Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Loungers who Lunch; Cake, Bovril and Penguins...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,565 ✭✭✭Cerulean Chicken

Would ye know who this is just by looking at her in this photo? If I hadn't seen it in an article with other photos of her I would never guess it was her, she's messed up her face.
    article-2270480-173E1DE0000005DC-204_634x904.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

Oh my god. The poor girl. :(

Is that LL :eek:

I wouldn't like a diamond ring, a sapphire for me! :D

pampootie: <3:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

Whispered wrote: »

I used to have a friend (I mentioned her before in this thread actually) who would have "nightmares" about her boyfriend proposing with a ring from argos.

I don't own a single piece of expensive jewellery, but I'm a snob when it comes to what I want for an engagement ring. Don't ask me why, I don't know :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,020 ✭✭✭Ah_Yeah

Poor Li Lo!

I don't own a single piece of expensive jewellery, but I'm a snob when it comes to what I want for an engagement ring. Don't ask me why, I don't know :pac:

You may as well be. It's the one piece of jewellery you'll have for the rest of your life.

Dunno how much mine was, although not a lot I'd guess as it's very plain (which is what I wanted), but I'm still nervous when I wear it. :o

Love it though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Ella

Ah_Yeah wrote: »
    Poor Li Lo!
    There just seems to be nothing anyone can do to help her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

God she's come a long way since The Parent Trap! :eek:

bluewolf wrote: »
    Is that LL :eek:

I wouldn't like a diamond ring, a sapphire for me! :D

Yep that's her, she looks awful and puffy.

If all a guy could afford was a pretty CZ ring or a real stone for a similarly small value I wouldn't care, as long as he had put thought and effort into the style of it to get something he knew I'd like. Much better to have that than a €5,000 grand ring he just picked because he thought he should spend that much and a style I'd hate IYKWIM.

Yep that's her, she looks awful and puffy.

If all a guy could afford was a pretty CZ ring or a real stone for a similarly small value I wouldn't care, as long as he had put thought and effort into the style of it to get something he knew I'd like. Much better to have that than a €5,000 grand ring he just picked because he thought he should spend that much IYKWIM.

I don't think I would want anywhere near 5k, christ, I'd be afraid to even look at it!
    at least sapphires wouldn't be as overpriced so it'd be a tiny fraction of that. the grabone link price would be fine
    I did know a lad once who insisted he'd buy his gf's future ring and spend a fortune on it and she better like it or else. No chance of them going shopping together and trying it on. :rolleyes:

I was looking at this on google as an example and thinking "now that's fine, although I'd prefer a different design to the celtic knot" and it's 2k dollars. lol.
    :p

http://www.brilliantearth.com/media/product_images/BE1CK1-SB6RD_white_top_t_w300_h300.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,154 ✭✭✭Dolbert

This one is gorgeous!

I'm not into jewellery at all, I don't even have my ears pierced and never wore rings until I got engaged! I really had to get used to wearing one 24/7. My ring is pretty plain but it suits me :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,441 ✭✭✭pampootie

I wouldn't care about the stone or the price but I'd feel it was a bit impersonal to get the Grabone ring, i'd want a bit more thought put into what I actually like!

Dolbert wrote: »
    This one is gorgeous!

Ooohh

Toy%20Story%20-%20Alien%20Cartoon.2.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

I want a ruby ring!

I don't recommend anyone try the pressure of having a family heirloom ring that's worth more than your life, and is slightly too big :o It flew off my finger one day in a shopping centre, I practically taped it on for a while after that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

I don't recommend anyone try the pressure of having a family heirloom ring that's worth more than your life, and is slightly too big :o It flew off my finger one day in a shopping centre, I practically taped it on for a while after that.
    My dad had an heirloom ring, plus a signet engagement ring robbed from the windowsill of their kitchen less than a year after they were married.

My Mam gave me my Grannys and i will get hers when she's gone. If god forbid some mad fecker wanted to marry me i'd get both wrapped into one in some way if that makes sense?

My dad had an heirloom ring, plus a signet engagement ring robbed from the windowsill of their kitchen less than a year after they were married.

Yeah I don't leave it off ever if I can help it, they're safer on you than off you in a "safe place".
    Ella wrote: »
    My Mam gave me my Grannys and i will get hers when she's gone. If god forbid some mad fecker wanted to marry me i'd get both wrapped into one in some way if that makes sense?

Sounds cool :) I have another heirloom ring for wedding ring, I am a great cheap deal to get engaged to! :p

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,369 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

SarahBeep! wrote: »
    I put up on facebook that I bought myself a tablet (€40, thanks bargain alerts :D) and some sarky biatch commented underneath about the recession! Well FYI Biatch it was only €40 quid and just because you've got yourself knocked up again* and have stuff to pay for, does that mean I can't buy myself a treat? It's week 1 of college and I'm not going out, therefore, I can afford this. So you can go and do one!

€40 :eek: Where? :eek: :(

Ah_yeah: fook him you're too hawt to be disposed of anyway and you have Ella ;)

She's not getting my engagement rings tho :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭Lola92

First day back to college, no tutorials so had a 4 hour break between classes. I went for a walk and then rewarded myself with lunch and Frozen Yogurt! :)

The hamsters were fighting last night so I had to put them into seperate cages. I'm really suprised because they are both female and from the same litter. Robrovski's are supposed to live well in pairs too :(

I don't believe in marriage so it's ok :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

bluewolf wrote: »
    I was looking at this on google as an example and thinking "now that's fine, although I'd prefer a different design to the celtic knot" and it's 2k dollars. lol.
    :p

http://www.brilliantearth.com/media/product_images/BE1CK1-SB6RD_white_top_t_w300_h300.jpg

I like that :o

Just seems like an awful lot of money to spend on a ring though!

I believe in pretty jewellery :p:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

Just ordered that pretty purple dress I mentioned a few posts back along with a cardigan and a pair of stretchy leggings. Along with postage, I got a whole new outfit for under €60. :D Dead chuffed with my bargain hunting skills.
    Now all I need to do is get a suitable gift for my 7 month old cousin's Christening that won't break the bank. My budget is €50 and I'm thinking a nice charm bracelet for when she gets older would be cute as she can add to it milestone by milestone as she grows older.
    I'm not a godparent but I'm determined that even though her family is taking her down the path of 'righteousness", I'm gonna take her down the path that ROCKS! :D

Oh no it's real, not like unicorns or santa. It exists. :p

I am feeling in between sad for my neighbour and his girlfriend, and pissed off listening to their rows. She walked into his house yesterday and literally before she had shut the door they were screaming at each other. Now today she is there 2 mins and I can hear her screaming crying, him roaring and thundering up and down the stairs. They're swearing at each other and generally being very aggressive. I can hear them through the wall.

They're only young, like I saw her in a school uniform only a few months ago. He's no more than 19 (I think closer to 17). It's so sad. And fricken annoying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 829 ✭✭✭xLexie

One engagement ring looks the same as another to me. :o
    Dont want one if I ever get engaged, get me something else instead please

McChubbin wrote: »
    Now all I need to do is get a suitable gift for my 7 month old cousin's Christening that won't break the bank. My budget is €50 and I'm thinking a nice charm bracelet for when she gets older would be cute as she can add to it milestone by milestone as she grows older.

This is a lovely idea.

Neighbour GF just stormed out and wheel spun out of the garden. I'm taking bets on whether she will be back within half an hour beeping the horn, shouting and making a show of herself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭TeletextPear

I really like this ring

http://www.girliedeals.ie/deals/deal-345-silver-ring

So if anyone wants to pop the question to me, they can do it for the bargain price of €25! :D

Whispered wrote: »

Neighbour GF just stormed out and wheel spun out of the garden. I'm taking bets on whether she will be back within half an hour beeping the horn, shouting and making a show of herself.

Yup, she's back. Already.