Garda shot dead during robbery at Louth Credit Union(Mod warning, 1st post.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,885 ✭✭✭Stabshauptmann

marcsignal wrote: »
    Garda intelligence and G2 know a lot more than you think. You don't come to their attention for little things like shoplifting. If they took a pro-active approach, they would get no complaints from me.
    MagicSean wrote: »
    There's plenty of crimes that have been solved but never got to court or through court. Courtrooms are there to err on the side of caution. They prove guilt beyond reasonable doubt in a legal sense. Knowing is pretty easy. Proving is pretty hard.

Such absolute bollix being talked.

Lets look at our closest neighbour, because they signed up to that tripe.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Death_of_Jean_Charles_de_Menezes

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Guildford_Four_and_Maguire_Seven

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Birmingham_Six

Not that we are a whole lot better

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nicky_Kelly

Do you want the Gardai in Donegal to send in the list of things they "know"
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Morris_Tribunal

The absolute ****e being talked here. Clamouring for guns for gardai; when it was an armed garda who was killed. And you want to avenge a man who made law and order his business by summary execution?

We have laws & courts.
    Give AGS and the DPP the resources they need to bring criminals to Justice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭TomOnBoard

I echo the support for the family who has lost it's father, husband, brother, son. I decry the violence that felt it was acceptable to ambush that man and cold- bloodedly shoot him point-blank in his brain.

May The Lord help his Family, and have mercy on his Soul!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭ardle1

Fair enough, but priests are meant to give out sermons, not directions.

Your havin a laugh,,RIght???

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15,824 ✭✭✭✭paddy147

I wonder would there still be a 50k euro reward if it hadnt have been a garda who was killed?

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/50000-reward-offered-to-find-killers-of-heroic-officer-3370004.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

macadam wrote: »
    Just had two Dundalk detectives call to my door checking CCTV cameras in my area.
    These guys were at the funeral and straight back to the job afterwards, fair play and respect to them.
    I would urge anyone in the areas from Lordship to Clogherhead and along the border with CCTV installed to check back on there tapes and contact Dundalk gardai with the slightest bit of information

That was some send of today, no more than the man deserved.

My Dad got the Garda send off a couple of years ago, it's an impressive thing.

Apparently it was only introduced recently for retired Guards who died. He'd have been very proud of getting the tricolour draped across his coffin and the Guards carrying the coffin.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,702 ✭✭✭P.Walnuts

Exactly .........Paul Williams was on the radio earlier and said that the '' leader of the gang is a gentleman from C***********n ''

Surprised at Williams calling him a 'gentleman ' too

He was on Frontline on Monday saying the gang were Dubliners who had migrated to South Down to take advantage of the border...

Has he changed his tune now or was he still saying the same? the Irish Times discounted that theory I think can't be sure...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 Paulway

This is tragic all the way around. A family has been shattered, I also would not like to he the garda partner in this case.
    I hope he is not dead because of training.
    If he was concerned about a car and aproached it - why was his partner still sitting inside the gards car.
    He got no shot off which does not look good.
    Protective posture.
    No one need be concerned when one garda covers another - they were there to provide armed security.
    I was in Galway last week and saw some army guys "strolling" down the town - side by side - with slung weapons - "having a chat".
    They were providing armed security also.
    Don't wish to tar with the same brush, but if you are "armed security" you are in a forward position and should behave as such.
    And be trained to behave as such.
    If this was a lack of training - SHAME ON THOSE WHO ARE RESPONCIBLE FOR GARDS TRAINING - AGAIN.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,245 ✭✭✭Gee_G

Paulway wrote: »
    This is tragic all the way around. A family has been shattered, I also would not like to he the garda partner in this case.
    If he was concerned about a car and aproached it - why was his partner still sitting inside the gards car.
    Protective posture.
    No one need be concerned when one garda covers another - they were there to provide armed security.
    I was in Galway last week and saw some army guys "strolling" down the town - side by side - with slung weapons - "having a chat".
    Don't wish to tar with the same brush, but if you are "armed security" you are in a forward position and should behave as such.
    If this was a lack of training - SHAME ON THOSE WHO ARE RESPONCIBLE FOR GARDS TRAINING - AGAIN.
    Lack of training? Are you serious?
    You obviously have no idea how much on going training that Garda Detectives have to do, especially on ranges etc.
    But why you would think that this poor man would approach a car with his gun in hand and get a "shot off",as you put it, seems completely daft to me.
    And what exactly is "protective posture" supposed to mean?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,226 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Protective posture.

Thankfully to date Gardaí, even armed ones, don't have to approach cars in the fashion you describe which would probably be the norm in such places as the US.

We haven't reached the state where when stopped by police you have to remain in the car with your hands on top of the steering wheel.
    Even in other Western countries (Australia, NZ, Canada, France, Norway, Spain, UK) I have not experienced that level of mistrust between police and civilians.

Perhaps this incident will cause that mindset to take hold and interaction between Garda and the public will change ?
    It probably will at least when it comes to money transfers and convoys.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Show Time

Longer it goes on the more it seems the scum involved are after getting out of Ireland.

The gardai are not feared anymore....thats the problem right there.

You have young lads as gardai that are so small and puny and fearfull (see it in their eyes) that they couldnt blow a feather away,let alone break up a fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,226 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

paddy147 wrote: »
    The gardai are not feared anymore....thats the problem right there.

You have young lads as gardai that are so small and puny and fearfull (see it in their eyes) that they couldnt blow a feather away,let alone break up a fight.

The fact they may be smaller is not the issue.
    The problem is years ago the Garda could take some little toerag aside and give him a few slaps, a kick in the ar** and send him on his way.
    Now they would be sued and face reprecussions.

Even when they do have a case, the courts are too lenient, the jails don't have enough room because they have to have room for license fee non payers and farmers objecting to a multinational ploughing an unsafe natural gas pipeline through their back garden.

Face it we need more prison spaces and we need no remission sh**e for criminals who refuse to admit guilt or engage with rehabilitation of any kind.

BTW the funeral yesterday reminded me of Robert McCallion.
    His killer got 7 years in jail for dangerous driving causing death with the last year suspended.
    He got 3 years for stealing a car and five years for the reckless endangerment of Garda Joanne Doherty and Shane Lavelle when he drove at them.
    He also got three years for each of the eight burglary and criminal damage charges.
    All sentences were to run concurrently.
    He would get as much if he imported garlic and not paid the duty. :mad:

I am not allowed discuss …

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭mark renton

ardle1 wrote: »

Your havin a laugh,,RIght???
    Which part of that did u find funny?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭teddyboy

jmayo wrote: »

BTW the funeral yesterday reminded me of Robert McCallion.
    His killer got 7 years in jail for dangerous driving causing death with the last year suspended.
    He got 3 years for stealing a car and five years for the reckless endangerment of Garda Joanne Doherty and Shane Lavelle when he drove at them.
    He also got three years for each of the eight burglary and criminal damage charges.
    All sentences were to run concurrently.
    He would get as much if he imported garlic and not paid the duty. :mad:

He was murdered in the end...just goes to show you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

teddyboy wrote: »
    He was murdered in the end...just goes to show you

No he wasnt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Such absolute bollix being talked.

Lets look at our closest neighbour, because they signed up to that tripe.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Death_of_Jean_Charles_de_Menezes

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Guildford_Four_and_Maguire_Seven

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Birmingham_Six

Not that we are a whole lot better

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nicky_Kelly

Do you want the Gardai in Donegal to send in the list of things they "know"
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Morris_Tribunal

The absolute ****e being talked here. Clamouring for guns for gardai; when it was an armed garda who was killed. And you want to avenge a man who made law and order his business by summary execution?

We have laws & courts.
    Give AGS and the DPP the resources they need to bring criminals to Justice.

Did you enjoy that rant? It didn't have any relevence to the posts you quoted unfortunately. You gave examples of innocent people who were prosecuted in response to my claim that there are people who are known to have committed crimes and aren't prosecuted.
    Protective posture.

Your post oozes ignorance on so many levels. By all accounts this was a planned ambush and if the other detective had acted any different he would likely be dead too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,037 ✭✭✭Plazaman

Protective posture.

He was a Detective Garda not clairvoyant. Hindsight is a great thing for people to come up with a bunch of coulda shoulda woulda scenarios to a situation they probably never have been involved in or will never get into.

Adrians murder happened fast, without warning and without any indication it was going to happen. By your reasoning training should include Detectives pulling their weapons on all cars carrying more than three men in it so.

I feel very saddened today by the closures of all those stations, and I wonder how Shatter could be so bold-faced yesterday showing up at the funeral, knowing what he would do today.

But it certainly brought it home to me, they dont care, they never have, and the never will.

The morale of the force must be at an all time low at the moment. Im so sorry for all the hard working garda around the country.

I really hope they get those killers. I say killers, because all four men are responsible, they went armed, they knew what might happen. All killers in my eyes.

Jake1 wrote: »
    I feel very saddened today by the closures of all those stations, and I wonder how Shatter could be so bold-faced yesterday showing up at the funeral, knowing what he would do today.

Because hes a politician.:pac::mad::rolleyes:

Remember the young lad who broke into Shatters house last year.

Notice how quickly the gardai and courts dealt with him???;):rolleyes:

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

very sad that Aidan O'Donoghue wasn't even meant to be working that night, he was covering for a colleague :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

jmayo wrote: »
    The fact they may be smaller is not the issue.
    The problem is years ago the Garda could take some little toerag aside and give him a few slaps, a kick in the ar** and send him on his way.
    Now they would be sued and face reprecussions.

Ah the good old days, generations of kids from certain areas who grew up hating coppers didn't exactly help the current situation did it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,765 ✭✭✭flutered

El Spearo wrote: »
    im going to stop you there because noone wants to hear your rant. i dont mean to be offensive, and sure you have the right to post what you wish, but this man did not die because of paper work or decisions. he died in the line of duty for the people. by scum of the earth. absolute scrapings of the arse of a barrel. as been mentioned several times, this is not a time for debate. this is a time to mourn a brave man. a brave man who is one of thousands all over the country who day and night are on the front line for us, the people.
    hang on mate, a garda armed approached a suspicious car, he was shot, then a gun was placed against his partners head, none want to hear my rant, why, because you do not want to hear it, he did die by a decision, he approached a suspicious car with his gun not ready, his armed partner not ready, that decision is lack of training, i have never said that i have not mourned this brave man, i have never said that he should not be mourned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

flutered wrote: »
    hang on mate, a garda armed approached a suspicious car, he was shot, then a gun was placed against his partners head, none want to hear my rant, why, because you do not want to hear it, he did die by a decision, he approached a suspicious car with his gun not ready, his armed partner not ready, that decision is lack of training, i have never said that i have not mourned this brave man, i have never said that he should not be mourned.

I'm going to assume you actually know nothing about Garda training or regulations in regards to firearms as it's quite evident. But I'm curious as to why you think the parked car was so suspicious that it required to armed Gardaí to hold it at gunpoint.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭GRMA

Did his partner have his gun taken off him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,765 ✭✭✭flutered

I'm going to assume you actually know nothing about Garda training or regulations in regards to firearms as it's quite evident. But I'm curious as to why you think the parked car was so suspicious that it required to armed Gardaí to hold it at gunpoint.

all reports state that the deceased, an armed garda approached a suspicious car, reports also state that his companion/back up had a gun held to his head, perhaps my age and medical condition have resulted in my thinking being warped.

Your post oozes ignorance on so many levels. By all accounts this was a planned ambush and if the other detective had acted any different he would likely be dead too.

Not so sure it can be called a "planned ambush" given that the guard approached the car voluntarily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,891 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

The garda chief has said no one underestimates how difficult it will be to bring the killers of Detective Garda Adrian Donohoe to justice.

Garda Commissioner Martin Callinan said steady progress was being made in the murder investigation, which he revealed would be slow and painstaking.

He maintained he was optimistic that those responsible would be brought before the courts.

"No one, including myself, is underestimating how difficult that process will be," said the commissioner. "But we have very good people working on the case. Very committed and dedicated people."

As the Garda Chief says , its going to be difficult to bring them to justice .

I would think most of them have left the country by now , probably via Scotland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

flutered wrote: »
    all reports state that the deceased, an armed garda approached a suspicious car, reports also state that his companion/back up had a gun held to his head, perhaps my age and medical condition have resulted in my thinking being warped.

I don't think they were in the car at the time, from what I've read the men were hiding in wait behind a wall. When Det. Donohue went to check out the car which was blocking the exit he was approached and shot from behind without warning while his colleague was held at gunpoint.

Definitely sounds like an ambush to me.

I don't think they were in the car at the time, from what I've read the men were hiding in wait behind a wall. When Det. Donohue went to check out the car which was blocking the exit he was approached and shot from behind without warning while his colleague was held at gunpoint.

Definitely sounds like an ambush to me.
    So you are saying the car was already blocking the exit when the guards got there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

So you are saying the car was already blocking the exit when the guards got there?

I'm only repeating what I have read about it.. I've no idea about the specific details like where the car was when the Gardai arrived.

You seem intent on trying to convince others that it wasn't an ambush of sorts. Why is that? Maybe you don't know what the word ambush actually means, but when 5 men jump from behind a wall and shoot a person in the back of the head I think most folk would see that as an ambush.

From the dictionary -
    am·bush

noun: A surprise attack by people lying in wait in a concealed position.