Healthy eating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭Rothmans

jank wrote: »
    Most junk food tastes mank after a while if your off it. Try eating **** if you have eaten healthy for months. It makes you sick. Alot of people eat stuff that the body actually rejects, bread or milk for for example. Small doses are ok for most but a lot of people live on it, not good for he average person. Then people wonder why they are fat/unhappy/depressed/lethargic. Stop eating **** for a start and get more ****ing exercise. Try eating like a cave man, big wake up call!

Ah here. Nothing wrong with bread or milk. Wholesome complete foods really.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 49 Username567

Rothmans wrote: »

Kaiser will have something to say about this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭Rothmans

Kaiser will have something to say about this.

Kaiser?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

Raw grains/milk straight from the cow maybe.

Some bread has virtually no nutritional value. Tasty, but it's not healthy food.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 915 ✭✭✭judgefudge

Studies have shown links between consuming casein (the protein in milk) and developing liver cancer.

Forks over knives is a good documentary to check out with regard to healthy eating and the benefits it can have. I don't eat a vegan diet or anything but it's very interesting to see scientific studies and solid results. Makes ya think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 915 ✭✭✭judgefudge

When it comes down to it though most people here are not dieticians or studying human nutrition so most people are going to have their own opinions based largely on what they like to eat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

Madam_X wrote: »

Some bread has virtually no nutritional value. Tasty, but it's not healthy food.

What she said. Bread not only has little nutritional value (apart from carbohydrates) but is actually full of antinutrients, e.g. phytates which prevent you absorbing minerals, protease inhibitors which prevent the digestion of protein etc..
    Grains don't want to be eaten and have evolved ways to make it through the digestive system intact. We have made grains edible but we have not gotten past all the defence systems.

I have little problem with dairy, as long as you're not allergic to casein or intolerant to lactose it should be fine

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 5,620 ✭✭✭El_Dangeroso

judgefudge wrote: »
    Studies have shown links between consuming casein (the protein in milk) and developing liver cancer.

Forks over knives is a good documentary to check out with regard to healthy eating and the benefits it can have. I don't eat a vegan diet or anything but it's very interesting to see scientific studies and solid results. Makes ya think.

I can tell you without an ounce of hyperbole that the like between casein and liver cancer is so likely to be bunk that I would bet my life on it. Since I enjoy lovely high quality cheese, I probably am :)

Fun fact: Second longest lived people in the world, the Swiss, are the 4th highest consumers of dairy. (1, 2, and 3, the Fins, Swedish and Dutch ain't doing too badly either)

judgefudge wrote: »

You would want to tell that to all the people drinking casein shakes as its a big thing with athletes now.

People running down grains though are having a laugh a good bowl of cereal is the best breakfast you could have.

You would want to tell that to all the people drinking casein shakes as its a big thing with athletes now.

People running down grains though are having a laugh a good bowl of cereal is the best breakfast you could have.

Or so you would think, grains fup you up over time.

Nonsense and 2 or 3 people on boards won't convince me otherwise over most of the rest of the world who all eat their grains. It's like veggies telling me meat is not good :rolleyes:... conspiracy theories.

If you are not celiac you won't find many people advising you against a good hearty bowl of porridge or wheetabix etc for brekkie!

Nonsense and 2 or 3 people on boards won't convince me otherwise over most of the rest of the world who all eat their grains. It's like veggies telling me meat is not good :rolleyes:... conspiracy theories.

If you are not celiac you won't find many people advising you against a good hearty bowl of porridge or wheetabix etc for brekkie!

Can you survive on a diet with significant amounts of grains? Of course, billions of people do this (bear in mind most of these people are peasants with little access to better food). Is it an ideal, healthy diet, I would say no. Of course you shouldn't listen to 2 or 3 random people, have a read (or maybe a skim) of this paper

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Ruudi_Mentari

You know how they say you are what you eat, right.. well tonight I am a chicken fillet kebab. About 10% 'fillet' / 10% lettuce 5% carrot / 75% sauce!

€6. I could've gone up to superquinn n got 2 cartons of tuna salad for that, which tastes better too tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭April O Neill

Madam_X wrote: »

Pasteurised, homogenised milk is still full of nutrients. With potentially dangerous microbes killed off.

Potentially being the operative word. I've been drinking raw, unpasteurised milk since I was a young 'un

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭Magenta

a good bowl of cereal is the best breakfast you could have.

A good bowl of sugar, you mean? You've been watching too many Kellogg's ads.

--Kaiser-- wrote: »
    Potentially being the operative word. I've been drinking raw, unpasteurised milk since I was a young 'un

That's grand but seeing as the pasteurised stuff is good too I don't see the point in taking the risk.

I've never heard of anyone getting sick fro raw milk, bear in mind that most children growing up on dairy farms will be exposed to raw milk. The problem with pasteurisation is that in denatures and destroys some of the nutrients of raw milk

I've never heard of anyone getting sick fro raw milk, bear in mind that most children growing up on dairy farms will be exposed to raw milk.

Really? I have, a good few people I know have got brucellosis from it.

Are these people who have been drinking raw milk since childhood or people newly introduced to it? As immune systems require foreign bacteria to prime them, as it twere

I know that. Everyone needs to drink it for a first time though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭MaxSteele

Magenta wrote: »
    A good bowl of sugar, you mean? You've been watching too many Kellogg's ads.

I'm sure he means weetabix or shredded wheat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 930 ✭✭✭poeticseraphim

try it for 2 weeks, see how much better you feel

I can't believe the difference it makes and the same with exercise.

I feel terrible if I eat flour like pasta or bread regularly. I switched to brown rice oats and some wholegrain cereals (as sugarfree as I can get).

Lots of veg and when i want sweets fruit.

When I eat rubbish I feel rubbish.

Grains are ****e, milk is awesome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭chases0102

Lads what is good for you these days?

I always thought, up until recently, that pasta and bread were good for you! Now it seems they are not.

What would be considered a healthy breakfast, lunch and dinner for example?

Breakfast: Bacon and eggs.

Lunch: Fish and veg.

Dinner: Steak and veg.

If you play sports or train throw in a few potatoes or sweet potatoes over the week.

Also, snack on fruit, nuts and berries in moderation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 778 ✭✭✭jessiejam

I think its whatever works for you personally. A friend of mine is constantly eating something, she is vegetarian. she has this quorn stuff instead of meat and she is skin and bone. Looks awful. If she looks that awful on the outside, I doubt she is healthy on the inside either. Just because you are size 8 and 8 stone doesn't mean you are healthy.

Another friend has lost loads of weight in recent times by eating super healthy, cut out wheat, dairy etc she looks well but her head looks too big for the rest of her. Its as if she isn't supposed to be so small, and with the huge effort she puts in the girl is sick every other week, she also gets stressed a lot and takes a multitude of different supplements and vitamins.

For me what works is 3 healthy meals a day. Cereal and fruit for breakfast, salad/soup or sandwich for lunch, and a good balanced dinner meat/fish, veg and pasta/spuds/rice. No snacking and 30-40 mins exercise 3-4 times per week. I cut out the biscuits and snacking at night time an eventually stopped craving them altogether.

A takeaway once a fortnight is ok for me too. A healthy mind is as important as a healthy body, no point in getting pissed off because you can't have a treat now and then.

I've lost 10lbs since doing this at the start of November. And as another poster said I don't feel sick at the thoughts of going shopping for clothes anymore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

MaxSteele wrote: »
    I'm sure he means weetabix or shredded wheat.

They are still sugary sh!te.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 930 ✭✭✭poeticseraphim

It amusing though as to how diet have now become a weird status or moral thing. 'I FOLLOW THE TRUE DIET ALL YE OTHER DIETS ARE FALSE AND BLASPHEMOUS'

LOL....people get very self righteous ......and they underestimate being active sport and busy.

And genes....i'm skinny i only really cleaned up my diet in the last year or too..i feel great but look no different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,958 ✭✭✭Mr_Spaceman

I think portion size and having the discipline not to overload your plate is important here.

For instance, there's certainly an element of truth in that French women don't get fat.

They enjoy the good things, if not necessarily the healthiest things: eg, cheese, croissants, ham, cakes and what not. But not so much as regards salty snacks between meals though.

Perhaps the French do all this in moderation, whereas in Ireland/UK we tend to be more gluttonous. Why this is, I'm not sure.