭✭✭TO_ARTHUR!

On the campus, there is one building especially full of Mature and International students and this Erne Hall. And I know that, one of the the few, only or any buildings that allow smoking is Erne. I'm not sure if smoking is allowed there now but when you're applying and you want an apartment there, you say on the application that you smoke and that's where they put you (providing you got River firstly)

I've lived in Erne and I can say that there was no mad partying, loud music or drunken shenangans in the building apart from the apartment that I was living in: which seemed to be the designated madhouse of campus, that of Erne 1. But the closer you are to the campus office, (ie. Carrick, Boyne and Erne) the more likely it is that the RAs will break up the party (For better or for worse:) )

To adress what the other lads were saying, I think that no matter where you live there's gonna be good craic, River, Rye or Village. True enough, village and rye aren't as good as river and sure as feck, they're colder too but in first year when the exams aren't too hard (There are exceptions), I don't think it matters really (Unless you're ill or have a disability, in which case you can ask to be moved to better accomodation) and you can get on with the business of making friends and enjoying yourself without too much of a walk from the SU bar.

Me? I'm a River man :pac:

How many hours of lectures a week is there? I know trinity is only something like 12hrs a week or so. NUI the same?

I think I had 14 each year for my two subjects so I'd imagine that the LLB hours would be similar as you will have more Law modules and tutorials. You will have plenty of readings and assignments to take up the extra time though! All lectures are also compulsory attendance and you do have to sign in.
    What's the difficultly of the course like?

I really think that's a personal thing but I found it alright. I really enjoy law and find it easy to get into. The course has changed since I started (in 2009 - before the LLB existed) and I know they are trying to keep it challenging. You will have a good few assignments but I never struggled too much.
    Do students get sent on work experience?

Yes, every year more opportunities are offered for placement in 3rd year or for after graduation. I worked in Matheson last year and it was one of the best parts of my degree. An amazing experience that really helped e learn an awful lot.
    Class sizes?

I'm not sure about the LLB. My class was ~90. I think the LLB is saller but you will share a lot of classes with BCLs and BBLs as well as Arts students in first year. From Second Year onwards you will see people transfer into the LLB and will still share with the BCLs and BBLs.
    What's the social life like? Does everything happen in Maynooth town?

I LOVE it! I'm a huge Maynooth fan. It's one of my favourite places to be day and night. There's a good community in Maynooth so during the day you will always find someone to hang around with. The common room is good for that.

At night, most people go out in Maynooth Town. The trend is usually Monday: Roost or Mantra, Tuesday: No one goes out, Wednesday: Bradys or Mantra and Thursday is always a Roost night (though some losers go to Mantra!).
    Some people do travel up to Dublin sometimes though you will have to find somewhere to stay/fork out €50 for a taxi if you do that.
    I only have Maynooth down as my 2nd choice but think I'm starting to regret that now. Still think I can change though.

Regret in a good or bad way? You have plenty of time to work on your CAO so don't worry about that! :)

Keep shooting Qs if you want. You can always PM me if you want too.