Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Have you been burgled??

• 11-02-2013 11:26pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭

I thought I'd start this thread as I have heard of a lot of break ins in my area and also in areas where friends and family are.

We had our home broken into about 6 years ago and they took the dvd player(but left the remote:confused:) and that was all they took.
    But they left a hell of an aftermath(broken window etc)

So have you or a family member had your home/property broken into?

Were you at home?

Are break-ins on the increase according to boardsie's actual experiences?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Pilotdude5

Nope. Woke up one morning and there was a few cattle grazing in the garden though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭branie

Thankfully, I've never had that experience

• Closed Accounts Posts: 829 ✭✭✭xLexie

Never been burgled but well prepared if anyone breaks in while someone's home ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

I was hamburgled by the hamburgler.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

Keno 92 wrote: »
    I was hamburgled by the hamburgler.

Thanks for that "nugget" Ronald:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Sort of, twice. Once by a badger and another time when my lawnmower was stolen from the garden.. Gardai refused to treat it as burglary on both occasions.

A friend of mine(single mum) has been broken into twice in the last year.
    Both times while she was at work and the kids were in school.
    They took the kids things, clothes etc which I found really low.
    I reckon it has to be someone local who knows she is on her own and that she is out at work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

yes and the gardai didnt give a fiddlers fart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

Never but every night when I lay in bed I imagine I'm hearing noises and I'm terrified of being burgled. I feel much more relaxed if OH stays up late while I go to bed early. Have had this fear since I was a kid and it's worse when I go on holiday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Thinking of getting myself an extendable baton as a means of protecting myself in case I catch the scum entering my house.

Not 100% sure on the legality of having one of those things tbh :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Smidge wrote: »
    Have you been burgled??

No, now stop typing and hand over the laptop ffs, I haven't got all night you know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

Thinking of getting myself an extendable baton as a means of protecting myself in case I catch the scum entering my house.

Have you suddenly developed an urge to pick up clay pigeon shooting? A shotgun may come in handy for that...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,987 ✭✭✭Kerrigooney

Thankfully not but I live in the countryside and there's been a couple of burglaries in a 1 mile radius of my house over the last while.

I have a sword tho...

yes and the gardai didnt give a fiddlers fart.

Same thing here.
    I know it was only a DVD player but it was the destruction they caused.
    They threw a brick(very large one) through my back window, it hit the kitchen wall, smashed wall and floor tiles, broke the rad :mad:

The ban garda took information on what looked like a loose bookies docket!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

In the pub last nite and one of my mates got a call and went outside to talk. Came back in and said it was his sister on the phone telling him his parents house had been broken into while they were at the rugby. They left tvs and laptop but took jewellery including some pieces that were his dead grandmothers.

He was just glad no one was hurt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭ITS_A_BADGER

Sort of, twice. Once by a badger and another time when my lawnmower was stolen from the garden.. Gardai refused to treat it as burglary on both occasions.

Look you have no proof on me, i thought we sorted this out?

Thankfully not but I live in the countryside and there's been a couple of burglaries in a 1 mile radius of my house over the last while.

I have a sword tho...

My break-in was in Dublin and I now live down the country.
    I'm hearing of a local(ish)break in every week or so!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Look you have no proof on me, i thought we sorted this out?

It is you.. I seen you in a police lineup

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

Three of them tried to break in to my parents house and my dad opened the door to them, thankfully they ran off. He thought it was me coming home after a night on the beer.

Damn lucky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭7 7 12

I would stab the sh1te out of any f**ker who illegally sets foot in my house

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Saint_Mel

Was burgled once when I lived in Dublin. Was about 12 or 14 years ago and was the most bizarre thing.

We never knew who the landlord was but was often told by taxi drivers that there was more of a chance seeing him on the news than in person. We had a number to ring if ever we needed anything!

Anyway, bank holiday weekend and a few of us were on the train heading away for a few days for the session. Train had just pulled out of the station when we got a call from the Gardai to say the house had been burgled.

Security lad in the place across the road spotted someone climbing in an upstairs window and called them. According to the Garda who rang, and I quote "we were all waiting at the front for the burglars to come out but we never realised they were able to get out the back door"

Rang the landlords "contact number" to say what happened and went back to Dublin the next day. Gardai came out to the house to check things out, and then on the Sunday got a call to say that all the things stolen from the house had been anonymously handed back in to station and were ready to be collected!

About 4 years ago some backstard robbed a camera and jacket out of my car on Christmas night when it was parked outside the house. Few cars in the estate, and neighboring estate were done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

38 years ago, my wife in hospital having our first child, had two bottles of whiskey in the house for the celebration of the birth in a few weeks time. Got home after the visit to the hospital, which I done every night after work. Went into the kitchen and in the middle of the floor a big ****, two bottles empty and the remains of their dinner left on the counter.
    Called the Guardai they called, and they said that is the calling card of the Knackers. Nothing has changed, has it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

Same thing here.
    I know it was only a DVD player but it was the destruction they caused.
    They threw a brick(very large one) through my back window, it hit the kitchen wall, smashed wall and floor tiles, broke the rad :mad:

The ban garda took information on what looked like a loose bookies docket!!!

what annoys me is the fact my grandmother was in the sitting room when they smased their way in through the kitchen window. the gardai didnt give a toss. it angers me when we read that alan shatter's house gets burgled and the gardai put a team on it. feck the taxpayers and look after the government minister that doesnt even have to pay the household charge or property tax

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭Pedro K

Baton that is extended by a flick of the wrist. Legal to own. Not legal to carry.

Saint_Mel wrote: »
    Was burgled once when I lived in Dublin. Was about 12 or 14 years ago and was the most bizarre thing.

We never knew who the landlord was but was often told by taxi drivers that there was more of a chance seeing him on the news than in person. We had a number to ring if ever we needed anything!

Anyway, bank holiday weekend and a few of us were on the train heading away for a few days for the session. Train had just pulled out of the station when we got a call from the Gardai to say the house had been burgled.

Security lad in the place across the road spotted someone climbing in an upstairs window and called them. According to the Garda who rang, and I quote "we were all waiting at the front for the burglars to come out but we never realised they were able to get out the back door"

Rang the landlords "contact number" to say what happened and went back to Dublin the next day. Gardai came out to the house to check things out, and then on the Sunday got a call to say that all the things stolen from the house had been anonymously handed back in to station and were ready to be collected!

About 4 years ago some backstard robbed a camera and jacket out of my car on Christmas night when it was parked outside the house. Few cars in the estate, and neighboring estate were done.

LOL

But as you say, very weird that the stuff was just "handed back"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

shouldn't this thread be in the LGBT forum ? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭Amalgam

I met burglars. Me in bed, naked. They were armed. Not fun.

The event adrenalised me for months. Sleeping with a baseball bat. (don't laugh, under the covers..) Stacking items behind doors downstairs to create a commotion etc.. I'm not the same person. I can't wait for the days to get longer.

'Modern' burglars. Gold hunting. Sod everything else.

My break-in was in Dublin and I now live down the country.
    I'm hearing of a local(ish)break in every week or so!

I live in west Sligo,it's pretty remote,nearest village is 6 miles away. Last November and start of December there was quite a few in the area. Seems there was a few lads coming up from Galway cos the cops chased them but lost them. A week later they were back and the cops chased them again but this time they crashed. The cops caught 1 of them that got stuck in the car but 2 got away. They'll probably be back.

There was a lot of people really scared at the time and it was horrible to see.
    My wife got very paranoid and I had to put extra locks on the doors which sickened me because I've often gone to bed with the door unlocked and I've often left the keys in the car.

You wouldn't worry about it,you know?

Not any more....:(

what annoys me is the fact my grandmother was in the sitting room when they smased their way in through the kitchen window. the gardai didnt give a toss. it angers me when we read that alan shatter's house gets burgled and the gardai put a team on it. feck the taxpayers and look after the government minister that doesnt even have to pay the household charge or property tax

I agree 100% there.
    I'm a "young" person and was upset and nervous in the house after it.
    Can only imagine how it would affect an elderly woman.
    Must have been very frightening for her especially being home when it happened.

P Nally had the answer in Mayo. The violence stopped for several years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭Amalgam

A springbat..? No legal context for them at all, you'll be nicked for carrying\using one.

Doesn't mean you can't improvise.. fire poker, bit o' lumber etc.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 381 ✭✭Bad Santa

Amalgam wrote: »
    I mean to have you, even if it must be burglary!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭greenflash

Twice and I was out both times.

First time was in May 1998. I lived on my own in Kilmainham and my junkie neighbours came in through the back door and pretty much cleared the place out while I was at work. They used my own bags to cart everything away with them and went selling my CDs and runners door to door in St Michael's estate in Inchicore. Other neighbours had seen them during the day but hadn't realised they'd done my gaff until I called in when I got home. Cops did literally nothing because it was the first 'Blue Flu Day'. Got some kind of revenge a couple of weeks later (on junkies, not cops) but obviously never saw my former belongings again.

Second time I was in Portugal with the missus three years ago and came home to find the house ransacked. They took a jacket and €50 cash I had put aside for a chiropodist appointment - my feet were in rag order from work boots. Cops turned up and said they were probably pros working the area and only wanted cash or gold to make life easier for themselves. Laptops and other electrical goods weren't touched. Got the house secured and had a monitored alarm installed. Got better boots since but feet are still in rag order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Saint_Mel

LOL

But as you say, very weird that the stuff was just "handed back"

Yeah,had visions of a Police Academy type scene with all squad cars pulled up outside the front gate while the villans legged it out the back!

We were often told, again by taxi drivers, we were in a "watched house"!
    Never knew who was watching it, apart from the lad across the road as it turned out, but we made sure the rent was always paid on time :D

Every single thing was left back though, even down to a mug with copper change in it that one of the lads had in his room!

A springbat..? No legal context for them at all, you'll be nicked for carrying\using one.

Don't suppose my sword would be very legal either,would it?

Pick axe handle, a four sprong fork inside the door, you will have a bit of reach with it. But wait till the bastard head is in the door.

The event adrenalised me for months. Sleeping with a baseball bat. (don't laugh, under the covers..) Stacking items behind doors downstairs to create a commotion etc.. I'm not the same person. I can't wait for the days to get longer.

'Modern' burglars. Gold hunting. Sod everything else.

I heard a story once(cant remember who) that if you are being broken into you should run down the stairs, stark bollack naked(obviously being a man), screaming like a banshee, and waving an implement of some description over your head.

Nothing deter's someone quicker than a naked madman with his todger flying:D;)

I heard a story once(cant remember who) that if you are being broken into you should run down the stairs, stark bollack naked(obviously being a man), screaming like a banshee, and waving an implement of some description over your head.

Nothing deter's someone quicker than a naked madman with his todger flying:D;)

Mine would never reach over my head.

Bad Santa wrote: »
    I mean to have you, even if it must be burglary!

I think you are thinking of buggary;):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 Patr2

I think once your defending yourself on your property its okay? Dont hold me to that if you bate the ****e into someone though im not sure! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Ruudi_Mentari

A fair few fellas tried to get in 'round the back alright but I stood resolute with a walnut cracker. No breaches

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,926 ✭✭✭Reati

I'm curious - For those who this unfortunately happened too, did you have any home security items like alarms, camera etcs?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

No thank God! I live in an estate of about 70 houses and in 24 or so years I think there has only been a handful of break ins. Considering only a few houses here would have alarms we've been very lucky

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

I agree 100% there.
    I'm a "young" person and was upset and nervous in the house after it.
    Can only imagine how it would affect an elderly woman.
    Must have been very frightening for her especially being home when it happened.

This is the untold silent misery visited on normal people by these criminal thugs.

The funny thing is that some people seem to have an idea in their heads that these burglars are "gentleman crooks" who are walking down the road minding their own business when they spot an open window or some-such and innocently investigate it and then magically find themselves inside the house helping themselves to your stuff. I think we all know the reality is different; these guys stake out targets and systematically commit their crimes.

Ireland is a small country; ALL of the burglaries in this country are down to not more than 200 hardcore crooks; of course the cops know who they are but so what? If they are not caught red-handed in the act OR they confess then it's suspended sentence all the way. They know how to work the system, this is their job, their livelihood, their calling in life; it's how they pay for their families much the same as any paye worker gets a payslip at the end of the week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,812 ✭✭✭Vojera

Yes and it was horrible. It was a house share and happened one of the very rare nights there was no one home.

Nothing of mine was taken (nothing worth stealing) but the entire house was turned upside down. There wasn't a drawer that wasn't rifled through or dumped on the floor, all the furniture was thrown about or broken, the place was destroyed. My housemates had a bit taken-xbox, laptops, clothes and shoes, which I found bizarre.

I had to wash every item of clothing I had, couldn't stand the idea that some stranger had been touching my things, and I stayed in my girlfriend's house for a good while after it. The idea that someone had been walking around my home while I wasn't there was incredibly violating.

While living in Dublin had some scobies walk into our kitchen and rob my wallet off the table while we were watching the simpsons. (It was the one where side show bob takes them on the boat and stands on all the rakes!) They also stole a pair of Levis off the washing line and the stereo from the kitchen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 663 ✭✭✭space_man

what little i know about self-defence tells me such a weapon might not be much use in a tight corner.
    i have pepper spray, and a hammer, though i'ld probably end up smashing meself with the hammer, and/or collapsing under the influence of the spray.:(

Been burgled once. they made off with me stereo, but i actually tracked it down on Garda Patrol. (i kid u not!)

catallus wrote: »
    This is the untold silent misery visited on normal people by these criminal thugs.

The funny thing is that some people seem to have an idea in their heads that these burglars are "gentleman crooks" who are walking down the road minding their own business when they spot an open window or some-such and innocently investigate it and then magically find themselves inside the house helping themselves to your stuff. I think we all know the reality is different; these guys stake out targets and systematically commit their crimes.

Ireland is a small country; ALL of the burglaries in this country are down to not more than 200 hardcore crooks; of course the cops know who they are but so what? If they are not caught red-handed in the act OR they confess then it's suspended sentence all the way. They know how to work the system, this is their job, their livelihood, their calling in life; it's how they pay for their families much the same as any paye worker gets a payslip at the end of the week.

Not sure I can agree with you on this part, I think there are a lot more than 200 crooks and the ones who are now doing the house break ins are the young scum trying to get a quick few quid foe booze and drugs.

When I lived in Dublin a neighbour of mine(very elderly woman 80's)used to go to the bingo on a Wednesday evening and after to the local for 2 glasses of guinness(her daughter brought her every Wednesday).

When they got back to the house(the old woman lived alone btw and was still very much in her faculties)one Wednesday, local scum had broken in.

She had very little to steal tbh as we were not in a very affluent area.

But the tragedy in all of it was that not only had the scum broken in and thrashed the house but they has sh1t on her bed and then smeared it all over the bedroom:eek::mad:

This upset her more than the break in itself

Witchie wrote: »
    While living in Dublin had some scobies walk into our kitchen and rob my wallet off the table while we were watching the simpsons. (It was the one where side show bob takes them on the boat and stands on all the rakes!) They also stole a pair of Levis off the washing line and the stereo from the kitchen.

One of my favourite Simpsons ever:D

Sorry for your loss btw

space_man wrote: »
    what little i know about self-defence tells me such a weapon might not be much use in a tight corner.
    i have pepper spray, and a hammer, though i'ld probably end up smashing meself with the hammer, and/or collapsing under the influence of the spray.:(

My aunt always kept a wee tub of pepper at the top of the stairs so if someone was coming up them she would sprinkle it down into their eyes.

I used to keep a baseball bat by my bedside when I lived in Dublin. My ex hubby used to be out cold asleep and I would be sure there was someone in the house so I would leap out of the bed and head out of the room swinging the bat and roaring down the stairs "get the f... outta my house or I will f...in kill ya. Don't ring the guards (ex hubby's name inserted here) they are leaving and if they dont they will be going in a body bag anyway"

I would go down the stairs and tap the baseball bat on the locked doors downstairs during this tirade but we never were burgled in that house. Maybe news got out about some mad woman who got up shouting in the middle of the night for no reason and they were too scared to risk it!