Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

AGSI members to march at Sat anti-austerity march whoop!!

• 05-02-2013 9:48pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭

This is really a turn up for the books if ever i seen one. Suddenly Saturday march has taken on a whole new depth and can only help the whole situation on the ground with regards treatment of protestors here in future i hope.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2013/0205/366333-garda-march/

The Association of Garda Sergeants and Inspectors has said that members will be marching in Saturday's anti-austerity march organised by the Irish Congress of Trade Unions.
    However, a spokesperson for the Garda Representative Association said its executive had decided yesterday not to take part in Saturday's march.
    AGSI General Secretary John Redmond said he expected several hundred members to join them in Dublin.
    They will march with other members of the Frontline Alliance of public sector workers, including nurses and fire personnel, who have a 24/7 liability.
    These groups have argued that they will be hit disproportionately by Government plans to cut allowances and premium payments, as a significant portion of their income is made up of such payments.
    Both garda representative bodies have refused to participate in talks on securing an additional €1 billion in savings from the public sector pay and pensions bill.
    However, Mr Redmond stressed that the AGSI would not be taking part in any blue flu.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

awesome, my burglary ring has been waiting for this day.

• Administrators Posts: 54,417 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

How is this news?

Union-esque organisation claims that hundreds of it's members will march against austerity. These organisations make these inflated predictions on a regular basis.

New depth? Ha! :pac: Saturday's march is still as ridiculous as it was this time yesterday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

The Gardai walked out of negotiations with the unions, I wouldn't like to see them negotiating a hostage situation :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭G Power

awec wrote: »
    How is this news?

Union-esque organisation claims that hundreds of it's members will march against austerity. These organisations make these inflated predictions on a regular basis.

New depth? Ha! :pac: Saturday's march is still as ridiculous as it was this time yesterday.

major facepalm for the likes of you :eek::eek::eek:

G Power wrote: »
    major facepalm for the likes of you :eek::eek::eek:
    Enlighten us all. If you can.

Boombastic wrote: »
    The Gardai walked out of negotiations with the unions, I wouldn't like to see them negotiating a hostage situation :pac:

so that's your excuse as to why you will be sitting on your arse on sat instead of standing up for yourself after 4 years of cuts that have effected every single one of us, is it????

Enlighten us all. If you can.

i don't have all the answers but I reckon it's about time we at least tried to do something the resembles a decent protest ffs

after 4 years, all these excuses are wearing extremely thin imo

so that's your excuse as to why you will be sitting on your arse on sat instead of standing up for yourself after 4 years of cuts that have effected every single one of us, is it????

What exactly is it that you are doing that is "standing up for yourself?". You're going for a dander. You have nothing to offer.

This "standing up for yourself" is incredibly thin.

Cuts on one hand, increments on the other

Where were all the people standing up for themselves immediately after the bank guarantee was signed? Oh yeah that's right laughing at the protesters for being crusties

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭Gmol

Will they beat themselves during the protest?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

Is there anything to be said for another Mass?

What exactly is it that you are doing that is "standing up for yourself?".

well i won't be sitting on my arse on sat at 1.30pm like so many others, i will be out making lots of noise and seeing if we can't make this a regular thing until things really change in a positive way for us all in this country.

the reasons why we need to protest have been debated over and over in the last 4 years so that's it, i'm logging out but i would beg of anyone who has a heart and cares for their family, friends and neighbours who have been burdened with this debt in one way or another to go on sat.

well i won't be sitting on my arse on sat at 1.30pm like so many others, i will be out making lots of noise and seeing if we can't make this a regular thing until things really change in a positive way for us all in this country.

the reasons why we need to protest have been debated over and over in the last 4 years so that's it, i'm logging out but i would beg of anyone who has a heart and cares for their family, friends and neighbours who have been burdened with this debt in one way or another to go on sat.
    Go you! Stick it to the man! Power to the people!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

Meh.

I'd protest but I'm not an idiot.

I understand cuts have to be made. Deal with the reality of the situation we're in.

I don't agree with cutting Gardai or Nurse pay. But there's a cheque book that has to be balanced, you know.

A load of crusties will go for a ramble in the name of their country. Really it's about me, me, me and me.

Wake me up when there's a cause worth fighting for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

I'll be in work. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

I will be working on Saturday like so many others. Like so many others I'm not too happy about having to work to repay debt that isn't mine but like so many others I know that it's a hell of a lot more constructive than going to the big smoke for a day out and a pissup after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

So they stop cutting and start spending more. Where does the money come from?

Bear in mind tbat nothing to do with banks or and other rabble rabble stuff, the country is costing in the region of 15b a year more to run than is taken im. Thats day to stuff like keeping the lights on, ps wages, social welfare, education and health. Where do you propose to get the extra 15b a year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 356 ✭✭Mr. Nice

Dean0088 wrote: »
    Meh.

I understand cuts have to be made. Deal with the reality of the situation we're in.

I don't agree with cutting Gardai or Nurse pay. But there's a cheque book that has to be balanced, you know.

A load of crusties will go for a ramble in the name of their country. Really it's about me, me, me and me.

The good aul' catholic guilt and peasant servile attitude is still alive and well in Ireland then. I'm sure that the banks and politicians are glad that there are plenty of sheeple like you ready to make martyrs of yourselves for years.
    "Shure tis a grand life Sir, I don't mind workin' myself to death if it means the higher ups, like you Sir, get the lifestyle they deserve"

Bear in mind tbat nothing to do with banks or and other rabble rabble stuff, the country is costing in the region of 15b a year more to run than is taken im. Thats day to stuff like keeping the lights on, ps wages, social welfare, education and health. Where do you propose to get the extra 15b a year?

Stop paying back bondholders would be a good start

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Mr. Nice wrote: »

And where will the rest of the €12bn come from?

I'll be in work. ;)

well then slating people for using any menial reason for not attending as na excuse has absolutely nothing to do with you

nobody expects those still in employment to go

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Yellowblackbird

Meh.

Continuing to suck money out of the economy, out of circulation will lead to decreased economic activity. You can sleep through the economic stagnation, I'll wake you up in twenty years time.

And the rest of it? Where does that come from?

Where To wrote: »
    I will be working on Saturday like so many others. Like so many others I'm not too happy about having to work to repay debt that isn't mine but like so many others I know that it's a hell of a lot more constructive than going to the big smoke for a day out and a pissup after.

these marches on sat are not just based in dubland :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

eirigi are wetting themselves at this oppertunity.

Nothing to do with any of that. I clearly mentioned all the "rabble rabble , lock everyone up even if they haven't broken any actual laws" stuff was separate. The country takes in x and needs to spend y to run it ( wages, education, health , social welfare as mentioned) . Y is currently billions more than x. Where does the money come from?

And where will the rest of the €12bn come from?

an oil and gas deal renegotiation of even small proportions would wipe that 12bn off the chart immediately and along with a few more progressie initiatives like legalising cannabis for medical and recreational purposes and other no so provocative moves would put us back on track in a few months

You should run for the Dáil, you have it sussed.

So,we spend a bomb on an investment that isn't secure and smoke some weed.

Recession sorted lads! start buying property!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

lol, the oil and gas. Silly me, I forgot about that. :pac:

pmcmahon wrote: »
    So,we spend a bomb on an investment that isn't secure and smoke some weed.

Recession sorted lads! start buying property!

Whoop, Whoop!

lol, the oil and gas. Silly me, I forgot about that. :pac:

That's exactly the kind of attitude, espoused by many other posters on this thread, that sickens me about Ireland. So glad I left so that I don't have to be on the same island with sarky smart-arses who don't have anything positive to contribute, but delight in knocking others.

It's not being a smart arse,it's about being realistic.Realism is positive.

I'm guessing the union leaders will be the first to offer to take pay cuts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

so why oh why if we have loads of oil and gas to sell did you leave ?
    if its so easy to solve this issue then you would not have left , would you

Yeah its better to oppose things with pie in the sky nonsense, thats what gets results.

It's not being a smart arse,it's about being realistic.Realism is positive.

Optimism is positive, reality can be really ****e sometimes.
    Believing in a better future, change and improvement is positive.
    Knocking people for protesting/questioning the status quo is negative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭radonicus

Meh.

The rest of your post would imply otherwise.

I think you just perfectly described Saturdays event goers. :)

Optimism is positive, reality can be really ****e sometimes.
    Believing in a better future, change and improvement is positive.
    Knocking people for protesting/questioning the status quo is negative.
    Only recognising optimism and not respecting the reality of situations is called living with your head in the clouds.

For example,i'm going to invest a million in yahoo tomorrow and with a bit of optimism i'm going to end up a billionaire.Nope that's not going to happen.

dj jarvis wrote: »
    so why oh why if we have loads of oil and gas to sell did you leave ?
    if its so easy to solve this issue then you would not have left , would you

Where did I say that Ireland has loads of gas and oil?
    And there a couple of guys on here with differing views to mine who have also emigrated, I wonder why they didn't stay to share the burden with everybody else if they feel that spending cuts and increased taxation are the only solution for Ireland?

Only recognising optimism and not respecting the reality of situations is called living with your head in the clouds.

For example,i'm going to invest a million in yahoo tomorrow and with a bit of optimism i'm going to end up a billionaire.Nope that's not going to happen.

I wish I were blessed with the gift of clairvoyance like you.
    Your definition of optimism needs some refinement.

Where did I say that Ireland has loads of gas and oil?
    And there a couple of guys on here with differing views to mine who have also emigrated, I wonder why they didn't stay to share the burden with everybody else if they feel that spending cuts and increased taxation are the only solution for Ireland?

If you're talking about the likes of me with my location,I emigrated in 2007 and came home in 2011.I can safely say i'm sharing the burden.Sure the majority of the lads who have "emigrated" will be back in 2 years when their working holiday visa runs up.There's no protest in emigrating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭Gmol

Yeah guys I mean come on and protest. I mean I'd love to join in but I'm in another country so I'll criticise the people still there who don't share my opinion.

I emigrated in 2007 and came home in 2011.

I admire your chutzpah, THAT was an optimistic thing to do.

The 'ICTU' march 'March for a better way' in 2010 yielded some great results

The bank debt was renegotiated and no cuts were implemented in the budget

I admire your chutzpah, THAT was an optimistic thing to do.

Coming home to my family for a while,yes it was.:rolleyes:

Gmol wrote: »
    Yeah guys I mean come on and protest. I mean I'd love to join in but I'm in another country so I'll criticise the people still there who don't share my opinion.

So there's at least 2 of us, who else will join this group of wild geese who aren't entitled to an opinion?

Coming home to my family for a while,yes it was.

Fair play to you, I hope it works out.