Under the Influence : Des Bishop

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,612 ✭✭✭Lelantos

If people want to get really drunk and fall about the place then it's no one elses business. f*ck off Des.
    As someone who had the bad luck to hit a drunken youth who was thrown in front of my car, I can't agree with that, he broke my headlight & cost me €250 to repair.....at least I broke both his legs, fair swap ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

Czarcasm wrote: »
    With a surname like Bishop what else would he be but a pontificating prick.

Is there no money in the Irish comedy circuit any more that we have comedians doing documentaries now?

We've had Hector on travellers, Des on drink, what next- Tommy Tiernan on the property boom?

Hector was never a comedian. He might like to think he's a funny man but that doesn't make it true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Lelantos wrote: »
    As someone who had the bad luck to hit a drunken youth who was thrown in front of my car, I can't agree with that, he broke my headlight & cost me €250 to repair.....at least I broke both his legs, fair swap ;)

Car jacks are fierce handy yokes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 734 ✭✭✭Tom_Cruise

Des Bishop and Hector are in competition it seems.

His next show should be,Des Bishop: How i infiltrated the IRA.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

If people want to get really drunk and fall about the place then it's no one elses business. f*ck off Des.

The hospitals, the courts and the taxpayer might disagree.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

I think your issue should be with the guy who threw him tbf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭crybaby

What did he suggest as an alternative?

Probably that people go home when their drunk and a good time instead of lashing another 5 shots down their neck, falling down in the street and then wasting the time and expense of paramedics, nurses and doctors.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

Parching after that, put an almighty gu on me :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

woodoo wrote: »
    The hospitals, the courts and the taxpayer might disagree.

If everyone behaved themselves the hospitals and courts would see job cuts.
    We the tax payer make a lot off money of the oul booze too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Is there no money in the Irish comedy circuit any more that we have comedians doing documentaries now?

We've had Hector on travellers, Des on drink, what next- Tommy Tiernan on the property boom?

I'm not really up on it but I imagine the comedy circuit isn't as lucrative as it once was for guys like Bishop. If you get yourself on tv it's a double victory, good pay and free exposure that might lead to more people wanting to see a show.

I imagine it pisses off young people wanting to get into Tv greatly when these jobs get doled out to the same names constantly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Ah but you've got to admit when said people are falling over and cracking open their heads and have to be taken to A&E and be looked at by a doctor who could spend his time looking at someone more deserving.... It gets worse when said patient kicks off in the hospital and attacks the doctor... Or the drunkards who go out looking for a fight or just the general chaos masses of drunk people cause.

I'm not a teetotaller btw, I drink lots :P But I've always been able to behave myself and it's a simple fact that the Irish and British are generally bloody simple when it comes to drink. No point getting your back up because someone points something that should be obvious.

Ah but you've got to admit when said people are falling over and cracking open their heads and have to be taken to A&E and be looked at by a doctor who could spend his time looking at someone more deserving.... It gets worse when said patient kicks off in the hospital and attacks the doctor... Or the drunkards who go out looking for a fight or just the general chaos masses of drunk people cause.

I'm not a teetotaller btw, I drink lots :P But I've always been able to behave myself and it's a simple fact that the Irish and British are generally bloody simple when it comes to drink. No point getting your back up because someone points something that should be obvious.

I don't really care if someone points it out to be honest. It's never going to change anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,226 ✭✭✭Solair

Max Power wrote: »
    He should fuck off back to America and do a documentary on gun control. Don't worry about us over here on our little island.

He's Irish-American, and has lived here for 22 years (since he was 16). So, if anything (other than the accent) he's more Irish than he is American at this stage.

I'm just amazed he's still able to do the 'outsider perspective' for these shows after so many years here.

To be fair, he has a point. Ourselves and the British have a tiny bit of a drinking problem.
    I've lived in a good few European countries, and to be honest Irish and English cities / towns on a Friday/Saturday night are actually scary looking. Only other continental place I've seen that comes close is Brussels, similar issues.

Maybe he should do a documentary about gun control in America, they have a tiny bit of a shooting problem.... One doesn't cancel out the other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

We've had Hector on travellers, Des on drink, what next- Tommy Tiernan on the property boom

Catholic church, now that would be one worth watching.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

I don't really care if someone points it out to be honest. It's never going to change anyway.

Of course it can change. Why are other countries more sensible when it comes to alcohol? What are they doing that we could emulate?

I don't think they're doing anything special. Although, I do think that if we kept the clubs open much longer there'd be way less accidents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Have 24 hour pubs,teach kids from an early age that there's positives and negatives to the gargle,maybe stop some supermarkets etc selling drink at below cost price would help I'd say.Not hearing vacuous opinions from some stupid Irish celebrities.

He's not telling us anything that we didn't already know,it's just another vanity project for another shíte comedian that RTE seems to love.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭h2005

Did he supply figures to illustrate that our alcohol consumption is above that of other countries? I read recently that our alcohol consumption had fallen by 17% in the past decade.

h2005 wrote: »
    Did he supply figures to illustrate that our alcohol consumption is above that of other countries? I read recently that our alcohol consumption had fallen by 17% in the past decade.
    We are 2nd or 3rd in the world per capita beer consumers. In fairness, no figures actually needed, just keep your eyes open on a Saturday night for the mayhem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

With no sense of irony at all I sat down to it with a pint... was good at the start but got less funny as it went on.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

Ah he's right though, things have gotten waaaaayyy out of hand. In 20 years time, it wont be heart disease or cancer that 50-year-olds will be dying of. It will be liver failure.

We are 2nd or 3rd in the world per capita beer consumers. In fairness, no figures actually needed, just keep your eyes open on a Saturday night for the mayhem.
    Just checked it on wiki ,so may not be true, according to it we are 15th in alcohol consumption in between Portugal and France.

Having had more of a look at it they are WHO numbers from 2003-5 so if consumption has dropped I`d imagine we are even further down that list.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 381 ✭✭Bad Santa

I can't stand the guy or his style of "humour".

His whole schtick is just to show us how enlightened he is and how we need to follow his lead.

He shows us how racist we are, how we don't speak our mother tongue enough, how we're all idiots when abroad and now apparently how we have earned the 'drunken Irish' stereotype.

Has this clown nothing better to do than highlight our faults as he sees them and make money off the back of it.

I wouldn't mind if he was genuine and this was actually something he cared about but Des Bishop is about as arrogant and self absorbed a guy as you could meet.

Not one fcuk could he give if the whole country drank it's self into oblivion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

Just checked it on wiki ,so may not be true, according to it we are 15th in alcohol consumption in between Portugal and France.

We're 4th on beer consumption: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_countries_by_beer_consumption_per_capita

What's shocking is that beer is much dearer in Ireland than the other top table countries.

A wonder do we spend the most per capita on beer... I'd imagine so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,575 ✭✭✭NTMK

Having had more of a look at it they are WHO numbers from 2003-5 so if consumption has dropped I`d imagine we are even further down that list.

even with a 20% drop it would only drop us below france and that doesnt adjust for drops in other countries

and its not exactly good reading when you look at who is above us on that list

Having had more of a look at it they are WHO numbers from 2003-5 so if consumption has dropped I`d imagine we are even further down that list.[/Quote http://www.nationmaster.com/graph/foo_bee_con-food-beer-consumption
    Beer, not alcoholic beverages

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭rmchmufc

I watched the show tonight and I can't say i disagree with a lot of things he said in the show. He was spot on about Arthur's day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

We're 4th on beer consumption: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_countries_by_beer_consumption_per_capita

What's shocking is that beer is much dearer in Ireland than the other top table countries.

A wonder do we spend the most per capita on beer... I'd imagine so.

Does this mean we are 4th "good" as something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

I tuned in near the end when he was on work experience with paramedics. What I basically gathered from it was a Yank giving out about Irish emergency services being over-stretched by Ireland's drinking culture. Yeah, because America's emergency services never have to deal with anything serious.
    Max Power wrote: »
    He should fuck off back to America and do a documentary on gun control. Don't worry about us over here on our little island.

Touched a nerve eh?

22 years in Ireland and still a blow-in. How feckin dare he have an opinion on the Irish.

Up next Brendan O'Carroll documentary "Feckin Septics" on why the Irish hate the Yanks, criticise 'Merica constantly, yet get massively defensive when a Irish 'Yank' points out the fact that the streets are full of pissed arseholes.