22 Year old arrested after burglary when homeowner defended himself with a golf club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 540 ✭✭✭kevin65

bbam wrote: »
    Just got a pick axe handle yesterday. Beside the bed now, just added a wrist strap.
    Have to say for €8 its a mighty handy thing, I'd say it would dish out justice very well.

As Clint Eastwood said, 'Nothin like a nice piece of hickory'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

Smidge wrote: »
    Was talking about this thread with a friend after reading it today and it got me thinking.......

There is no denying the amount of break in's has risen dramatically(despite what the powers that be would have you believe), there was one about half a mile from me last week and several since the start of January.

What bothers me is that when you look at this guy in the case here, what have you got??

You have a 22 year old repeat criminal who clearly has no regard for the law(he was on bail while committing crimes) and is pretty much a no-hoper with nothing to lose.

Now the home owner who defended his home has something to lose.
    He has a home, I would presume he has a family etc.

This 22 year old did not get bail this time but you can practically bet the farm that he wont serve any real time.

So what happens when he gets out?

Do you think he'll say "Ah shure, I deserved what I got for breaking into that mans home and frightening the life outta him"
    or
    Will he look for revenge?

And you can bet if he does, he won't be by himself the next time and the home owner may not do very well out of the encounter????
    The homeowner should break into his house ransack it and give him another hiding.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

The homeowner should break into his house ransack it and give him another hiding.

My point is he may not get a second chance and be able to give him another hiding.

These guys may very well go out and drink their dole(his words, not mine)and get a nice bellyfull of bravado with his mates.
    They'll pump him up "Fukcing basterd for doin wat he dun ta ya, ya wanna show him a lesson, come on Bud lets barrel over to big shots gaff an show him who's boss"

Before you know it we are reading about some poor 55 year old involved in a "Row" with "local youths" and that the 55 year old died two days later in hospital from head injuries(just an example but you get my point!).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

It's a fairway to treat an intruder, i'm sure the owner was pretty tee'd off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,090 ✭✭✭questionmark?

It's not fair four him to get putted around the place while trying to iron in some else's house. Well I presume that's what he was trying to do not that he is a **** who deserved what he got and deserves much more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭shane547

Gent in question, looks harmless probably just got the wrong house

http://sphotos-e.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/380113_214913775261118_285297764_n.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 304 ✭✭The Road Runner

shane547 wrote: »

http://sphotos-e.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/380113_214913775261118_285297764_n.jpg

ah the ol knifegun. bet he wished he didnt put it back in his toy box before he went invading homes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 560 ✭✭✭wesf

shane547 wrote: »

degenerate should be put down!

Are they red marks all over him or just a poor quality photo??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 687 ✭✭✭WhatNowForUs?

My point is he may not get a second chance and be able to give him another hiding.

These guys may very well go out and drink their dole(his words, not mine)and get a nice bellyfull of bravado with his mates.
    They'll pump him up "Fukcing basterd for doin wat he dun ta ya, ya wanna show him a lesson, come on Bud lets barrel over to big shots gaff an show him who's boss"

Before you know it we are reading about some poor 55 year old involved in a "Row" with "local youths" and that the 55 year old died two days later in hospital from head injuries(just an example but you get my point!).

So what are you saying, that the homeowner should not have beaten the scum up and let the scum pick and chose what he wanted to take.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

The discussion of the different non illegal weapon types reminds me of that bit in Trainspotting where there's a discussion re the phenomenon of such a high sale of baseball bats in Scotland, yet absolutely no interest in baseball the sport. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

So what are you saying, that the homeowner should not have beaten the scum up and let the scum pick and chose what he wanted to take.
    No I think he's suggesting that the knacker could possibly come back with revenge on his mind. I think he's highlighting the inadequacies of the legal system with the burglar being out on bail.

I think everyone would agree that it was a charity that this knack got the shîte beat out of him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭Shoutcast Ireland

baseball bat with nails in it,what more protection do you need :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,236 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

No. I think s/he's saying that the home-owner should have engineered some kind of fatal "accident" thus preventing any kind of reprisal.

Only messing - Rasheed ^above^ is correct.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

No. I think s/he's saying that the home-owner should have engineered some kind of fatal "accident" thus preventing any kind of reprisal.

Only messing - Rasheed ^above^ is correct.

No, you were right the first time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

Madam_X wrote: »
    The discussion of the different non illegal weapon types reminds me of that bit in Trainspotting where there's a discussion re the phenomenon of such a high sale of baseball bats in Scotland, yet absolutely no interest in baseball the sport. :pac:

I have a baseball bat and a hurley. As a women I really should have a camogie, and I never so much as saw a minute of baseball in my life. :pac:

I may need to stock up on golfclubs too it would seem!!! :D

But then again I live in a ground floor apartment next to a rough area of Dublin.

No that is not what I am saying at all.

This guy (22) has proven that he does not want to be a decent member of society.

Our legal/judicial system is woeful(and that's being generous)

So therefore when he gets out will he exact revenge?
    And if he does who do you think will come out the worst?

Does the home owner now have to spend time listening for every rattle wondering is it this sham come back?

Just wondering but can you get a "good character" type witness in court proceedings?

More importantly, can social networking stuff be used as a "bad character" witness?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,329 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

If you looked at best selling items on the Amazon UK homepage during the London riots you would think baseball had replaced all other sports in the UK.

Just remember to buy a mitt and ball when buying ;-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

wolfpawnat wrote: »
    I have a baseball bat and a hurley. As a women I really should have a camogie, and I never so much as saw a minute of baseball in my life. :pac:

I may need to stock up on golfclubs too it would seem!!! :D

But then again I live in a ground floor apartment next to a rough area of Dublin.

I had a brief wondering about the practicality and legality of developing a Capsaicin, the compound that gives the heat in chili' (and pepper spray) based spray that would completely food safe and marketed as a culinary product for those that enjoy food that brings tears to your eyes with just one spray.

I would imagine a high solution of cayenne pepper in a non aerosol spray would be ideal for certain culinary purposes ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

I would imagine a high solution of cayenne pepper in a non aerosol spray would be ideal for certain culinary purposes ;)

But it needs to be an aerosol to help you achieve an even coating on your food and also to spray from a distance reducing your chance of injuring yourself on a hot stove :D

I find that Super Soakers are pretty good for covering a hanging pork leg or a maturing cut of beef in chilli-water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

To be honest I alludeded to an axe earlier in the thread to an earlier poster.Now I'm no "professional" lumberjack but when the time comes Im sure il have an excuse ready for the guards as to why there was an axe in my bedroom!

Also from looking at this chaps Facebook page he is a waste of oxygen and social welfare so I would have no problem in supporting a campaign to have him put down like a rabid dog.The only difference I would see is the dog might have some chance at redemption.

Also I would feel sorry for the dog.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 381 ✭✭Bad Santa

gagomes wrote: »
    A lot of house doors left unlocked in the country.

Yeah, anytime I have to visit relations, am perplexed at how they leave their doors and windows open. Par for the course it seems.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

Bad Santa wrote: »

Yeah, anytime I have to visit relations, am perplexed at how they leave their doors and windows open. Par for the course it seems.
    We used to be like that, only locking up if we were going away for the day or longer. Our neighbours would be the same, you'd help yourself to sugar or whatever you'd be borrowing if they weren't there.

It had all changed now though. People are petrified, locks on every shed, every door locked and window closed even if your only going into town.

It's kinda sad but that's the way things are gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,226 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Was talking about this thread with a friend after reading it today and it got me thinking.......

There is no denying the amount of break in's has risen dramatically(despite what the powers that be would have you believe), there was one about half a mile from me last week and several since the start of January.

What bothers me is that when you look at this guy in the case here, what have you got??

You have a 22 year old repeat criminal who clearly has no regard for the law(he was on bail while committing crimes) and is pretty much a no-hoper with nothing to lose.

Now the home owner who defended his home has something to lose.
    He has a home, I would presume he has a family etc.

This 22 year old did not get bail this time but you can practically bet the farm that he wont serve any real time.

So what happens when he gets out?

Do you think he'll say "Ah shure, I deserved what I got for breaking into that mans home and frightening the life outta him"
    or
    Will he look for revenge?

And you can bet if he does, he won't be by himself the next time and the home owner may not do very well out of the encounter????

And people wonder why Padraig Nally finished the job. ;)

The two old guys, again in Donegal, that held off the geebags that broke into their home had an outhouse/barn ramsacked a few days/nights after.
    They believe it was a revenge attack by the same gang.

The more I see the way this country is going the more I subscribe to the Singaporean type justice system.
    Publicly in the middle of Letterkenny this little runt should have his cacks pulled off him and get about hundred lashes of a birch across the ar**.
    And that is before he is sent to jail for a spell.

That would send out the message to him and all his other fellow knackers.

With the way things are going it is only a matter of time before we have more sad cases like Eddie Fitzmaurice (beaten, tied up and left to die in Bellaghy/Charlestown in 1998) or Tommy Casey (beaten, tied up and left to die in Oranmore in 1996).

I am not allowed discuss …

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭bgrizzley

bbam wrote: »
    Just got a pick axe handle yesterday. Beside the bed now, just added a wrist strap.
    Have to say for €8 its a mighty handy thing, I'd say it would dish out justice very well.

theres nothing like a nice piece of hickory

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

Fair play to the home owner- so many people claim they'd do the same in that situation, but I can't imagine most of them would ever do it.

Personally I'd be a quivering wreck, probably hiding in my wardrobe clutching my hockey stick.... :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Personally I'd be a quivering wreck,

So would most on here, despite the guff.

The one that frightened me most was the programme on the other night about the lad that killed the girl in the Clarion hotel in Limerick. Apparently he'd broken into a random house previously and tried to strangle a 5 year-old. Her father heard him and managed to restrain him until the cops came. God know how the father kept enough control not to do more.