Stories from the bullshítter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Ruudi_Mentari

IceFjoem wrote: »

He probably meant he got it "tuned-up", in the same way one gets their car engine "tuned-up" from a mechanic. Likely had nothing to do with the tuning of the notes themselves.

Anyway...I liked the story Admiral!:)

He had it professionally calibrated!

in tune is roughly just that. no such perfections right down to the .000001 of a binary...

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 14,324 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Master

only thing is, frank had paid hundreds that morning to have the guitar professionally tuned
    MadsL wrote: »
    Sounds legit, until we get to...
    hundreds you say, "professionally tuned" you say. Just wondering where this professional work costing hundreds is to be had. I wonder how a professionally tuned guitar sounds more "in tune" than a amateur "in tune" guitar.

Concert Piano perhaps, guitar = stories from a bull****ter.

Boards bulshitter caught out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭IceFjoem

He had it professionally calibrated!

in tune is roughly just that. no such perfections right down to the .000001 of a binary...

I think we're in agreement, I'm not sure I understand what you're saying though?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

in 2009 and for a 66 year old that still uses a 3210?

He'd most likely be able to tune it himself by ear, then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

channro wrote: »
    I remember a lot of these stories when I started secondary school. One that stands out:

"My uncle is president of Bolivia"

I went to school with a lad who used to claim that he lived in the highest house in Leinster. Like it was something amazing or something!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Ruudi_Mentari

IceFjoem wrote: »

I think we're in agreement, I'm not sure I understand what you're saying though?

nevermind. I've a societal axe to grind

Enjoy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

A "friend" of mine used to boast about lads she was with on nights out but strangely no one was ever around to see these events in person. She'd never even chat up lads if anyone was around. She also lied to a friend about not being out the weekend previously and was photographed out that same weekend and still lied about it.

KKkitty wrote: »
    A "friend" of mine used to boast about lads she was with on nights out but strangely no one was ever around to see these events in person. She'd never even chat up lads if anyone was around. She also lied to a friend about not being out the weekend previously and was photographed out that same weekend and still lied about it.

Probably riding lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭7 7 12

Some amount of bullshot on the powering tax fine with 6000 1 c coins thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

Probably riding lads.
    The same girl could be talking to me and we'd both see a black cat and she'd swear it was a white one.

I have a friend like this, constantly making shít up, not necessarily in a boasting fashion, more in an - "I'm an expert on everything" kind of way. Only problem is, he's wrong about 90% of the time. The interesting thing I find is that he is always called out on it by our group of friends.

On the other hand, I've known others to tell the most blatant lies and never get brought up on it. I can't quite put my finger on why, but this unfortunate friend just seems to lack the conviction or something to successfully execute his lies.

He's got a real talent for back-tracking though, I'll give him that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,802 ✭✭✭Motivator

A known bull****ter drinks in my local. He's in his 50's, has a decent job & a family so he's by no means an idiot - he's just a liar. He arrived in one night from the races & sits down next to me & a few friends & proceeds to tell everyone at the table who he met at The Curragh. Now despite being a nobody, he was apparently in the parade ring chatting to owners, trainers & jockeys. All of a sudden he felt a tap on his shoulder....

Us: "Who was it Pat?"

Pat: "Jaysus lads wasn't it himelf, Twas Sheikh Mohammed"

Us: "Oh really? And what did he want?"

Pat: "Nothing much, he just said 'Well Pat' "

I nearly collapsed with the laughing, needless to say Pat wasn't impressed when the whole pub heard his story off of us before he got a chance to tell them himself. To this day he won't admit he's a liar & still gets a gruelling off of everyone who drinks in the pub.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 388 ✭✭Truncheon Rouge

channro wrote: »
    I remember a lot of these stories when I started secondary school. One that stands out:

"My uncle is president of Bolivia"

Pero, si, es veridad.
    Ju say jello to my nephew next time ju see him, here ju try some of dees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭twowheelsonly

A few bull****ting ex college friends of mine once tried to convince everyone that they, and not I, founded Facebook.

Mark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

I used to live with a dude who told everyone he was an orphan. It would give him many sympathy votes. Then I met his Father.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,825 ✭✭✭Timmyctc

We played poker with a lad who said his dad used to be a pro poker player ( turned out his dad truly was a sorta semi pro poker player) but he claimed he too was often on the World Poker Circuit entering into big money tourneys. Played poker with him one night and no word of a lie he tried to play a straight

Q-K-A-2-3
    he also claimed one of his hands was a flush with a pair of aces kicker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭PrettyBoy

KKkitty wrote: »
    The same girl could be talking to me and we'd both see a black cat and she'd swear it was a white one.

Colour-blind liars are the worst kind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

I could tell you a few gems but a taximan never tells tales out of school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,309 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Where To wrote: »
    I could tell you a few gems but a taximan never tells tales out of school.

You're a taxi man? :P

But yeah, to add to the thread I have come across a few total bullshitters in my time. I never got the mentality of it :confused: All bullshitters "big themselves up" - its always the same.

But these people have to be fucking mad, stupid or such fucking fools.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭upandcumming

On the bad old J1 in 2011, out in Queens staying in one of the lads places, and one of them prises open the door and began this wonderful tale.

He was drinking in the pub on his own and gets talking to a lad. Bear in mind this is about 3 in the afternoon. Anyway, he is talking to this chap, and he is none other than Eminem's manager. My friend is having none of it, so the the 'manager' rings Eminem who pulls up outside and they both get in and start having the chats. Then Eminem drops him home.

Telling it like it happens all the time.
    Great lad though and a good friend, just fond of the tall tales.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭DonLimon

frank had paid hundreds that morning to have the guitar professionally tuned

:rolleyes: Smell some bs here all right...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭smellslikeshoes

MadsL wrote: »
    Sounds legit, until we get to...

hundreds you say, "professionally tuned" you say. Just wondering where this professional work costing hundreds is to be had. I wonder how a professionally tuned guitar sounds more "in tune" than a amateur "in tune" guitar.

Concert Piano perhaps, guitar = stories from a bull****ter.
    DonLimon wrote: »
    :rolleyes: Smell some bs here all right...

More likely got it professionally set up, done the intonation/action etc. as well as tuned. No need to jump down a lads throat who obviously isn't well up on guitars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭stefan idiot jones

All this happened in Swansea twenty years ago, so that might explain a lot. A guy I knew called Lloydo told me that Metallica had nowhere to stay when they were playing in Cardiff so they stayed in his Aunties house and ripped a sink off the wall.
    Pete Liar went to see Exodus playing in Cardiff at a place called The Venue, however The Venue had problems getting a fire cert so they kept on cancelling pre booked shows. My friends went up to Cardiff only to find out that the gig was cancelled and went drinking with the band in a local boozer. According to Pete Liar it was one of the best gigs he had ever been to and we were idiots for missing it.
    My apprentice from the valleys beats those tools hands down though. According to him, the village he lives in is built in the shape of a dragon, jet fighters fly just ten feet above his house, his uncle crash landed a plane on Brighton promenade and when I asked him about the lamposts etc on the promenade he told me that his uncle 'unclipped' the wings, went to a motorbike show and saw a four wheeled bike, I said 'like a quad'? No, four wheels in line with each other like a roller blade.
    And the best of all was, although Wales' mines have been decimated by the Thatcher era, apparantly he was driving one of those huge trucks for 'the biggest crane in the world'., I asked him how big the bucket was for 'the biggest crane in the world'? and he replied 'you could fit twenty double decker buses in it' He didn't last long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

Konwn a few shitehwaks in my time. They tend not to be all there in the head, or else just sad and lonely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,679 ✭✭✭Crooked Jack

A lad in Uni used to insist he was dutch, even though he was from Larne or somewhere like that. He used to say he would only shite at a specific time once a week.
    He would insist he was seeing a south American model whos father owned an airline and liked him so much he could fly anywhere for free.
    These are just the ones I remember. Every time you met him it was a new bullshit story. And none of it was told as a joke, he was being deadly serious about the lot.
    I gave him a glowing badge at a party once, a badge I got as part of this promotional jagermeister competition I won. Basically there were very few other places to get this specific badge. A few weeks later I see him in a pub in Belfast wearing it and I say something like "you like the badge then." he proceeds to tell me this is not the same badge and that he got this one after banging one of the Jagermeister girls at some executive event.

I just dont understand why people do this. At first I thought it was funny but after I while I just felt bad for the guy. He talks this **** and everyone is laughing at him behind his back but you cant even tell them to stop because it's his own fault.

He was in the union once with a load of us, talking the same shite, and when he got up to go to the toilet everyone, without a word or signal to each other, everyone just stood up and spat in his pint.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭mr.jingle

There was one lad who everyone knew was an absolute liar and bull****ter on our dart team and was always harping on about who he was with or who he slept with and he was playing amazing darts and the likes, but one weekend we caught him out big time!

We were away on a darts team trip in Killarney at an open dart event. Most of the worlds best players were there. Anyway he(and a couple others) qualified for the Sunday(The main day when all the pro's played) and we were out all night with some of them on the Saturday night whilst the other lads went to bed early.

Anyway when we went down on the Sunday to watch him play he came over to us and said he got beaten by a top pro 3-2 and was unlucky to lose. The player he mentioned (Terry Jenkins)was actually a player we were drinking with the night before, who just happened to be walking by when we seen him and called him over to congratulate him on his win. Obviously he hadn't played him at all but then made it worse by saying it was another dart player with the same surname(Andy Jenkins). Of course sure didn't that player happen to walk by just at that moment too!

He didn't play him either, in fact we found out he had slept it out and missed his match and was timed out or dq'd! Still though on the way home the bull****ter still tried to maintain he had played one of them. Needless to say none of really warmed to him after that and he left the team soon after.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

Way too much info there about the darts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

LizT wrote: »
    This thread makes me think of Jay from the inbetweeners.
    I love that someone called buswankers thanked this post :D

He was in the union once with a load of us, talking the same shite, and when he got up to go to the toilet everyone, without a word or signal to each other, everyone just stood up and spat in his pint.

Scumbags.