Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Don't bother with a CV, let St. Anthony do the job hunting

• 31-01-2013 1:16pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,399 ✭✭✭

Interested to see if others have come across this.

I visited my mother's house last night for a catch-up, I've been job hunting since December as my company downsized then.
    Hours upon hours spent on my CV, applications, interview prep, actual interviews etc and I land a good role this week.

Upon telling her the news, she says 'Oh, I must put a tenner in St. Anthony's box' I ask what that has to do with my news and she says that in fact it was her prayers to St. Anthony and her dead aunt that landed me the job!

Now, I'm an atheist, and usually try to be tolerant of other's beliefs but it's hard sometimes to sit there and listen to the level of nonsense coming out of some people.

I point out to her that it was in fact me who went to the job interviews and I didn't see this Saint there, in fact he didn't even give me any interview tips beforehand! So, if there is a monetary reward on offer for a successful job hunt then perhaps I should get this tenner. Suffice to say, it led to a small argument, I didn't get a tenner and she still believes imaginary Saint's are better at getting results than her son.

Has anyone else come across this kind of thinking before in relation to job hunting, getting things done etc? I find it insulting to have real human efforts ignored and attributed to 'Saints' and 'God' , I mean if he did exist, why help me and not the countless thousands who must be praying!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

My mum used to light candles all the time for stuff like exams, and still does I suspect. The fact that somebody cares enough about you to bother you should be enough to be thankful and move on without "going there".

So unless in your mother's eyes St Tony was the sole reason for your successful return to employment, I'd let it go. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭BizzyC

I dont mind if someone puts their own success down to god, that's their choice.

I'd be unhappy if someone tried to attribute my achievements to the same imaginary friend though.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

Jason1984 wrote: »
    Has anyone else come across this kind of thinking before in relation to job hunting, getting things done etc?

Oh yes, my parents are big into that stuff.

I've just thanked St. Anto on your behalf btw, cos there's no way you got that job through good prep and hard work!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,404 Mod ✭✭✭✭robindch

[...] in fact it was her prayers to St. Anthony and her dead aunt that landed me the job! [...]
    Happens with Popette all the time. Basically, absolutely anything good that happens to anybody in the entire extended family, and whoosh!, up pops Popette to claim that it was her prayers that did it.

But yeah, I'm generally with Dades on this one.

To those of us who have to get up off our bums from time to time to make things happen, it can be frustrating to have somebody else show up at the end and attempt to grab the glory. But bearing in mind how quickly things can go south when a religious person abandons their prayers and starts trying to use their religion to help in person, well, I'll kick back and enjoy the glory-grabbing for the slightly sorry show it is :)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 81,309 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

The first thing I was told by my grandmother on passing some exams was "that's because I prayed for you"
    No granny it was the studying and hard work actually
    I'll stop studying and just go to mass will I

• Registered Users Posts: 8,423 ✭✭✭Morag

Beruthiel wrote: »
    Oh yes, my parents are big into that stuff.

I've just thanked St. Anto on your behalf btw, cos there's no way you got that job through good prep and hard work!

Ever tell them that is considered witchcraft? Or that Vaudun/voodoo believers to the same thing? :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 33,404 ✭✭✭✭Penn

One of the first times I started to doubt the existence of god was when about 10 or 11 and I was trying to find something in my wardrobe. Searching for about 20 minutes or so. I prayed to St.Anthony (Saint of lost things) to help me find it.

I found it.

Another 25 minutes later, and obviously, because I kept looking.

I'm not saying if St.Anthony was real what I was looking for should have suddenly appeared in front of my eyes, but if he was real and heard my prayer, he should he at least made it easier to find. 25 minutes more of searching when I've already cleared out most of the wardrobe is not helping. At all.

Maybe if I'd found it within a minute or two of praying, I wouldn't be posting here today.

F*ck you, Anthony. You've condemned me to Hell.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 19,219 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

I may be misunderstanding what she is saying, but I am fairly sure that my mother prays to my grandmother and lights a candle to her when ever she wants a favour.

But then my grandmother always ignored Jesus and went straight to his mother when favour asking so I assume my mother's 'logic' is that me Nan has an inside track to the BVM.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,943 ✭✭✭wonderfulname

I didn't know St. Anthony found jobs, thought he was more a keys down the back of the couch kind of saint.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭username123

I didn't know St. Anthony found jobs, thought he was more a keys down the back of the couch kind of saint.

He's had to expand business due to the downturn in the economy.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,736 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Tell her to at least give the money to a charity that'll do some good with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

prayer.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Kidchameleon

OP I think you were being a bit bad to your mam, she may believe in stupid things, but its her way, she was doing what she felt was the right thing for you. You should keep your opinions to yourself next time.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 81,309 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

OP I think you were being a bit bad to your mam, she may believe in stupid things, but its her way, she was doing what she felt was the right thing for you. You should keep your opinions to yourself next time.

Maybe she should have said "well done" and kept HER opinions to herself

You should keep your opinions to yourself next time.
    If she hasn't kept her opinions to herself, then why should Jason1984 keep his opinions to himself?

^^^ Snap!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭timetogo

What if two people go for a job and both have somebody praying to St. Anthony?
    Does the harder prayer win? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Congrats on the job! My last round of job hunting involved something like this. I remember coming back on the train from Dublin from a rather rude interview and found a medal of St. Anthony tucked into the inside pocket. My Mam definitely put it there. Was rather pissed off and threw it away. Anyways flash forward a week and I got an offer for an interview held a few days after. I tell the parents and Mam immediately revealed her medal plant and that he did the job. I didn't want to ruin the moment by telling the truth.

Seems he crops up a lot, is he a specialist recruitment guy or what?!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭Oregano_State

My mom has taken to throwing a bit of holy water at my car just before I drive back to Dublin after being home for the weekend, which at first I found funny, but have since gotten used to it.

Nice gesture I suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Kidchameleon

robindch wrote: »
    If she hasn't kept her opinions to herself, then why should Jason1984 keep his opinions to himself?

Whats wrong with saying "ill throw a tenner in St Anthony's box"? How is that giving an opinion?

My mom has taken to throwing a bit of holy water at my car just before I drive back to Dublin
    Arrrrgghh, it burns, it burns!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

My mom has taken to throwing a bit of holy water at my car just before I drive back to Dublin after being home for the weekend, which at first I found funny, but have since gotten used to it.

Nice gesture I suppose.

You should tell your insurance company. I reckon your policy will come down by at least half.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

Nice gesture I suppose.

My mam also does this and it's annoying as feck. Now, I've no doubt this Holy water was spiritually pure but on occasions it can be quite the stain causer. Possibly due to the bowl the water is stored in. On one particularly late light that I was driving to Limerick the blend of holy water used left an invisible smear on the driver's side of the windscreen. The first oncoming car I met completely revealed the smear and I couldn't see sh*t through it!. It was probably the most terrifying moment I've ever had driving. I was just extremely fortunate that it happened on a road with a few dips that gave me a few split seconds of vision to catch my bearing. But I don't ever recall panicking as much on the road when driving. It was terrifying!

I mentioned it to mam, she just shrugged it off as me going too fast and not being witty enough to peer out the bottom of the smear. She did have one decent point though : That I should always wash the windscreen before heading off. (Preferably not with holy water!)

• Registered Users Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭lazygal

timetogo wrote: »
    What if two people go for a job and both have somebody praying to St. Anthony?
    Does the harder prayer win? :)
    No, whoever's bought the most indulgences does.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,562 ✭✭✭eyescreamcone

Sounds like a "Look at me, I've got a job" thread :)
    Only joking - congrats!

Btw - Thank god for IVF ;)
    Confuses them every time

• Registered Users Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

Whats wrong with saying "ill throw a tenner in St Anthony's box"? How is that giving an opinion?

It's the opinion that someone else's effort, in this case some guy called Anthony, is what got the OP a job and not all their hard work.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,423 ✭✭✭Morag

Bannasidhe wrote: »
    I may be misunderstanding what she is saying, but I am fairly sure that my mother prays to my grandmother and lights a candle to her when ever she wants a favour.

But then my grandmother always ignored Jesus and went straight to his mother when favour asking so I assume my mother's 'logic' is that me Nan has an inside track to the BVM.

I've found that pretty common among 'irish catholics' esp those who are from 'down the country'. Sure it's as if your granny is up in heaven with nothing else to do then 'bother' God or Mary and ask for favour, g'wan g'wan g'wan.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭jackofalltrades

A former girlfriend of mines mother used to always says prayers to St. Anthony when her daughter went for an interview.
    Every time my ex got the job her mother was straight in there putting it all down to St. Anthony.

Which you could say was all harmless, but her mother had a track record of putting her daughter down and not believing in her.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,399 ✭✭✭sozbox

Great replies! Yes she means well and there's never any serious argument, I just see it as a curiosity. Especially when St. Anthony is meant to find lost items which technically didn't apply in my situation as I didn't lose anything :)

Reminds me also, when I was younger, my nan used to put a statue of some saint (can't remember who) outside the back door the night before a wedding in the family. This particular saint was apparently known for creating sunny weather, despite a success rate of about 2% she still does it. Again, another oddity from my point of view.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭lazygal

Great replies! Yes she means well and there's never any serious argument, I just see it as a curiosity. Especially when St. Anthony is meant to find lost items which technically didn't apply in my situation as I didn't lose anything :)

Reminds me also, when I was younger, my nan used to put a statue of some saint (can't remember who) outside the back door the night before a wedding in the family. This particular saint was apparently known for creating sunny weather, despite a success rate of about 2% she still does it. Again, another oddity from my point of view.
    That'd be the child of Prague, giving Irish brides false hope for generations. My mum put hers out before my non church wedding. Didn't bring the sun out, but at least it didn't rain.