Black ice everywhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

Looks to be snow/sleet on top off the cars in Dublin 7

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 78,500 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Couple of inches in Skerries, but by the time I got to Blakes Cross it was clear - was in the car anyway today;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,897 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

G rock wrote: »
    Nobody else get snow?

Couple of inches here in cavan

yep couple of inches driveable but not cyclable

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭Hmmzis

Should have taken the MTB. South from Ballyboden roundy it's all ice. Ticknock would have been so much better than an aborted interval session.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Hmmzis wrote: »
    Should have taken the MTB. South from Ballyboden roundy it's all ice. Ticknock would have been so much better than an aborted interval session.
    Yeah, it looks like snow but it actually turned solid overnight. Not completely ice, still a little crunchy, but definitely not snow either.

My new commuting tyres work in the ice. That made me happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭ullu

Made the journey from D8 to Sandymount along the canal without incident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,830 ✭✭✭doozerie

There was about one inch of snow at my house this morning (Dublin 16). It was snowing and sticking by midnight and some more must have fallen during the night. It was very crystalline this morning though, the kind of stuff that forms ice rocks rather than snowballs - if this snow were to appear in a music video it would have to be more of a death metal "I'll feckin' BUST YA!" type of snowball fight rather than the playful japes and frolics and "Here, let me dust you with some soft fluffy snowflakes" type of thing as memorably represented by Wham's "Last Christmas".

Even with spiked tyres I let some air out of my tyres coming down the hill in my estate as the entire road was white and very icy in particular where cars had driven on it. Once I got to the roads which had been gritted it was fine but there were still icy patches at the edges of some stretches of road, the stretch past Rathfarnham Village being one obvious place. Any vague notions I'd had of removing my spiked tyres before the end of February are now well and truly on hold.

I saw several cars being driven with a thick layer of snow completely covering the rear windscreen - what is it with that? I wouldn't consider it safe to drive my car if I could see absolutely nothing through my rear windscreen. I can only assume the drivers were too delicate and/or traumatised to clear their windows: "'Twas shocking stuff Joe, 'twas cold and wet. Did I what Joe? Did I remove it from the windscreens? Jaysus Joe, no, sure I wouldn't touch it, sure it could have been anything Joe and I've seen enough horror films to know you don't just casually handle stuff you don't recognize, I coulda been kilt Joe, KILT! Do I have a what Joe? An ice scraper? Feck it Joe I'm not living in Scandinavia, I'm living in Ireland. IRELAND Joe, sure what would I be doing with an ice scraper? Jaysus Joe you've fallen a long way, I never thought I'd here you embrace strange foreign practices. I don't know Joe, I don't know, I'd drive over to shake some sense into you Joe but sure I can't see a thing through the windscreen so I don't know where I'm going and I'd probably never find you".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,212 ✭✭✭buffalo

doozerie wrote: »
    I saw several cars being driven with a thick layer of snow completely covering the rear windscreen - what is it with that? I wouldn't consider it safe to drive my car if I could see absolutely nothing through my rear windscreen.

Cycling in Milltown last night, line of slow moving car traffic (here http://goo.gl/maps/J2oMi). I'm gradually undertaking when safe, my front light acting as my protective charm. Until I get to the 4x4* who has their passenger side mirror safely tucked in. *sigh*

*And why is it nearly always a 4x4, a taxi, or a white van? Do they actively seek to fulfil the stereotypes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,515 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

doozerie wrote: »
    I saw several cars being driven with a thick layer of snow completely covering the rear windscreen - what is it with that? I wouldn't consider it safe to drive my car if I could see absolutely nothing through my rear windscreen

It's perfectly safe to drive with no rear screen visibility, you just use the wing mirrors.

I offer as evidence the exemplary and highly predictable behaviour of white vans.

Lumen wrote:
    It's perfectly safe to drive with no rear screen visibility, you just use the wing mirrors.

No no no, wing mirrors are to be folded in towards the car at all times. It's the only way to avoid the image of a looming cyclist distracting you from completing that text that so urgently needs to be sent (usually to Joe Duffy to complain about the dangerous antics of cyclists - "the filthy hippies, Joe!") while driving. And what with the mug of hot cappuccino in the other hand ("it's to take the edge of my hangover Joe, sure without it I'd still be skunk as a drunk") it's quite tricky to lower the window and pull in the wing mirror on the move, far safer to do that before beginning the journey. Out of sight, out of mind - driving is so much safer when you're not having to expend valuable energy worrying about other road users.

…this post has been sponsored by the AA, fighting to keep the roads from the pesky hippies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭colm_gti

It actually turned out to be a very pleasant morning to do a very unpleasant interval session...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭irishmotorist

A lot of ice on both ends of my commute, particularly the start. My studded tyres have nearly paid for themselves now :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,053 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

buffalo wrote: »
    ...*And why is it nearly always a 4x4, a taxi, or a white van? Do they actively seek to fulfil the stereotypes?

I assume because they are wider they need to fold their mirrors when parking, more often than a normal sized vehicle. Also it wouldn't be that usual with a big load in a van to have no rear mirror visibility. But usually you find drivers who do a lot of reversing would be more aware of their side mirror position than those that don't. Still the rule is assume they don't see you.

Incidentally I saw a van this morning with the side windows blacked out. Thought it was odd, but only afterwards the thought occurred that it was illegal and I probably should have reported the number.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭Zorba

seamus wrote: »

My new commuting tyres work in the ice. That made me happy.

Any slips at all in the ice ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

There's a 200m section of downhill just outside my house which was basically sheet ice from all the cars driving over it. Though the bike wasn't slipping, I just wasn't happy at all and so gingerly stopped and walked down that section. If it wasn't downhill I would have ridden on it.

No slips at all the rest of the way though, even when braking. Even had the tyres at 80psi, so I could have dropped them to 60psi and I reckon I would have been fine on the really icy section.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭Zorba

seamus wrote: »
    There's a 200m section of downhill just outside my house which was basically sheet ice from all the cars driving over it. Though the bike wasn't slipping, I just wasn't happy at all and so gingerly stopped and walked down that section. If it wasn't downhill I would have ridden on it.

No slips at all the rest of the way though, even when braking. Even had the tyres at 80psi, so I could have dropped them to 60psi and I reckon I would have been fine on the really icy section.

Nice one, never going back to contis schwalbe all the way ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭chakattack

What's the southside like this evening? Pretty mild here on the Northside.

Cruagh/Stocking Lane ok?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 806 ✭✭✭AssaultedPeanut

Anyone been out yet this morning?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 16,151 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

Cycled UCD to Ballyboden last night 11ish, cold but the roads were grand. Ballyboden seems ok this morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,467 ✭✭✭fletch

D15 to Eastpoint no issues/ice

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,271 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

cycled n11 both directions from Donnybrook to Dun Laoghaire and no ice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,493 ✭✭✭Seweryn

Anyone been out yet this morning?
    Yeah, I am on my commute as usual. There may be some ice in places, so be carefull. I had my first bad fall of the bike yesterday (except the collision with a car last year). It was at a straight section of the road at speed and I lost some skin as of effect. Not pleasant, but could be a lot worse. All bones in tact, as I feel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,212 ✭✭✭buffalo

Mild enough northside. I have a bucket of water outside the back door, so a quick glance at that in the morning tells me whether I'm likely to encounter ice in the vicinity. It was all clear today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

D15 - city centre.
    Beautiful windless morning.
    Roads completely dry.

No ice or frost of any description at 8am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 492 ✭✭seven stars

N4 was grand. Some frost on the cars, but the commute in was fine.

No signs of ice this morning from Marley Park as far as the city centre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 806 ✭✭✭AssaultedPeanut

Seweryn wrote: »
    Yeah, I am on my commute as usual. There may be some ice in places, so be carefull. I had my first bad fall of the bike yesterday (except the collision with a car last year). It was at a straight section of the road at speed and I lost some skin as of effect. Not pleasant, but could be a lot worse. All bones in tact, as I feel.

Ouch, that sounds painful. I hope you heal up quickly.
    I made it in this morning without incident. Terrified of coming off the bike on ice, but it seemed fine today. Phew

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭colm_gti

No ice, but jaysus that rain was cold!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,493 ✭✭✭Seweryn

Ouch, that sounds painful. I hope you heal up quickly.
    Thanks, it was very unexpected, so I would say "expect the unexpected" on the road, seriously. It looks a lot worse that it feels though (I am not going to put up any photos for that reason :o).

No sign of any ice on my commute route this morning, not so fortunate with my head though. My beanie had been hanging up to dry overnight but when I grabbed it this morning it was still a little damp. "It'll be fine", I thought, lying casually to myself. The cold wind felt like it froze the beanie to my head, it was the same brain-freeze effect you get if you stuff an entire bowl full of ice-cream into your mouth in one go. I screamed internally for the first half of my commute.