Garda shot dead during robbery at Louth Credit Union(Mod warning, 1st post.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,062 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

Actually your post raises many more questions - given the part of the country we are talking about surely extra caution would be taken approaching such a car?Anyways my curiosity was in regards to maybe it wasnt an ambush, maybe he surprised them.

You will have to forgive me here if it appears I am applying blame - I do believe this is still a discussion forum.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

catallus wrote: »

Can I ask if anyone here agrees that if it should be revealed that these dicks were on suspended sentences or have a long list of previous serious convictions that at least some of the blood lays on the hands of the Criminal Justice System?

No, not if they have served their sentences. What do you suggest we do, lock up every career criminal for life?

I worked with someone who spent many years in prison for a serious bombing offence. They came out, and have since been a productive, working, tax paying member of society.

Far too often on here, we see the American system of incarceration for three strikes etc/youngsters tried as adults being villified.

People deserve a chance.

I would argue the problem is with our prisons. Read up on our prison system versus the Nordics, theirs is less punitive, encourages personal responsibility, yet their rate of recidivism seems less than ours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

I'm all for giving people a chance. It's funny that you mention the Nordic situation, there was an interesting letter in the Times earlier this week that pointed out the recidivism statistics are misleading because custodial sentences are rare; an example was given of a 3 month suspended sentence and a fine for a an aggressive sexual assault on a disabled woman( must find link). How can one be a recidivist if one cannot get jail?

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/letters/2013/0129/1224329398469.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,521 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

Stheno wrote: »

People deserve a chance.

You're given a chance at life, some people use their chance to kill and steal from others or in your friend's case blow them to smithereens. If the punishments were harsh enough then maybe more young people would make the right decisions in life in regards to crime. I've no sympathy for criminals..you had your chance..now suffer for your actions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭John Mongo

Paulway wrote: »
    This is tragic all the way around. A family has been shattered, I also would not like to he the garda partner in this case.
    I hope he is not dead because of training.
    If he was concerned about a car and aproached it - why was his partner still sitting inside the gards car.
    He got no shot off which does not look good.
    Protective posture.
    No one need be concerned when one garda covers another - they were there to provide armed security.
    I was in Galway last week and saw some army guys "strolling" down the town - side by side - with slung weapons - "having a chat".
    They were providing armed security also.
    Don't wish to tar with the same brush, but if you are "armed security" you are in a forward position and should behave as such.
    And be trained to behave as such.
    If this was a lack of training - SHAME ON THOSE WHO ARE RESPONCIBLE FOR GARDS TRAINING - AGAIN.

It's Galway, not downtown Baghdad. I suppose they probably should've had a GPMG with them, just to insure they had the ability to lay down a heavier volume of fire than any potential enemy.

Why was his partner still in the car? - Quite frankly because chances are upon seeing an empty car, the decision was made to go have a look and see what the craic with it was. The last thing going through your head, in Ireland, even on an escort, would be "I'm going to get ambushed here". Things haven't gotten so bad that you have to treat every empty car like it's a bloody VBIED. As has been pointed out, Garda come across suspicious looking cars everyday.

No need to be concerned when one Garda covers another - That's deadly... So who covers the cash, as part of a two man escort?

He didn't have his weapon out and didn't get a shot off - As has already been said, nobody is gonna treat every single empty car like they're gonna get ambushed, even on an escort. The reason he didn't get a shot off is because he was ambushed, simple as. The initiative was with the scum as they hid and they used it.

Det Garda Donohoe was not poorly trained. You do not become trusted with firearms in a primarily unarmed force, by being poorly trained. To imply anything of the sort, or that Det Garda Donohoe's death was somehow his own fault, as a result of bad drills, is just plain wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭bedirect

Did anybody watch Primetime 2 nights ago, they advertised a "tell all about border policing", it was the worst program I ever saw. The 2 ex Gardai had not got a clue about what is really happening. Prime time my foot, they should have got eloquent retired Gardai with real experience to go on the show

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

bedirect wrote: »
    they should have got eloquent retired Gardai with real experience to go on the show

The country's full of them, who all know how it should be done now...that they have retired.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Happyman42 wrote: »
    The country's full of them, who all know how it should be done now...that they have retired.:rolleyes:

This country is full of nobodies who never served a day in their lives, lecturing at those who did.

The Central hotel fires in Bundoran a great example, real men had to get throught that, while other real men celebrated bombing innocent individuals.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

K-9 wrote: »
    This country is full of nobodies who never served a day in their lives, lecturing at those who did.

The Central hotel fires in Bundoran a great example, real men had to get throught that, while other real men celebrated bombing innocent individuals.

Just an observation K-9, I'm sure the hard working, over stretched members of the force are equally annoyed by the sniping from the sidelines by their former bosses.

I'm sure you'll be able to quote this sniping from the sidelines from former bosses? If you can't I'd suggest shutting up about going on about it.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

I'm sure you'll be able to quote this sniping from the sidelines from former bosses? If you can't I'd suggest shutting up about going on about it.

I wasn't 'going on' about it. You decided to use my observation to attempt to drag the thread off topic. Are we allowed to make observations?

I'm still awaiting your quotes, links and answers to my questions. Provide links to support your assertions, Then I'll think about answering your question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

John Mongo wrote: »
    Det Garda Donohoe was not poorly trained. You do not become trusted with firearms in a primarily unarmed force, by being poorly trained. To imply anything of the sort, or that Det Garda Donohoe's death was somehow his own fault, as a result of bad drills, is just plain wrong.
    The guards are trained just fine, they are the pride of this country, unarmed yet keeping the peace in almost every situation. No amount of training or weapons will save you when some nimrod just unloads his shotgun in your direction.

I'm still awaiting your quotes, links and answers to my questions. Provide links to support your assertions, Then I'll think about answering your question.
    Not interested in getting any more involved in this discussion on this thread, you have made it quite clear where it will go.
    It was just an observation, you can agree or disagree with it, they are never off PK and chat shows.

Not interested in getting any more involved in this discussion on this thread, you have made it quite clear where it will go.
    It was just an observation, you can agree or disagree with it, they are never off PK and chat shows.

Well that is a tad convenient for you, though very consistent. Make an assertion, back down when asked to back it up and cowardicely retreat from the thread when your "observations" get asked for evidence.

Well that is a tad convenient for you, though very consistent.

Not at all, just following the Mod warning in post one and I know where you want to drag this too. This coward or unreal man ain't going there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭CZ 453

Any update on the scuts who did this yet?Are we still looking at the north Dublin criminals living in Warrenpoint?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

"Retired employee is bitter and revels in opportunity to criticise former employer: Shocker!"

Talking heads are to be expected when there's a chance to gain sympathy by pointing out the obvious: it's easy to talk smack from the sidelines. The fact is that policing anywhere is an ongoing process, it can't be distilled into soundbites and a terrible incident shouldn't be used as political bait; it shouldn't even be used to criticise the Minister for Justice who is, I think, trying to modernise the Force. There is a lot of anger at the killing of the Garda, but to use that genuine emotion as a political weapon is wrong. Fianna Fail are doing their best to try to conflate the issues, which is yet another reason to hate them.

According to a lot of commentators, the closing of Garda stations is felt as being an abandonment of rural areas. That is a very closed minded argument. The stations that are being closed were hardly manned as it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭mark renton

Link ? Or is that just an off the cuff observation only mods are permitted to make?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

Link ? Or is that just an off the cuff observation only mods are permitted to make?

What is your problem? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭macadam

I been told there was one man arrested last night in connection with the shooting and the robbery, from the north Louth area.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭mark renton

What is your problem? :confused:
    I dont expect you to understand wc. You seem happy enough to be told what to think... I have difficulties with such attempted influences.

Let me know if you can help me to be like you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,245 ✭✭✭Gee_G

macadam wrote: »
    I been told there was one man arrested last night in connection with the shooting and the robbery, from the north Louth area.
    It says on the independent site that they believe a gang of up to 20 people(well known to them) were involved in organising etc. One Of them believed to be a 16year old girl and the oldest of them only in their 20's. What sort of a fckd up world are we living in here.

I dont expect you to understand wc. You seem happy enough to be told what to think... I have difficulties with such attempted influences.

Let me know if you can help me to be like you.

I apologise for making an off the cuff remark on After Hours while posting as a user, shocking stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Show Time

I apologise for making an off the cuff remark on After Hours while posting as a user, shocking stuff.
    He did ask had you anything to back up your remake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭Red Pepper

I think you should be apologising for making a stupid remark rather than an off the cuff remark.

I am a bit confused with the incredible love-in in relation to our Gardai recently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Just to get this back on topic, the entire "gang" of scuts is on Facebook it turns out. Aged between 16 and 24/25.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 spoonfed

mike65 wrote: »
    Just to get this back on topic, the entire "gang" of scuts is on Facebook it turns out. Aged between 16 and 24/25.

Source?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,037 ✭✭✭Plazaman

mike65 wrote: »

I find if I just type anything on my keyboard it comes out on screen.

>>>>> Conspiracy Theories

<<<<< Roleplaying Games

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic