Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Feb 9th Protest - will you be joining?

Am Chile wrote: »
    From some threads on facebook, I hear on the dublin march Siptu officials were dictating to people who weren,t marching under union banners when and where they could,t march, I also heard when the march got to dame street just as the speeches were starting that Siptu officials blocked anyone without union banners from entering that area, then this video surfaces on youtube of Gardai attempting to provoke a fight with protesters who weren,t behind union banners, a lot of people may draw the conclusion anyone who wasn,t behind union banners were being politically policied.

If you know anyone in a "big" workplace you'll know how the unions work. In college there's been an office with posters from their windows for about 3 years now, can only assume that they know someone to get away with it. Funny enough when walking along the row of windows day in and day out I see the person in the office sitting on their own, never any company. But I'm sure they feel important. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭G Power

If you know anyone in a "big" workplace you'll know how the unions work. In college there's been an office with posters from their windows for about 3 years now, can only assume that they know someone to get away with it. Funny enough when walking along the row of windows day in and day out I see the person in the office sitting on their own, never any company. But I'm sure they feel important. ;)

and to think this doesn't go on in a massively unfair and increasingly for us dangerous way in the real world under our elected elite with their associates or friends you are seriously mistaken.

absolute power corrupts absolutely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,572 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Brilliant turn-out yesterday by the concerned people of Ireland.
    Didn't hang around for the speeches but was proud to be part of the protest.
    Well done all.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 87 ✭✭tenton

my friend wrote: »
    The Unions could barely get 4% of their membership onto the streets of Dublin on a beautiful day

major FAIL

I think most trade unionists know they have it lucky and are overpaid and overpensioned compared to the rest of society, considering the IMF is here etc. They have had it too good for too long, everyone knows that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,949 ✭✭✭The Waltzing Consumer

From some threads on facebook, I hear on the dublin march Siptu officials were dictating to people who weren,t marching under union banners when and where they could,t march, I also heard when the march got to dame street just as the speeches were starting that Siptu officials blocked anyone without union banners from entering that area, then this video surfaces on youtube of Gardai attempting to provoke a fight with protesters who weren,t behind union banners, a lot of people may draw the conclusion anyone who wasn,t behind union banners were being politically policied.

I am pretty sure thats Eirigi right?

These guys right:
    http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/eirigi-behind-failed-gun-shop-raid-gardai-fear-28941110.html

http://www.kildare-nationalist.ie/2012/11/29/member-of-eirigi-charged-with-arms-possession/

Lovely :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

They are in a crowd shouting the unions sold out.

Pushing them out of the march is for their own safety with thousands of union members right behind them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,572 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

I wonder how all the "stoic little pixie-heads" felt about it all?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,571 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

So was da power fought? You know there's several years and governments before the principal payment is paid. Could default on that at any time. Hell, all the revolutionaries will vote Sinn Féin and Socialist in the next election to total power so no debt will be paid..... (They won't).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,897 ✭✭✭✭road_high

dsmythy wrote: »
    So was da power fought? You know there's several years and governments before the principal payment is paid. Could default on that at any time. Hell, all the revolutionaries will vote Sinn Féin and Socialist in the next election to total power so no debt will be paid..... (They won't).

Will they fcuk!! It would equal massive cuts to PS pay and welfare. There wouldn't be nicey nice "negotitations" either. They winge about the current lot but it's the only game in town. And the unions know it ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭kildarecommuter

Those folk were just out to cause trouble, the rest of the march didn't cover their faces with scarves and hoodies.

Henlars67 wrote: »
    I was at the Sligo protest today. There was a much bigger crowd than I expected.

I won't be going to another one.

PBP attempted to take it over as they do any public political event around here. Purposely staying at the back for the march and then when we'd reached O Connell street they pushed their way up to the top through several thousand people shouting as loudly as they could.

They also personally abused a siptu person who was there.

Now I've no time for SIPTU and won't unless they totally disassociate themselves from labour but to single out one person who was there and abuse him over a megaphone was wrong.

I would agree with the above, various left odd ball groups always turn up at these marches shout heckle and abuse the organisers of the march and the Gardai.
    In truth there was not a huge turnout but it's more than any of the People before profit, eirigi , SWP etc could ever muster on their own

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭Am Chile

From the banners they were carrying (anti eviction taskforce ) ( Independent protesters ) they appeared to be non party political.
    mikemac1 wrote: »
    They are in a crowd shouting the unions sold out.

Pushing them out of the march is for their own safety with thousands of union members right behind them

Some may make that argument, if the garda thought the protesters were putting themselves in danger by chanting anti union slogans the garda could of just asked look lads would you mind not chanting anti union slogans, but attempting to pull their banner/taking the Irish flag off one of them, it appeared to me and a lot of other people the garda were attempting to provoke some sort of confrontation with those protesters in order to make a few arrests.

Those folk were just out to cause trouble, the rest of the march didn't cover their faces with scarves and hoodies.

Loads of different pictures from yesterdays marches, IM sure there was probaly other people who covered their faces also, from watching the video I didn,t see them vandalising any public property or throwing any stones or weapons at the garda, recall love ulster march 2006 folks ? the fellows who wore masks who vandalised public property and threw stones at the garda that day they were out for trouble, the masked protesters yesterday just appeared to be voice dissent against the unions.

From the banners they were carrying (anti eviction taskforce ) ( Independent protesters ) they appeared to be non party political.

Some may make that argument, if the garda thought the protesters were putting themselves in danger by chanting anti union slogans the garda could of just asked look lads would you mind not chanting anti union slogans, but attempting to pull their banner/taking the Irish flag off one of them, it appeared to me and a lot of other people the garda were attempting to provoke some sort of confrontation with those protesters in order to make a few arrests.

Loads of different pictures from yesterdays marches, IM sure there was probaly other people who covered their faces also, from watching the video I didn,t see them vandalising any public property or throwing any stones or weapons at the garda, recall love ulster march 2006 folks ? the fellows who wore masks who vandalised public property and threw stones at the garda that day they were out for trouble, the masked protesters yesterday just appeared to be voice dissent against the unions.

So why the need to cover faces ?
    What has love ulster parade got to do with an ICTU march.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭darkhorse

road_high wrote: »
    So taxpayers in the eu should be asked to take up the slack for our overspending?

Yeah, why not, did'nt we save the banks in the eu, therefore the eu project.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,182 ✭✭✭dvpower

darkhorse wrote: »
    Yeah, why not, did'nt we save the banks in the eu, therefore the eu project.
    Nope

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Such was the amount of people that turned out for the protest march on Saturday 9th in Dublin, 100 thousand plus from all over the country, its about time that the elected TD's in government actually realise the amount of anger that is out there amid the public. Once again at the next general election and possibly local ones too, we might indeed be seeing a huge upturning in elected TD's losing their seats, especially Labour Party TD's.

To repeat what I've stated elsewhere, a terrible lot of people SERIOUSLY don’t realise the actual amount of very real public anger that is out there.
    The outcome of this held (so far) back rage in one instance is that Labour at any next elections (to put it mildly) are seriously, seriously ****ed in regard to future votes they will be trying to gain or regain ...they really are!

We all know (well those with kop-on) how just despicable FG is, how they are really just out to look after big business, to see that private debts of big businesses is somehow passed on as public debt with loads of whitewashing excuses being used for justification and for FG themselves, out to further line its own pockets - but Labour has on its own, let down the very people it supposedly represents from its foundation, the average worker and unemployed.

The working class not only have being repeatedly stabbed in the back, again and again ...and again by the VERY party that for decades was supposed to be one and parcel with them, that the outcome in the future is not hard to fathom. These are not just my thoughts - but of others too, see HERE for example.

The Irish Labour party in this country has doomed itself to very possible near destruction like the Green party previously – and serve them right. They for some time to come - are doomed to be a few back-seat elected TD's after the next national elections and very few will/already does, have NO sympathy for them. The Irish Labour Party Is Screwed.

Moving on, the whole mess over the promissory note deal continues and its failed to quell public anger at the private bank debt burden now cleverly passed onto the citizens of Ireland. An indication of this anger is the some 100,000 people that took time out from their very own private lives to take to the streets of Dublin in protest yesterday.

Will or is already Fine Gael listening? Not a chance. They simply don't give a crap what the public thinks and is going to continue doing what they are doing - screwing the public for every last cent they can steal. They are doing this by passing numerous laws now on the quiet, quickly to that they cannot be stopped in time by organised protest and/or using fast-track laws to bring in even more draconian abilities so that their immoral actions are given legal basis. Quiet simply Enda Kenny and Co don't give a crap about the people! They are going to do what they want to do and pee on the rest of us till the next election. Stuff you and stuff the public!

Despicable Enda!

Enda Kenny himself is a despicable person in my opinion. This is a man that will cowardly not come out and say what many other appear to know - that he is personally against gay marriage. He quite simply has not the balls to say so but he's not holding back in silence because he just don't have the courage, he's holding back in that regard for simply wishing to gain politically. He continues to protect himself by stating that he do as the party does or chooses - but then, who is leading the party? Who is the dictator at the top, who also continues to protect those that have supported him in the past, while their ever personal continuing ****-ups are exposed near weekly!

Meanwhile Enda won't say "Sorry" on behalf of the state in regard the the terrible crimes and actions carried out by the Magdalene organisation in conjunction with a state that was in collusion with them. Enda Kenny quite simple will not say "Sorry" for political reasons. He's disgracefully putting own political reasons ahead of the suffering of hundreds (if not thousands). As Minister Joan Burton even out it:

"A very great wrong was done to these women who are at the centre of this issue and I expect all my colleagues are united in this view."

In private, further angry cross words occurred between Enda Kenny and Labour junior health minister Kathleen Lynch over the very same matter.

"It is widely known Deputy Lynch used very direct language to the Taoiseach at the meeting" (LINK)

Many TD's even in elected office are quiet simply equally disgusted with the wordless Enda Kenny. Mr Kenny, its believed, is "hugely cautious" over the "financial consequences of an apology" accord to reports (LINK). Given that that previous reports on the activities of Catholic organisation and the evil crimes carried out by the brethren within, given the states TOTAL lack of holding any one national religious organisation to financial account in regards money owed in compensation (and leaving the public yet again with yet another massive bill in billions), it comes as no surprise whatsoever that we find Enda Kenny cowering, trying to slip away from doing what is considered by many across the country, as the simple moral right thing to do.

...But then we are talking about Enda Kenny!

The courage of Kenny continues to be available for all to see. So far he continues to avoid facing broadcast debates (as we have continuously seen at referendum times and national election times) with others of a political nature and of TV interviewer nature - well besides state RTE interviewers who repeatedly easily give him soft questions over and over again, with suspected pre-knowledge of the forthcoming questions being known. many of RTE's interviewers in fact have connection to to party representative also they are supposed to be badgering with vital pressure questions but in fact give them a leisurely 'walk though the park' interview.

Enda Kenny still continues for example, to totally avoid TV3's Vincent Browne using every excuse possible that can be imagined. Kenny refuses to appear repeatedly on Irish networks beyond RTE and their 'safe' questioning environment (RTE once again is sucking up to the initial hand thats feeding it in money terms, the government of the day). Kenny though has good reason it seems to avoid TV open debate however - but he would rather the public not know the real reason it its suspected.

Quite easily put - he is pure crap at open debates - any debates where hard questions are put to him in a way that does not allow him to continuously escape in a series of weak excuses repeatedly then going unquestioned (RTE does this often). Unless his political material is fully prepared in advance, unless he can get in his prepared sound bites for the masses, etc, he could be possibly be exposed for an actual blithering idiot that cannot cope with on the spot analysis and counter-debate within an open forum. Put simply, he cannot complete with others that are far more competent in the public arena. Everything it appears, has to be prepared for him in advance and prior knowledge of forth coming questions is a possible regular demand if his appearance on an RTE interview is to happen.

If he cannot honestly debate TV interviewers - how seriously can we expect him to have an ability to tackle European heads so that we never get screwed? O' Wait... thats happened already... I wonder why?

TV3 meanwhile can continue holding its breath if they hope they are every going to see him in a debate even one on one with Mr Browne. The excuses will still keep coming, one variation after another. Kenny fears very more real on the spot hard, honest questions that his RTE mates continues to duck. His underdogs on a rare occasion - and then under extreme circumstances, are only once in a while sent in to TV3 as filler.

...But then we are talking about Enda Kenny!

The Unions.

Plainly put, the unions of this country could have stopped the rot in Irish government a long, long time ago if they wanted to. This has not happened for a number of reasons. They are so busy protecting their own ass in regards to the financial amounts available within the Croke Park agreement that they like the Labour Party, have become another unofficial lapdog of the Fine Gael government, via a connection through the Labour party (FG's other lapdogs), whom they are joined to at the hip!

The same top union people that spoke on podiums yesterday in our nations capital, yes, the same ones that are actually earning more than €200,000 a year while in contradiction speaking about pangs of poverty elsewhere, are busy trying now to distract the public into laying all the blame for our present economic situation (and the continuous state ****-ups) at the feet of Germany and the so called Troika.

Certainly Germany and the Troika have behaved terribly in regards to Ireland and its people - but what the unions and FG/Labour don't want the public to see (if they can help it), is that its them - themselves as org's & political parties - which continues to open the doors to such people, to allow other nations/groups to do what they are further then doing to our very people and state.

Fine Gael and Labour have the keys to the country, the keys to the doors and bank vaults of Ireland coffers and they are daily willing to use them to hand over billions and billions year after year, now decade after decade, to give away precious public money.

...And where is the unions in all of this? What are they doing? They are simply rolling along with whatever their mates in the Labour party says is 'the right thing' to do - for eventual self-gain and preservation of already gained contract benefits very repeatedly on other issues that DIRECTLY effects their very union members across the country in topics such as water-charges household charges, the state taking money directly from their work wages and social welfare, the state screwing the public with every next invented tax and subtle way to slither money money out of workers, the unions have stayed amazingly silent.

At ANY time, the unions of Ireland could have stopped the rot in the present government by use of a national strike on any one issue or a series of them. They could quite simply bring the government to a total halt till the will of the public has its way. There are those that will argue that a national strike (or series of them) will do the nation no good as it would have financial repercussions - but then that excuse is simply too late - the horse and cart has bolted on that one. The nation at home and abroad is screwed financially. If we owe (supposedly) hundreds of billions left, right and centre a day (or series of days) strike is going to make pee all significance in the already absolute massive money owed.

I attended a meeting in the Westcourt Hotel, Drogheda, Co Louth on the 6th of February and it was stated there for example, by many low union members that they are outright ashamed of the inactions of their top union leaders. The lower (like the public) union people are enraged that the unions of Ireland continue to capitulate to the state government of the day - clearly if only so that a present status quo can be maintained in regards their own money/perks being maintained through pre-negotiated contracts. one suggestion at the meeting was that every worker in Ireland should stop paying their union fees to the very union that is consistently failing to represent them - their union that at the end of the day is once again through silence/inaction or even in action with Fine Gael/Labour, is like the main parties, screwing the very people they are supposed to be nationally standing up for.

Footage of the Garda attempting to forcibly remove a small group chanting 'Who sold us out, the Unions sold us out' on the Feb 9th 2013 ICTU march against debt driven austerity

Conclusion.

Fine Gael and Labour have sold their soul away and no longer are doing what the people want, need or even desire. They are unwilling to do what is morally right - often just for the sake of self gain and other pure money involved reasons. They continue to see that their own pockets are lined while continuously doing more u-turns than can be found on any map road between Dublin and Brussels. They clearly don't give a crap about the people of Ireland and their leaders are of very low moral quality. They have lied, lied and more lied while letting down the Irish nation in gutless inaction to stand up to European bullies. ...And thats the short version.

The unions are simple NOT working for the people of Ireland. They are working for a status quo so that top heads can maintain their high wage figures. That 'boat' they do not want to see rocked. They should no longer get money from the very people they are letting down. People that are disgusted should tell their employers to stop any weekly/monthly union wage contributions going from their pay-packets How long will it be then before the massive over paid (under qualified?) top heads of the unions then sit up and actually start to really represent the people when they see their own wage might not be forth coming because sooner of later, the money is no longer their for them to be paid!

What does happen when in opposition, others speak out? Well in one case, state representative go out of their way to inform media that one of that opposition has been arrested and handcuffed within hours of their supposedly arrest for being drunk - when in fact the medial reports show them NOT to be - but hell, whats truth got to do with the task of possibly trying to blacken and silence opposition? There are very many questions to be answered in the above matter alone and people are starting to ask them (LINK) - don't however expect any honest answers from a lying, constant u-turning, self-interest/gain government that is clearly unhelping the very people that elected them!

Until enough people say "ENOUGH" expect the crap to continue from top heads in Ireland and expect Enda Kenny and Eamon Gilmore not to give REALLY a damn about the suffering that is NOW going on in Ireland. They simply are not listening nor don't want to. The public MUST make them listen. Will they?

Don't hold your breath - there is too many complacent sheep in this country and have a myriad of excuses at the ready not to do so!

...And that folks, is quite possibly the sad truth!

or maybe the majority who did not turn out today could not identify with the spurious reasons behind this little outing

One of the main "spurious" reasons for this little outing was to let the EU elite know that we are not too happy that this Odious debt is being foisted on a future generation that has absolutely no say in the matter.

Is "hundred thousand" plus figure pluckled from the sky or was it your own estimate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 242 ✭✭miss tickle

ICTU security staff get tough with union fee dodgers

Is "hundred thousand" plus figure pluckled from the sky or was it your own estimate?

One of many news example out there: http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/windup-of-ibrc-could-cost-state-new-billions-29059187.html
    The promissory note deal has failed to quell public anger at the bank debt burden on citizens - more than 100,000 of whom took to the streets in protest yesterday.

If one bothers to actually listen/view to the news or read it - one would know this!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,202 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

darkhorse wrote: »
    One of the main "spurious" reasons for this little outing was to let the EU elite know that we are not too happy that this Odious debt is being foisted on a future generation that has absolutely no say in the matter.
    25,000 PS workers saying "no to austerity" (i.e. don't cut my pay or reduce government waste, instead increase everyones taxes) has nothing to do with debt.

Right. The Indo say 100k. The Gardai say 45k (countrywise across all "protests"). I think I know who I believe.
    Hint; they are used to controlling crowds and public events....

Thats not Ireland, thats Spain or Greece.:eek:

hmmm wrote: »
    25,000 PS workers saying "no to austerity" (i.e. don't cut my pay or reduce government waste, instead increase everyones taxes) has nothing to do with debt.

Yep. That was the nub of yesterdays little outing's aim. Hence the pathetic turnouts and general public apathy.

Ah yeah, I can see in the clip that they are trying to question them alright.:confused:

Right. The Indo say 100k. The Gardai say 45k (countrywise across all "protests"). I think I know who I believe.
    Hint; they are used to controlling crowds and public events....

*sigh*

I seriously don't think your that stupid!
    (...and after all, controlling crowds also automatically means that they have an ability to count numbers accurately of course - sure aren't the two related!) :rolleyes:

But seeing as you can't be bothering your arse to believe the numbers that was there from one source but still just meekly accepts another:

* https://www.google.ie/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=1&cad=rja&ved=0CC0QFjAA&url=http%3A%2F%2Frichardboydbarrett.ie%2F2013%2F02%2F09%2Fimages-from-dublin-protest-over-100000-march-across-ireland-against-austerity%2F&ei=IdMXUce4KJGChQeiqYH4Ag&usg=AFQjCNGkfi4Lxp1Lrj67oWN9qzi_A9Adnw&sig2=A7cu8a2KwZvZyIU967rQPw&bvm=bv.42080656,d.ZG4

* https://www.google.ie/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=6&cad=rja&ved=0CFYQFjAF&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.guardian.co.uk%2Fbusiness%2F2010%2Fnov%2F27%2Fireland-bailout-dublin-protest&ei=YtMXUYHZN4aEhQf2joG4Dg&usg=AFQjCNHmkTWUGVvsu7VADpNaswewpZEgcw&sig2=zD7Ns5h4Y3432CN385yEww&bvm=bv.42080656,d.ZG4

* https://www.google.ie/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=7&cad=rja&ved=0CGIQFjAG&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.indymedia.ie%2Farticle%2F98315&ei=YtMXUYHZN4aEhQf2joG4Dg&usg=AFQjCNFQ-z9k5_5Gf-ROY_5SBVHe2ifHNw&sig2=0S50F9GTtHPOw267ehbcug&bvm=bv.42080656,d.ZG4

* https://www.google.ie/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=10&cad=rja&ved=0CIABEBYwCQ&url=http%3A%2F%2Ftheirishobserver.blogspot.com%2F2013%2F02%2Fbreaking-news-protest-dublin-dublin.html&ei=YtMXUYHZN4aEhQf2joG4Dg&usg=AFQjCNHcOceODJvX-B8IMfwiPNkr5g8bFQ&sig2=n4-BLfVuE78DH-tgAzqDKA&bvm=bv.42080656,d.ZG4

* https://www.google.ie/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=11&cad=rja&ved=0CIcBEBYwCg&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.irishcentral.com%2Fnews%2FOver-50000-protest-on-Dublins-streets-110903879.html&ei=YtMXUYHZN4aEhQf2joG4Dg&usg=AFQjCNGeez34x0Qq-NuKsYZG7DdUVk8jzw&sig2=wsBzQqJLGLJuNCE1oUe1CA&bvm=bv.42080656,d.ZG4

* http://richardboydbarrett.ie/2013/02/09/images-from-dublin-protest-over-100000-march-across-ireland-against-austerity/

....but of course, independent TD's and the British news papers alone must be lying.

You except your Gardi number - excuse the rest of us that was there, we accept more accurate reality.

Biggins wrote: »
    *sigh*

I seriously don't think your that stupid!
    (...and after all, controlling crowds also automatically means that they have an ability to count numbers accurately of course - sure aren't the two related!) :rolleyes:

But seeing as you can't be bothering your arse to believe the numbers that was there from one source but still just meekly accepts another:

* https://www.google.ie/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=1&cad=rja&ved=0CC0QFjAA&url=http%3A%2F%2Frichardboydbarrett.ie%2F2013%2F02%2F09%2Fimages-from-dublin-protest-over-100000-march-across-ireland-against-austerity%2F&ei=IdMXUce4KJGChQeiqYH4Ag&usg=AFQjCNGkfi4Lxp1Lrj67oWN9qzi_A9Adnw&sig2=A7cu8a2KwZvZyIU967rQPw&bvm=bv.42080656,d.ZG4

* https://www.google.ie/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=6&cad=rja&ved=0CFYQFjAF&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.guardian.co.uk%2Fbusiness%2F2010%2Fnov%2F27%2Fireland-bailout-dublin-protest&ei=YtMXUYHZN4aEhQf2joG4Dg&usg=AFQjCNHmkTWUGVvsu7VADpNaswewpZEgcw&sig2=zD7Ns5h4Y3432CN385yEww&bvm=bv.42080656,d.ZG4

* https://www.google.ie/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=7&cad=rja&ved=0CGIQFjAG&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.indymedia.ie%2Farticle%2F98315&ei=YtMXUYHZN4aEhQf2joG4Dg&usg=AFQjCNFQ-z9k5_5Gf-ROY_5SBVHe2ifHNw&sig2=0S50F9GTtHPOw267ehbcug&bvm=bv.42080656,d.ZG4

* https://www.google.ie/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=10&cad=rja&ved=0CIABEBYwCQ&url=http%3A%2F%2Ftheirishobserver.blogspot.com%2F2013%2F02%2Fbreaking-news-protest-dublin-dublin.html&ei=YtMXUYHZN4aEhQf2joG4Dg&usg=AFQjCNHcOceODJvX-B8IMfwiPNkr5g8bFQ&sig2=n4-BLfVuE78DH-tgAzqDKA&bvm=bv.42080656,d.ZG4

* https://www.google.ie/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=11&cad=rja&ved=0CIcBEBYwCg&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.irishcentral.com%2Fnews%2FOver-50000-protest-on-Dublins-streets-110903879.html&ei=YtMXUYHZN4aEhQf2joG4Dg&usg=AFQjCNGeez34x0Qq-NuKsYZG7DdUVk8jzw&sig2=wsBzQqJLGLJuNCE1oUe1CA&bvm=bv.42080656,d.ZG4

* http://richardboydbarrett.ie/2013/02/09/images-from-dublin-protest-over-100000-march-across-ireland-against-austerity/

....but of course, independent TD's and the British news papers alone must be lying.

You except your Gardi number - excuse the rest of us that was there, we accept more accurate reality.

Richard Boyd Barrett would never lie!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 87 ✭✭tenton

hmmm wrote: »

+1. Its ironic one of the reasons our debt is so high is because our public spending on things like public sector pay and pensions is so high.
    And if the public sector had regulated the economy properly as they were paid to do, we would not have had a banking crisis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,940 ✭✭✭20Cent

Outrageous behavior by the Gardai in that video. Whatever one thinks of the protesters or that group in particular assaulting citizens on the street for no good reason is shocking.

Rojomcdojo wrote: »
    Richard Boyd Barrett would never lie!

Yesterday was an epic failure. Hence the desperation to massage the figures.