Garda Donohues widow tells politicans incl shatter to stay away from their house

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

http://www.herald.ie/news/drug-charge-gangster-let-off-due-to-security-expense-3372263.html

I'm surprised this hasn't come up already, To say I'm surprised is an understatement. I suppose this is them playing the poor mouth...:rolleyes:

I only noticed this and its equally as bad but this time from the courts, How would the Gardaí feel be after seeing this thug getting such a pathetic sentence ? http://www.independent.ie/national-news/courts/dad-who-attacked-garda-with-golf-club-gets-two-months-in-jail-3376755.html

Notice how after his current sentence is finished he will out again in June. That is a joke.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 87 ✭✭tenton

Caliden wrote: »
    Scotland has a higher population and yet has less police stations than Ireland. The only reason we have so many is because they were opened before modern communications and modern vehicles.
    +1. We have more police stations than New Zealand too, a country with the same approx population as Irland but spread out over a bigger land mass. Here in Ireland we have more police stations per head of population plus we pay our Gardai more than other countries do, so something has to give.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

MagicSean wrote: »
    What's disrespectful is that people are saying his death could not have been prevented.
    No, that's not disrespectful. It may be wrong, but it's not disrespectful. However proposing a tenuous link between his death and cutbacks to add weight to a counterargument is most certainly disrespectful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,605 ✭✭✭2ndcoming

Pop%20distribution_35dot_100dpi_cropped.png?w=380&h=594&as=1

I don't know if you just completely ignored my post because it didn't suit your argument, but New Zealand is actually very similar in population distribution to Scotland, comparing either to Ireland adds up to little more than convenient spin. Compare them to each other if you wish of course though.

Also, saying we pay our police more is similarly pointless. We pay our police more than Thailand, Zimbabwe, India, I'm sure the list is endless but it has absolutely nothing to do with how much police should be paid in a developed country like Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Bit unfortunate to see the tragedy being used to make a point of political grandstanding about station closures imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

humbert wrote: »
    No, that's not disrespectful. It may be wrong, but it's not disrespectful. However proposing a tenuous link between his death and cutbacks to add weight to a counterargument is most certainly disrespectful.

How is it tenuos? Resources are cut. Criminal gangs get bigger and braver. Bad things happen that wouldn't otherwise have happened.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

The level of media ignorance about crime outside Dublin.4. is quite staggering - I heard a leading print/radio journalist during the week expressing incredulity when another journalist informed him that South Armagh is still bandit country. Welcome to 21st century Ireland - they haven't gone away you know. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

MagicSean wrote: »
    How is it tenuos? Resources are cut. Criminal gangs get bigger and braver. Bad things happen that wouldn't otherwise have happened.

It is tenuous Sean if you are linking this particular crime with a set of specific cutbacks. You cant say with any certainty this would not have happened anyway. Gardai have been murdered before and I have no doubt it will happen again. It happens though because we will always have some batsards who just dont give a fcuk, they are less influenced by cutbacks and more influenced by there own twisted lack of morality and power lust.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,765 ✭✭✭flutered

our local station closed last summer, since then we have a group of kids serving an appreteiceship in being the new bugsey malones, car windows being broken, ariels snapped off, etc, etc, my kids tell me that whatever drugs i require can be got in ten minutes, the main garda station has been contacted, nothing can be done as it involves petty crime, which costs too much time and money to solve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

flutered wrote: »
    our local station closed last summer, since then we have a group of kids serving an appreteiceship in being the new bugsey malones, car windows being broken, ariels snapped off, etc, etc, my kids tell me that whatever drugs i require can be got in ten minutes, the main garda station has been contacted, nothing can be done as it involves petty crime, which costs too much time and money to solve.

I wonder how many gardai have been released from office duty to take the positions of those 2,500 who have retired. I doubt many have as the bosses like their minions close-by.
    The general public will be the ones to suffer with the cutbacks. Despite what Shatter has said about station closures I can envisage situations where numbers are confined to the towns and the people in the country can do without.
    The whole thing is a shambles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Paulzx wrote: »
    I wish the Minister or someone in the know would explain what this actually means. It's become one of these generic buzzwords like "going forward" or "stakeholder

All part of this blue sky thinking bullshít.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭Durz0 Blint

I don't see the big deal.

Costs had to be cut and so garda stations had to be closed.
    If they had the finances they would obviously keep them open.

Not his fault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Not his fault.

You are obviously not living out in the country then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

Not his fault.

Obviously you haven't been following this story very closely - even the Minister has admitted it's not about saving money, it's about new 21st century 'smart' policing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,006 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

people like you who are so oblivious to whats going on never do see a big deal in anything, cuts to health "no big deal" cuts to education "no big deal" well it will be a big deal to you when the time comes that your nearest guarda station hospital or school are closed, but shur your not bothered and neither are many in this country about these sort of things
    Costs had to be cut
    yeah, cutting things that we don't need, not education, health, or law and order
    and so garda stations had to be closed.
    no, they didn't
    rubbish, they were going to close them anyway, its all about this supposed "smart policing" which just makes the guardai irrelevant to most people, having them in the community is the best way.
    Not his fault.
    yes it is, he gave the go ahead for the closures, but not to worry, i'm sure your huge pension or banker boness will still be funded no matter what .

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

Obviously you haven't been following this story very closely - even the Minister has admitted it's not about saving money, it's about new 21st century 'smart' policing.

Just read this post from the Garda Dispute thread.
    They won't get too many "smart" police on a take home wage like this lad's

audidiesel

Adverts | Friends
    public opinion is pretty much already decided though. guards are being backed into a corner.

its easy to see how this escalates. personally im in favour of work to rule and also blue flu.

if we roll over and take these cuts im done in this job. making about 430 a week after tax and deductions. for the job i do, im not prepared to take any less and ive no problem fighting to keep it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭the culture of deference

charlemont wrote: »
    http://www.herald.ie/news/drug-charge-gangster-let-off-due-to-security-expense-3372263.html

I'm surprised this hasn't come up already, To say I'm surprised is an understatement. I suppose this is them playing the poor mouth...:rolleyes:

I only noticed this and its equally as bad but this time from the courts, How would the Gardaí feel be after seeing this thug getting such a pathetic sentence ? http://www.independent.ie/national-news/courts/dad-who-attacked-garda-with-golf-club-gets-two-months-in-jail-3376755.html

Notice how after his current sentence is finished he will out again in June. That is a joke.

Daly has 54 previous convictions including one for burglary.

He was on bail when he carried out these crimes. At a previous hearing Judge Stewart said he was on a “crime spree”.

Daly of Cushlawn Park in Tallaght pleaded guilty to six counts of burglary and damaging property.

She sentenced him to three years in prison for assault, and three years for buglary, to run concurrently, taking into account all other charges.

This is a fcuking JOKE.

Whats the odds on this scumbag not re offending

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,380 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Just read this post from the Garda Dispute thread.
    They won't get too many "smart" police on a take home wage like this lad's

audidiesel

Adverts | Friends
    public opinion is pretty much already decided though. guards are being backed into a corner.

its easy to see how this escalates. personally im in favour of work to rule and also blue flu.

if we roll over and take these cuts im done in this job. making about 430 a week after tax and deductions. for the job i do, im not prepared to take any less and ive no problem fighting to keep it.
    After "deductions" is the key word here....How much of those deductions are benefits?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Daly has 54 previous convictions including one for burglary.

He was on bail when he carried out these crimes. At a previous hearing Judge Stewart said he was on a “crime spree”.

Daly of Cushlawn Park in Tallaght pleaded guilty to six counts of burglary and damaging property.

She sentenced him to three years in prison for assault, and three years for buglary, to run concurrently, taking into account all other charges.

This is a fcuking JOKE.

Whats the odds on this scumbag not re offending

I says he was remorseful though.
    After "deductions" is the key word here....How much of those deductions are benefits?

You mean like medical aid and injury protection and such? About one third of the pay cheque goes to mandatory deductions if that helps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,156 ✭✭✭srsly78

He meant deductions like the pension levy.

There's the post underneath where they explain the deductions.
    Also remember that they work nights, Saturday and Sundays and their early shift starts at 6 a.m. I wouldn't do it I can tell you. I did a few years of it with London Transport on the Underground and it took me years to get over it.

Today, 00:19 #10
    van_beano

Adverts | Friends
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by kub

My God, I had no idea it was that bad, I would have thought you guys got over € 550 a week. Holy carp for all ye have to put up with, what a joke.

Lads is there any news on the crowd in the courts getting their pay and conditions cut?
    Nope Kub, the pay can be generally crap after the USC, Taxes, PRSI and PAYE have been taken out and that's excluding GRA Sub, Medical Aid, Life Assurance, Critical Illness, Luke Scott (possibly) Benevolent Fund etc. Garda pay dosn't get good until you're Supt rank upwards, even a Cigs wage these days is bad. I'm not joking when I say 60% of gross can be gone straight away!

Oh and pension levy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,380 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

It's just a lot of people wouldn't have such benefits and when they're done paying their own benefits they have around €5 left

Link please.
    They must really be starving then.

Link please.
    They must really be starving then.

pretty much

pretty much

So where's the link ?

you want a link to our pay packets?

I want a link to the "fact" or wee story about only having 5 euro to feed yourself.
    I work in the Private Sector and have never met anyone who had only a fiver left after deductions. Either prove it or quit posting rubbish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭digger58

Anybody who works shift deserves to be PROPERLY compensated for doing so, I have worked it for nearly 30 years and it is NOT EASY. I believe anything outside normal office hours deserves appropriate rates not to mind nights. Ask the ESB about shift allowance, The Guards are an easy target as are all public servants but especially when they are subject to a strict discipline regime and can't fight back, then again I wouldn't expect anything less from our current class of clowns, I seem to remember a certain Mr Kenny shouting "Not a penny more" before the election alluding to payments for our Banking system, what happened to that? Universal Social Charge, brilliant, an anomaly in itself, what's universal about something that only working people pay?, I get the social part, that's because only those on the social benefit from it. Its INCOME TAX and no doubt about it, so is the Civil Service PRSI that I pay another nearly 4% TAX, doesn't even entitle me to anything, In 29 weeks time I'm going into Lifestyle sports to buy the best runners I can find to run out the door of the Public service, Enough is enough, I am carrying at least 3 on my back every week. There is only so much we can give

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,156 ✭✭✭srsly78

Lads is there any news on the crowd in the courts getting their pay and conditions cut?
    Nope Kub, the pay can be generally crap after the USC, Taxes, PRSI and PAYE have been taken out and that's excluding GRA Sub, Medical Aid, Life Assurance, Critical Illness, Luke Scott (possibly) Benevolent Fund etc. Garda pay dosn't get good until you're Supt rank upwards, even a Cigs wage these days is bad. I'm not joking when I say 60% of gross can be gone straight away!

Oh and pension levy!

Tax relief is available on trade union subscriptions. You can choose not to avail of this if you like.