Tea making

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Where To wrote: »
    Tea is horrible.

I wouldn't say horrible but about one cup a week does for me, it only makes me thirsty......which is why I usually have it around 11am on Saturday morn before I head off to the boozer ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

Boil kettle put a lemon and ginger teabag in cup and stop kettle just before it boils and add to cup. Leave teabag in cup for a while and drink.

If am having regular tea its done the same. Don't like to squeeze or bash the bag coz it makes it too bitter. I drink without milk or sugar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Lucena

Roll into Workers Shanty Town at 3am

Rouse all able bodied workers out into the fields to clip tea leaves.

Crack whip a few times to keep motivation up

Mush them into processing plant by midday

Box up the days harvest for shipment to Barry's Tea Ltd, Rep. of Ireland.

Whip workers for a bit.

Get blind drunk on Rum & browse internet til I pass out.

Repeat.

???

Profit

I enjoyed Django Unchained as well.

Teabag, water, bag out, honey

judgefudge wrote: »
    Some people are awfully fancy with their pre heated cups. And soy milk tastes the exact same as that low fat milk stuff

No it doesn't. It's absolutely fcuking disgusting, soy milk :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

milk in cup
    microwave cup for 30 seconds
    put teabag in while kettle boils
    stir like a mother****er
    pour in hot water

leave for however long it takes me to want a drink
    take teabag out, drink tea
    Microwave:confused:
    milk in cup
    teabag in milk
    half spoon of sugar
    top up with cold water
    microwave 2 mins

not really, but i must try sometime

Teabag in milk:mad:
    Pot, that is all.

But how do you make the tea to go with it?:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Lucena

What's all this tea-bag in a cup sh1te? You need to use a pot. Heat the pot, heat the cup(s). Tea leaves ideally.

No respect for tradition.

* shakes walking-stick in the air *

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

Boombastic wrote: »
    Microwave:confused:

Teabag in milk:mad:

But how do you make the tea to go with it?:pac:

While levitating, that is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭PhysiologyRocks

I LOVE the whole tea-making thing! You know, the playful 'splash' of the tea as it hits the bottom of the cup; the thrill of adding the milk, and watching it settle for a moment, before it filters slowly down through the cup, changing the colour from dark brown to...a lighter brown. Perching an optional Jaffa cake on the saucer, like a proud soldier standing to attention beside a giant...cup of tea.

Sure, didn't the Lord himself pause for a nice cup of tea

bluewolf wrote: »
    Sure, didn't the Lord himself pause for a nice cup of tea

Where was he going, that is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭maxfresh

Lucena wrote: »
    What's all this tea-bag in a cup sh1te? You need to use a pot. Heat the pot, heat the cup(s). Tea leaves ideally.

No respect for tradition.

* shakes walking-stick in the air *

tea leafs are nice alright much stronger than bags

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭Ruski

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

I hate tea and never drink it. My husband takes tea very seriously though, the amount of expensive teas he's tried that he's bought from Japan is mad and tastes bloody vile. Could be worse though at least its tea not crack or heroin:D

When I make tea for anyone its as follows:
    Pour hot water in cup to heat
    Throw away hot water
    Put teabag in cup
    Pour boiling water over teabag
    Swish teabag 6 times
    Squeeze teabag for added strength
    Dispose of teabag in bin
    Add sugar/honey dependant on preference
    Add milk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,038 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

IT'S FECKING TEA

Giblet wrote: »
    IT'S FECKING TEA

Statement or advertisement? goooo onnnnn goooo onnnnnn gooooooooooo onnnnnnn, that is all.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,584 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Weigh, to an accuracy of ±2 %, a mass of tea
    corresponding to2 g of tea per 100 ml of liquor
    (i.e. 5,6 ± 0,1 g of tea for the large pot or 2,8 ± 0,05 g
    for the small pot described in the Annex) and
    transfer it to the pot (5.1).

Fill the pot containing the tea with freshly boiling
    water to within 4 to 6 mm of the brim
    (i.e. corresponding approximately to 285 ml in the
    case of the large pot and 140 ml in the case of the
    small pot described in the Annex) and put on the lid.
    Allow the tea to brew for6 min, and then, holding
    the lid in place so that the infused leaf is held back,
    pour the liquid through the serrations into the
    bowl (5.2) corresponding to the pot selected. Remove
    and invert the lid, transfer the infused leaf to it and
    place the inverted lid on the empty pot to allow the
    infused leaf to be inspected. In the case of fine,
    powdery dust grades, special care should be taken
    and a sieve may be required.

Pour milk free from any off-flavour (for example raw
    milk or unboiled pasteurized milk) into the
    bowl (5.2), using approximately5 ml for the large
    bowl and 2,5 ml for the small bowl described in the
    Annex.
    Prepare the liquor as described in 7.2.1but pour it
    into the bowl after the milk, in order to avoid
    scalding the milk, unless this procedure is contrary
    to the normal practice in the organization
    concerned.
    If the milk is added afterwards, experience has
    shown that the best results are obtained when the
    temperature of the liquor is in the range 65 to 80 °C
    when the milk is added.
    While addition of milk is not essential, it sometimes
    helps to accentuate differences in flavour and
    colour.

Never squeeze the teabag

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

wprathead wrote: »
    Boil kettle
    Pour hot water from kettle into empty cup
    Dump water from above mentioned cup
    Re-boil Kettle straight away
    Punjana tea bag in previously heated cup
    Pour water in
    Squeeze teabag with teaspoon to mark it strong
    Add drop of milk
    *orgasm*

You do know that
    1 You don't need to fill a cup to scald it? A little splash, and swirl around will do the job. Saves electricity as well.
    2 Reboiling the kettle actually reduces the amount of oxygen in the water, resulting in a less oxygenated tea. Fresh water each time ensures you get the best out of your tea.

However, it's your tea, drink it how you like.

I don't drink that much tea, but apparently, I make a nice one.

Bag in mug (Whats this cup thing about?)
    Boil kettle
    Look in press for nice things while kettle boils. Decide there isn't any nice things.
    Water into mug.
    Let it sit while I get the milk, and check the press again, just in case something nice has appeared.
    Stir, and squish bag against side of mug. This doesn't help with the tea, just stops drippy tea stains while I move bag from mug to compost bowl.
    2 sugars, and stir.
    Adding milk is an art. For me, enough milk so that the tea can be gulped, for herself well, you know when you pour milk, and give it another splash for good luck? Don't do the good luck splash.
    Again, check for nice things. You never know.

Or alternatively, leave it black, and add a glug of whiskey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,999 ✭✭✭Conall Cernach

How do you make your tea?
    Any special order of putting stuff in, amount of stirs, brand?

I know some people can be very picky, like myself:

Bag in cup
    One sugar on top
    Hot water
    Stir til sugar is melted
    Squeeze bag
    Stir
    Squeeze bag
    Stir
    Take bag out
    Add dash of milk
    Stir

Oh yeah preferable Barry's tea
    Yeah pretty sure you deserve to be stood up against a wall for any number of crimes against tea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

#50 posts and no Mrs Doyle? For shame AH.

Feck off Cup!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,824 ✭✭✭FanadMan

Boil water
    Heat teapot that hasn't been cleaned on the inside of years (improves the taste of the tea)
    Throw in teabags - Lyons green label
    Add boiling water and let it heat a bit more on cooker to strengthen tea
    Pour in cup
    Add a little bit of milk

All the above was done a few minutes ago so enjoying a lovely cuppa :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

Buy expensive caffine free green tea.
    Remove packaging.
    Place all t-bags directly into bin.
    Make a nice cup of coffee for grown-ups.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭wardy2

i love teabagging

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Real Life

milk in cup
    microwave cup for 30 seconds
    put teabag in while kettle boils
    stir like a mother****er
    pour in hot water

leave for however long it takes me to want a drink
    take teabag out, drink tea

What the **** did I just read?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭lazygal

Tealeaves ftw. Try them in a proper teapot, sooooooooooooooo much better than teabags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Don't drink alot of tea. But when i do, leave the bag to sit in boiling water for a minute or two, couple of stirs, couple of dunks, couple of squezes, then a dash of milk and a stir.

If made in the pot, dash of milk in the mug, then tea, no need to stir then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 309 ✭✭DwightSchrute1

Step 1: Get the missus to make it.

Step 2: Ask her for the biscuits.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,584 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

If you look up ‘tea’ in the first cookery book that comes to hand you will probably find that it is unmentioned; or at most you will find a few lines of sketchy instructions which give no ruling on several of the most important points.

This is curious, not only because tea is one of the main stays of civilization in this country, as well as in the UK, Australia and New Zealand, but because the best manner of making it is the subject of violent disputes.

When I look through my own recipe for the perfect cup of tea, I find no fewer than eleven outstanding points. On perhaps two of them there would be pretty general agreement, but at least four others are acutely controversial. Here are my own eleven rules, every one of which I regard as golden:

First of all, one should use Indian or Ceylonese tea. China tea has virtues which are not to be despised nowadays — it is economical, and one can drink it without milk — but there is not much stimulation in it.
    One does not feel wiser, braver or more optimistic after drinking it. Anyone who has used that comforting phrase ‘a nice cup of tea’ invariably means Indian tea.

Secondly, tea should be made in small quantities — that is, in a teapot. Tea out of an urn is always tasteless, while army tea, made in a cauldron, tastes of grease and whitewash. The teapot should be made of china or earthenware. Silver or Britannia ware teapots produce inferior tea and enamel pots are worse; though curiously enough a pewter teapot (a rarity nowadays) is not so bad.

Thirdly, the pot should be warmed beforehand. This is better done by placing it on the hob than by the usual method of swilling it out with hot water.

Fourthly, the tea should be strong. For a pot holding a quart, if you are going to fill it nearly to the brim, six heaped teaspoons would be about right. In a time of rationing, this is not an idea that can be realized on every day of the week, but I maintain that one strong cup of tea is better than twenty weak ones. All true tea lovers not only like their tea strong, but like it a little stronger with each year that passes — a fact which is recognized in the extra ration issued to old-age pensioners.

Fifthly, the tea should be put straight into the pot. No strainers, muslin bags or other devices to imprison the tea. In some countries teapots are fitted with little dangling baskets under the spout to catch the stray leaves, which are supposed to be harmful. Actually one can swallow tea-leaves in considerable quantities without ill effect, and if the tea is not loose in the pot it never infuses properly.

Sixthly, one should take the teapot to the kettle and not the other way about. The water should be actually boiling at the moment of impact, which means that one should keep it on the flame while one pours. Some people add that one should only use water that has been freshly brought to the boil, but I have never noticed that it makes any difference.

Seventhly, after making the tea, one should stir it, or better, give the pot a good shake, afterwards allowing the leaves to settle.

Eighthly, one should drink out of a good breakfast cup — that is,the cylindrical type of cup, not the flat, shallow type. The breakfast cup holds more, and with the other kind one’s tea is always half cold before one has well started on it.

Ninthly, one should pour the cream off the milk before using it for tea. Milk that is too creamy always gives tea a sickly taste.

Tenthly, one should pour tea into the cup first. This is one of the most controversial points of all; indeed in every family there are probably two schools of thought on the subject. The milk-first school can bring forward some fairly strong arguments, but I maintain that my own argument is unanswerable. This is that, by putting the tea in first and stirring as one pours, one can exactly regulate the amount of milk whereas one is liable to put in too much milk if one does it the other way round.

Lastly, tea — unless one is drinking it in the Russian style — should be drunk without sugar. I know very well that I am in a minority here. But still, how can you call yourself a true tea-lover if you destroy the flavour of your tea by putting sugar in it? It would be equally reasonable to put in pepper or salt. Tea is meant to be bitter, just as beer is meant to be bitter. If you sweeten it, you are no longer tasting the tea, you are merely tasting the sugar; you could make a very similar drink by dissolving sugar in plain hot water.

Some people would answer that they don’t like tea in itself, that they only drink it in order to be warmed and stimulated, and they need sugar to take the taste away. To those misguided people I would say: Try drinking tea without sugar for, say, a fortnight and it is very unlikely that you will ever want to ruin your tea by sweetening it again.

These are not the only controversial points to arise in connexion with tea drinking, but they are sufficient to show how subtilized the whole business has become. There is also the mysterious social etiquette surrounding the teapot (why is it considered vulgar to drink out of your saucer, for instance?) and much might be written about the subsidiary uses of tea leaves, such as telling fortunes, predicting the arrival of visitors, feeding rabbits, healing burns and sweeping the carpet. It is worth paying attention to such details as warming the pot and using water that is really boiling, so as to make quite sure of wringing out of one’s ration the twenty good, strong cups of that two ounces, properly handled, ought to represent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭cruiser178

How do you make your tea?
    Any special order of putting stuff in, amount of stirs, brand?

I know some people can be very picky, like myself:

Bag in cup
    One sugar on top
    Hot water
    Stir til sugar is melted
    Squeeze bag
    Stir
    Squeeze bag
    Stir
    Take bag out
    Add dash of milk
    Stir

Oh yeah preferable Barry's tea

We must have been separated at birth op

Thats one daacent cup of tae right there, just how i like it, anything else is for the weak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭demakinz

teabag, hot water and milk. simple