Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Risk Of Severe Wintry Conditions With Strong Winds. (High Risk-Ulster, Connaught)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,715 ✭✭✭Speak Now

Torque.ie wrote: »
    East Cost streamers tonight anyone?

It's a northwesterly wind!

• Registered Users Posts: 100 ✭✭El Ninotorres

whitebriar wrote: »
    2 miles west of Arklow co Wicklow

Good stuff.. Sorry I didn't see location on your profile. More ice where I am (Leopardstown) ,

Is there more snow forecast today?

Another snow shower hitting Waterford :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭racso1975

Anybody know what it's like in waterford and for tonight. Going from carlow to waterford @2pm and in college till 10pm. Is it still going to melt/rained away by this evening or will there be another dusting

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

Surprised to wake up to about 2 inches of snow - lovely proper fluffy snow - my son's first experience of proper snow - was magic..

A few miles south of Cavan town

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭fiverfriday

Some images from the roads around Tallaght this morning. All fine to drive on:

n81tallaght.jpg
    n81plazahotel.jpg
    n81plazahotel2.jpg
    belgardrd.jpg
    kiltipperway.jpg

racso1975 wrote: »
    Anybody know what it's like in waterford and for tonight. Going from carlow to waterford @2pm and in college till 10pm. Is it still going to melt/rained away by this evening or will there be another dusting

It will be grand, temps are rising so any snow will be gone by lunch time. Some frost tonight when winds ease.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭whitebriar

Good stuff.. Sorry I didn't see location on your profile. More ice where I am (Leopardstown) ,

Is there more snow forecast today?
    By noon,its likely to be retreating to above 800ft in a mild sector.
    Chance of Irish sea streamers after that but still likely to be wintriest inland and the higher you are.
    Mt's summary in the sticky thread this morning is as good an analysis as possible for the coming days as model agreement is poor atm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,205 ✭✭✭eskimocat

After signing out last night.... I was just in the bed when a flash of light lit up the room, :) so outta the bed again.... over to the window and was treated to a couple of nice lightning strikes and a huge rumble of thunder. Set the clock for 5.30am so that I could check again for snow.... at which time I was rewarded with a winter wonderland scene... slept like a baby then.
    This morning there is about 5 cm of snow IMBY. Happy Happy Eskimocat...
    (Dromahair)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,724 ✭✭✭kennyb3

So local - skerries got 2 -3 inches yet when i got to blakes cross - nada - weird!

• Registered Users Posts: 157 ✭✭Birtles

Still snowing here but not sticking & melting below 200ft

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭Pipmae

Gormanston Train Station, Co Meath :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭M.T. Cranium

Mild sector is currently advancing south into Ulster and may create a warm frontal band of sleet (with snow on higher ground) moving south ahead of the warmer temperatures which will peak around 5-7 C late afternoon in most places. Winds will ease somewhat as this approaches, then may pick up again when a weak cold front trailing the sector arrives overnight. So expect your temperature to rise later today, reach a sort of plateau for several hours, then come down after midnight back to about where it is now.

Some risk of 3-5 cm snowfalls on higher ground ahead of this sector and an outside chance of a more organized band of snow that could affect lower elevations for a time, then turn to sleet and rain briefly. Just drizzle or passing showers in the mild sector itself, then another broken band of mixed wintry showers likely overnight with the cold front. Winds will make a sharp turn to about 350 deg and could even go to 020 deg over parts of the Irish Sea. That could bring Irish Sea streamers close to, if not onto, Wicklow coast by morning. I don't foresee much of that happening Dublin-Meath as the wind shift will stay west of due north but it's an outside chance. Mayo could also see some streamers developing tonight and heading inland by morning on the NNW flow. That could even be the case for Kerry by mid-day. These would be elevation based snow, sleet, hail and rain mixed together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Well what ever happened in sligo town last night after I eventually went to bed, most of it has now gone. Not even enough to sign my user name in the car bonnet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

This morning.

C7172FC09DC24BE8963EFD92C3B9AC85-0000324468-0003154729-00640L-0F8DAA41FF42420295F1359F76A57C3F.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 290 ✭✭Problem123456

Woke up to a bit of snow in navan.
    I heard it has melted already :(

• Registered Users Posts: 290 ✭✭Problem123456

Woke up to a bit of snow in navan.
    I heard it has melted already :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,066 ✭✭✭Washington Irving

Melting very fast now, can't see much being left by midday. Really hoping for another few showers this evening/tonight after this mild spell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 489 ✭✭Mr Bumble

It's a northwesterly wind!

GFS wind maps say something different and show due North from this evening with a hint of NE and then return to N....can a northerly produce streamers???

Mr Bumble wrote: »
    GFS wind maps say something different and show due North from this evening with a hint of NE and then return to N....can a northerly produce streamers???

Last night was the main event this week, let it go ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 541 ✭✭✭weatherfiend

Yeah it's melting here too - can hear it plopping down the gutter. The only good thing is that because the wind is so strong the ground is being dried so if we have any more snow showers it will not fall on really wet ground!!!! Have to keep the faith!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭delw

Well it's safe to say that i woke up this morning to exactly what i went to bed looking at "sweet FA" :(
    Great to read so many got some white gold & pics are great

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭dave1982

See ye in November/December I suppose :D

Last night was the main event this week, let it go ;)
    For Waterford maybe ;)

To answer the question-yes of course a northerly can do streamers,into Ulster and mayo and wales.
    Sometimes the Irish sea goes mad with them but they stay out at sea or hit wales/sw England.
    NNE and they might graze the east

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,852 ✭✭✭homer simpson

Horizontal driving rain here now in Donegal, snow has all but gone. Horrible day out now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭Rebelbrowser

Im getting to like Corks new pro-snow stance. Two snow events in 2 weeks - not too shabby!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭Rebelbrowser

Im getting to like Corks new pro-snow stance. Two snow events in 2 weeks - not too shabby!

This one too....

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 4,473 Mod ✭✭✭✭mickger844posts

A snowy scene in Waterford City this morning but the sun has come out and its all gone now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭Weathering

Snows all gone. bad thunderstorm now. winters over every1 we did crap this year,bottom 3 for snowfall in my life. England especially the SE will get snow Sunday/Monday.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 51 ✭✭Torque.ie

Still lots here on grass, cars & roofs. Sun not melting much for some reason? Winds picked up.

• Registered Users Posts: 197 ✭✭snowjon

The scene here this morning:

IMG_1354.jpg

IMG_1349.jpg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 51 ✭✭Torque.ie

Taken 30 seconds ago. Surprised it's not gone :)

Still loads of snow here in Carlow. Roads are clearing up now though and the wind has picked up. Sunny but cold as feck at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,882 ✭✭✭✭Rock Lesnar

Big Thaw on now, 3 degrees. still alot of snow on the grass but not on the driveway, paths and around trees, if it keeps up the lying snow will be gone by evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 489 ✭✭Mr Bumble

For Waterford maybe ;)

To answer the question-yes of course a northerly can do streamers,into Ulster and mayo and wales.
    Sometimes the Irish sea goes mad with them but they stay out at sea or hit wales/sw England.
    NNE and they might graze the east

should have asked the question I wanted to ask which was can N wind produce streamers for east coast and you read my mind...wind maps show definite but slight drift from N to NNE overnight.....looking out to sea now there's a procession of cloud marching south and if i'm not mistaken, with a slight NE drift onshore......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭irish1967

Heaviest hail shower of the week so far here at the minute. Gone very very dark. (Donegal Town)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,566 ✭✭✭Pangea

leahyl wrote: »
    It wasn't so nice though having to clear the snow from my car :(!
    That should be a joy Leahyl!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 17,007 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gonzo

had hardly anything here again, barely a cm of snow early this morning, long gone now. Hope this isnt it for this pethetic winter so far, So far since 2010 all we've had here is barely enough snow to write my name on the back of the car. I really hope something decent comes soon as time is starting to run out fast.

Gonzo wrote: »
    had hardly anything here again, barely a cm of snow early this morning, long gone now. Hope this isnt it for this pethetic winter so far, So far since 2010 all we've had here is barely enough snow to write my name on the back of the car. I really hope something decent comes soon as time is starting to run out fast.
    Any chance you could stop posting this type of post for a month or so ,as every time you do,like a well timed jinx the snow fceks off to Germany or somewhere
    Cheers :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 845 ✭✭✭tylercollins

More thundersnow here today!

Picture from last nights strike as well in derry (Picture by Kevin Gill)
    BCVquAVCcAAxZq9.jpg

Still loads of snow here in Carlow. Roads are clearing up now though and the wind has picked up. Sunny but cold as feck at the moment.

Within an hour almost all the snow has melted.

Still freezing in the wind though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 695 ✭✭✭talkabout

Weathering wrote: »
    Snows all gone. bad thunderstorm now. winters over every1 we did crap this year,bottom 3 for snowfall in my life. England especially the SE will get snow Sunday/Monday.

Yeah, its been disappointing in Donegal this year but I think it's too early to throw in the towel just yet.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 17,007 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gonzo

Any chance you could stop posting this type of post for a month or so ,as every time you do,like a well timed jinx the snow fceks off to Germany or somewhere
    Cheers :)

sorry I was just posting a simple comment on the lack of snow where I am as this is a public forum and were supposed to speak our mind once it doesnt involve breaking site rules etc etc, with comments like above im not surprised so many good people left here over past year.

• Registered Users Posts: 413 ✭✭aurora 527

I'm putting my snow in the freezer. You aint gettin it sun!

:D:D:D I should have thought of that

sorry I was just posting a simple comment on the lack of snow where I am as this is a public forum and were supposed to speak our mind once it doesnt involve breaking site rules etc etc, with comments like above im not surprised so many good people left here over past year.
    Ah for the love of god,can you not take a joke?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,173 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

Pretty sure that was a light hearted joking comment....chillax(it might bring some snow)

Ah for the love of god,can you not take a joke?

sorry about that, im just getting fed up with lack of snow/constant dissapointments! All I want for this winter is 2 or 3 days where I can go outside and take a walk with the good crunch of snow beneath my feet, nothing exceptional like 2009/2010 just 3/4 inchs of snow would be perfect.

Ah I know :)
    I feel your pain like nearly everyone here.
    Model chasing for snow in Ireland is not good for the nerves!
    You should head down the m50 to the Wicklow mtns every now and again for a fix,you'd be there in no length.