sulky drivers on bail.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

As for regulation of it, why not, it is no more dangerous than a lot of activities, and public roads are routinely closed for short periods of time to facilitate them.

That sounds like a fair and reasonable solution. These sulky drivers should make the necessary application like the other organisations you mention. Then they should obtain the appropriate insurance, train marshals and register participants.

Yep, it should work, just as it does for the other groups. I don't foresee any problem there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,442 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Aren't there loads of tracks in this country already? Surely somewhere can be found.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

emo72 wrote: »
    love this classic,"yis have yer golf, we have our sulky".

yea but mate we don't play golf in the middle of the road.

People do drive them in the middle of the road from time to time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

token101 wrote: »
    Well there's the fact that people who participate in those sports consent, none of these things involve blatant animal cruelty. The ISPCA says it should be banned on roads, but is fine with it on tracks, which means they'll have to be built unless you're in favour of just disregarding them? And if Pavee Point are happy to pay up for that, fair enough! As long as the taxpayer doesn't have to dig deep once again just to prevent criminality.

So its ok for the taxpayer to pump tens of millions into other sports (GAA, FAI etc), to build skateboard tracks, football pitches, support wealthy racehorse owners, but no grant funding should be given to sulky racing, because the participants are likely to be Travellers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭HondaSami

So its ok for the taxpayer to pump tens of millions into other sports (GAA, FAI etc), to build skateboard tracks, football pitches, support wealthy racehorse owners, but no grant funding should be given to sulky racing, because the participants are likely to be Travellers?

Chances are they would not use these facilities, part of the fun is driving on the roads with a convoy causing as much disruption as possible.

Before you ask no I don't have a link just plenty of experience of the going on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

For races with large €30000+ prize funds the roads provide the essential long straight stretches.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭the culture of deference

oldyouth wrote: »
    That sounds like a fair and reasonable solution. These sulky drivers should make the necessary application like the other organisations you mention. Then they should obtain the appropriate insurance, train marshals and register participants.

Yep, it should work, just as it does for the other groups. I don't foresee any problem there

Yea, and a tax clearance cert
    HondaSami wrote: »
    Chances are they would not use these facilities, part of the fun is driving on the roads with a convoy causing as much disruption as possible.

Before you ask no I don't have a link just plenty of experience of the going on.

Well judging by what has been done to the houses that were built for them in maynooth (or any other location) years ago. .....

I have seen it locally, bloody disgrace and the council rebuilt the houses for them.

Saying that there are some good families too but unfortunately they are in the minority.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

Ah the old chestnut, 'because the participants are Travellers'. The universal answer to any criticism of anything related to the Travelling community. You know what? I'd venture a guess that WWE wrestling probably has more of a following in Ireland than this horse and cart stuff, will the Arts council be building a wrestling facility anytime soon just so people don't try it out in their backyard? Somehow I doubt it!

Hardly any funding is given to minority sports in Ireland, ask any martial arts coach about getting funding for a facility and he'll tell you, and they are far more popular sports than horse and cart racing. As for pumping tens of millions into the GAA and the FAI, well they have an exponential number of followers relative to horse and cart racing and probably put just as much money back into the economy as they get out, somehow I don't think horse and cart racing is going to do that.

And then there's the fact that even if facilities were built, a) would they use them or just carry on doing what they pleased anyway and b) how much is it going to cost in security just so that they don't burn it down like this place and the countless more like it? Where exactly are authorities supposed to draw the lines in providing money just to prevent criminality?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

It's not like the travelling community doesn't already get taxpayer monies,all those quango's devoted to traveller wellbeing, but sure, let them petition and pay insurance and go through the proper proceedures, you surely wouldn't be supporting the status quo, would you?

Yea, and a tax clearance cert

Funny, I drive on the roads all the time and have never been asked to produce one, in fact most ordinary people would never have had one. I suppose you carry yours with you at all times:rolleyes:

Ah..back to the old Kn****r bashing!

crockholm wrote: »
    It's not like the travelling community doesn't already get taxpayer monies,all those quango's devoted to traveller wellbeing, but sure, let them petition and pay insurance and go through the proper proceedures, you surely wouldn't be supporting the status quo, would you?

Care to actually name all of those supposed quangos?

Pavee Point, National Traveller Accomodation Committee, Equality Authority, Equality Tribunal. There's probably more but that's after a ten second Google search.

So its ok for the taxpayer to pump tens of millions into other

How much do travellers get from gov every year?
    http://www.itmtrav.ie/news/myview/109
    These sulky drivers should make the necessary application like the other organisations you mention. Then they should obtain the appropriate insurance, train marshals and register participants.
    Ah..back to the old Kn****r bashing!

I replied to his post. Rally and racing teams have tax clearance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Add Roscrea to that list

Martin Collins, Pavee Point’s Assistant Director

He called for recognition of Travellers as a minority ethnic group, political representation for Travellers and their inclusion in policy making fora. He concluded by making the case for a national Traveller agency responsible for the implementation of Traveller policy. He said that, with €120 millions spent on Travellers each year, the lack of tangible outcomes from spending is a cause of concern for the community.

On average a traveller specific accommodation unit will cost circa €500k.
    This price includes the purchase of the land, building materials and labour costs and then amenities etc to cater for their culture. An estate, once complete will cost aprox SEVEN TIMES more than a regular housing estate in maintenance and each unit is anywhere between 1100-1500 sq ft. And they don't have to pay the household tax either.

Pavee Point, National Traveller Accomodation Committee, Equality Authority, Equality Tribunal. There's probably more but that's after a ten second Google search.

Showing your ignorance there boyo, Pavee Point aint a quango, and the EA and ET serve a wide variety of purposes including discrimination based on Gender,Sexual Orientation, Race,Age etc.
    The NTACC is a quango , so you get one out of four, more work needed.:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

I have friends that like to partake in sulky races. They are not travellers but, obviously, most of their opponents would be travellers. The meets they go to, and I went to a few myself, are organised in conjunction with the Gardaí, the locals and they usually have a vet on stand by. Just like how a hunt would be organised, permission gotten etc. Was only at one in Cavan a few months ago, mighty day.

Everyone was disgusted at this particular racing in Cork because of the danger it posed to people and animals alike. A major road like, with heavy traffic, the pricks. To be honest watching that video on YouTube, I was worried for was the horses and the people that happened to meet it in their cars. It gives the whole sulky racing a bad name. It can and does be organised properly but the guards need to clamp down on this illegal activity first, culture my eyeball.

Showing your ignorance there boyo, Pavee Point aint a quango, and the EA and ET serve a wide variety of purposes including discrimination based on Gender,Sexual Orientation, Race,Age etc.
    The NTACC is a quango , so you get one out of four, more work needed.:p

Semantics. They're all government funded and work on behalf of Travellers.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 862 ✭✭✭Grand Moff Tarkin

Why a traveller would even want to ride on a sulky when they all have high performance cars and jeeps is beyond me.

Semantics. They're all government funded and work on behalf of Travellers.

Bollox, you got it wrong big time, but you're not man enough to admit it!:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

It appears that my sarcasm needs an awful lot of improvement :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,996 ✭✭✭mitosis

looking at the six-one news , they just did'nt seem to care .

One said '' ye play golf , we go sulky racing ''

Who plays golf on the public roads?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,612 ✭✭✭Lelantos

mitosis wrote: »

Who plays golf on the public roads?
    Tiger Woods missus.

Bollox, you got it wrong big time, but you're not man enough to admit it!:p

Big time? Does it really matter whether they're quangos or not? It amounts to the exact same thing FFS.

Actually it does. Get a grown up to look up up quango in the dictionary for you.:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,002 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

Well there's the fact that people who participate in those sports consent, none of these things involve blatant animal cruelty. The ISPCA says it should be banned on roads, but is fine with it on tracks, which means they'll have to be built unless you're in favour of just disregarding them? And if Pavee Point are happy to pay up for that, fair enough! As long as the taxpayer doesn't have to dig deep once again just to prevent criminality.

Well token101,Perhaps unknown to WileyCoyote,trotting has always been a popular branch of the equine sports industry.
    However it's fair to say that in Ireland it would have been The Sport of Princes rather than Kings.

I can remember attending Trotting Meetings at the forerunner of this place over 30 years ago....

http://www.portmarnockraceway.ie/

http://www.irishharnessracing.com/

I'm glad to see that Portmarnock Raceway continues today,and as can be seen from the photo's it is operated in a proffessional manner with all the necessary arrangements for both Human and Animal welfare in place.

The attendances might not have been the Curragh's league,but I can assure anybody that the amounts involved in books were quite significant,particularly when it was ENTIRELY cash based,on the day.

Very popular sport with the Taxi fraternity back then too.....;)

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

Could do with a few years in jail for animal abuse... it showed in another video of there's that one of the horses involved was a yearling (one year old). Not only is the horse undeveloped at this stage, by the time it's at the age any considerate person would break (train) it for driving, its joints and muscles are severely damaged....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 226 ✭✭The Big Lebowsky

This jail sentence makes absolutely no sense whatsoever...
    Is it now an a criminal offence to be riding a horse on a public road?
    Its just absurd that Irish justice can be so un-equally applied.. So anyone on a horse that breaks in to a canter is now technically committing an offence?

I see lots of the rich horsy set on hunts, galloping at high speed along public roads on a sunday afternoon in the countryside...
    Funny you never see these people up in court charged with a similar offence?

I reckon these guys should get a good human rights lawyer...and go all the way to the european supreme court...for having their civil liberties tampered with....

This jail sentence makes absolutely no sense whatsoever...
    Is it now an a criminal offence to be riding a horse on a public road?
    Its just absurd that Irish justice can be so un-equally applied.. So anyone on a horse that breaks in to a canter is now technically committing an offence?

I see lots of the rich horsy set on hunts, galloping at high speed along public roads on a sunday afternoon in the countryside...
    Funny you never see these people up in court charged with a similar offence?

I reckon these guys should get a good human rights lawyer...and go all the way to the european supreme court...for having their civil liberties tampered with....

You are having a laugh surely, you did watch the U tube?
    I have never seen any hunt acting in the manner these sulky drivers did endangering other road users lives.

What about the civil liberties of every other citizen that was on the road that day?