Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Loungers who Lunch; Cake, Bovril and Penguins...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,605 ✭✭✭OakeyDokey

Hello everyone :)

Don't post as much as I want to but said I'd pop into say hi. So much planning I'm doing and much to look forward for the future :) With all the crap I've been through with negative people bringing me down over things in my life I feel great :D

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

Lyaiera wrote: »
    I suddenly started feeling very sick on the bus home. I had a wave of nausea and felt like I was going to pass out. I walked up the hill to my house and was really out of breath when I got to the top. I've knocked back a pint of water and still feel bad. I don't think I'll be going back to that breakfast place in town again.

Oh noes.

It could be norovirus though. It's going around like wildfire. If it was just this morning you ate in that gaff, it wouldn't be long enough for food poisoning to kick in.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,441 Mod ✭✭✭✭XxMCRxBabyxX

So I had another seizure last night (and nearly had a second!). There goes being seizure free since October...

I was with my boyfriend at the time too which kills me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

Das Kitty wrote: »
    Oh noes.

It could be norovirus though. It's going around like wildfire. If it was just this morning you ate in that gaff, it wouldn't be long enough for food poisoning to kick in.

A few friends had norovirus a few weeks ago, but I wasn't around them when they were infectious and I haven't seen them for the past few days to catch it off something they carry. I'm hoping it's not norovirus, supposedly it's hell with eight hours of constant throwing up. And like you said, not long enough has passed for it to be food poisoning. I wouldn't be surprised if it's not an actual illness though and just me reacting to really bad greasy food.

I hear ya, my tummy was in a heap after the Christmas excess. Hurt every time I ate for a few weeks.

Hugs for MCR. Why was it worse for your boyfriend to be there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Ilyana 2.0

So I had another seizure last night (and nearly had a second!). There goes being seizure free since October...

I hope you're okay, at least you did go that long without a seizure xx

Hugs Bubblefett, I hope you find a home for Dex soon xx

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,676 ✭✭✭✭herisson

Ah yeah: fair play for standing your ground. I'm proud, big hugs! I just need to learn to do that with boys! :)

Mcr, I hope you are ok!! Did you go to the doctor or anything?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

Just on the phone to home and people seem to be doing better, which makes me feel better. :) Was pretty anxious yesterday, especially when I discovered I've lost my calm pills :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,676 ✭✭✭✭herisson

Just on the phone to home and people seem to be doing better, which makes me feel better. :) Was pretty anxious yesterday, especially when I discovered I've lost my calm pills :P
    I lost mine ages ago :o

No wonder I've been the grumpy antichrist the past week :p

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,441 Mod ✭✭✭✭XxMCRxBabyxX

Das Kitty wrote: »

I hear ya, my tummy was in a heap after the Christmas excess. Hurt every time I ate for a few weeks.

Hugs for MCR. Why was it worse for your boyfriend to be there?

It sounds stupid but I just didn't want him to ever see me like that. It's not fair on him

Doesn't sound stupid. We all have fragilities and sometimes we feel like we're inflicting ours on other people. But you know, he's seen it now, so you don't need to worry about him witnessing it for the first time anymore.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 27,898 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

Poor Dexter! At least the poor doggie will have some stability by Sunday. You have gone above and beyond, Bubblefett.

Oh no, MCR! My friend was always so emotionally knocked back after a seizure just when she thought she was safe, so to speak. Are you on meds now? They just might need a tweaking.. One (?) seizure in four months is great progress though- you're getting there. Hope you're okay today. xx

Waaay too good for him, Ah_Yeah!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Ilyana 2.0

Maybe he'd rather be there for you when it happens, than to be somewhere else and not be able to help. I had a bit of a car crash a couple of months ago, and even though my boyfriend and I weren't together at the time, when I told him about it he said he wished he'd been there to help, because I was so shaken.

Try not to feel bad about him having seen you, chances are he'd rather be there if it happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

I know this doesn't really help, but anyone who cares about you will just be glad the were there for you at the time. Even if they could do nothing, they'll just be happy you weren't on your own in case something went wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,565 ✭✭✭Cerulean Chicken

As others have said I wouldn't worry about that, I'm sure he'd prefer to be there to help than for you to be alone during it.

I had it, it wasn't actually that bad, it affects everyone a bit differently. I was nauseous for 5 straight days which was annoying but not totally awful. My boyfriend was nauseous for days and very sick puking for a few hours towards the end of it, other friends all had varying levels too. You could catch it anywhere in passing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,197 ✭✭✭daenerysstormborn3

Ah_Yeah wrote: »
    So I have had the silent treatment from the guy I was seeing the last few days. Text him last night and got a smart answer in reply, so I basically said I didn't see it progressing, and if he was so busy maybe it wasn't worth continuing it.

He didn't put up a fight.

:(

Better rid of him if he is going to be acting silly like that. If he's going off to have a think about things he could just tell you that.

I had the norovirus at the beginning of January and I've no idea where I caught it. Nobody I knew had it. The only thing I can think of is that I was in Waterford Regional just before Christmas but other than that I've no idea where I picked it up.

Hope you feel better soon.

THE GIRL BESIDE ME IS EATING SO LOUDLY!!! I WANT TO PUNCH HER!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

Ugh, just made the mistake of looking at STBEH's new bird's Facebook page. She has him in her profiler and is friends with his brother, our local in Tullow and two of the lads who work there.

And the really annoying thing is, I've no-one to blame but myself for being stupid enough to look in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭cdaly_

Ilyana 2.0 wrote: »
    Does anyone know who the mods for Ranting and Raving are? I can't remember, and I miss Cries of Retail :pac: PM me if you prefer :)

dr.bollocko, Fluorescence, Grand_Rajnah, keefg, S. De Sousa

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Ella

Non touchy hugs, Mcr x x x

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,020 ✭✭✭Ah_Yeah

Honey-ec wrote: »
    Ugh, just made the mistake of looking at STBEH's new bird's Facebook page. She has him in her profiler and is friends with his brother, our local in Tullow and two of the lads who work there.

And the really annoying thing is, I've no-one to blame but myself for being stupid enough to look in the first place.

It's a natural instinct to want to find out everything you can about her. I know I do the same. You know that realistically she's not going to be a balding and overweight with a hairy face, but curiosity tells you to check anyway :P

Facebook is a killer for this kind of stuff. Not only does it give us a beating for the day, but it also spurs us to create these stories in our head of what is going on, when we don't exactly know the real deal.

Try not to be too hard on yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 829 ✭✭✭xLexie

So I done the lotto this afternoon, and I plan on winning it too.

ALL the nice things

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

Ah_Yeah wrote: »
    It's a natural instinct to want to find out everything you can about her. I know I do the same. You know that realistically she's not going to be a balding and overweight with a hairy face, but curiosity tells you to check anyway :P

Facebook is a killer for this kind of stuff. Not only does it give us a beating for the day, but it also spurs us to create these stories in our head of what is going on, when we don't exactly know the real deal.

Try not to be too hard on yourself.

She actually is.

Chin up Honey-Ec :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Ella

The worst of the week is over. Tomorrow is Thursday then its the weekend. Yay :)

Give me some goss girls?? :D

The trx class is booked out tonight
    it would have been great cos I could go after singing :(
    booked in for monday instead
    It's good to know there's a wednesday one I can make it to though!

that's all my gossip, sorry...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,441 ✭✭✭pampootie

Grabone are doing an engagement ring as a valentines offer if anyone is planning an engagement! Ha

pampootie wrote: »
    Grabone are doing an engagement ring as a valentines offer if anyone is planning an engagement! Ha

No way, linky?? lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,441 ✭✭✭pampootie

bluewolf wrote: »

No way, linky?? lol

Dunno if this will work, am on my phone

http://mobile.grabonestore.ie/world/9ct-white-gold-engagement-ring?utm_source=GrabOne+Dublin&utm_campaign=ET_9874_ie-main_dublin_20130130_TD&utm_medium=email&utm_content=

Will you marry me, bluey? Osky and my dog could be stepbrothers. And groomsmen at our wedding <3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,565 ✭✭✭Cerulean Chicken

Aw that engagement ring is adorable, very pretty, especially considering the price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

Cubic zirconia :p I'd say no to that :pac:

I was looking at lovely engagement rings in an antique shops last week! Drooling! None of them were priced though. Think my boyfriend will say no to that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

Cubic zirconia :p I'd say no to that :pac:

I used to have a friend (I mentioned her before in this thread actually) who would have "nightmares" about her boyfriend proposing with a ring from argos.