Have you been burgled??

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,339 ✭✭✭Jijsaw

Was out shooting pellet guns with my friend, went back to his house about 8 and watched the telly for a bit. I heard a table fall over, got my gun and ran to the room where I heard the sound and shot the silhouette of a man in the back of his neck, telling him to "don't touch anything and get down on the ground", my friend rang the guards and they arrived and caught the f***er who (apparently) had robbed dozens of houses before, all he got was 3 months and he robbed jewellery, tvs, laptops, tablets, cash worth about €20,000 in the space of 5 months and over half of the stuff wasn't retrieved (he had sold it at markets and to "private customers")

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 329 ✭✭Cereal Number

Jijsaw wrote: »
    Was out shooting pellet guns with my friend, went back to his house about 8 and watched the telly for a bit. I heard a table fall over, got my gun and ran to the room where I heard the sound and shot the silhouette of a man in the back of his neck, telling him to "don't touch anything and get down on the ground", my friend rang the guards and they arrived and caught the f***er who (apparently) had robbed dozens of houses before, all he got was 3 months and he robbed jewellery, tvs, laptops, tablets, cash worth about €20,000 in the space of 5 months and over half of the stuff wasn't retrieved (he had sold it at markets and to "private customers")

Fair play lad, shame it wasnt a hollowpoint

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Burgled once, whilst I was at home and asleep. He took a sports bag, DVD's, some cash and my phone. And he had the cheek to start ringing the numbers in my phone (family + friends etc) to brag and insult them.

He left behind a hat, but the Gardai didn't even want it, despite it having loose hairs from the burglar. The forensic lad showed up to take prints 4 months later & said the hat was 'too contaminated due to time' to be useful in court.

I wasn't fond of Drumcondra station Garda after that. Useless muppets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Scruffles

not from here, but in a previous residential home had lived in had had communication equipment of mine taken by a support staff;it was being relied on at the time as well as laptop had broken; no one else gets access to inside,she was about to be suspended for abuse which did happen but they only moved her after that she shoud have been sacked-rotten btch had made life hell.

many many years ago mum and dad had several lots of bikes nicked,it got so common for their bikes to be nicked that mum just bought these rusty old 'sit up and beg' style ones as no chav will be seen on them,she still does and they have never been nicked since, even when she has been pissed and left them unlocked outside busy places.

in the early nineties in the family home,some tosser;a teenageish skin head lad with a hoodie on and a bandana around his gob was crowbarring his way into the sheds padlock, went out there with dad and this guy was ****ting bricks with dad bollocking him,those were the days kids didnt dare attack their elders,he coud have lamped dad one with the crow bar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭7 7 12

Jijsaw wrote: »
    You should have finished him off, the whole country would have supported you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭greenflash

7 7 12 wrote: »
    You should have finished him off, the whole country would have supported you

That would have taken a long time, including several trips to the shop for more pellets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭ruthloss

Not exactly burgled but I left the Motormower on the Lawn while I went into the house for about five minutes, it was gone when I went back out into the garden. Never had sight nor sound of it ever again.:(

It's fairly remote around here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

Burgled once, whilst I was at home and asleep. He took a sports bag, DVD's, some cash and my phone. And he had the cheek to start ringing the numbers in my phone (family + friends etc) to brag and insult them.

He left behind a hat, but the Gardai didn't even want it, despite it having loose hairs from the burglar. The forensic lad showed up to take prints 4 months later & said the hat was 'too contaminated due to time' to be useful in court.

I wasn't fond of Drumcondra station Garda after that. Useless muppets.

amazing that you knew it was a bloke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,220 ✭✭✭maximoose

Burgled once. Was sitting in the Olypmia Theatre and the curtain was just rising for the Mighty Boosh show, got a call to come home as we'd been broken into :(

Lost a decent Sony camera, Ipod, and a reasonably pricey laptop. Housemate lost his laptop also and a wad of cash he had left by his desk. They just grabbed whatever they could take and make a quick getaway or it could have been worse.

Lesson learned - always lock the deadbolt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,173 ✭✭✭sesswhat

Pick axe handle, a four sprong fork inside the door, you will have a bit of reach with it. But wait till the bastard head is in the door.

Four sprong fork technique?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,173 ✭✭✭sesswhat

Must have been the male voice on the phone that gave him away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Well ya know...when he rang all my relatives and friends and spoke with a male voice it kinda gave me a clue that he was male.