Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Cyclists, rules of the road, a bit of cop on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭JRant

I'ved cycled in dublin city centre for most of my life. When HGV's were banned it greatly increased the safety of all road users in that area. However since gps devices( like tomtom) became common in a lot of cars and the increase in smartphone usage it is a lottery these days cycling through town.
    Here are my observations;

The amount of people on their phones while driving is crazy.

The speed limit is completely ignored by nearly all motorists.

People walking out in front of all kinds of traffic with their heads buried in their phones.

Those dublin bike scheme users are just plain crazy. I've seen some of the worst examples of cycling imaginable from this lot and quite frankly give the rest of us a bad name.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

Seamus's's's first post on this was bang on...people are retards.

I've been a pedestrian, cyclist and bus user in the city, and though I am new to biking, I'd conclude that so far pedestrians are the worst, marginally. And only the after work crowd really.

I cycled home just now and nearly crashed twice, through no fault of my own. A taxi driver was slightly to my right, I was going to mosey on down past him on the left, then he very suddenly cut in front of me to turn left, then put his indicator on. Yeah I could've had a bit more space between me and him, that would've helped, but the reality is traffic through town doesn't do that.

Then at another junction, where you've a completely separate road for left and straight turns, and another purely for right turns (separated by a church), I was going through, turning to the right, watching the only other lanes I had to, and someone in a flash car turns the corner from the other lane, tyres screeching and all, on the phone and speeding, going my way - when their turn off was only for left and straight. Very nearly crashed into me, and actually if I hadn't been there, going slower than cars, the car that was behind me probably would've crashed into them.

Coming up O Connell St past 5.30 on a week day is mayhem, mostly because of the pedestrians that will cross at any time, any point in the road, and not even look to check for traffic. This is the only problem I've encountered with pedestrians though.

Re other cyclists - I estimate from my experiences that about 1/2 of them break lights. I break lights when I know the system and I know there's no danger. I wouldn't do it otherwise, and no I don't go through them when people are crossing.

And to answer a question posed around page 11 there, why cyclists break lights - the reason I will do it is so I don't have to stop. It's not about making time, it's about the work involved in stopping and starting constantly. It's difficult enough as it is to cycle uphill and on the ****ty roads in the city without stopping for (what I've assessed as) no reason.

• Site Banned Posts: 638 ✭✭✭imurdaddy

LOL....the facts are all the drivers are just bitter because of the cost of the money loosing hunk of crap they sit in day in day out costing fuel, while the sit in traffic getting fatter!!!.....phone to ear fag in mouth

Now how ****!ng dare anyone who cuts travel time while getting fit and saving money!..........I know lets claim cycle lanes for cars too that will teach the lycra clad fools!......or or lets tax bicycles on emissions! huge cause of pollution......or ban them! we know how many road deaths the cause to poor old car drivers!

Or maybe ban 271,000 learner permit holders in the State, equivalent to one in 10 drivers. until they pass the driving test? where can you use a death machine with no training?

Next aggressive drive to indanger my life will be a very sorry yoke!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,274 ✭✭✭Monty - the one and only

lol I cycle through there most days as well.

And in this instance, sorry, this is just untrue. Only a fool would cycle out into four lanes of traffic. I've never seen anyone do it. I'm sure the odd person breaks the lights when the road is clear, but I don't understand how that indicates a lack of respect for motorists (there aren't any around if that is the case).

The only thing that I see in anyone doing that is a lack of self preservation...:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭MrCreosote

imurdaddy wrote: »
    LOL....the facts are all the drivers are just bitter because of the cost of the money loosing hunk of crap they sit in day in day out costing fuel, while the sit in traffic getting fatter!!!.....phone to ear fag in mouth

Unfortunately they see the car ads and believe them

But instead of smoking along an Alpine highway with no other traffic on a flawless blue sky day with some pouting babe in the passenger's seat, they're stuck in a 30 minute jam in Inchicore. In the drizzle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭StinkyMunkey

There's no possible response to the articles you posted. Kashmir is completely irrelevant to the discussion. As you well know there's a completely different culture there and standards / manner of driving are not comparable.

Any comment on my link?

Kashmir might be on the extreme side of things, but it shows how people left to their own devices wont always make the best choice.

I read the blog, until i see the benefits of having no traffic lights with my own eyes, i will continue to keep stopping at a red whether im on my bike, motorcycle or in the car.

If kashmir has no relevence to this thread, why should any other foreign country?

Now how ****!ng dare anyone who cuts travel time while getting fit and saving money!..........I know lets claim cycle lanes for cars too that will teach the lycra clad fools!......or or lets tax bicycles on emissions! huge cause of pollution......or ban them! we know how many road deaths the cause to poor old car drivers!

Or maybe ban 271,000 learner permit holders in the State, equivalent to one in 10 drivers. until they pass the driving test? where can you use a death machine with no training?

What about the next cyclist who endangers my life, will i just get off my motorcycle and make them a very sorry yoke?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

If they taxed the chip on your shoulder the Irish government would be able to pay all of Germany's pension funds for the next 20 years! Lord save us how did things get so bad?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,660 ✭✭✭COYVB

Why would they be bitter? it's not like there's anything actually preventing them from getting a bike and cycling if they wanted to? you make it sound like they're jealous or something

COYVB wrote: »
    Why would they be bitter? it's not like there's anything actually preventing them from getting a bike and cycling if they wanted to? you make it sound like they're jealous or something

There is nothing preventing 99% of car drivers of hopping onto a bike as they often do. Why the imaginary divide between the two camps?

If they taxed the chip on your shoulder the Irish government would be able to pay all of Germany's pension funds for the next 20 years! Lord save us how did things get so bad?

The ones with a chip on their shoulders are the car drivers.

Oh boo-hoo, I dropped 20k on this car and now I'm stuck in traffic while someone on a piece of sh*t bike cruises up past me.

Always the victims, never the cause of the problem eh?

MrCreosote wrote: »
    The ones with a chip on their shoulders are the car drivers.

Oh boo-hoo, I dropped 20k on this car and now I'm stuck in traffic while someone on a piece of sh*t bike cruises up past me.

Always the victims, never the cause of the problem eh?

People with chips on their shoulders are everywhere. I really dont understand the hate. There are many car drivers like myself who never owned a car that wasn't at least 10 years old so that argument is a load of balls anyway

What about the next cyclist who endangers my life, will i just get off my motorcycle and make them a very sorry yoke?

a cyclist at 10/15mph is a deat trap well know fact? motorbike 70mph very safe!
    your welcome to try boy!

i allready have had the pleasure of the fairer sex running over me a traffic lights and parking her car on me, meaning i neede months and years of medical care! her reason?......on the phone

COYVB wrote: »

Dont twist my words! i drive i cycle and i ride motocross but dont act like i own road!

jealous....no
    God givin right to the road...yes

god bless your such a clever little boy!!! guess your on the green licence! dont worry once you get your abc sorted you'l be grand

Plus if you had the brains to read my other posts you may and only may get why i have a chip on my shoulder!.......but judging by your post i doubt it. :rolleyes:

People with chips on their shoulders are everywhere. I really dont understand the hate. There are many car drivers like myself who never owned a car that wasn't at least 10 years old so that argument is a load of balls anyway

Car drivers are a special case though. They have been supported for the last 70 years to the detriment of other forms of transport and society in general.
    Destroying towns and cities with gridlock and pollution. Helping to turn the population into a shower of fat lazy complainers. Not to mention the tens of thousands killed on the roads.

And still they complain. Oh the traffic is terrible. Someone on a bike is going quicker than me- must hate. We need new roads! We need new motorways! Drop the tax on petrol! Etc etc

MrCreosote wrote: »
    Car drivers are a special case though. They have been supported for the last 70 years to the detriment of other forms of transport and society in general.
    Destroying towns and cities with gridlock and pollution. Helping to turn the population into a shower of fat lazy complainers. Not to mention the tens of thousands killed on the roads.

And still they complain. Oh the traffic is terrible. Someone on a bike is going quicker than me- must hate. We need new roads! We need new motorways! Drop the tax on petrol! Etc etc

Yet they have taken an awful battering in recent years while Mr. Gormless has been giving away free bikes. Fat lazy complainers aren't there because of cars. Junk food and Joe Duffy are a lot more to blame for this. People become fat lazy complainers before they are ever allowed to drive a car
    god bless your such a clever little boy!!! guess your on the green licence! dont worry once you get your abc sorted you'l be grand

Plus if you had the brains to read my other posts you may and only may get why i have a chip on my shoulder!.......but judging by your post i doubt it. :rolleyes:

Some bint knocked you down cause she was on the phone? Blame everyone else for it and not just the bint. Doesnt matter if it's their fault or not. It also doesn't matter a sh1t what sort of a license I have

its clear your too dense to grasp that this is the type of driving everyday on the road! go read the rules of the road about giving way to bikes and the use of cycle lanes! its clear to me and everyone else you have no idea of the rules of the road.

Its clear you have no clue how to drive! thats what it matters mate.

Are you also supporting the posters who said they will run cyclist down and laugh?

Can you not see the problem when statments like this are made on a public forum?

its clear your too dense to grasp that this is the type of driving everyday on the road! go read the rules of the road about giving way to bikes and the use of cycle lanes! its clear to me and everyone else you have no idea of the rules of the road.

Are you also supporting the posters who said they will run cyclist down and laugh?

Can you not see the problem when statments like this are made on a public forum?

It goes on but no need to turn it into a relentless hatefest against car drivers. I'll support those posters but only if they promise to only knock down militant cyclists, the most annoying type. The rest can stay.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 78,484 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

The rest can stay.

It goes on but no need to turn it into a relentless hatefest against car drivers. I'll support those posters but only if they promise to only knock down militant cyclists, the most annoying type. The rest can stay.

Thats fine i'l do the same with idiot drivers who every day try kill me by stupidty!

Have you any idea what a car doin 40mph not a crazy speed will do to a human body? who do you think would come out the better?

You want to go educated your self on the threats you make! you wont be such a hard man when you ruin someones life by way of pure stupidity!! i drive everyday for my living but dont have the urge to kill other road users!

here is your bravdo and hardman talk! take a good look at the faces of those killed by BS talked by all the hardmen on this thread
    http://www.thetimes.co.uk/tto/public/cyclesafety/article3313260.ece#tab-4

Oh and how many car drivers were killed by bike riders? Grow up :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

I cycle to work everyday. I love it.
    I do about 150km a week.

my butt is like a piece of iron.

that's it really.

a cyclist at 10/15mph is a deat trap well know fact? motorbike 70mph very safe!
    your welcome to try boy!

i allready have had the pleasure of the fairer sex running over me a traffic lights and parking her car on me, meaning i neede months and years of medical care! her reason?......on the phone

Have you ever seen the aftermath of when a motorbike collides with someone son. It doesnt matter whether its a pedestrian, cyclist or motorist, its not pretty and very life threatening.

Just for the record, i think driving while on the phone is as retarded as breaking red lights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,892 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

Now I'm sure each and every one of them thought they were not a danger but maybe instead of constantly videoing drivers you should look around you at all road users and then stop this incessant bleating about not obeying traffic laws.

Just four examples which makes you wonder why there aren't more articles like those below,

http://www.sfgate.com/bayarea/nevius/article/Aggressive-cyclists-must-be-stopped-not-educated-3481002.php

http://www.guardian.co.uk/environment/bike-blog/2011/apr/01/cyclists-law

http://greatergreaterwashington.org/post/15154/cyclist-kills-pedestrian-does-calling-on-your-left-not-work/

http://www.nydailynews.com/new-york/central-park-danger-zone-pedestrians-news-investigation-finds-16-cyclists-breaking-25-mph-limit-speeding-road-bikes-article-1.1132150
    ^^^^^^^^^^
    Last one is well worth reading

29 people killed by cyclists between 1998 and 2007 in UK,
    Source: http://www.cyclingweekly.co.uk/news/blog/521234/furious-cyclists.html
    How many intimidated or injured? No one knows because everyone thinks anecdotal, it's time cyclists manned up and required registration and took responsibility for their (often) dangerous and illegal actions. A car/bus or truck driver will be censured and even in a hit and run often traced but cyclists....

Have you ever seen the aftermath of when a motorbike collides with someone son. It doesnt matter whether its a pedestrian, cyclist or motorist, its not pretty and very life threatening.

Just for the record, i think driving while on the phone is as retarded as breaking red lights.

I have my cousin and besy mate, both nolonger with us, idiots blowing trough there backend about runing people down is sick.

I agree with you there i motocross myself, but i dont get the idea that people on here are saying they will run down people on bicycles and laugh! i'm sure they'd do the same to motorbikes

any bike has no protection excpt what you make for your self

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭SHOVELLER

Until the rules are enforced nothing will change. How Irish.

Some cyclists are a danger no doubt and then you have idiots jogging in the cycle lanes...............

SHOVELLER wrote: »
    Until the rules are enforced nothing will change. How Irish.

Some cyclists are a danger no doubt and then you have idiots jogging in the cycle lanes...............

Both sides need to change! cars bikes walkes motorbikes! all guilty
    But thank god only a few in each group and the alot bu!!sh!ters

Thats why i ride off road only now, too may idiots

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,506 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Spook_ie wrote: »

Not sure I understand the point of this and have to question why you omitted the fact that cars killed 260 TIMES MORE people in that period or any information about the circumstances for any of those accidents. I could equally find the following:

As all the sane posters have said, a moron is a moron. Put them behind a wheel and they are a moron driver, stick them on a bike and they are a moron cyclist, put an ipod in their ears and they are a moron pedestrian.

We've all had our moronic moments on the roads.

But the biggest morons are the people posting on here and declaring they hate ALL cyclists/motorists/pedestrians because of a few personal incidents.

People like Spook_ie above are the ones to be wary of on the roads, you clearly have some sort of agenda against cyclists as can be seen from your frequent inflammatory posts in the cycling forum. People like you shouldn't be allowed anywhere near traffic.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 78,484 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Spook_ie wrote: »

Yes, let's read what it actually says
    Fortunately, cyclists are rarely linked to pedestrian fatalities with only 29 cases between 1998 and 2007 and none in 2009, the last year statistics were published. Meanwhile the car stats include 7,629 pedestrian deaths for the 10-year period and 426 fatalities from two years ago.

Oh, and there were no pedestrian fatalities "linked to" cyclists in 2009, when 104 cyclists "died on the road"

Now show me a single example of a pedestrian killed by a cyclist on Ireland's roads over, say, the last 10 years

You clearly have a hatred for cyclists - unfortunately like a lot of motorists in this country. Fortunately though, in my experience, you are still very much in the minority

Now let me relay an example from my own cycle into work this morning. I was on the inside of 2 lanes heading south on the old N1 heading towards Swords (at Blakes Cross). A juggernaut is overtaking me - plenty of room - more than the 1.5m minimum clearance recommended. Then this idiot decides to right turn onto the road from a petrol station. They think they are being smart - a quick getaway before the car in the Northbound lane gets to them. Of course they cannot see me - I'm hidden by the juggernaut - they expect him too make room for them. Fortunately the juggernaut driver had his wits about him, held his ground and gave the car driver a blast on his horn - they probably had the fright of their life but managed to get away with it only because there were 2 northbound lanes and the oncoming car could move to avoid them. If the juggernaut driver had reacted instinctively and moved over to accomodate this idiot he would have been cutting straight into me.

As has been highlighted many times in this thread, there are stupid cyclists, stupid car drivers, and stupid taxi drivers out there. To try and suggest cyclists are for some reason more of a problem than motorists is absurd

I have my cousin and besy mate, both nolonger with us, idiots blowing trough there backend about runing people down is sick.

I agree with you there i motocross myself, but i dont get the idea that people on here are saying they will run down people on bicycles and laugh! i'm sure they'd do the same to motorbikes

any bike has no protection excpt what you make for your self

Tbh, my greatest fear is hitting a cyclist or pedestrian while driving my motorbike. Id not laugh at hitting anyone or seen anyone being hit.

Ive been involved in a couple of motorbike crashes, i didnt walk away from the last one, was out of work for 2 months.

Motorcyclists and cyclists can be in the same boat when it comes to motorists.