snobbery

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 687 ✭✭✭WhatNowForUs?

shoos wrote: »

Are you sure you're not mistaking a very general conversation starter for snobbery? That's a very typical "get to know the person" kind of question that I've asked and have been asked, and never felt there's any bigoted judgement going on behind it :confused:

EDIT: just wanted to include that I'm unemployed atm, so it's not like I relish the chance to boast when people ask me.
    I fell into this trap once at a gathering. I was stuck with somebody for what seemed like a quarter of an hour without much conversation at all. I moved on bumped into somebody I half knew and asked him what he did. He answered unemployed. I knew about him well enough to know this not to be true. Made my excuse knowing I was socially dumb that particular night got my coat and went home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭April O Neill

somefeen wrote: »
    Its like the Blackrock/Mahon thing in Cork.
    Vast majority of Blackrock is old corporation houses, vast majority of Mahon is new corporation houses.
    Only reason Blackrock is considered more affluent is that after a couple of generations the people who lived in the Corpo houses eventually bought them and their kids grew up and got decent jobs and inherited the house.
    Same thing will happen to Mahon.

By all accounts Blackrock was an absolute ****ehole back in the 70's. Anyone who thinks they're better for living there in Cork is a knob anyway.

FYP. No need to thank me. :cool::pac::P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,442 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

To be fair, everyones a bit of a snob. We all hold certain values and tend to look down on those that don't share them.

True snobs are people who have values based on something like wealth, accent, neighbourhood etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

I get called a snob because I'm doing ok for myself at the minute, nothing spectacular mind you. I never brag about money,holidays or the likes. but I get the "look at yer man, thinking hes great" even though I wont have said a word.

Begrudgery is a much bigger problem in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭Odysseus

steddyeddy wrote: »
    Who's the biggest snob you've ever encountered? I met one recently in a pub. He seemed friendly at first. He mentioned he lived in Terenure to which I replied "Oh cool my mam is from Kimmage originally, just around the corner". He came back with "There's a big difference between the calibre of people from Kimnage and from Terenure mate". Now I know this is AH an I'm probrably contracually obliged to say I came up with a bit witty AH response but I didn't. I was a bit taken aback by a stranger randomly insulting my mam and by exrension granny ect. The thing is do Terenure wasn't always rich in fact there was several tenements there until the last few decades. The other thing is my mams side of the family are all barristers, economists historians and probrably a lot better off than he was.

Whats the biggest snob you have ever met and how do you deal with them?

A little bit off topic, but your post reminded me of one of my uncles. He lives on Parnell Road, but when he is asked where he lives he tells everybody he lives in Terenure:eek:

Talk about pushing the boat, I don't know for sure where parnell rd is actually situated, is it the Barn?, Curmlin? Isuppose you could even push it and claim Harold's Cross but fcuking Tenenure it's a bridge too far for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

I just hate everyone.

Its easier that way.

• Site Banned Posts: 612 ✭✭✭Lionel Messy

I just get more and more negative about this country everyday and if I could leave I would.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

act like a snob?

surely not

one has a little man from the village to do that for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,802 ✭✭✭Motivator

Was on holidays with the girlfriend a couple of years ago, we were coming home through London & our flight was cancelled so we were put up in a hotel by the airline. Luckily for us, all the cheap hotels were booked out because Royal Ascot was on so we were put up in a beautiful hotel. We got to the hotel & got out of the cab with our bags. There was a group of assholes outside the hotel smoking & when they saw our bags & 2 tourists in shorts one of them pipes up "Haw, have you come to London on a holiday?" cue ridiculous fake laughing from all of his mates. Without thinking the girlfriend burned him with the comeback "No we're just stopping off on our way home from 3 weeks in a 5 star resort in Malaysia" & she walked straight past him in the door of the hotel. His face was an absolute picture, she destroyed him in front of his chums & he didn't like it one bit. I never saw a guy choke on a cigarette before then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

Odysseus wrote: »
    A little bit off topic, but your post reminded me of one of my uncles. He lives on Parnell Road, but when he is asked where he lives he tells everybody he lives in Terenure:eek:

Talk about pushing the boat, I don't know for sure where parnell rd is actually situated, is it the Barn?, Curmlin? Isuppose you could even push it and claim Harold's Cross but fcuking Tenenure it's a bridge too far for me.

parnell road is dolphins barn

my brother worked with a girl from loughlinstown that said she was from dun laoghaire, they are both kips especially dun laoghaire and its junkie population so i dont know why she didnt say she was from loughlinstown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

df1985 wrote: »

Begrudgery is a much bigger problem in this country.

Ye know I never really believed this until I started doing pretty well for myself with university and travel and money and stuff. Never once bragged or talked about it but there's always remark or joke by people who are meant to be close to you. Kinda pathetic really. As I've got older I've stopped caring and my friend list has definitely got smaller. Fock em is what I say but yeah I agree it's everywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

You haven't seen snobbery until you have been in the more upmarket parts of London.

Yeah, snobbery snob!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭somefeen

Madam_X wrote: »
    Of course anyone who thinks they're better because of their address is a joke of a human being but I'd be very surprised if Blackrock was a sh1t-hole in the 70s. Council houses doesn't always mean sh1t-hole and the ones in Blackrock were the very old ones, not the estates built in the 60s and 70s whose poor planning led to anti social problems, which is the case with some of the estates in Mahon. Plus I'm not sure the vast majority of Blackrock was council housing back in the day. Some of it was but it's still one of the most affluent parts of Cork. Look at some of the absolute mansions out there.

They're very different places in fairness - just close to each other. You're right that Mahon is settling down now though - it was a lot tougher years back.
    The notable thing I've picked up over the years re the two is that older people from Mahon say they're from Blackrock, and younger people from Blackrock, trying to be "working class hero" say they're from Mahon. :pac:

Well-off people being ashamed of their background is amusing too... as if they'd be ashamed when they need to get money off the folks.

Im generally talking about the old council estates, I know its snobbery to assume they were ****holes but its pretty well known that they were. My auld fella grow up on one and has plenty of stories. Of course thats not including the massive mansions up around Blackrock castle and Beaumont.
    Anyway its actually beside the point, even if it was or wasn't a slum judging someone for it would be snobbery of the highest order.
    Which is why I don't understand the whole thing at all.
    I can't be snobby anyway since I grew up in both :pac: Never know what to say when people ask me where I'm from.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,190 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

my brother worked with a girl from loughlinstown that said she was from dun laoghaire , they are both kips especially dun laoghaire and its junkie population so i dont know why she didnt say she was from loughlinstown.
    There's some residents from there and surrounding areas that would give any inner city scumbags ( so called ) a run for their money .
    You haven't seen snobbery until you have been in the more upmarket parts of London.
    Yeah but as Del Boy might say '' they be your proper snobs but equally as miserable as your wannabes'' .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

I can't be snobby anyway since I grew up in both :pac: Never know what to say when people ask me where I'm from.
    Nice. Mahon's handy if you want chicks to feel you're downtrodden. Chicks dig that sh1t. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

People who begrudge people who worked hard in life to have nice things are just being %&holes. Theres a type of begrudgery that I see in college and thats poorer people begrudging spoiled kids. Thats bad as well but off topic some of these well of kids also get the grant somehow and flash it about. I can understand why people begrudge those people.

Madam_X wrote: »
    Nice. Mahon's handy if you want chicks to feel you're downtrodden. Chicks dig that sh1t. :pac:

Nah cos I end up using it on snobs, I say Mahon they think I'm a scumbag. I say Blackrock they think I'm a snobby scumbag. Can't win.

Why are people complaining about snobbery then calling dunlaoghaire scum?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 257 ✭✭Red About Town

I used to work alongside a member of the traveler community, who had a successful career as an interior designer and when I happened to mention his name to a friend of my father he replied "he's still a k****er"

That's racism not snobbery.

People who begrudge people who worked hard in life to have nice things are just being %&holes. Theres a type of begrudgery that I see in college and thats poorer people begrudging spoiled kids. Thats bad as well but off topic some of these well of kids also get the grant somehow and flash it about. I can understand why people begrudge those people.

Have been on the receiving end of this aswell.
    Didn't get a grant so my parents paid as much as they could while I worked part time.
    Then some ****er thinks I'm a rich mommys boy for getting money off my parents when they're getting **** loads of the government.
    Whats the difference? Still someone elses fecking money!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,251 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Some of my post comes with terenure on the address and some with kimmage. I'm from the country originally.

I don't know if i'm a snob or a gurrier.

I do know what a tracker mortgage is though.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

Who's the biggest snob you've ever encountered? I met one recently in a pub. He seemed friendly at first. He mentioned he lived in Terenure to which I replied "Oh cool my mam is from Kimmage originally, just around the corner". He came back with "There's a big difference between the calibre of people from Kimnage and from Terenure mate". Now I know this is AH an I'm probrably contracually obliged to say I came up with a bit witty AH response but I didn't. I was a bit taken aback by a stranger randomly insulting my mam and by exrension granny ect. The thing is do Terenure wasn't always rich in fact there was several tenements there until the last few decades. The other thing is my mams side of the family are all barristers, economists historians and probrably a lot better off than he was.

Whats the biggest snob you have ever met and how do you deal with them?

looks more like you have a chip on your shoulder tbh

A guy insults the calibre of my mother and I have a chip on my shoulder?

Have been on the receiving end of this aswell.
    Didn't get a grant so my parents paid as much as they could while I worked part time.
    Then some ****er thinks I'm a rich mommys boy for getting money off my parents when they're getting **** loads of the government.
    Whats the difference? Still someone elses fecking money!

Well I'm from a poor background and wouldn't think that. Once we are in college we're all in the same boat. Good luck witj your studies and who cares what people think of you. I have a very posh friend from Donnybrook and a friend from Coolock, both of which hide their accents in college! People who judge either aren't worth your time.