AGSI members to march at Sat anti-austerity march whoop!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,320 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

G Power wrote: »
    an oil and gas deal renegotiation of even small proportions would wipe that 12bn off the chart immediately and along with a few more progressie initiatives like legalising cannabis for medical and recreational purposes and other no so provocative moves would put us back on track in a few months

lol, the oil and gas. Silly me, I forgot about that. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

pmcmahon wrote: »
    So,we spend a bomb on an investment that isn't secure and smoke some weed.

Recession sorted lads! start buying property!

Whoop, Whoop!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭Mr. Nice

lol, the oil and gas. Silly me, I forgot about that. :pac:

That's exactly the kind of attitude, espoused by many other posters on this thread, that sickens me about Ireland. So glad I left so that I don't have to be on the same island with sarky smart-arses who don't have anything positive to contribute, but delight in knocking others.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

Mr. Nice wrote: »
    That's exactly the kind of attitude, espoused by many other posters on this thread, that sickens me about Ireland. So glad I left so that I don't have to be on the same island with sarky smart-arses who don't have anything positive to contribute, but delight in knocking others.

It's not being a smart arse,it's about being realistic.Realism is positive.

I'm guessing the union leaders will be the first to offer to take pay cuts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

so why oh why if we have loads of oil and gas to sell did you leave ?
    if its so easy to solve this issue then you would not have left , would you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Yeah its better to oppose things with pie in the sky nonsense, thats what gets results.

It's not being a smart arse,it's about being realistic.Realism is positive.

Optimism is positive, reality can be really ****e sometimes.
    Believing in a better future, change and improvement is positive.
    Knocking people for protesting/questioning the status quo is negative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭radonicus

Dean0088 wrote: »
    Meh.

I'd protest but I'm not an idiot.

I understand cuts have to be made. Deal with the reality of the situation we're in.

I don't agree with cutting Gardai or Nurse pay. But there's a cheque book that has to be balanced, you know.

A load of crusties will go for a ramble in the name of their country. Really it's about me, me, me and me.

Wake me up when there's a cause worth fighting for.

The rest of your post would imply otherwise.

• Administrators Posts: 56,569 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

I think you just perfectly described Saturdays event goers. :)

Optimism is positive, reality can be really ****e sometimes.
    Believing in a better future, change and improvement is positive.
    Knocking people for protesting/questioning the status quo is negative.
    Only recognising optimism and not respecting the reality of situations is called living with your head in the clouds.

For example,i'm going to invest a million in yahoo tomorrow and with a bit of optimism i'm going to end up a billionaire.Nope that's not going to happen.

dj jarvis wrote: »
    so why oh why if we have loads of oil and gas to sell did you leave ?
    if its so easy to solve this issue then you would not have left , would you

Where did I say that Ireland has loads of gas and oil?
    And there a couple of guys on here with differing views to mine who have also emigrated, I wonder why they didn't stay to share the burden with everybody else if they feel that spending cuts and increased taxation are the only solution for Ireland?

Only recognising optimism and not respecting the reality of situations is called living with your head in the clouds.

For example,i'm going to invest a million in yahoo tomorrow and with a bit of optimism i'm going to end up a billionaire.Nope that's not going to happen.

I wish I were blessed with the gift of clairvoyance like you.
    Your definition of optimism needs some refinement.

Where did I say that Ireland has loads of gas and oil?
    And there a couple of guys on here with differing views to mine who have also emigrated, I wonder why they didn't stay to share the burden with everybody else if they feel that spending cuts and increased taxation are the only solution for Ireland?

If you're talking about the likes of me with my location,I emigrated in 2007 and came home in 2011.I can safely say i'm sharing the burden.Sure the majority of the lads who have "emigrated" will be back in 2 years when their working holiday visa runs up.There's no protest in emigrating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭Gmol

Yeah guys I mean come on and protest. I mean I'd love to join in but I'm in another country so I'll criticise the people still there who don't share my opinion.

I emigrated in 2007 and came home in 2011.

I admire your chutzpah, THAT was an optimistic thing to do.

The 'ICTU' march 'March for a better way' in 2010 yielded some great results

The bank debt was renegotiated and no cuts were implemented in the budget

I admire your chutzpah, THAT was an optimistic thing to do.

Coming home to my family for a while,yes it was.:rolleyes:

Gmol wrote: »
    Yeah guys I mean come on and protest. I mean I'd love to join in but I'm in another country so I'll criticise the people still there who don't share my opinion.

So there's at least 2 of us, who else will join this group of wild geese who aren't entitled to an opinion?

Coming home to my family for a while,yes it was.

Fair play to you, I hope it works out.

So there's at least 2 of us, who else will join this group of wild geese who aren't entitled to an opinion?

Since when aren't you entitled to an opinion? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

awec wrote: »

What exactly is it that you are doing that is "standing up for yourself?". You're going for a dander. You have nothing to offer.

This "standing up for yourself" is incredibly thin.

Surely a loyal fellow like yourself must appreciate the benefits of a good march.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭G Power

So,we spend a bomb on an investment that isn't secure and smoke some weed.

Recession sorted lads! start buying property!

so you take 2 proven massive sources of income generators, cannabis and hemp being completely renewable, well suited to this countries environment and with an endless amount of uses, not limited to medical and recreational use either and the oil which has already been valued in reports as to be worth in excess of €500/600bn, yet you go on to suggest a return to another property bubble

you're some legend

so you take 2 proven massive sources of income generators, cannabis and hemp being completely renewable, well suited to this countries environment and with an endless amount of uses, not limited to medical and recreational use either and the oil which has already been valued in reports as to be worth in excess of €500/600bn, yet you go on to suggest a return to another property bubble

you're some legend

Is this what the AGSI are Marching for?:pac::pac:

AGSI= Association of Garda Sergeants & Inspectors

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭jank

an oil and gas deal renegotiation of even small proportions would wipe that 12bn off the chart immediately and along with a few more progressie initiatives like legalising cannabis for medical and recreational purposes and other no so provocative moves would put us back on track in a few months

You do know that the Irish state has yet to extract ONE barrel of Oil? Bubbles...

Boombastic wrote: »
    Is this what the AGSI are Marching for?:pac::pac:

AGSI= Association of Garda Sergeants & Inspectors

what? whatever gave you that impression?? you have the context of my post completely ar$eways and need to read through the thread my good man

The title of the thread threw me, I thought it was about the AGSI joining the protest

jank wrote: »
    You do know that the Irish state has yet to extract ONE barrel of Oil? Bubbles...

and that matters how? What we have here is a deal that allows the extraction companies setting their costs off any possible corporation taxes and other small fees for decades before we get a hint at a trickle of money all because some of those involved in the negotiation didn't really have the best interest of the state and it's people in mind

the irish state need never extract even one barrel of oil and still enjoy a similar deal that other countries have with regards profits from their own resources!!

your attempt at derailing the thread is ridiculous

Boombastic wrote: »
    The title of the thread threw me, I thought it was about the AGSI joining the protest

ok right, read closely ok

whatever gave you the impression that the garda were going to protest for the legalisation of cannabis medically and recreationally and also to the have the oil and gas giveaway renegotiated??

as far as i know, nobody said that's why they're protesting

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,702 ✭✭✭squod

Gards are protesting? Dafuq?

The sooner they arrest Cowen and co the sooner I'll listen to their bullshit. Either part of the solution or part of the problem.