Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

"Once we accept our limits, we go beyond them"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,821 ✭✭✭blockic

Tough break RR, take it easy coming back, you don't want to make it any worse than it is.

Best of luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

Jaysus!

I know:eek: Have to say I wasn't expecting that. Thought he would say its just muscular and to rest etc etc
    blockic wrote: »
    Tough break RR, take it easy coming back, you don't want to make it any worse than it is.

Best of luck

Thanks Blockic, appreciate that. Will do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭Walkedit

RedRunner wrote: »
    Well, I've been to the Doctor and the diagnosis is that I have a prolapsed disc, or slipped disc as it is commonly known. Ordered to stay out of work ? for two weeks and not do anything silly, so I guess running is probably off the cards for next week anyway! He gave me a difene injection and I'm on a cocktail of painkillers and anti-inflammatorys.

Hi RR I just found your log and read it today, tough breaks with the injuries but taking LT view is way to go.

I've seen you at parkrun where I've been volunteering regular but not gotten to say hi to many people. I'm hoping to run it a bit now that more vols coming in. (want to jump in?) I will look out for you when your back and say hello. I'm the one with Jacob the black lab!

Walkedit wrote: »
    Hi RR I just found your log and read it today, tough breaks with the injuries but taking LT view is way to go.

I've seen you at parkrun where I've been volunteering regular but not gotten to say hi to many people. I'm hoping to run it a bit now that more vols coming in. (want to jump in?) I will look out for you when your back and say hello. I'm the one with Jacob the black lab!

Hi Walkedit, Yes I believe you may have given me directions on my first day out there? You were running with another girl?

I was actually thinking that this would be a great time to volunteer since I'm injured. Depending on family I would really like to do it. Is it just a case of submitting name on website on the week that you might be available or do you need to give more notice than that or is there a fastrack way of volunteering if you suddenly find yourself available to do it?

Hi Walkedit, Yes I believe you may have given me directions on my first day out there? You were running with another girl?

I was actually thinking that this would be a great time to volunteer since I'm injured. Depending on family I would really like to do it. Is it just a case of submitting name on website on the week that you might be available or do you need to give more notice than that or is there a fastrack way of volunteering if you suddenly find yourself available to do it?

Helping out while your off injured is a great idea. There's a volunteer page on http://www.parkrun.ie/malahide/volunteer/ and the action is to email malahidehelpers@parkrun.com

Normally the roster gets made up Tue/Wed for following Saturday so you can vol in the week your available. It's great if we know ahead of time who's available as it's more certain, but sometimes there are "walk up" volunteers as well and if something needs doing or we have a no show you'd get fitted in.

We've had a few boardies helping out which is nice to see, there's a good overlap of the community spirit.

And ..... the future roster is being kept up to date now also http://www.parkrun.ie/malahide/futureroster/ so you can see how things are shaping up in the weeks ahead!

Helping out while your off injured is a great idea. There's a volunteer page on http://www.parkrun.ie/malahide/volunteer/ and the action is to email malahidehelpers@parkrun.com

Normally the roster gets made up Tue/Wed for following Saturday so you can vol in the week your available. It's great if we know ahead of time who's available as it's more certain, but sometimes there are "walk up" volunteers as well and if something needs doing or we have a no show you'd get fitted in.

We've had a few boardies helping out which is nice to see, there's a good overlap of the community spirit.

And ..... the future roster is being kept up to date now also http://www.parkrun.ie/malahide/futureroster/ so you can see how things are shaping up in the weeks ahead!

Thanks for the information Walkedit.

3 miles @ approx 12 min pace....just a walk but let the Rehab begin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 288 ✭✭guinang

I have had issues with prolapsed discs. Not a pleasant experience. Mine go out in my neck, which is a mare cos the discs end up pushing into nerves if they get severe which causes my left hand to go numb. Count yourself lucky you did the MRI first. I did a chiropractor. The eejit was trying to crack the bones in my neck which made it all do much worse because they were forcing the discs further out.

I'm sure you've already been told but you're prone to this now but be very careful with it. The spongy area around the nucleus takes n age to heal. Not sure about the back but they told me that if it kept popping out they would need to fuse the bones...not pleasant apparently.

guinang wrote: »
    I have had issues with prolapsed discs. Not a pleasant experience. Mine go out in my neck, which is a mare cos the discs end up pushing into nerves if they get severe which causes my left hand to go numb. Count yourself lucky you did the MRI first. I did a chiropractor. The eejit was trying to crack the bones in my neck which made it all do much worse because they were forcing the discs further out.

I'm sure you've already been told but you're prone to this now but be very careful with it. The spongy area around the nucleus takes n age to heal. Not sure about the back but they told me that if it kept popping out they would need to fuse the bones...not pleasant apparently.

Didn't actually get an MRI as it happens, just went to GP who diagnosed it based on symptoms and examination. Said he would only refer for MRI if it happened again. Your experience sounds nasty with numbness and all. I was just getting some minor enough pain in left leg and glute apart from the lower back pain.First two days I could barely walk upright but after that it was small improvements on a daily basis. Now its much better but have lower back pain if I'm sitting for too long and certainly wouldnt attempt to lift anything. Going to take another week of rest and some light exercise as apparently I have to keep on the move to help the healing process.

Thanks for the insight into you experience .Once I get over this I'll have to focus more I think on core work and strengthening the lower back to help avoid it in the future.

Went out today to Raheny5 today. It was hard at first to be on the sidelines but my youngest (9yrold) was doing the 800m before the adult race so that made it enjoyable and there were a few work colleagues running for the club that I set up at work . Spoke to RunningKing before race which was good.Showing some race nerves unusually but sometimes that's a good thing RK and going by your time, it brought out a good performance.

Saw some other Boardsies too, DaveMacMahon,Skidrow and Claralara. Nice running all. Can't wait to join you on the roads again.

Next year I hope to be running that one in a Raheny Shamrocks vest!

Make my debut as a Park Run Volunteer on Saturday:)

Back is improving well and I expect to be running slowly next week. I've even been jogging from room to room in my house just to see how it felt. Am I sad or what?

I mentioned in an earlier post that I hoped to lose a few more pounds. My starting weight in this quest was 15st 7lbs/ 98.4Kg

My target is to get to 14 st 10lbs/93.4Kg. Mightn't seem like a lot but it is to me as I haven't been anywhere near 14 st in a long long time, plus I'm big boned;)

So I intend a monthly weight check at end of each month.

Today I weigh in at 15 st 9lbs / 99.7Kg (Target + 13lbs/6.3kg). Considering I've run a total of 27 miles in january due to a long lay off with injury, the fact that I've been eating rubbish due to feeling sorry for myself, I'm not too disappointed with that. Next week I'll be back on the roads and I find that once I'm running I'm more inclined to watch what I eat more carefully and the exercise will naturally help me lose the weight.

Let's hope February's figures have me going in the right direction next time.

I mentioned in an earlier post that I hoped to lose a few more pounds. My starting weight in this quest was 15st 7lbs/ 98.4Kg

My target is to get to 14 st 10lbs/93.4Kg. Mightn't seem like a lot but it is to me as I haven't been anywhere near 14 st in a long long time, plus I'm big boned;)

So I intend a monthly weight check at end of each month.

Today I weigh in at 15 st 9lbs / 99.7Kg (Target + 13lbs/6.3kg). Considering I've run a total of 27 miles in january due to a long lay off with injury, the fact that I've been eating rubbish due to feeling sorry for myself, I'm not too disappointed with that. Next week I'll be back on the roads and I find that once I'm running I'm more inclined to watch what I eat more carefully and the exercise will naturally help me lose the weight.

Let's hope February's figures have me going in the right direction next time.

Fair play nailing your colors up on this, I've been thinking about a publicly committed to weight loss goal but not taken the plunge(yet). How about adding a realistic time dimension - by ? date to be at target - say 28th Oct for instance.

I've some similarities to your journey (BUT I'm 8 inchs shorter) started out at 17.5 st+, lost a good bit (4st) in 2010 at WW, ran first DCM in '12 in 4:50 having put a st+ back on even with training. My big goal is sub 4 -realistically in '14 rather than '13, but no way can I do that without losing at least 1 st within next 6 mths and 2 st within next 12 mths. I've found that I didn't lose during the later months of marathon training. For me: Big Miles = Hungry = Too much food

My short term plan is to go back to slimming class either Slim4Life or WW as for me it seems to be 80% food mgt rather than exercise that does the trick. That said I still plan to do the 1000+ miles in 2013 - Exercise helps!

So we're 1st apart today I'll be watching with interest how we both get on, I'm going to Mind that Gap

(Sorry for hijacking post a bit!)

Fair play nailing your colors up on this, I've been thinking about a publicly committed to weight loss goal but not taken the plunge(yet). How about adding a realistic time dimension - by ? date to be at target - say 28th Oct for instance.

I've some similarities to your journey (BUT I'm 8 inchs shorter) started out at 17.5 st+, lost a good bit (4st) in 2010 at WW, ran first DCM in '12 in 4:50 having put a st+ back on even with training. My big goal is sub 4 -realistically in '14 rather than '13, but no way can I do that without losing at least 1 st within next 6 mths and 2 st within next 12 mths. I've found that I didn't lose during the later months of marathon training. For me: Big Miles = Hungry = Too much food

My short term plan is to go back to slimming class either Slim4Life or WW as for me it seems to be 80% food mgt rather than exercise that does the trick. That said I still plan to do the 1000+ miles in 2013 - Exercise helps!

So we're 1st apart today I'll be watching with interest how we both get on, I'm going to Mind that Gap

(Sorry for hijacking post a bit!)

No problem Walkedit. Hijack away! I'm all for hearing other people's experiences and goals as it'll help me focus too.

i'm aiming for Sub 4 DCM this year so I'll need to be lighter than DCM12 (I was 15 st 4lbish on start line)Generally if I stay away from sugar, processed foods and not too much alcohol, along with exercise I can reduce the weight but I have a ferocious sweet tooth so that can be difficult at times.

Good luck with your plan and let's keep tabs on each other's progress so , it'll help keep us motivated.

Got out for a run today at long last after 18 days of no running. Plan was to do a short one and run it very easy at recovery type pace to see how the back reacted.

3.86 miles later I'm home and absolutely delighted with myself. It felt like I'd started running for first time and with weights around my legs and was running into a gale half the time but aerobically felt ok and back felt ok . Was analysing every little twitch, niggle, feeling in my lower back to make sure I wasn't going to trigger anything to affect the injury but at end of it felt really good.Legs a bit tired but I'd have expected that after doing nothing for last three weeks.

So at long last I get to post some mileage. Hurray!:D

3.86 miles @ 9:50 avg pace

Avg HR 147
    Max HR 159

WTD 3.86 Mi
    MTD 3.86 Mi
    YTD 31.61 Mi

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Brilliant news! Delighted to see you're back. Fingers crossed for you that you remain injury free. I was out for only 4 days and went stir-crazy. You should probably keep all your runs at recovery pace for the next while, just to be sure to be sure to be sure...

Ososlo wrote: »
    Brilliant news! Delighted to see you're back. Fingers crossed for you that you remain injury free. I was out for only 4 days and went stir-crazy. You should probably keep all your runs at recovery pace for the next while, just to be sure to be sure to be sure...

Thanks a million Ososlo. Yeah that's pretty much the plan for this week anyway, easy with a capital E.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,685 ✭✭✭RunningKing

Delighted to hear that Robbie, hopefully everything goes well in the next few days!

Got out again tonight after walking the dog as my warmup. Easy run again , went pretty well ,legs felt a bit better than last night but wasn't as windy, a stray branch nearly took my eye out on the Howth Road though...that could have been nasty! Luckily I got away with no serious damage.One of the disadvantages of being tall!

4.39 mi @ 9:21avg

Won't run tomorrow but have just bought a Pilates DVD ad instruction book so going o give that a go to see if I can strengthen my lower back area. Have also managed to get work to organise an Ergonomist to see me and I'm hoping I get a decent chair for work out of it to help support the back and improve my posture while at my desk.

WTD|8.25
    MTD|8.25
    YTD|36.00

A friend sent me this and thought it was a good article so thought I'd share it with you all.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/lifeandstyle/the-running-blog/2013/feb/05/why-we-love-to-run

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,685 ✭✭✭RunningKing

Nice one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,413 ✭✭✭Steroo

Love that article!

Had to walk dog tonight but wanted to do a short run also so combined the two. I have a bit of a love/hate relationship with my dog, long story, but it involves kids, dog whisperers etc. That's for sharing over a pint some time!
    Anyhow I am walking him this week as my better half is on crutches and she normally does it.

Didn't go too bad, he didn't trip me up but I did trod on him a couple of times which I don't think he appreciated ! Anyway it was short and sweet. Back is a little sore after a week of work I think more so than anything to do with the running.

Will venture out to Malahide Park Run in the morning and will treat it as an easy run and embrace the spirit of park run as well as continue my easing back into the world of running (if you'll excuse the pun):):)

2.46 mi @ avg 9:44

WTD|10.71
    MTD|10.71
    YTD|38.46

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭pansophelia

Great to see you back running, and I must have missed you this morning! Again! Met WalkedIt after the run, then popped in for an Avoca brekkie with soaking wet feet - I really need to prepare better.

Ah damn it , pity I missed you, maybe another time. Thanks for the kind words. Glad to be back running.Today was a little tester for me.Will post in more detail later. I was talking to WalkedIt too while queuing for scanner after run. Had to get back home quickly because we had to do a big grocery shop. THAT was the most painful experience I had this morning :rolleyes: never mind any injury I might be carrying!

So went out to Park Run this morning with plan to take it easy and see how back holds up if I try push it even ever so slightly. Did a nice warm up so felt good before run started knowing that I wasn't out to acheve anything special except maybe come in around 25/26 min mark feeling good and no sore back. That was the aspiration. So felt relaxed at start because of this and was content to stay at the back and find a nice space for myself whenever it materialised. No panic was the order of the day, just run and enjoy it.

And that is exactly what happened. Felt good in last 2k , could have maybe pushed it harder as i knew I had it in my legs but maybe not in the lungs, so just kept it steady as I could with a little push up the last hill just to stop anyone overtaking me:D sneakily at the end. Prefer to be on the other end of those. So came in just under the 25 mins by my Garmin feeling good. Met WalkedIt in queue, nearly lost my placing tab,(Thanks for spotting it WalkedIt) then jogged back to carpark for cooldown.

Am considering trying the BHAA Garda XC next Saturday (4 miles)

1.94 mi warmup @ 9:06avg
    3.05 mi 24:54 @ 8:10 avg

4.99 miles today

WTD|15.7
    MTD|15.7
    YTD|43.45

Ah damn it , pity I missed you, maybe another time. Thanks for the kind words. Glad to be back running.Today was a little tester for me.Will post in more detail later. I was talking to WalkedIt too while queuing for scanner after run. Had to get back home quickly because we had to do a big grocery shop. THAT was the most painful experience I had this morning :rolleyes: never mind any injury I might be carrying!

Lovely to finally meet ye guys and on the same day. Not sure how ye missed each other as ye were about 20 places apart in Reg Q where I meet ye both!

PS: I was putting up some photos of Vol Team in Avoca after Parkrun and realised Pansophelia was in the background, having said brekkie!

8463372504_7b739decd5.jpg

Had a nice lie-in this morning. Busy schedule today so I was happy to be able to squeeze another run in today. Ran in the lashings of rain but I like running in the rain, weirdly enough. Threw on my older Kayanos as my current Brooks were still a bit wet from Park Run yesterday. Slapped on some deep heat to lower back, just as a precaution and off I went . Didn't want to go too far for two reasons . 1. I should be taking it easy this week and not too much mileage after injury and 2. Wanted to get back in time to watch the Rugby International.

Was enjoyable and felt good throughout. Went without the earphones so just me, my thoughts and I. Tried to concentrate on running form , not that I know a whole lot about it but was just trying to keep the back straight and head up. Have a really bad habit of looking down at my feet all the time when running as if to verify that they are still moving :D Bad running posture I'm sure so trying to correct that. Seemed to work , breathing was controlled for the most part.

5.02 miles @ 8:48 avg

Avg HR 147
    Maax HR 159

WTD|20.72

MTD|20.72

YTD|48.47

Lovely to finally meet ye guys and on the same day. Not sure how ye missed each other as ye were about 20 places apart in Reg Q where I meet ye both!

PS: I was putting up some photos of Vol Team in Avoca after Parkrun and realised Pansophelia was in the background, having said brekkie!

8463372504_7b739decd5.jpg

Great .Now I know who to look out for next time:)

Got home after a rough day at work...tired as hell. Had to make the pancakes so the kids were waiting with their tongues hanging out. Was hoping to get run in tonight so made the pancakes and put some of the mixture away to have some myself later...though I did have a sneaky one before I went out:)

Walked the dog first so that was my little warmup. Went out with no real plan except to get out again and get back to regular running and keep the show on the road so to speak. This ended up being a bit of a progression run and couldn't help upping the pace a bit over last mile.I know ! A little naughty in only my second week back but I felt strong in the legs. It was a great feeling afterwards. Another run under the belt with a little injection of pace at the end and a smile on my face.

So went back had a shower and proceeded to stuff my face with pancakes!:rolleyes:

5.20 miles 45:57 @ 8:50 avg

Avg HR 141
    Max HR 164

Splits: 9:28,9:02,9:00,8:36,8:18, (7:30)

WTD|5.2

MTD|25.92

YTD|53.67