Garda shot dead during robbery at Louth Credit Union(Mod warning, 1st post.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,891 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

Gardaí suspect a teenage girl was the driver of the getaway car used by the killers of Detective Garda Adrian Donohoe.

The garda operation is continuing to focus on a cross border criminal gang made up of teenagers and men in their early 20s

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/gardai-suspect-teenage-girl-drove-getaway-car-used-by-donohoe-killers-583287.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭good logs...

this story may take a big turn tonight........i wont post it case its on true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭CZ 453

I can't see the story on that link???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,245 ✭✭✭Gee_G

this story may take a big turn tonight........i wont post it case its on true.
    I see a few posts in the Louth forum alright regarding happenings tonight. But nothing on news so it's hard to know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Gee_G wrote: »
    I see a few posts in the Louth forum alright regarding happenings tonight. But nothing on news so it's hard to know.

It's bullshit. The rumor started circulating on Twitter about 2 hours after Paul Williams' Independent article went live earlier today.
    "Criminals operating along the Border are furious over this murder because the police activity is bad for their illegal activities. They have been anxious to inform us they had nothing to do with it,"

Republican gangs may even decide to take action against the killers of Adrian Donohoe because of the trouble they have caused, the source added.

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/girl-16-is-suspected-member-of-garda-murder-gang-3371971.html

Already been said in this thread, but that cnut does nothing but fuel flames. He's as much a scumbag as the people he writes about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

The whole lot of the reporters using this as a chance to promote their own fictional notoriety is sickening; spreading false rumours and lies solely for personal aggrandisement. They have made their fortunes on the backs of criminals and the misery they spread for years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,245 ✭✭✭Gee_G

It's bullshit. The rumor started circulating on Twitter about 2 hours after Paul Williams' Independent article went live earlier today.

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/girl-16-is-suspected-member-of-garda-murder-gang-3371971.html

Already been said in this thread, but that cnut does nothing but fuel flames. He's as much a scumbag as the people he writes about.

Thought so alright, no mention of anything on the news. I often wonder who the hell starts these rumours!! Too much time on their hands!(I say as I sit looking at Boards for the last hour :D)

Gee_G wrote: »
    Thought so alright, no mention of anything on the news. I often wonder who the hell starts these rumours!! Too much time on their hands!(I say as I sit looking at Boards for the last hour :D)

The poor dopes probably don't even know they're doing it. All it takes is some eejit sharing what they've heard and a half dozen more fools to take it as gospel.

As angry as people are about operational inefficiencies, would it not be prudent to keep it in-house?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

pah wrote: »
    You do realise that there are traffic corps outside of dublin and the DMR you know?

ANPR is only fitted to traffic & RSU vehicles, which nationwide would probably account for your 164 figure

There is NO access to realtime info on vehicles or anything on PULSE from the sh1tty family saloons we drive with the disco lights glued on top.

Apologies, I got it wrong.
    My bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

bedirect wrote: »
    ming should realise that the guards dealt with corruption over the years, and tossed those involved out on their ear. Its a pity the clergy didnt do the same, instead of transferring sex abusers to other parishes.The guards themselves took guards to court over the years, seems like a dirty job, but thats why the ombudsman was introduced. Ming must have had too much Wacky-Backy that night. Typical politican, looking for cheap headlines, I wonder will people vote him in again

This is 'typical' of the hysteria of joe public. If anything TV3 should be taking the flak here for having the discussion. Ming (and I'm no fan of his) was just responding in a general debate about policing. Why would his opinion change because of a tragic event? They weren't discussing that. The over reaction is a bit juvenile and face'book'tious tbh.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

One of the main characters which is suspected of being involved in the killing recently of Irish Garda Detective Adrian Donohoe, during an attempted robbery, has been formally warned that his life is in serious danger.

The man has received a ‘Osman warning’ – something the Police Service of Northern Ireland (PSNI) are legally force to give to anyone once they know, according to received intelligence, that a life is in danger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭macadam

They should hand him over with evidence.
    Scum of the earth the lot of them.

macadam wrote: »
    They should hand him over with evidence.
    Scum of the earth the lot of them.

I'm fairly sure that any usable material the N.I. police might have on the gang, has been handed over already to Gardi this side of the border.
    When the Irish Gardi are think they are ready to be able to secure a conviction, if any of the gang is still in the North, extradition will rapid become a process carried out.

Biggins wrote: »
    One of the main characters which is suspected of being involved in the killing recently of Irish Garda Detective Adrian Donohoe during an attempted robbery

Did you put that through a translator a couple of times?

From todays Times (England):
    ...Intelligence on the gang, comprising a loose network of about 15 people, suggests some of them may be panicking. At least one has told friends of his regret about the killing, according to security sources. The garda investigation is being assisted by the PSNI, which is monitoring some of the suspects who are now in Northern Ireland. Others have been seen in Dundalk.
    LINK: http://www.thesundaytimes.co.uk/sto/news/ireland/article1206877.ece

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭macadam

I'm fairly sure that any usable material the N.I. police might have on the gang, has been handed over already to Gardi this side of the border.
    When the Irish Gardi are think they are ready to be able to secure a conviction, if any of the gang is still in the North, extradition will rapid become a process carried out.

I didn't mean the PSNI should hand him over I mean't those that issued the threat, hand him over with evidence, they are very good at getting people to talk!!!

True - but the supposed culprits/killer might have a legal way to escape prosecution by a legal act of arrest which was facilitated/aided by a previous illegal act.
    Slippery murdering creeps will use every trick in the (law) book to get off what ever they can.
    (I'm just saying its a further possibility, however unlikely.)

Republican groups have been trying hard to make it known that they want nothing to do with the murdering schites and that supposedly, none of their members was/is involved.

Bit of wishful thinking that they have any actual evidence.

As regards the crime in the South, true - but hopefully they have info on their previous activities and associations which might further help our boys in blue this side of the border.

The warned suspect was told of the risk to his life during he appearing to sign at a Police station last Friday. Something he has to do due to bail conditions for previous activities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,002 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

True - but the supposed culprits/killer might have a legal way to escape prosecution by a legal act of arrest which was facilitated/aided by a previous illegal act.
    Slippery murdering creeps will use every trick in the (law) book to get off what ever they can.
    (I'm just saying its a further possibility, however unlikely.)

Republican groups have been trying hard to make it known that they want nothing to do with the murdering schites and that supposedly, none of their members was/is involved.

It's highly unlikey these individuals,by themselves,would have the mental capability to formulate their defence strategy,BUT,it is absolutely certain that,even as we type,at least one senior Legal figure is working diligently upon such a thing.

It's quite predictable really,that when charged (inevitable now IMO) an application for Free Legal Aid will be lodged and accqiesced to by the State,allowing the entire Merry Go Round to continue spinning.

Thus the taxes paid by Garda Donoghue in life,will go towards funding the defence costs of his own murderer.

Not an easy conundrum to escape from,except perhaps by substantially tightening the scope of Free Legal Aid,particularly in respect to repeat offenders at every level.

Once in custody,the State's entire focus will shift to ensuring the safety and health of the accused to the exclusion of any responsibility to the family,friends or colleagues of Garda Donoghue.

"Slippery Murdering Creeps" they undoubtedly are,however they have a support network of equal Slipperiness throughout our systems.

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

Resistance to the idea of perpetual legal aid for repeat offenders is probably futile; the idee-fixe of the over-riding importance of the rights of the individual, followed blindly by those who can profit from such rights, will ensure that criminals can act with impunity, never fearing that they'll not have legal back up from supposedly respectable members of the legal profession. The stick used against any person who questions this sickening state of affairs is that you or I or any other person could be wrongly accused of anything; using the natural moral cowardice of the mob against them has proved to be a very rich furrow, the taxes of the slain being used to look after the slayer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,356 ✭✭✭MakeEmLaugh

Both PSNI and Garda intelligence units have said that dissident republican involvement is unlikely.

Taken from IrishCentral three hours ago...
    Arrests imminent in murdered detective case as dissident Republicans shop gang

Irish police are ready to make a number of arrests as they chase the gang who murdered detective Adrian Donohoe...

Police are also understood to have received ‘assistance’ from other criminals and dissident Republicans...

One member of the gang is said to be related to a senior Real IRA figure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

Taken from IrishCentral three hours ago...
    Sure didn't you read the dissos are to blame for the horseburgers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Mardy Bum

Two suspected suicides in Ravensdale connected with the gang involved in the murder now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Mardy Bum wrote: »
    Two suspected suicides in Ravensdale connected with the gang involved in the murder now.

Same false rumour as last week i'd say.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

teddyboy wrote: »
    He was murdered in the end...just goes to show you

Show who what, exactly?

Very pertinent there, hippy.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

Settle down there, cat and lick your wounds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭mark renton

Hippy itchin for a fight, things must be slow tonight if thats the best you could dig up.