Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tea making

• 06-02-2013 6:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 542 ✭✭✭boomshakalaka

How do you make your tea?
    Any special order of putting stuff in, amount of stirs, brand?

I know some people can be very picky, like myself:

Bag in cup
    One sugar on top
    Hot water
    Stir til sugar is melted
    Squeeze bag
    Stir
    Squeeze bag
    Stir
    Take bag out
    Add dash of milk
    Stir

Oh yeah preferable Barry's tea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭wyndham

What's your favourite humming noise?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭seven_eleven

DEAR GOD MAN WHAT ARE YOU DOING!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Simple:

Get cup
    F*ck tea bag in bin
    Make coffee instead

Done!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭HondaSami

Lyons tea
    Tea bag in cup followed by boiling hot water, squeeze tea bag around five times, discard teabag, drink while hot.
    No milk or sugar, no cold water.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭Hersheys

Bag in cup
    One sugar on top
    Hot water
    Stir til sugar is melted
    Squeeze bag
    Stir
    Squeeze bag
    Stir
    Take bag out
    Add dash of milk
    Stir

Bag in cup
    Hot water
    Stir
    Stir
    Stir
    Do not squeeze the tea bag
    Take out tea bag
    Add in sugar and stir until melted
    Splash of milk
    2 digestives

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Anyone who puts milk in first should be sectioned and/or killed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,693 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Get my housekeeper to do it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 915 ✭✭✭judgefudge

Lyons tea.
    Teabag brews for a couple of mins.
    Take out bag and a dash of soy milk.

Delish!

And any of them arseholes that squeeze a teabag and leave it on the edge of the sink can stop that shte! Put it in the bin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 542 ✭✭✭boomshakalaka

Eww soy milk is so tasteless

And agreed on the sinksh-te! BIN YR BAG!

Eww soy milk is so tasteless

And agreed on the sinksh-te! BIN YR BAG!

I use soy milk in cereal, it takes time to get used to it, the original is the nicest.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

milk in cup
    microwave cup for 30 seconds
    put teabag in while kettle boils
    stir like a mother****er
    pour in hot water

leave for however long it takes me to want a drink
    take teabag out, drink tea

milk in cup
    stir like a mother****er
    pour in hot water

:O

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Boil kettle
    Pour hot water from kettle into empty cup
    Dump water from above mentioned cup
    Re-boil Kettle straight away
    Punjana tea bag in previously heated cup
    Pour water in
    Squeeze teabag with teaspoon to mark it strong
    Add drop of milk
    *orgasm*

I have cereal with soy milk as well, just because I'm not supposed to have too much dairy products. I can't really get used to it even though I like the Alpro Soya Banana milk and Chocolate milk. I have been known to have cornflakes with them :p

Some people are awfully fancy with their pre heated cups. And soy milk tastes the exact same as that low fat milk stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭sunbeam

Barry's gold blend teabag in cup-or in these frugal days the Supervalu equivalent.
    Add boiling water.
    Leave for 5-10 seconds, then throw teabag in bin
    Add lots of milk and one spoonful of sugar. Stir.

Yeah, I know it's barely tea at all....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

milk in cup
    teabag in milk
    half spoon of sugar
    top up with cold water
    microwave 2 mins

not really, but i must try sometime

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

Just converted to Thompson's Irish Breakfast Tea from Lyons' recently. It's like stewed tea from a pot on the stove in 1987. Beautiful stuff altogether.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 901 ✭✭✭ChunkyLover_53

Roll into Workers Shanty Town at 3am

Rouse all able bodied workers out into the fields to clip tea leaves.

Crack whip a few times to keep motivation up

Mush them into processing plant by midday

Box up the days harvest for shipment to Barry's Tea Ltd, Rep. of Ireland.

Whip workers for a bit.

Get blind drunk on Rum & browse internet til I pass out.

Repeat.

???

Profit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

Tea is horrible.

judgefudge wrote: »
    Some people are awfully fancy with their pre heated cups. And soy milk tastes the exact same as that low fat milk stuff

Yea don't like low fat milk either. I'll have it in the odd latte or cappuccino cause I'm feeling self concious. But usually I'll steer well clear from that stuff!

Lenin Skynard: That sounds fabulous, found in local supermarket? You should be a marketeer, the way you sold me that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

**Claps hands together arrogantly**

"Oh butler, butler........tea now, go!"

Remember to stir anti-clockwise 69 times.

Where To wrote: »
    Tea is horrible.

I like to have one cup of tea a day, prefer cappuccino tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

Lenin Skynard: That sounds fabulous, found in local supermarket? You should be a marketeer, the way you sold me that!

Yeah normal supermarkets. I should be getting a commission here alright.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 10,520 Mod ✭✭✭✭5uspect

bag in cup
    add boiled water
    strain tea bag
    add drop of milk
    2 sugars

or two tea bags in the pot (visitors)

add boiled water

let it set for 2 to 3 minutes

pour into cup

add drop of milk

2 sugars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

The guests arrive a little before the appointed time and enter an interior waiting room, where they store unneeded items such as coats, and put on fresh tabi. Ideally, the waiting room has a tatami floor and an alcove (tokonoma), in which is displayed a hanging scroll which may allude to the season, the theme of the chaji, or some other appropriate theme. The guests are served a cup of the hot water, kombu tea, roasted barley tea, or sakurayu. When all the guests have arrived and finished their preparations, they proceed to the outdoor waiting bench in the roji, where they remain until summoned by the host.

Following a silent bow between host and guests, the guests proceed in order to a stone basin where they ritually purify themselves by washing their hands and rinsing their mouths with water at tsukubai, and then continue along the roji to the tea house. They remove their footwear and enter the tea room through a small "crawling-in" door (nijiri-guchi), and proceed to view the items placed in the tokonoma and any tea equipment placed ready in the room, and are then seated seiza-style on the tatami in order of prestige. When the last guest has taken their place, they close the door with an audible sound to alert the host, who enters the tea room and welcomes each guest, and then answers questions posed by the first guest about the scroll and other items.
    The chaji begins in the cool months with the laying of the charcoal fire which is used to heat the water. Following this, guests are served a meal in several courses accompanied by sake and followed by a small sweet (wagashi) eaten from special paper called kaishi (懐紙?), which each guest carries, often in a decorative wallet or tucked into the breast of the kimono.[11] After the meal, there is a break called a nakadachi, (中立ち) during which the guests return to the waiting shelter until summoned again by the host, who uses the break to sweep the tea room, take down the scroll and replace it with a flower arrangement, open the tea room's shutters, and make preparations for serving the tea.

Having been summoned back to the tea room by the sound of a bell or gong rung in prescribed ways, the guests again purify themselves and examine the items placed in the tea room. The host then enters, ritually cleanses each utensil——including the tea bowl, whisk, and tea scoop——in the presence of the guests in a precise order and using prescribed motions, and places them in an exact arrangement according to the particular temae procedure being performed. When the preparation of the utensils is complete, the host prepares thick tea.

Bows are exchanged between the host and the guest receiving the tea. The guest then bows to the second guest, and raises the bowl in a gesture of respect to the host. The guest rotates the bowl to avoid drinking from its front, takes a sip, and compliments the host on the tea. After taking a few sips, the guest wipes clean the rim of the bowl and passes it to the second guest. The procedure is repeated until all guests have taken tea from the same bowl; each guest then has an opportunity to admire the bowl before it is returned to the host, who then cleanses the equipment and leaves the tea room.

The host then rekindles the fire and adds more charcoal. This signifies a change from the more formal portion of the gathering to the more casual portion, and the host will return to the tea room to bring in a smoking set (タバコ盆 tabako-bon?) and more confections, usually higashi, to accompany the thin tea, and possibly cushions for the guests' comfort.

The host will then proceed with the preparation of an individual bowl of thin tea to be served to each guest. While in earlier portions of the gathering conversation is limited to a few formal comments exchanged between the first guest and the host, in the usucha portion, after a similar ritual exchange, the guests may engage in casual conversation.

After all the guests have taken tea, the host cleans the utensils in preparation for putting them away. The guest of honour will request that the host allow the guests to examine some of the utensils, and each guest in turn examines each item, including the tea caddy and the tea scoop. The items are treated with extreme care and reverence as they may be priceless, irreplaceable, handmade antiques, and guests often use a special brocaded cloth to handle them.

The host then collects the utensils, and the guests leave the tea house. The host bows from the door, and the ceremony is over. A tea ceremony can last up to four hours, depending on the type of ceremony performed, the number of guests, and the types of meal and tea served.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

^^^TL:DR

D'ya want sugar or wha?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

Pot, that is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭maxfresh

heat cup with hot water
    add boiling water to lyons tea bag
    squeeze and stir
    leave for 2 mins
    take out bag and add a little milk :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Where To wrote: »
    Tea is horrible.

I wouldn't say horrible but about one cup a week does for me, it only makes me thirsty......which is why I usually have it around 11am on Saturday morn before I head off to the boozer ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

Boil kettle put a lemon and ginger teabag in cup and stop kettle just before it boils and add to cup. Leave teabag in cup for a while and drink.

If am having regular tea its done the same. Don't like to squeeze or bash the bag coz it makes it too bitter. I drink without milk or sugar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Lucena

Roll into Workers Shanty Town at 3am

Rouse all able bodied workers out into the fields to clip tea leaves.

Crack whip a few times to keep motivation up

Mush them into processing plant by midday

Box up the days harvest for shipment to Barry's Tea Ltd, Rep. of Ireland.

Whip workers for a bit.

Get blind drunk on Rum & browse internet til I pass out.

Repeat.

???

Profit

I enjoyed Django Unchained as well.

Teabag, water, bag out, honey

judgefudge wrote: »

No it doesn't. It's absolutely fcuking disgusting, soy milk :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

milk in cup
    stir like a mother****er
    pour in hot water

Microwave:confused:
    milk in cup
    teabag in milk
    half spoon of sugar
    top up with cold water
    microwave 2 mins

not really, but i must try sometime

Teabag in milk:mad:
    Pot, that is all.

But how do you make the tea to go with it?:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Lucena

What's all this tea-bag in a cup sh1te? You need to use a pot. Heat the pot, heat the cup(s). Tea leaves ideally.

No respect for tradition.

* shakes walking-stick in the air *

Boombastic wrote: »
    Microwave:confused:

Teabag in milk:mad:

But how do you make the tea to go with it?:pac:

While levitating, that is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭PhysiologyRocks

I LOVE the whole tea-making thing! You know, the playful 'splash' of the tea as it hits the bottom of the cup; the thrill of adding the milk, and watching it settle for a moment, before it filters slowly down through the cup, changing the colour from dark brown to...a lighter brown. Perching an optional Jaffa cake on the saucer, like a proud soldier standing to attention beside a giant...cup of tea.

Sure, didn't the Lord himself pause for a nice cup of tea

bluewolf wrote: »
    Sure, didn't the Lord himself pause for a nice cup of tea

Where was he going, that is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭maxfresh

Lucena wrote: »
    What's all this tea-bag in a cup sh1te? You need to use a pot. Heat the pot, heat the cup(s). Tea leaves ideally.

No respect for tradition.

* shakes walking-stick in the air *

tea leafs are nice alright much stronger than bags

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭Ruski

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

I hate tea and never drink it. My husband takes tea very seriously though, the amount of expensive teas he's tried that he's bought from Japan is mad and tastes bloody vile. Could be worse though at least its tea not crack or heroin:D

When I make tea for anyone its as follows:
    Pour hot water in cup to heat
    Throw away hot water
    Put teabag in cup
    Pour boiling water over teabag
    Swish teabag 6 times
    Squeeze teabag for added strength
    Dispose of teabag in bin
    Add sugar/honey dependant on preference
    Add milk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,989 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

IT'S FECKING TEA

Giblet wrote: »
    IT'S FECKING TEA

Statement or advertisement? goooo onnnnn goooo onnnnnn gooooooooooo onnnnnnn, that is all.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,591 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Weigh, to an accuracy of ±2 %, a mass of tea
    corresponding to2 g of tea per 100 ml of liquor
    (i.e. 5,6 ± 0,1 g of tea for the large pot or 2,8 ± 0,05 g
    for the small pot described in the Annex) and
    transfer it to the pot (5.1).

Fill the pot containing the tea with freshly boiling
    water to within 4 to 6 mm of the brim
    (i.e. corresponding approximately to 285 ml in the
    case of the large pot and 140 ml in the case of the
    small pot described in the Annex) and put on the lid.
    Allow the tea to brew for6 min, and then, holding
    the lid in place so that the infused leaf is held back,
    pour the liquid through the serrations into the
    bowl (5.2) corresponding to the pot selected. Remove
    and invert the lid, transfer the infused leaf to it and
    place the inverted lid on the empty pot to allow the
    infused leaf to be inspected. In the case of fine,
    powdery dust grades, special care should be taken
    and a sieve may be required.

Pour milk free from any off-flavour (for example raw
    milk or unboiled pasteurized milk) into the
    bowl (5.2), using approximately5 ml for the large
    bowl and 2,5 ml for the small bowl described in the
    Annex.
    Prepare the liquor as described in 7.2.1but pour it
    into the bowl after the milk, in order to avoid
    scalding the milk, unless this procedure is contrary
    to the normal practice in the organization
    concerned.
    If the milk is added afterwards, experience has
    shown that the best results are obtained when the
    temperature of the liquor is in the range 65 to 80 °C
    when the milk is added.
    While addition of milk is not essential, it sometimes
    helps to accentuate differences in flavour and
    colour.

Never squeeze the teabag

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

wprathead wrote: »
    Boil kettle
    Pour hot water from kettle into empty cup
    Dump water from above mentioned cup
    Re-boil Kettle straight away
    Punjana tea bag in previously heated cup
    Pour water in
    Squeeze teabag with teaspoon to mark it strong
    Add drop of milk
    *orgasm*

You do know that
    1 You don't need to fill a cup to scald it? A little splash, and swirl around will do the job. Saves electricity as well.
    2 Reboiling the kettle actually reduces the amount of oxygen in the water, resulting in a less oxygenated tea. Fresh water each time ensures you get the best out of your tea.

However, it's your tea, drink it how you like.

I don't drink that much tea, but apparently, I make a nice one.

Bag in mug (Whats this cup thing about?)
    Boil kettle
    Look in press for nice things while kettle boils. Decide there isn't any nice things.
    Water into mug.
    Let it sit while I get the milk, and check the press again, just in case something nice has appeared.
    Stir, and squish bag against side of mug. This doesn't help with the tea, just stops drippy tea stains while I move bag from mug to compost bowl.
    2 sugars, and stir.
    Adding milk is an art. For me, enough milk so that the tea can be gulped, for herself well, you know when you pour milk, and give it another splash for good luck? Don't do the good luck splash.
    Again, check for nice things. You never know.

Or alternatively, leave it black, and add a glug of whiskey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,955 ✭✭✭Conall Cernach

Bag in cup
    One sugar on top
    Hot water
    Stir til sugar is melted
    Squeeze bag
    Stir
    Squeeze bag
    Stir
    Take bag out
    Add dash of milk
    Stir

Yeah pretty sure you deserve to be stood up against a wall for any number of crimes against tea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

#50 posts and no Mrs Doyle? For shame AH.

Feck off Cup!