Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Under the Influence : Des Bishop

• 07-02-2013 11:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭

Anybody just watch this?

What did you think?

Everyone loves a drink and a great night out!
    But from what I have seen myself, I find it scary. I'm in college, and yada yada, it's normal to party - of course!!
    But, alot of people I have been friends or acquaintances with over the last few years most definitely had drinking problems and would look at me cross eyed if I wasn't planning to vomit my guts out...

I think it's a major problem, giving rise to a generation of alcoholics.

But that's my humble opinion.. What's everyone else's? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

the work experience was great telly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,693 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

I tuned in near the end when he was on work experience with paramedics. What I basically gathered from it was a Yank giving out about Irish emergency services being over-stretched by Ireland's drinking culture. Yeah, because America's emergency services never have to deal with anything serious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

was nothing we didn't already know..
    ..just some publicity for Des really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,665 ✭✭✭Tin Foil Hat

I didn't watch, and won't be watching.
    That condescending gowl is the last person in the world I'll be taking lectures from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

We need to drive alcohol underground, it is a drug after all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭CatEyed92

wprathead wrote: »
    was nothing we didn't already know..
    ..just some publicity for Des really

Hmm, we know it already but is the drunk culture just one of those things people are gonna just accept as normal?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭Max Power

He should fuck off back to America and do a documentary on gun control. Don't worry about us over here on our little island.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

there is no better way to delve into Irelands love of drink by using one of own 'comedians'. Who needs someone qualified when one of the lads was looking for work. Well played again RTE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

The problem is worse than I expected if it takes Des Bishop to make people aware of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 483 ✭✭emer_b

I tuned in tonight as there were a lot of ads for it during the past week, also heard him promoting it on Ray Darcy.

Although I agree with the point he's making, the show was pretty poor. Lots of blurry footage of p!ssed people staggering around, snippets from mostly unknown comedians and promotion of his own comedy show.

Pretty boring.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭mark renton

Good man Des, dead right. Abnormality has become the norm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

I've no idea. I'm too drunk to follow complex shyte like that.

The problem is worse than I expected if it takes Des Bishop to make people aware of it.

I think he's the only person to make a documentary *on it though? Could be wrong!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Made me want to drink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

Jaysus he looks terrible, looks like he's been hitting the oul crystal meth himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

Could have been interesting but RTE's obligatory addition of celebrity talking heads put me off. I don't want to know what fúcking John Waters or Glenda Gilson think about these things. It's pure laziness to keep sticking that in everywhere.

Seemingly he is off to China, maybe they will keep him?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

Doc Ruby wrote: »
    Jaysus he looks terrible, looks like he's been hitting the oul crystal meth himself.

he does/did have cancer i think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

We need to drive alcohol underground, it is a drug after all.

Driving it underground won't curtail it's usage, it will just put people out of business and deny the State a tax revenue. For example it didn't stop anyone from drinking during the prohibition era in the States.

The problem is the wide spread abuse of alcohol in this country and it's a problem that I can't see a realistic solution for but I do know banning it outright is not feasible or equitable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

Didn't see it, haven't a clue who he is, but I think he's dead right, whatever it was he said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,696 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

What did he suggest as an alternative?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

Sniffing glue. Might give it a go this weekend.

The problem is the wide spread abuse of alcohol in this country and it's a problem that I can't see a realistic solution for but I do know banning it outright is not feasible or equitable.

Banning it ? But it could be the motivation people need! It might actually trigger a revolt against the government FINALLY! :D
    Take everything... BUT NOT THE DRINK!!!! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

he does/did have cancer i think
    ...aaand that's me feeling like a bastard. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

If people want to get really drunk and fall about the place then it's no one elses business. f*ck off Des.

Where To wrote: »
    Didn't see it, haven't a clue who he is, but I think he's dead right, whatever it was he said.

Doc Ruby wrote: »
    ...aaand that's me feeling like a bastard. :(
    It's ok, it's Des we're talking about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭Max Power

Could have been interesting but RTE's obligatory addition of celebrity talking heads put me off. I don't want to know what fúcking John Waters or Glenda Gilson think about these things. It's pure laziness to keep sticking that in everywhere.
    Didn't watch the show but Glenda Gilson? What would she know, she's famous for getting her clothes off and riding BOD.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

With a surname like Bishop what else would he be but a pontificating prick.

Is there no money in the Irish comedy circuit any more that we have comedians doing documentaries now?

We've had Hector on travellers, Des on drink, what next- Tommy Tiernan on the property boom?

CatEyed92 wrote: »
    Banning it ? But it could be the motivation people need! It might actually trigger a revolt against the government FINALLY! :D
    Take everything... BUT NOT THE DRINK!!!! :rolleyes:

True it probably would spark a revolt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,612 ✭✭✭Lelantos

If people want to get really drunk and fall about the place then it's no one elses business. f*ck off Des.
    As someone who had the bad luck to hit a drunken youth who was thrown in front of my car, I can't agree with that, he broke my headlight & cost me €250 to repair.....at least I broke both his legs, fair swap ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

Czarcasm wrote: »

Is there no money in the Irish comedy circuit any more that we have comedians doing documentaries now?

We've had Hector on travellers, Des on drink, what next- Tommy Tiernan on the property boom?

Hector was never a comedian. He might like to think he's a funny man but that doesn't make it true.

Lelantos wrote: »
    As someone who had the bad luck to hit a drunken youth who was thrown in front of my car, I can't agree with that, he broke my headlight & cost me €250 to repair.....at least I broke both his legs, fair swap ;)

Car jacks are fierce handy yokes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 734 ✭✭✭Tom_Cruise

Des Bishop and Hector are in competition it seems.

His next show should be,Des Bishop: How i infiltrated the IRA.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

The hospitals, the courts and the taxpayer might disagree.

Lelantos wrote: »

I think your issue should be with the guy who threw him tbf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭crybaby

Probably that people go home when their drunk and a good time instead of lashing another 5 shots down their neck, falling down in the street and then wasting the time and expense of paramedics, nurses and doctors.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

Parching after that, put an almighty gu on me :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

woodoo wrote: »
    The hospitals, the courts and the taxpayer might disagree.

If everyone behaved themselves the hospitals and courts would see job cuts.
    We the tax payer make a lot off money of the oul booze too.

I'm not really up on it but I imagine the comedy circuit isn't as lucrative as it once was for guys like Bishop. If you get yourself on tv it's a double victory, good pay and free exposure that might lead to more people wanting to see a show.

I imagine it pisses off young people wanting to get into Tv greatly when these jobs get doled out to the same names constantly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Ah but you've got to admit when said people are falling over and cracking open their heads and have to be taken to A&E and be looked at by a doctor who could spend his time looking at someone more deserving.... It gets worse when said patient kicks off in the hospital and attacks the doctor... Or the drunkards who go out looking for a fight or just the general chaos masses of drunk people cause.

I'm not a teetotaller btw, I drink lots :P But I've always been able to behave myself and it's a simple fact that the Irish and British are generally bloody simple when it comes to drink. No point getting your back up because someone points something that should be obvious.

Ah but you've got to admit when said people are falling over and cracking open their heads and have to be taken to A&E and be looked at by a doctor who could spend his time looking at someone more deserving.... It gets worse when said patient kicks off in the hospital and attacks the doctor... Or the drunkards who go out looking for a fight or just the general chaos masses of drunk people cause.

I'm not a teetotaller btw, I drink lots :P But I've always been able to behave myself and it's a simple fact that the Irish and British are generally bloody simple when it comes to drink. No point getting your back up because someone points something that should be obvious.

I don't really care if someone points it out to be honest. It's never going to change anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭Solair

Max Power wrote: »
    He should fuck off back to America and do a documentary on gun control. Don't worry about us over here on our little island.

He's Irish-American, and has lived here for 22 years (since he was 16). So, if anything (other than the accent) he's more Irish than he is American at this stage.

I'm just amazed he's still able to do the 'outsider perspective' for these shows after so many years here.

To be fair, he has a point. Ourselves and the British have a tiny bit of a drinking problem.
    I've lived in a good few European countries, and to be honest Irish and English cities / towns on a Friday/Saturday night are actually scary looking. Only other continental place I've seen that comes close is Brussels, similar issues.

Maybe he should do a documentary about gun control in America, they have a tiny bit of a shooting problem.... One doesn't cancel out the other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

We've had Hector on travellers, Des on drink, what next- Tommy Tiernan on the property boom

Catholic church, now that would be one worth watching.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

I don't really care if someone points it out to be honest. It's never going to change anyway.

Of course it can change. Why are other countries more sensible when it comes to alcohol? What are they doing that we could emulate?

I don't think they're doing anything special. Although, I do think that if we kept the clubs open much longer there'd be way less accidents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Have 24 hour pubs,teach kids from an early age that there's positives and negatives to the gargle,maybe stop some supermarkets etc selling drink at below cost price would help I'd say.Not hearing vacuous opinions from some stupid Irish celebrities.

He's not telling us anything that we didn't already know,it's just another vanity project for another shíte comedian that RTE seems to love.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭h2005

Did he supply figures to illustrate that our alcohol consumption is above that of other countries? I read recently that our alcohol consumption had fallen by 17% in the past decade.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,612 ✭✭✭Lelantos

h2005 wrote: »
    Did he supply figures to illustrate that our alcohol consumption is above that of other countries? I read recently that our alcohol consumption had fallen by 17% in the past decade.
    We are 2nd or 3rd in the world per capita beer consumers. In fairness, no figures actually needed, just keep your eyes open on a Saturday night for the mayhem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

With no sense of irony at all I sat down to it with a pint... was good at the start but got less funny as it went on.