Do you blackout often from drinking?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,195 ✭✭✭irish son

Get yourself a girlfriend Teddy, you won't be as tempted to go out and get really drunk at the weekends, you will probably just stay in watch a dvd and maybe have 2 or 3 drinks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭razorgil

irish son wrote: »
    Get yourself a girlfriend Teddy, you won't be as tempted to go out and get really drunk at the weekends, you will probably just stay in watch a dvd and maybe have 2 or 3 drinks.

are you shttin poor teddy!! if anything is going to make him drink more its a woman!! holy god ted, don't do it man............:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 261 ✭✭tommyombomb

In the same boat. Bit fuzzy the last two nights out with only a small bit missing. However the previous weekend involved most of the night missing and waking up in the horrors.

Man up ted and stop whinning

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭dorkacle

Being honest I do occasionally black out on nights out.

Its usually if I go on the spirits and have been in work all day beforehand or something... I hate when I it happens, because clearly I was concious and physically awake because I'm told by other people but for me its just blank :confused:

As a result I tend to stick to the beer and actually try know 'the one' that is one too many, and I've been pretty good at it :D

However some nights I still do loose the run of myself still :pac:
    The only positive I suppose is that I've been told I'm a jolly drunk when I'm like that, if I was any other way I'd try never let it happen!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭7 7 12

I've been watching some of the Des Bishop show there and think he's dead right.
    I was out over the weekend and drank myself into a black out, but the next morning I woke up in a strange house and before I left without saying anything I went to the kitchen and robbed some beer for my way home.
    In my mind at the time I was more than welcome to do it and that it was completely acceptable, but I just robbed from a stranger.
    Then after finally getting home I could care less about food and instead went to the pub with a few people for the sport that was on Sunday.
    I've spent the last hour or so trying to read about AA but my head is still suffering from alcohol withdrawal I can't concentrate well. On a sober day I could have read everything I've read in the last hour in about 10 minutes.

If you're not winding us up here... seriously you need to cut drink out of your life completely. I don't know what it would take (whether it's reading some of the books mentioned, visiting people in hospital, having a brush with death which you eventually will if you carry on like this) but all I'll say is I personally know of 3 dead people who were alive this time last year, all dead directly or indirectly as a result of alcohol. (One of them drunk fell down stairs and broke his neck, another drowned after falling into a river, and another died a painful death through cirrhosis)

These people weren't even old, and risking all this sh1te over what is in my opinion a crap drug. It's a depressant like! I don't want to condone illegal drug use but there are far better, safer alternative ways to get a buzz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,433 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Good ****in man teddy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

I've been watching some of the Des Bishop show there and think he's dead right.
    I was out over the weekend and drank myself into a black out, but the next morning I woke up in a strange house and before I left without saying anything I went to the kitchen and robbed some beer for my way home.
    In my mind at the time I was more than welcome to do it and that it was completely acceptable, but I just robbed from a stranger.
    Then after finally getting home I could care less about food and instead went to the pub with a few people for the sport that was on Sunday.
    I've spent the last hour or so trying to read about AA but my head is still suffering from alcohol withdrawal I can't concentrate well. On a sober day I could have read everything I've read in the last hour in about 10 minutes.

I'm not near to plan on going to AA or anything yet at least, but what does put me off is the tie in with bringing god into my life. I'm not anti religion, but God is just not for me and I'm not really a believer. I don't see why god needs to be involved in AA.

The first step of AA is that members admit they are powerless over alcohol, which basically means they can't control their drinking or quit on their own, so something/someone else has to help them. The word god in addiction terms is inter-changable with the term "higher power", it just means something bigger than yourself. It's the fundamental basis of all 12 step addiction programs, not just AA (although they did invent it).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

What a way to turn anyone off a girlfriend :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

7 7 12 wrote: »
    If you're not winding us up here... seriously you need to cut drink out of your life completely. I don't know what it would take (whether it's reading some of the books mentioned, visiting people in hospital, having a brush with death which you eventually will if you carry on like this) but all I'll say is I personally know of 3 dead people who were alive this time last year, all dead directly or indirectly as a result of alcohol. (One of them drunk fell down stairs and broke his neck, another drowned after falling into a river, and another died a painful death through cirrhosis)

These people weren't even old, and risking all this sh1te over what is in my opinion a crap drug. It's a depressant like! I don't want to condone illegal drug use but there are far better, safer alternative ways to get a buzz.
    No I'm actually leaving a lot of stuff out to be honest.
    It's like cigarettes for me in the pub. I need to have a drink in my hand.
    I've been drinking during weekends for so long now that it's hard to break the habit. I even quit playing sport because we'd always go for drinks afterwards but now I find I'm drinking more and getting less exercise.
    Next weekend I'm going to try so hard not to drink.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Ando's Saggy Bottom

Seems to me you do an awful lot of talking on boards Teddy about

(a) How your drinking is ruining your life

(b) How you think you have a drink problem

(c) How you want to stop

but there's never any action, just a repeating cycle of the same old sh*t week in week out.

Its getting boring to read at this stage, I can't imagine how you feel about it. Man up and start doing something about it or else stop talking about it.

(c) How you want to stop

but there's never any action, just a repeating cycle of the same old sh*t week in week out.

Its getting boring to read at this stage, I can't imagine how you feel about it. Man up and start doing something about it or else stop talking about it.
    Yeah you're right I'll stop and get back on topic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,195 ✭✭✭irish son

1ZRed wrote: »
    What a way to turn anyone off a girlfriend :P

It's true though, if you have a girlfriend she will not be to happy if you go out and get really drunk every Friday and Saturday night, she will put the reigns on you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Ando's Saggy Bottom

Yeah you're right I'll stop and get back on topic.

Cool, see you next Monday so for Episode 147 of your repeat self loathing and empty promises you have no real intention of keeping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

(c) How you want to stop

Jesus, ease up there Dr Phil :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Ruudi_Mentari

Look I lead a pretty boring enough life too but will never allude to being an alcoholic to make it seem less so. You already said you were winding us up with this stuff once or are you just so alco you genuinely thought you had a drink. Shouldn't that be the other way 'round it's just gettin fcukin boring man...

Dont entertain his apparent alcoholism lads. How much more is disingenuous ted... stop that.

Cool, see you next Monday so for Episode 147 of your repeat self loathing and empty promises you have no real intention of keeping.
    I agree with you and you still feel the need for a smart arsed reply.
    Jesus weeps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

It's true though, if you have a girlfriend she will not be to happy if you go out and get really drunk every Friday and Saturday night, she will put the reigns on you.

That's the beauty of having a boyfriend, as long as I'm grand he couldn't give a feck. He'll join in :D

Look I lead a pretty boring enough life too but will never allude to being an alcoholic to make it seem less so. You already said you were winding us up with this stuff once or are you just so alco you genuinely thought you had a drink. Shouldn't that be the other way 'round it's just gettin fcukin boring man...

Dont entertain his apparent alcoholism lads. How much more is disingenuous ted... stop that.
    No I didn't.
    I didn't make the thread specifically about me, I just gave my input and when people asked me other questions I answered.
    I don't see why you're so upset?

1ZRed wrote: »
    That's the beauty of having a boyfriend, as long as I'm grand he couldn't give a feck. He'll join in :D
    The gay population of Ireland is set to soar after that statement. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭razorgil

yeah, unless she also likes quite a few drinks herself, then you're rightly fúcked!!

If a mod sees this could you lock it for me. Thanks.
    I'll do my best to never mention it in AH again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭janeo80

It nearly always happens when I drink. I could drink 2 glasses of wine and be exhausted and forget bits, I could drink a bottle of wine and remember everything. I use my phone and camera the morning after to piece things together before crawling across the hall to my housemate's room and asking her what happened! Sometimes we fill each other in, other times both of us have huge blanks! Frightening isn't it, that you could be having a ball or having the worst night ever, and the next morning it doesn't matter because it's just 3 mins of memory from a 7 hour session, haha!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 157 ✭✭tomthetank

I once conducted an entire relationship while almost exclusively drunk

That's nice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

I blackout most times I drink, people say things like 'know your limits' - I do, I just drink past them. I enjoy being drunk, I don't think there's anything wrong with that. If it's everyday then yeah, you've got a problem.

Only reading back over this thread now do I see stuff about alcoholism cropping up... I binge drink like most in their 20s and like brummytom, know my limits usually, but get a laugh out of going a bit past them, sometimes too far. But I definitely don't have a problem with alcohol, I was telling mum I forgot bits of nights out and she got very concerned but... it's not like I actively drink to forget, it just happens!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 157 ✭✭tomthetank

janeo80 wrote: »
    That's nice

You're nice xxxxxxxx

tomthetank wrote: »
    You're nice xxxxxxxx

Are you frequenting this forum while drunk? Lolzbbzzxoxox

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

janeo80 wrote: »
    Are you frequenting this forum while drunk? Lolzbbzzxoxox
    People who frequent this forum sober would be the minority.

I'm new here :P And it's too good a comeback for anyone more than tipsy I think! :)