Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Feb 9th Protest - will you be joining?

• 01-02-2013 7:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,156 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

There is a large protest in Dublin, Cork, Sligo, Waterford and Limerick against the bank debt on Saturday February 9th

DUBLIN: Cook Street (near Civic Offices, Wood Quay);
    CORK: SIPTU offices, Connolly, Hall Lapps Quay;
    GALWAY: Cathedral Car Park;
    LIMERICK: Mechanics Institute, Harstonge Street;
    WATERFORD: The Glen (in front of the Forum);
    SLIGO: Sligo County Council Offices, Riverside

Here is some information about it and why the protest is being called

http://vimeo.com/58711943#

http://www.ictu.ie/jobsnotdebt/

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=igdHayzjUVI&feature=youtu.be

Will you join?

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

Yeah, sitting around giving out is going to magic jobs out of thin air

No

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭sfwcork

Will there be finger food?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭lockon...

Not a chance
    Dublin Office
    General Secretary - David Begg

David Begg became General Secretary of the Irish Congress of Trade Unions in 2001. For five years prior to that he was Chief Executive of Concern Worldwide, an international humanitarian organisation working in 27 countries and with offices in Dublin, London, Belfast, New York and Chicago. He is also a Director of the Central Bank (since 1995), a Governor of the Irish Times Trust, non Executive Director of Aer Lingus, a member of the National Economic and Social Council (NESC), and of the Advisory Board of Development Co-operation Ireland. He also sits on the Executive Committee of the European Trade Union Confederation (ETUC).

http://www.ictu.ie/about/staff.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

Not that I agree protests do much good, but what do people completely against them recommend otherwise?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭stmol32

bluewolf wrote: »

No

They won't be sitting around, it's a march.

No thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Thinly veiled "lets spam the forum promoting a march/event" thread...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭Fox_In_Socks

No

At what stage would you protest something?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 407 ✭✭Noel Kinsella

No.

There is a large protest in Dublin, Cork, Sligo, Waterford and Limerick against the bank debt on Saturday February 9th

Will you join?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭St.Spodo

No

Many, many people have lots of reasons to protest at the state of affairs in which they have found themselves through no fault of their own.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,183 ✭✭✭dvpower

Who is the target of these protests and where will they be protesting?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 158 ✭✭Airitech

Will you join?

I have only read the ICTU link. This may be answered on the videos so forgive me if it is: who is organising the march? Is it just an ICTU event or will it include others, SWP, eirigi etc.?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭slim223

stmol32 wrote: »
    They won't be sitting around, it's a march.

So why have it in February :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,999 ✭✭✭68 lost souls

NO!

A protest of any sort is a waste of resources, we are in debt there is no way a protest of any sort will change that. If people organising the protests put that effort into organising startups or taking advantage of the budget benefits for research and design then we could maybe do something about the debt.

Guarda budgets are being cut and spending Money on policing these needless protests could have been spent to keep stations open.

Many many more reasons I disagree with protesting. Suck it up, get on with it and start getting ourselves out of debt rather than complaining about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

So NO to stupidity.

I am arranging a counter demonstration on the same dates at the same venues, I will be demanding CAKE, and I mean real CAKE, for everyone.
    Say no to Austerity Say Yes to Cake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭GalwayGuy2

These marches will lead to great and inspiring plans to fix the economy...;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,885 ✭✭✭JuliusCaesar

Yes, I'll be there. The present regime of austerity is austerity for me and others like me, in order to maintain our bankers in the style to which they became accustomed. The savage cut-backs in public services make it really difficult for both patients and staff of the HSE. It's really hard to provide what you know is a sub-standard service, a service which is WAY below best practice, when our Minister continues to insist that staff reductions have made no difference to patient treatment/services. YES IT HAS Minister.

Although I don't think the govt is listening, it's really important to send the message that the ordinary people of Ireland are not happy at being taxed to the hilt and beyond to pay off bank debts. That's BANK DEBTS, not our debts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 128 ✭✭MrPoker

Well when you look at the latest Eurostat figures you have to wonder at what point are people going to make a stand? They are pretty eye opening figures and we are paying relativly more towards the debt compared to our European counterparts with a much smaller population. Not really fair is it?

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/42-of-europes-banking-crisis-paid-by-ireland-219703.html

• Site Banned Posts: 49 johnnycarrick

Its a tough decision for me.
    I have been offered a date from a 5 foot 5" stunner with long blonde hair.
    She wants to meet on the 9th at 2.30pm for tea and cake in a hotel.
    What would you do? Turn her down and say; sorry I need to protest about something that will change nothing..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,156 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Not that I agree protests do much good, but what do people completely against them recommend otherwise?

Nothing - absolutely nothing

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭WallyGUFC

Nothing - absolutely nothing
    What will wasting a day protesting achieve? Nothing, absolutely nothing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 407 ✭✭Noel Kinsella

So NO to stupidity.

I am arranging a counter demonstration on the same dates at the same venues, I will be demanding CAKE, and I mean real CAKE, for everyone.
    Say no to Austerity Say Yes to Cake

This is a serious thread. You are disrespecting the moderator with your comments in my opinion and its wrong. I am not protesting but do not think you should be laughing at the protests or the moderator.

WallyGUFC wrote: »

Actually it achieves a huge amount:

It gives ordinary people who are struggling a voice

It illustrates that people are actually struggling to the point of extreme poverty

It highlights the injustice against the Irish people

It shows that Irish people want to take a strong stand against that injustice

It shows to the International media and to the wider world that people in Ireland are not just completely ambivalent and careless about how we are shouldering 42% of the EU bank debt burden

Terry Pratchet

WallyGUFC wrote: »

We could go and protest the health sector overspend
    http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/finance/2013/0112/1224328742783.html

Health spending in Ireland remains a cause of concern for the commission. Savings promises have been “only partially delivered”, resulting in an estimated €370 million budget overrun in 2012.

Ireland has the highest OECD per-head health spend, the report noted, flagging salaries of doctors and consultants as “worthy of special attention”. Higher consultant numbers might drive down salaries, the report added.

“More can be done in the cost of medication,” the authors added, noting that Ireland’s spending in this area almost tripled between 2000 and 2008 and, in 2010, lay a third above the EU average.

Branded products

Doctors should be obliged to prescribe active ingredients rather than branded products, except in cases where there is a well-founded reason.

Interesting reading
    http://trueeconomics.blogspot.ie/2012/01/712012-irish-exchequer-results-2011.html
    Together, Social Protection, Health and Children accounted for 46.51% of the spending in 2008 and this now is up at 57.88% in 2011. In other words, almost €6 per every €10 spent by the state goes to finance the two functions that constitute in traditional nomenclature social welfare benefits and social benefits (note that private spending on health is netted out via departmental receipts in the net expenditure figures). Education accounts for roughly the same share – ca 18% of total spend – in 2011 as in 2008. Economic sectors departments (other than Transport) used to account for 6.84% of the total spend in 2008 and this is now down to 4.56% in 2011.

In short, the priority of the Government spending over the years of the crisis has shifted firmly away from supporting economy’s productive capacity and delivering structural subsidies to ‘social and environmental pillars’, to serving social welfare functions and preserving as much as possible public health spending.

http://www.esri.ie/irish_economy/
    Excluding support to the banking system, the deficit was 11.5 per cent of GDP in 2009 and 10.9 per cent of GDP in 2010. In 2011 the deficit narrowed to 9 per cent of GDP.

As for alternatives, they could sit down and work out actual logical plans of what they want and consider the implications and long term effects. Not "I'm angry and I want jobs!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭books4sale

The only two groups that can lead an effective protest in this country are the OAP's and the farmers. Angry, passion and willingness to give it welly. Everyone else, forget it!

Protesting should be all about breaking the rules and boundaries, not these mass controlled walks up the street.

You'd find more anger in Disneyland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭books4sale

Actually it achieves a huge amount:

Everything is crap before the protest.

Everything is crap after the protest.

It achieves nothing.

books4sale wrote: »

It achieves nothing.

Right ok - keep accepting that life is bad and nothing can ever change - meanwhile - I'll be doing something useful on February 9th

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,445 ✭✭✭jd83

It achieves nothing.

It will achieve something.....

It will make town a no go area while its on for anyone who has to get to work or go through town at that time and take Gardai away from their normal jobs policing the streets to babysit. That's about all it will achieve

jd83 wrote: »
    It will achieve something.....

It will make town a no go area while its on for anyone who has to get to work or go through town at that time and take Gardai away from their normal jobs policing the streets to babysit. That's about all it will achieve

I'm afraid I really don't believe in people powerlessness

Terry Pratchet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

Protests can be useful, when the protesters spend money travelling to and from the protest and in the pubs afterwards. As long as there is no trouble they are not totally useless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

Where did this debt come from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭mightdomighty

This is a serious thread. You are disrespecting the moderator with your comments in my opinion and its wrong. I am not protesting but do not think you should be laughing at the protests or the moderator.

Get off your soapbox fella, this is After hours

Sure, I can accept that you feel this is a serious thread, although I would argue it's a pointless exercise and deserves ridicule.

Fair game IMO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 799 ✭✭✭Logical_Bear

UCDVet wrote: »
    Where did this debt come from?
    not sure,think rich people made it and poor people pay it.

I'm not really clear on how it works,seems a bit nonsensical to me :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,057 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Yes, I'll be there. The present regime of austerity is austerity for me and others like me, in order to maintain our bankers in the style to which they became accustomed. The savage cut-backs in public services make it really difficult for both patients and staff of the HSE. It's really hard to provide what you know is a sub-standard service, a service which is WAY below best practice, when our Minister continues to insist that staff reductions have made no difference to patient treatment/services. YES IT HAS Minister.

Although I don't think the govt is listening, it's really important to send the message that the ordinary people of Ireland are not happy at being taxed to the hilt and beyond to pay off bank debts. That's BANK DEBTS, not our debts.

I'll be there too.
    Not our debt so why should the Irish people pay 42% of Europe's debt?
    Far too many people believing the spin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

No

But it's about the billions in bank debt that has been foisted upon us. Do you believe we should be paying it?

The campaign is being run by "jobs not debt", so it seems to be a general airing of miseries. No, I don't believe in socialism and that includes socialising private debts. If a bank was collapsing, then it should have been let collapse and let that be the end of it. They rise, they fall, they rise again.
    But now? Well, I don't see people volunteering for further cuts to handle the non-bank related deficits that already exist
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=82946905&postcount=83

The only two groups that can lead an effective protest in this country are the OAP's and the farmers. Angry, passion and willingness to give it welly. Everyone else, forget it!

Protesting should be all about breaking the rules and boundaries, not these mass controlled walks up the street.

You'd find more anger in Disneyland.

There's talk about protesting outside the homes of TD.'s.
    Now that would have an effect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I won't be attending, but I don't get that 'it won't change the fact that we're in debt' argument. Is that what it's about... being in debt?

I would have thought it was in protest to the idea that we should be liable for the debts of private banks. Can seriously say you don't have a problem with the socialisation of debt at the expense of public services?

We're all economists in here it seems. I'd love to see people here try to run the country. Protesting won't make a blind bit of difference apart from wasting Garda man hours and inconveniencing people going about their daily business i.e. it will achieve nothing.

Oh well excuuuuse me! :p

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭Fulton Crown

Protest marches ? ...nah ! Not me pilgrim.

Packed with leftie trouble makers

Duffle coated crusties

Skangers in track suits...those saggy grey ones (so suitable for the Irish complexion).

Arse holes with whistles and loud hailers....urging people to chant slogans.

Ming Flanigan / Claire Daly / Mick Wallace.

Nah compadre ...not for me ...gotta clean the brake dust from my alloys.....:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Hilly Bill

Right ok - keep accepting that life is bad and nothing can ever change - meanwhile - I'll be doing something useful on February 9th

In what way will it be useful?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭GalwayGuy2

There's talk about protesting outside the homes of TD.'s.
    Now that would have an effect.

Nothing like a bit of the bully-boy brigade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Obviously a waste of time as protesting has never achieved anything, ever. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

GalwayGuy2 wrote: »
    Nothing like a bit of the bully-boy brigade.

How is it?

TDs and their hanger-on brigade have no problem annoying people in their homes when they see fit.

What's good for the goose...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,535 ✭✭✭Radharc na Sleibhte

No.
    Ill drive by and give them a beep.
    Protestors love that.

Protest marches ? ...nah ! Not me pilgrim.

Packed with leftie trouble makers

Duffle coated crusties

Skangers in track suits...those saggy grey ones (so suitable for the Irish complexion).

Arse holes with whistles and loud hailers....urging people to chant slogans.

Ming Flanigan / Claire Daly / Mick Wallace.

Nah compadre ...not for me ...gotta clean the brake dust from my alloys.....:cool:

I'll be going to show them that I care about what they are doing to their people i.e. making them pay the debts of European gamblers. Putting debt on our children and grandchildren.
    I don't give a damn about the likes of Daly, Flanagan or anyone else, about whistles, chants or anything else. There is no difference between the noise of a whistle on the street than that of a lying wind-bag in the Dail to me except that the whistler is not trying to ride me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Hilly Bill

I'll be there too.
    Not our debt so why should the Irish people pay 42% of Europe's debt?
    Far too many people believing the spin.

Shouldnt that be " The Working population of this country" . Im not Irish yet im paying more and more each year to pay back a debt i had feck all to do with and supplement those on the dole long term and have paid nothing into the economy. It seems sometimes that those that shout the loudest are the ones that have contributed the least .

Hilly Bill wrote: »
    Shouldnt that be " The Working population of this country" . Im not Irish yet im paying more and more each year to pay back a debt i had feck all to do with and supplement those on the dole long term and have paid nothing into the economy. It seems sometimes that those that shout the loudest are the ones that have contributed the least .

Why is the protest at the council offices and not outside the Dail?

Don't know. It will be the working population who will be protesting. Why would the unemployed protest anyway, they have it easy?

Hilly Bill wrote: »

Why is the protest at the council offices and not outside the Dail?

You'd swear unemployed people paid no taxes when they were employed, you'd swear they paid no VAT...

Terry Pratchet