But its cold outside

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

Week 7, run 4 - Saturday 2nd February Beautiful Spring Sunny but chilly morning!!

Plan 1m easy, 8mins @ HMP, 1 min rec x 4, 1m easy

Dropped the car up for service and ran home the long way..well the options were routes that were too short or too long so had to be too long

I missed the first beep for the 1m so at 1.1m i went into the 8mins @ HMP, i had a range of 8.15 - 8.22(last HM race pace) in my head so when i got comfortale at pace within this range i tried to maintain it.The first 2 recoveries were 1.30 instead of 1min. I had a few hills, drags and inclines to content with, but overall i was definitely more comfortable doing this session than a similar one a couple of weeks ago so i definitely think my fitness is coming back to me!!!:D Cool down was a bit long than planned but needs must.

Legs were great on this run, i wore the compression socks to bed last night which helped big time!!

9.24, 8.13, 8.13, 8.22, 8.04, 9.17, 9.20(.88)

Total 7.3m @ 8.49 in 64.16 Garmin

Totalsbiggrin.png
    WTD: 22.51m
    MTD: 9.30m
    YTD: 138.50m

Week 7, Run 5 - Sunday 3rd February

I got up today and i just didn't want to run, so i kept finding things to do in the hosue, with the kids, baking etc and when i ran out of lives on Candy crush at 8.45 pm tonight i realised that i had no genuine reason for not running, so into the gear and onto the treadmill, with the plan of i'll do the hour and when the treadmill stops that will do for today...but once i got going i was fine!!!! Definitely relieved i did it and didn't have to put up with a guilty conscience for the next day or two:o
    in the end i did 10.4 m in 1:36:20

Totalsbiggrin.png
    WTD: 32.91m
    MTD: 19.70m
    YTD: 148.90m

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,821 ✭✭✭blockic

Younganne wrote: »
    in the end i did 10.4 m in 1:36:20

Over an hour and a half on a treadmill! :eek: Impressive! That would do my nut in!!:)

Week 8 - Plan

Mon | Tue | Wed | Thur | Fri | Sat | Sun |
    Pilates/Rest | 5m easy | Session 1m easy, 90 sec @ 5k, 60 sec easy x 10, 1m easy | 5m easy | 20 min Recovery | 5m easy | 10m Progression run

Pilates last night was good and i got a good stretch & workout and not sore today so happy with that!!

Week 8, Run 1 - Tuesday 5th February
    Woke up this morning and the place was covered in snow, we had about 5 - 6 ins of it and i thought to myself well theres the plan of all outdoor runs for the week scuppered before i even start:rolleyes:....But come 4.30 this evening, the snow was more or less gone and the rain had stopped so on went the gear and Anne went out the door before I had a chance to change my mind!!!

It was very cold but nice in a weird sort of way and i was visible from outer space as i was conscious that it would be darkish by the time i was returning!!!
    Anyway the run was a lovely pleasent run and its what i have been missing with all the treadmill running...plenty of ups & downs on the lumps & bumps, puddle wading, jumping and ducking and diving from racing jeeps and trotting horses...a lovely country run overall.:rolleyes: It reminded my of why i love running!!!!

Total 5.01m @ 9.22/160 in 46.56 Garmin

my new Garmin 410 arrived in the post today so now I just have to work out how to use it:eek:

Totalsbiggrin.png
    WTD: 5.01m
    MTD: 24.71m
    YTD: 153.91m

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭Lizzy C

my new Garmin 410 arrived in the post today so now I just have to work out how to use it:eek:

Hooray! Please start using lap pace, rather than current pace!

Lizzy C wrote: »
    Hooray! Please start using lap pace, rather than current pace!

Ha Ha will do...was going to test it out today on my session, but stupid me forgot my running gear!!!!:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,156 ✭✭✭jcsmum

A new garmin! And it's not even Christmas! :) I love the runs like the one you had yesterday.

jcsmum wrote: »
    A new garmin! And it's not even Christmas! :) I love the runs like the one you had yesterday.

It was my Birthday present, just a little late:D
    Ye its lovely to have good runs every now and again to keep us motivated!!

Week 8, Run 2- Wednesday 6th February

Plan was for a session but i forgot my running gear so OH dropped it into my Mams for me to run in Navan before i headed home. Got delayed in work and didn't get to Mams till 8 so decided to swap Wed & Thur around and just do the easy 5m that was on plan for Thur. Another part of this was the new Garmin, i still wasn't too sure on using it so decided it was better to do my session in the daylight:o
    Anyway this was nice and relaxed and i enjoyed the run. I found it was very cold and a bit icy on my face but otherwise no problems.
    I met Neilc during mile 3 and i hit lap instead of stop and he had to show me which was the stop button:o We had a quick chat it was far too cold for a good old natter, he was flying along with over 10 m done on his run!!!:D
    9.23, 9.16, 9.15(.82m), 9.18, 9.09, 9.00(.25)

Total 5.07m @ 9.15 in 46.61

for some reason my new HR monitor has paired up with the Garmin yet so I will have to check it out a bit more!!!:(

Week 8, Run 3 - Thurs 7th February
    I had about an hr free in the morning and if i didn't get out then it would have to be treadmill later so off i went into the cold wind & lashing rain with a mission of 1m warmup, 90 sec @ 5k, 60 sec rec, x 10, 1m recovery. I had a time of 7.15 in my head for the 5k sections but it didn't quite go to plan.....

the warm up mile was too fast @ 8.50, don't know where that came from except it was so cold i might have been going too fast to try and warm up...anyway, first interval and i tried to hold it at a comfortable pace to see how i would get on and after that i started off too fast for them all and had to slow them down a bit as i knew it wasn't true 5k pace ..( unless i have become super fast:cool:) i doubt it!!!!
    I ran all the recoverys except for the last couple as i was finding it difficult to catch my breath as im still unable to breath throught my nose properly due to sinuses being blocked up!!!!
    I was comfortable throughout this session and only had to dig a bit deeper to finish no 9 & 10...so very happy with this overall
    Anyway...8.50, 7.10, 7.07, 6.59, 7.06, 6.49, 7.03, 7.02, 7.02, 7.01, 6.50, 9.27

Total 5.10 @ 8.43 in 44.30

Week 8, Run 4 - Fri 8th February

Well look at that 4 runs OUTSIDE so far this week:D

20 min recovery - I found the first half mile very difficult to keep slow and felt like i was practically walking and a bit self conscious i have to say:o, but then i got into my (slow) rhythm ;) and enjoyed the rest of it
    Mission accomplished - 10.42, 10.51, 10.31(.15)

Total 2.15m @10.46 in 23.11

3.5 lbs down this week so that's 6lbs in 3 weeks and i can really feel and notice the difference already:D

Totalsbiggrin.png
    WTD: 17.33m
    MTD: 37.03m

YTD: 166.23m

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭beeduybe

for some reason my new HR monitor has paired up with the Garmin yet so I will have to check it out a bit more!!!:(

Could be a faulty battery? I was having similar problems before but when I put a new battery in it it paired straight away and has been working fine ever since. Although if your monitor is anything like mine you will need a pretty wide screwdriver to open it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭neilc

Great running Anne, good seeing you the other evening!!

Great running Anne!

Got the HR monitor paired after my run on Saturday. I hadn't enabled it on the set up so its all ok now.:D

Week 8, Run 5 - Sat 9th February
    5m easy - this was exaclty as it said on the tin plan...i went out to do this without eating anything, just a drink of water and away i went. Legs were really fresh and i enjoyed it, i found it a lot warmer than i thought it was going to be so i was sweating a bit...It felt nice and relaxed and i did this without paying any attention to the watch.
    A few times i slowed it down as i thougt it was a bit fast but overall if felt very relaxed. I had a bit of a dicky tummy which i just put down to hunger but alas no it was the start of a bug which i had for the next few days, sick stomach and plenty of visits to my Throne:eek::o
    9.02, 9.01, 8.56, 9.05, 9.03, 9.01(.60)
    Total 5.6 in 50.33 @ 9.01

so as a result of the bug i missed my sunday progression run, i had hoped to do it Monday but still wasn't feeling 100% and i had 3 sick kids at home so it just didn't happen....i went to Pilates even though i had a bit of a dicky tum still, but it turned out to be ok in the end

i think we'll have to call this a stepback week;)

Totalsbiggrin.png
    WTD: 22.93m
    MTD: 42.63m
    YTD: 171.83m

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭digger2d2

Younganne = Garmintard ;)

digger2d2 wrote: »
    Younganne = Garmintard ;)

Thanks very much;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭digger2d2

Thanks very much;)

I only recently discovered that mine has a backlight and I have it about 3 years :D

Week 9 - Plan

Mon | Tue | Wed | Thur | Fri| Sat | Sun|
    Pilates/Rest | 5m Easy | 1m easy, 1min @ 5k, 1min rec x 15, 1m easy|5m easy| 20mins Recovery | 6 m @ MP | 90 min Easy

Pilates last night was good i feel fully stretched today but i do have a sore knee. Hopefully it will be fine later as todays 5m will be a treadmill run later and then hopefully the rest of the runs this week will be outside!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭RubyK

Hope the bug is well gone younganne, and your feeling 100% again.

You've reminded me that I really need to get back to pilates classes quick!

Week 9 , Run 1 - Wednesday 13th February!!
    I missed my 5m easy yesterday as my knee was in bits and i could barely walk, let alone run come evening time. I was limping around work and couldn't understand what was wrong with it. I hadn't banged it or hurt it, but on Monday night when i went up the stairs to Pilates class i noted it was a bit sore, right beside my kneecap and if i put my finger on it and pushed it, it relieved it a bit. It didn't affect me in the class or much after...it was a little sore when i got up yesterday morning but by the time i had driven the 65km to work and climbed the stairs, i was noticing it again and throughout the day it just got worse.

I iced it yesterday evening but it was only last night that it felt a little better and by that stage i was hanging with tiredness. I hate 5am starts so off to bed i went. This morning it was much better with only a slight niggle and by the time i dropped 3 sick kids to Nannys and got to work it was still ok. I decide to head out for the run at lunch and see how it was...the first half mile i was kinda hopping/limping but then it was like it was oiled and suddenly it was fine...i decide i'd try the first 1min @ 5k pace ans see if it was ok, and it was so i continued with the session and it didn't give me any trouble...and its ok since..i'll ice it again later just to be on the safe side.

Anyway the session.....well i have to say looking at the splits now im shocked:eek:....they were way too fast(Sorry Boss) and i knew i was puttin in a good effort, i kinda guessed they were a bit on the fast side but decide to keep the effort the same throughout the session and I have to admit i'm delighted that i could hold it till the end!!(and actually get faster) reps 3 & 4 were into a head wind across the North road so the time isn't the same as the others but the effort was!!!:eek:
    Cool down was a little longer than planned but i had to get back and there was no short cut!!

WU 9.15/167,

7.04, 6.41, 7.01, 7.06, 6.52, 6.47, 6.33, 6.41, 6.43, 6.50,
    6.33, 6.44, 6.34, 6.30, 6.30

CD 9.36/158, 9.25/159(.60)

Total 6.01m in 55.18 @9.12/166

Totalsbiggrin.png
    WTD: 6.01m
    MTD: 48.64m
    YTD: 177.84m

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭career_move

Great session Anne. Some great times there :D

Well done Anne!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭Solobally8

Brilliant session there Anne, the knee thing is very strange. Hope it's gone for good now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,888 ✭✭✭Dory Dory

Well done with that session!

Week 9 , Run 2 - Friday 15th February

Its Friday and i've only 2 runs done insted of 4:eek:, but life gets in the way of my running sometimes:rolleyes:

I didn't get out for the run yesterday as kids are off school and i had no child care, followed by my weekly evening trip to Dundalk for the youngmans OT and then home about 8.30. Plan was to do it on Treaddie then but when i got in the girls had the table set for dinner for the 5 of us, candles and all, so i couldn't disappoint them.:o 10yr old informed me i could run tomorrow so i sat with the family and had our "Valentines dinner".:D mmmmmmm

So at lunch today i did my Thursday planned 5m easy and i'll do my 20 mins recovery tonight on treadmill so that i have kinda caugh up, with just Tusday run missing.

Todays run was like middle of Summer, the sun was shining and the Phoenix Park is bursting with familys heading to and from the zoo and there's heat in the sun if you can catch it with no wind!!!

Anyway i didn't Garmin watch and just headed off nice and easy. I have to say the legs are feeling very creeky and its not DOMS type of creaky, just lots of niggles in various parts and as soon as i stopped running today i was limping with my knee again, its very strange, but after my stretches it was fine again but need to get it checked...:o:o although with my brilliant investigative powers;) i have deducted that it might have someting to do with the fact that i'm wearing my old runners:eek:...I threw the into the bag at the weekend so as not to be with out any while my current runners were drying after a soaking on Frid & Sat and i forget to change them around again!!!! so hopefully creaky knees & legs will be sorted quick smart!!!
    9.20, 9.25, 9.25, 9.17, 9.19, 9.20(.42)

Total 5.42m @ 9.21 in 50.38

my next update won't be until Monday as i have no phone or wifi at home at the moment as the phone pole was knocked last Thursday and its still not replaced:mad: and i don't have a smart phone!!!

No weight lost this week but none gained either, so i must try harder!!!

Totalsbiggrin.png
    WTD: 11.43m
    MTD: 54.06m
    YTD: 183.26m

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,685 ✭✭✭RunningKing

Ahh Anne, you made the right decision having the v. Dinner with the family. running plans and mileage has ebbs and flows and things like life get in the way sometimes, as you say.

Hopefully the knee is ok!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

Ahh Anne, you made the right decision having the v. Dinner with the family. running plans and mileage has ebbs and flows and things like life get in the way sometimes, as you say.

Hopefully the knee is ok!

+1 to that. Excuse my ignorance but what does DOMS stand for?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 788 ✭✭✭rasher_m

RedRunner wrote: »
    +1 to that. Excuse my ignorance but what does DOMS stand for?

Delayed onset muscle soreness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

^^On the ball as usual Rasher_M ;);)
    Thanks for expaining that one for me:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 788 ✭✭✭rasher_m

RedRunner wrote: »
    ^^On the ball as usual Rasher_M ;);)
    Thanks for expaining that one for me:)

haha, im just after waking up after a 4 hour sleep after work...eating my dinner here and full of beans ;)

Week 9 , Run 3 - Friday 15th February - Pm

30 min recovery on treadmill,

The legs were very tired starting this off, but within half a mile i could feel the blood flowing back into them...and i think thats the point of a recovery run...i extended it to 30 mins jsut because it was feeling good
    30 min = 2.75m

Week 9, Run 4 - Saturday 16th February
    Plan 6m @ MP (somone elses MP, not mine):eek:
    Started this off too fast(whats new there then) :o and then i struggled to get it to my planned pace. Now I wasnt sure what my MP at the min should be, so i had a range of 8.30 - 8.40 in mind as this would lead to an improvement on DCM 12, but it took me 3 miles to get into this range and when i did i started enjoying the run, (after spending 3 miles annoyed with myself and giving out and doing too much looking at the watch.)

There was hedgecutting going on on my route and twice i had to stop to get past the tractors and one was kind enough to pull over and stop cutting while i went past, the other not so.... anyway the sun was shining and it was a lovely day to be out.
    8.14, 8.24, 8.17, 8.23, 8.35, 8.32, 8.49(.26)

Total 6.27 @ 8.26

Week 9, Run 5 - Sunday 17th February
    Plan 90 mins easy
    Family time meant that i wasn't home until 4.30 and i wasn't fully sure what the evening stretch was, so while OH went on an errand for the football club, i took a 30 power nap as i was knackered after late night, too many beers and 2 hr crossing training at bowling Sunday afternoon:eek:.
    When he returned I drove into Navan and did my run around the outskirts of Navan. It was just after 6 when i left my mams house but it could have been after 10 as there was a sharp nip in the air but i was delighted to see plenty of other runners out too, mainly women i have to say.

I took this nice and handy, i had a rough route in my head and i didn't look at the watch, it was all going to be on feel. I laughted to myself when i think about a while back when i'd have had 500ml of water and a gel on a run like this, whereas last night it never even crossed by mind to take anything, not even water and i was fine and didn't need any.
    The only problem was more stomach issues from about mile 5 when it kicked in...i had the same on Saturday evening after my run so I need to have a look at the diet and see whats causing it!!!

No problems with the knee but still a few creaks on the legs...a sports massage wouldn't go astray now!!!
    9.30, 9.27, 9.21, 9.33, 9.27, 9.41, 9.24, 9.27, 9.26, 9.21, 9.27(.21)

Total 10.21 @ 9.28 in 96.38

Totalsbiggrin.png
    WTD: 30.66m

MTD: 73.29m
    YTD: 202.49m