Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Loungers who Lunch; Cake, Bovril and Penguins...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Ilyana 2.0

Mornin' everyone. I'm still in my pjs; I've no class until 4pm and I am in my shyte going out in this weather...

https://www.dropbox.com/s/5xr6j7mtpwgmd3s/2013-01-30%2010.57.32.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 746 ✭✭✭Starokan

No contact with my ex is proving to be really really tough for me. He was the one I'd lean on because my friends aren't in Ireland and I just miss having someone. :(

Its a horrible feeling & no contact is really difficult just after a break up , it is by far and away the best thing for you though.

The best thing you can do is occupy yourself , the more busy you are the less time your mind has to dwell on it, also the more you do during the day the easier you will sleep. In fact the more physical stuff you do the better

If your not in a gym, perhaps join one if possible, there very reasonably priced and its a great outlet to keep you busy

Its hard to imagine when you feel like this but it will get better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,401 ✭✭✭✭x Purple Pawprints x

I know it is definitely the best thing but we didn't end badly so maybe that's why. Maybe in a few months or more I'll feel better and we could possibly be friends, I'm just not sure yet. I'll be fine, taking it all day by day. I do need to find more things to do though. I'm meeting a friend for lunch tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,965 ✭✭✭SarahBeep!

I know it is definitely the best thing but we didn't end badly so maybe that's why. Maybe in a few months or more I'll feel better and we could possibly be friends, I'm just not sure yet. I'll be fine, taking it all day by day. I do need to find more things to do though. I'm meeting a friend for lunch tomorrow.

To me, if you can go back to being friends with someone then there was never anything romantic there in the first place. Don't feel like you have to be friends just because yer break up went well. You'll only end up feeling like you're in a relationship without any of the physical aspects.

I put up on facebook that I bought myself a tablet (€40, thanks bargain alerts :D) and some sarky biatch commented underneath about the recession! Well FYI Biatch it was only €40 quid and just because you've got yourself knocked up again* and have stuff to pay for, does that mean I can't buy myself a treat? It's week 1 of college and I'm not going out, therefore, I can afford this. So you can go and do one!

*My opinion of this pregnant woman is not representative of the lovely baby-mommas in here. Love you guys lots like Jelly Tots. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,197 ✭✭✭daenerysstormborn3

Oh my, some craic in here today! The receptionist has said she's not coming back and the junior solicitor is out for 2 weeks.

It's such a nice day out, sunny, blue sky, so windy though. Some dude pulled in to let me pass him this morning and as I passed him I gave a thumbs up to say thanks and with my hand off the bar, I nearly got dragged into the hard shoulder myself :eek: fun times!

Some silly boy in his silly car tried to race me into town last night. Oh how I laughed at his feeble attempt :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,565 ✭✭✭Cerulean Chicken

Thanks everyone. I'm gonna stay here for a little while. I'm tired from not sleeping properly. I'm gonna have breakfast in a bit and go for a walk when I feel like it. I need some exercise, I don't want to put up weight when I've done so well to lose it.

I know you're already up now but the worse thing you can do if you're tired from not sleeping is stay in bed late, because then you'll just repeat the cycle the next night, and the next. If you're wrecked but awake early get up, stay up, tire yourself out, then go to bed early, with no laptop/phone etc. Could you take a few more hours where you volunteer? Working will take your mind off being heartbroken while you're busy, and will tire you out, so you'll sleep better, two birds, one stone!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

The ATM gave me 20e more than I requested last week. Checked my statement. Still has the amount I requested.

FREE MONIES!!!

SarahBeep! wrote: »
    To me, if you can go back to being friends with someone then there was never anything romantic there in the first place. Don't feel like you have to be friends just because yer break up went well. You'll only end up feeling like you're in a relationship without any of the physical aspects.

I never actually thought of it like that. Maybe that is true. I don't know what I want yet. Eventually maybe we could just be civil if we did happen to meet up. I could be just reluctant to let go. Maybe there never really was anything romantic, I feel sad thinking of it like that because I think we did really love each other but we just didn't work.

I know you're already up now but the worse thing you can do if you're tired from not sleeping is stay in bed late, because then you'll just repeat the cycle the next night, and the next. If you're wrecked but awake early get up, stay up, tire yourself out, then go to bed early, with no laptop/phone etc. Could you take a few more hours where you volunteer? Working will take your mind off being heartbroken while you're busy, and will tire you out, so you'll sleep better, two birds, one stone!

I knew that, I just couldn't bring myself to get out of bed. Tomorrow will probably be the same but I'll get up.

Might see if I can get something somewhere voluntary, all the shifts in the LSPCA shop are covered every week. All the volunteers do the same shifts every week. Need to keep busy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,154 ✭✭✭Dolbert

I knew that, I just couldn't bring myself to get out of bed. Tomorrow will probably be the same but I'll get up.

Might see if I can get something somewhere voluntary, all the shifts in the LSPCA shop are covered every week. All the volunteers do the same shifts every week. Need to keep busy.

Keeping busy is good. You could see if there are any courses starting, or if any local shops are hiring for part-time work?

In my experience, at first you will want to contact the ex really badly, but as time goes on that urge fades and you'll be glad you didn't. You're doing the right thing by making a clean break IMO.

Does anyone know who the mods for Ranting and Raving are? I can't remember, and I miss Cries of Retail :pac: PM me if you prefer :)

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

The ATM gave me 20e more than I requested last week. Checked my statement. Still has the amount I requested.

FREE MONIES!!!

If they up the mortgage interest rates again, I know whose door I'm going to be banging on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,020 ✭✭✭Ah_Yeah

So I have had the silent treatment from the guy I was seeing the last few days. Text him last night and got a smart answer in reply, so I basically said I didn't see it progressing, and if he was so busy maybe it wasn't worth continuing it.

He didn't put up a fight.

:(

Ah_Yeah wrote: »
    So I have had the silent treatment from the guy I was seeing the last few days. Text him last night and got a smart answer in reply, so I basically said I didn't see it progressing, and if he was so busy maybe it wasn't worth continuing it.

Oh no, hugs.

At least you know now, before you got even more involved. On the bright side there'll no more wondering about whether he's interested or not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,420 ✭✭✭✭SueBoom

Perhaps he's busy or isn't quite sure what he wants to say yet, but if he is just ignoring you then you don't want someone like that in your life. Good riddance! :)

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

Hugs for A_Y.

Best find out earlier rather than later. I'm seriously impressed with your being proactive though. You're dead right.

Thanks you guys, I'm pretty annoyed with him to be honest, I could feel him pulling away the last few days but it was cowardly to leave it to me to do it! He is a lot older than me so he should be mature enough to call something when he sees it!

@Sueboom, he agreed with me but ended in a "if that's what you want", so essentially trying to make it out to be me who wasn't trying.

No time for that shit.

The one positive thing I can take out of this is that this time last year, I would have hung on and on, and bent over backwards to try to make him want me... And I would have taken it as a reflection on myself. Now I can see that this is his issue, nothing to do with me, and I've called it early instead of torturing myself.

Das Kitty wrote: »
    Hugs for A_Y.

Best find out earlier rather than later. I'm seriously impressed with your being proactive though. You're dead right.

Ditto. I hate this rubbish of the girl having to wait around to find out the guy's 'intentions', as such.

My 18 year old sister won't even text a guy first most of the time, let alone try suss out what he feels about her. In her mind (and that of most girls her age), girls shouldn't be assertive in relation to any aspect of a relationship. I know she's young but she'll probably continue to think like that into her twenties.

• Administrators Posts: 55,058 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

Getting fit is exhausting!

Dolbert wrote: »
    Keeping busy is good. You could see if there are any courses starting, or if any local shops are hiring for part-time work?

In my experience, at first you will want to contact the ex really badly, but as time goes on that urge fades and you'll be glad you didn't. You're doing the right thing by making a clean break IMO.

Yeah I've been having a look for courses and things and I started knitting a little bit again. I think I sort of lost interest in things because I knew the relationship wasn't working and was trying to keep it going.. I am still wondering if he's ok but I'm trying to concentrate on myself. I was tempted to give WW up but I didn't because it's something to focus on.

Things are hard now but they'll get better soon and I can remember him and smile.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,420 ✭✭✭✭SueBoom

Thanks you guys, I'm pretty annoyed with him to be honest, I could feel him pulling away the last few days but it was cowardly to leave it to me to do it! He is a lot older than me so he should be mature enough to call something when he sees it!

@Sueboom, he agreed with me but ended in a "if that's what you want", so essentially trying to make it out to be me who wasn't trying.

No time for that shit.

The one positive thing I can take out of this is that this time last year, I would have hung on and on, and bent over backwards to try to make him want me... And I would have taken it as a reflection on myself. Now I can see that this is his issue, nothing to do with me, and I've called it early instead of torturing myself.

Well, sure look at that, he's a coward. You don't want to be with a guy who has fewer balls than you.

I've often reacted the way you did last year, it does feel great to find out you've grown and can let go off this stuff because you care more about yourself than to continue with something that will probably only hurt you in the long run.

Hope you feel better though, don't let this eejit get you down! :)

awec wrote: »
    Fair play Ah Yeah! Don't worry about it, you're class like, you'll find someone soon enough when you're ready! :)

oh-stop-it-you.png

Ilyana 2.0 wrote: »
    Ditto. I hate this rubbish of the girl having to wait around to find out the guy's 'intentions', as such.

My 18 year old sister won't even text a guy first most of the time, let alone try suss out what he feels about her. In her mind (and that of most girls her age), girls shouldn't be assertive in relation to any aspect of a relationship. I know she's young but she'll probably continue to think like that into her twenties.

I never understood that at all. If I want to know I will ask!

Good on you AY, and big hugs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Bubblefett

So I'm sick in bed after catching a nasty cold from running around after the stray collie in the rain and I get a call from his foster that she's decided she can't take him any longer and I'll have to pick him up this afternoon. So upset, we agreed that she'd mind him and we wouldn't actively try find a new home for him because she's so upset after being dumped and needs some stability and love to recover before going to the rescue/new home. Now the people who were looking at adopting him aren't replying to me and Dexter now has to stay in my back yard where there's little to know shelter in this awful weather. And the woman is bitching that he's just thrown up on the floor.
    I just wish people would accept that not all dogs will fit into their lives straight away. Dex has been through hell and it'll take a lot of work to get him back to being a normal happy dog and she claimed to fully understand that but I guess not.
    I'm still thankful she offered but I'd made it so clear that Dex will need attention and every time he's moved to a new home it damages him and I guess she just didn't understand.
    So heartbroken for Dex, moved again. Just got to keep thinking of Sunday when he'll get to the rescue and begin his recovery properly.

end rant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,565 ✭✭✭Cerulean Chicken

Aw Bubblefett that's sh*t, if I was near you I'd have fostered him in heartbeat :(

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

That sucks Bubblefett, least he'll get some routine when he gets to the rescue, and can start his new life.

@AY good for you :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,965 ✭✭✭SarahBeep!

Sure you're too daycent for his nonsense.

Here, have some of these.

SarahBeep! wrote: »
    Sure you're too daycent for his nonsense.

Here, have some of these.

tumblr_m3e0nyJ5Qt1r5njkm.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

I suddenly started feeling very sick on the bus home. I had a wave of nausea and felt like I was going to pass out. I walked up the hill to my house and was really out of breath when I got to the top. I've knocked back a pint of water and still feel bad. I don't think I'll be going back to that breakfast place in town again.