Garda shot dead during robbery at Louth Credit Union(Mod warning, 1st post.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭CZ 453

Great news from the Irish Times that the Gardai are set to arrest suspects .:

When did this break?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,891 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

Great news from the Irish Times that the Gardai are set to arrest suspects .:

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/frontpage/2013/0130/1224329431943.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,245 ✭✭✭Gee_G

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭rogieop

The garda presence at the funeral today was extraordinarily humbling. There must have been thousands. The line just kept going and going. They are often taken for granted but my respect for them has reached new levels today.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Fingers crossed.

The hardest part (I presume) will be trying to link the very people to the place of his passing and the actions of the then robbers, in court usable evidence - and making it stick.

As I said and probably on behalf of the nation, fingers crossed they succeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,458 ✭✭✭Dartz

The hardest part will be keeping all the coverage and public speculation from unintentionally biasing the prosecution and giving them a get out of jail free card.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

rogieop wrote: »
    The garda presence at the funeral today was extraordinarily humbling. There must have been thousands. The line just kept going and going. They are often taken for granted but my respect for them has reached new levels today.

I was in town earlier when people were arriving for the funeral. Decided to walk up just to have a look and couldn't get over the amount of people there. I think most folk would share your take on things regarding renewed respect for the Gardai.. it's sad that it takes such a tragedy to bring the community together in such a way, but it's no bad thing. Those men and women are all that stand between us and the scumbags intent on seeing the world burn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,245 ✭✭✭Gee_G

Biggins wrote: »

Fingers crossed.

The hardest part (I presume) will be trying to link the very people to the place of his passing and the actions of the then robbers, in court usable evidence - and making it stick.

As I said and probably on behalf of the nation, fingers crossed they succeed.
    They have the cctv from the area the car was stolen and from around the credit union so hopefully they made a slip up somewhere and can be seen on them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,226 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

No,no,no!! Blame the scum who planned the raid and carried out the murder, blame is all theirs, don't even think of attempting to deflect the blame away from where it belongs!

No one is excusing the killers and the terrible crime they committed.

But I would lay odds that at least some of the 5 who carried out this robbery and possibly even the piece of crud that pulled the trigger have had numerous court apeparances and maybe even jail time behind them.
    I think that is the point that some may be trying to make.
    repsol wrote: »
    When it suits politicians they claim they cannot interfere with sentencing,so I don't know how Kenny could make guarantees regarding sentencing.It would answer him better to ensure by legislation that ALL murderers serve 40 years plus not just killers of Gardai.
    I expect if they catch these cowards they will serve nothing close to 40 years because Ireland cannot deal with such criminals,if previous sentences are anything to go by.

Ehh AFAIK some releases are at the discretion of the minister of justice ala the malcom mcarthur case.
    Thus they could rightly spend decades behind bars.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭GRMA

I was in town earlier when people were arriving for the funeral. Decided to walk up just to have a look and couldn't get over the amount of people there. I think most folk would share your take on things regarding renewed respect for the Gardai.. it's sad that it takes such a tragedy to bring the community together in such a way, but it's no bad thing. Those men and women are all that stand between us and the scumbags intent on seeing the world burn.
    1500 said RTE

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭macadam

Just had two Dundalk detectives call to my door checking CCTV cameras in my area.
    These guys were at the funeral and straight back to the job afterwards, fair play and respect to them.
    I would urge anyone in the areas from Lordship to Clogherhead and along the border with CCTV installed to check back on there tapes and contact Dundalk gardai with the slightest bit of information

That was some send of today, no more than the man deserved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,891 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

Dartz wrote: »
    The hardest part will be keeping all the coverage and public speculation from unintentionally biasing the prosecution and giving them a get out of jail free card.

Exactly .........Paul Williams was on the radio earlier and said that the '' leader of the gang is a gentleman from C***********n ''

Surprised at Williams calling him a 'gentleman ' too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,182 ✭✭✭dvpower

GRMA wrote: »
    1500 said RTE
    rte reported up to 2500 in uniform and a further 1000 in plain clothes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

rogieop wrote: »

Some turn out indeed. Lines and lines of blue uniforms as far as the eye could see and thousands of townfolk too.
    I didn't even mind the wetting I got attending. The whole town united in grief but united at least.
    Let's hope this is the last needless murder in our town.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭GRMA

Exactly .........Paul Williams was on the radio earlier and said that the '' leader of the gang is a gentleman from C***********n ''

Surprised at Williams calling him a 'gentleman ' too
    Paul Williams is full of sh!te and his sensationalism and over dramatization of Gangland figures with names etc has contributed to the gang problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

I suspect the scrutiny criminals in that area are under is pretty intense right now. It is only a matter of time before these lads are sold out so another criminal can save their own ass.

Would agree that Williams does more harm then good. Make these people notorious and others will aspire to become like them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 33,615 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

My goodness, the priest at the funeral fairly socked it to the brass who were in the church with his homily......

I was meant to be up there for the funeral and couldn't go.... RIP :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭repsol

I suspect the scrutiny criminals in that area are under is pretty intense right now. It is only a matter of time before these lads are sold out so another criminal can save their own ass.

Would agree that Williams does more harm then good. Make these people notorious and others will aspire to become like them.

I suspect the 50 Grand reward put up by the league of Credit Unions will get someone to spill the beans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

repsol wrote: »
    I suspect the 50 Grand reward put up by the league of Credit Unions will get someone to spill the beans

That and more then few persistent detectives and other AGS pushing hard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,765 ✭✭✭flutered

there is never much done before a funeral in a case like this, it is always after the funeral that arrests start to happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭Dymo

I presume there will be a mass of dawn raids bringing people in for questioning in the coming days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    My goodness, the priest at the funeral fairly socked it to the brass who were in the church with his homily......

I was meant to be up there for the funeral and couldn't go.... RIP :mad:

Yes. Fair play to him he really gave it to the Government and the Garda Commissioner, their puppet, regarding the closing of country stations. 95 closing tomorrow. Old people in remote areas being attacked regularly and the Garda was their only contact with the Post Offices all being closed too.
    He told them to have some humanity and rethink the position.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭bedirect

good to see some straight talking from the priest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭mark renton

bedirect wrote: »
    good to see some straight talking from the priest.
    Thats all we need, give the power back to the church.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Not really the time for a church bashing post.

He was simply saying what alot of us are already thinking.

He got a very long round of applause from the congregation.
    He wasn't looking for power for the church, more like protection for the people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭mark renton

irish-stew wrote: »

Not really the time for a church bashing post.

He was simply saying what alot of us are already thinking.
    Fair enough, but priests are meant to give out sermons, not directions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Fair enough, but priests are meant to give out sermons, not directions.

Well not really sure what approach he could have taken when delivering a sermon today considering the circumstances of Adrian Donohoes death.

He said him self at the start of the sermon he wasn't a fire and brimstone believer, so considering that, Adrians death, and the proposed cuts following the recent attacks in rural areas, maybe reminding the government was the way to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭rogieop

he also said that evil had managed to work its way into every part of society, including the catholic church.

fair play to him.