Under the Influence : Des Bishop

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭April O Neill

Max Power wrote: »
    He should fuck off back to America

Oh dear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭GRMA

Max Power wrote: »
    He should fuck off back to America and do a documentary on gun control. Don't worry about us over here on our little island.

He's lived here since he was 14 and is a fluent Irish speaker

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,029 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Des Bishop is to alcohol as Dana is to rock star.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

Smidge wrote: »
    Does this mean we are 4th "good" as something?

I'd take it as a small positive. With a push there's no reason why we cant challenge for a place on the podium next year!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭jank

We need to have the PD's back!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Ruudi_Mentari

I'm going to be under the influence of a James Whelan hamburger very soon :D will report any cycotropic fx...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

ok.so he told us he sttarted drinkin at the age of 12,first black out at 13.fair play to this man.oh wait he is from the us so is he blamein it
    onjeans.and he was sent over here
    to sort him self out(his words.look it up)yes it has got worse over time.
    cos tv has snown us that drinkin is great.ffs its all sky tv fault.
    but he is an arse hole!

why,well.did you see that show?!

ask an i will point it out.

(but if you have to ask,your a ****in muppet)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭pabloh999

deco nate wrote: »
    ok.so he told us he sttarted drinkin at the age of 12,first black out at 13.fair play to this man.oh wait he is from the us so is he blamein it
    onjeans.and he was sent over here
    to sort him self out(his words.look it up)yes it has got worse over time.
    cos tv has snown us that drinkin is great.ffs its all sky tv fault.
    but he is an arse hole!

why,well.did you see that show?!

ask an i will point it out.

(but if you have to ask,your a ****in muppet)

I have to ask, are you under the influence?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭12gauge dave

i dont think drinking is as big a problem as it was even 5/6 years ago?
    im 24 and alot of my friends have favoured sport/gym/fitness over drink last few years and everyone seems to have got out of the habit of every saturday night without fail and go out once a month, if even!
    all the pubs here in my town are on the brink of closing down??
    maybe it hasnt calmed in cities but i know towns here in mayo are fairly quiet on saturdays

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

pabloh999 wrote: »

I have to ask, are you under the influence?
    ha.not yet.
    but for someone that says the irish have a problem an tells us he was drinkin from the age of 12.blackout
    at the age of 13,
    some neck on him.
    plus for a teen alco to be sent to
    ireland to sort himself out...
    and then,ah fook it i cant be arsed
    anymore.
    you numpty!
    use your brain..

that is if,your not too drunk...

(see what i did,no?didnt fookin think
    so!!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭gilmour

Seen it, agreed with most of it though it would have been nice to have left out the onstage "joke" parts. Listen i'm not a fan of him at all but when it comes to a subject like this its impossible to get it right. The use of health professionals, psychologists and doctors in programmes like this and people wont tune in because "sure its them quacks quacking again goin on about their bloody 14 units a week and all that pish lads", but use somebody who has a great understanding and experience of the drug itself and he gets slated for "being that yank bull****ting on promoting his act, f*ck off back to america ya dumb yank".

I go out sober every single weekend, love it up until 12am or so, then it becomes jackos thriller video. And thats before the back patting and encouragement on Facebook that you can clearly see having an effect on peoples view towards drink "never again/i'm so sick/feel like death status posts are greeted by a chorus of HAHA U LUV IT/same again 2nite?/ah sure it was worth it". Its quite amazing to see really, and dont get me wrong i'm not one of these anti-drink types, 10 years ago i would have been exactly like any of the people i'm talking about right now, if not even more hardcore in my attitude, but challenging the identity of the country regarding its attitude towards drink is some task. Just look at the defensive posts on this thread already and in most threads on boards regarding the countries drinking "problem".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭RayCon

Czarcasm wrote: »
    Is there no money in the Irish comedy circuit any more that we have comedians doing documentaries now?

We've had Hector on travellers,

wwooooaahhhhh hang on there .... Hector a comedian ? :eek: GTFO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭Retrovertigo

deco nate wrote: »
    ha.not yet.
    but for someone that says the irish have a problem an tells us he was drinkin from the age of 12.blackout
    at the age of 13,
    some neck on him.
    plus for a teen alco to be sent to
    ireland to sort himself out...
    and then,ah fook it i cant be arsed
    anymore.
    you numpty!
    use your brain..

that is if,your not too drunk...

(see what i did,no?didnt fookin think
    so!!)

Leave off the return key.

It
    takes
    longer
    to
    read
    and
    is
    very
    annoying.

(See what I did, no?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,979 ✭✭✭Diarmuid

I watched the show last night. Thought it was pretty decent. Not too familiar with Des Bishop having been returned to Ireland recently but I thought he hit the nail on the head with quite a few observations. We may not top the league of alcohol consumed but we are up there on binge drinking

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

I'd rather drink a gallon of turpentine a day than listen to Des Bishop for more than a minute.

There's a lot of shooting the messenger on this thread.

I don't need to see the documentary to tell me binging is a huge problem. I drink very infrequently so my vision is 20/20 at 1am on Saturday nights, and its not a pretty sight in Dublin (or any other Irish city). I don't know how anyone can deny that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

I didn't watch, and won't be watching.
    That condescending gowl is the last person in the world I'll be taking lectures from.

in fairness, he was'nt lecturing in it.......just showing it "as it is" .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭Piriz

gilmour wrote: »
    Seen it, agreed with most of it though it would have been nice to have left out the onstage "joke" parts. Listen i'm not a fan of him at all but when it comes to a subject like this its impossible to get it right. The use of health professionals, psychologists and doctors in programmes like this and people wont tune in because "sure its them quacks quacking again goin on about their bloody 14 units a week and all that pish lads", but use somebody who has a great understanding and experience of the drug itself and he gets slated for "being that yank bull****ting on promoting his act, f*ck off back to america ya dumb yank".

I go out sober every single weekend, love it up until 12am or so, then it becomes jackos thriller video. And thats before the back patting and encouragement on Facebook that you can clearly see having an effect on peoples view towards drink "never again/i'm so sick/feel like death status posts are greeted by a chorus of HAHA U LUV IT/same again 2nite?/ah sure it was worth it". Its quite amazing to see really, and dont get me wrong i'm not one of these anti-drink types, 10 years ago i would have been exactly like any of the people i'm talking about right now, if not even more hardcore in my attitude, but challenging the identity of the country regarding its attitude towards drink is some task. Just look at the defensive posts on this thread already and in most threads on boards regarding the countries drinking "problem".

well said, absolutely bang on!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,298 ✭✭✭Duggys Housemate

Strange thread.

1) Des Bishop can talk about Ireland all he wants. He has been here since he was 14, if he lived here until he were 80 would he seem like a blow in? Get over that.
    2) He's not a bad comedian.
    3) If this was not a comedian presented show it would have no viewing figures at all - not amongst the kind of people who they want to watch anyway. I am sure that prime time has done this.

Lastly, he's right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,981 ✭✭✭Caliden

Very hypocritical show coming from a lad who uses other 'substances'...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 Master_Bateson

Once no-one is getting hurt its all good IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭JohnnyChimpo

Caliden wrote: »
    Very hypocritical show coming from a lad who uses other 'substances'...

But he often talks about his time in AA and NA, and surely someone with first-hand experience is ideal as a commentator on a particular social issue?

Also "tu quoque" is probably the weakest argument imaginable. Post better.

But he often talks about his time in AA and NA, and surely someone with first-hand experience is ideal as a commentator on a particular social issue?

Also "tu quoque" is probably the weakest argument imaginable. Post better.

na

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭Fozzie Bear

rmchmufc wrote: »
    I watched the show tonight and I can't say i disagree with a lot of things he said in the show. He was spot on about Arthur's day

Same as that. If ever proof were needed that we are piss heads then Arthur's day is it. A marketing invented special day where vast numbers of us go out and get rat arsed because Diago told us to so we can line their pockets with even more money.

A big drunken flock of obedient sheep led by the nose, wading through the puddles of piss and vomit on our streets. And for what?

Drink.

And people on here would still prefer to attack Des Bishop rather then face the issue he is trying to highlight (No matter how badly).

This is why Arthur's day is such a success. Heads in the sand....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 862 ✭✭✭Grand Moff Tarkin

Young Des is on the ball. We are a country full of pi**heads. Even when that oaf Brian Cowen was drunk as a skunk on Morning Ireland it was made out to be one big joke when by rights the nation should have hung its head in shame.

So what though?

It's a coping mechanism for a break from the mundane, the **** weather, the recession...the list goes on.

We don't exactly have a climate that's hospitable for outdoor activities to pass the time so we have to stay indoors, which normally means a pub.

If you could only roof the country you'd be well on your way towards curbing the drinking culture by offering an alternative to spending the majority of the time indoors drinking

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭hoodwinked

And people on here would still prefer to attack Des Bishop rather then face the issue he is trying to highlight (No matter how badly).

You hit the nail on the head with this,

Des has always had his critics but the fact is if anyone else tried this maybe people would listen, i look to other countries and see the amazing lives they have because they can have social lives not including alcohol,

being a home bird i'd love that lifestyle here but the only way to see some friends of mine is Saturday night in the pub, My brother is heading to Australia in 2 weeks tonight is his 'going away party' aka piss up! Yet when my cousin was going to America a meal was had and it was brilliant, but she would be more like me where my brother is all about the drink...

its an issue that needs highlighting because the facts are we are a nation with alcohol issues we hide behind excuses when the truth is some people don't want it to change because their problems will be highlighted more then....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I have no problem with people drinking or taking drugs once they cause no problems to anyone else around them . i started drinking in my early teens but it would only consist of a few cans or a 2 litre of cider,nowadays the teens seem to be drinking a lot of spirits which is not good at that age

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭LETS BE AVN IT

Great show, its very clear Ireland has a drinking problem don't knw why so many people in denial on here over it

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 862 ✭✭✭Grand Moff Tarkin

Great show, its very clear Ireland has a drinking problem don't knw why so many people in denial on here over it
    By keeping their heads in the sand they hope the problem will go away.