Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Loungers who Lunch; Cake, Bovril and Penguins...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,565 ✭✭✭Cerulean Chicken

WinterSong wrote: »
    Dear god. The racist wan I live with has naturally been getting on my wick something serious since she revealed she is a racist and judgemental eejit. She's really outdoing herself now though. I made an omelette with peppers and she was horrified because apparently there is an article trending on facebook that says that peppers cause cancer. She then said that I deserve to get cancer because I still eat hummus even though she warned me before Christmas that it too is a carcinogen. I'm really not in the form for this level of idiocy tonight, she's lucky I didn't snap the head off her. I also don't appreciate her asking me how "that Jap of yours" is doing. Idiot.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Dear god. The racist wan I live with has naturally been getting on my wick something serious since she revealed she is a racist and judgemental eejit. She's really outdoing herself now though. I made an omelette with peppers and she was horrified because apparently there is an article trending on facebook that says that peppers cause cancer. She then said that I deserve to get cancer because I still eat hummus even though she warned me before Christmas that it too is a carcinogen. I'm really not in the form for this level of idiocy tonight, she's lucky I didn't snap the head off her. I also don't appreciate her asking me how "that Jap of yours" is doing. Idiot.

She sounds like an idiot!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,513 ✭✭✭✭Lucyfur

This.

x a million :eek:

What a fecking wagon. That JAP of yours????? I can't believe anyone thinks that's an acceptable thing to say :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

Jesus Wintersong, that's mad. I can't believe there are still people in the world who think like that. Nevermind actually say it out loud!

Off to make dinner. Spinach and ricotta lasagne. MMMMMM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,323 ✭✭✭Roesy

Links234 wrote: »
    heard good things about zero dark thirty? Kathryn Bigelow (Hurt Locker) directed it. haven't seen it yet myself, but it's one I'm meaning to see

I thought Zero Dark Thirty was only okay. Was really looking forward to seeing it but thought it was a bit of a let down.
    Broke the diet already. Housemate has decided I can start again tomorrow so its Lennoxes tonight...bad idea but I've decided to go to the gym tomorrow so I will work it off.

Congrats to Neyite and Das :) *hides ovaries until third person claims pregnancy* As much as I love the babies, le boyfriend and I would probably have simultaneous heart attacks...

Now I want a cheese and onion potato pie!

Had a bit of a mixed bag of a day. Found that himself had been using my favourite hat as a hot water bottle cover when I went looking for it this morning on the way to work. My head now looks like a mushroom when I put it on! Then my umbrella blew away on the way across to my car. Had a lovely strong coffee on my way in to work and that perked me until I got caught bopping away to The Cure sitting in my car outside work(note to self: car is not soundproofed, nor does it have tinted windows!)
    Kids were crazy over being stuck inside for the second day in a row over the weather and I was on lunchtime supervision.
    I did find a potential dress for a wedding I'm going to in a couple of weeks though. Had great fun trying on forties and fifties style dresses in a cool shop near me called 'Brocade and Lime'. Not sure if I'm confident to pull of the whole look though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭WinterSong

I'm just worried that when I eventually snap and say something to her I won't be able to stop and go on a rant that goes too far and alienates the rest of the people I live with. I'd say the day I snap is coming soon though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭Captain Albection

:mad: Beat her to death with a shovel please.

'well as long as peppers don't turn me into a racist idiot, I'll be grand'

tutorial was draining but met a lovely person after and made a new friend :cool:

time to go home and revise some of my assignment and sleep like the dead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,323 ✭✭✭Roesy

I'm just worried that when I eventually snap and say something to her I won't be able to stop and go on a rant that goes too far and alienates the rest of the people I live with. I'd say the day I snap is coming soon though!

Hard to hold your tongue with that level of idiocy!

Ask her what she ate to turn her into a bitch so you can avoid it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,676 ✭✭✭✭herisson

Ilyana 2.0 wrote: »
    Ew :( Why on earth do they need to be open at 7am?

I have to scan the floor. The shop doesnt open til 10 :(

:eek::eek:

I couldnt hold my tongue with her. I really couldnt. I probably would have beaten her to death. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Ilyana 2.0

I have to scan the floor. The shop doesnt open til 10 :(

:eek::eek:

Ah I see, that sucks :( At least you won't be working all evening then :)

WS, whenever she's eating something of foreign origin, comment on it. Starve the racism out of her.

Ah I see, that sucks :( At least you won't be working all evening then :)

WS, whenever she's eating something of foreign origin, comment on it. Starve the racism out of her.

Im getting subway after work, even though im piss broke :(

I don't blame you! I got a nice lunch in college today even though I've feck all money. But I'm sick and tired and I deserved it :P

I realised today, i do not have enough money to survive the next month :/ so i best return 3 pretty tops i bought the other day. I kinda need to anyway, one looks awful, the other two are very gapey on the boobs! :mad::(

Aw noes, well at least you weren't too keen on them anyway!

I so cold. Grumble grumble grumble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

I saw Zero Dark Thirty over the weekend.

I was annoying because I kept saying 'OMG DO YOU THINK THEY'LL FIND HIM? WHAT HAPPENS IF THEY DO AND THEY KILL HIM?!?!'

Luckily it was just me and the OH watching it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭LenaClaire

I found some cool photos of my grandpa's fighter group and his plane from WWII on-line. I am happy to have found them but it is making me sad cause I really miss him :o:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

AC3 is taking fecking ages to install and I'm getting bored. Listening to the Sweeney Todd soundtrack and trying to be patient. In other news, I've decided to buy this dress for my cousin's Christening. Any thoughts? I'll be wearing it with black leggings (as it's too cold to be flashing the flesh and I'm too lazy to wax my legs :pac: ), calf-lenght black leather boots and a black cardigan.

The dress is very very pretty McChubbin. I'm not sure how it would look with boots though. I'd imagine it's a bit long for boots?

Then again, I'm thinking in short person terms, so we have slightly different rules than you normal height people :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,401 ✭✭✭✭x Purple Pawprints x

OMG she sounds like a twat WS.. :o

Back from WW. No loss or gain. Was sort of expecting it considering I got no exercise.

Well done! You've just had a ****ty week and managed not to put on weight.

Yeah I suppose that is true. Didn't overeat but I did eat bread and that's a downfall of mine. Plus, I just felt sh*te and I did no exercise.. Better get back to it tomorrow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,420 ✭✭✭✭SueBoom

Yeah I suppose that is true. Didn't overeat but I did eat bread and that's a downfall of mine. Plus, I just felt sh*te and I did no exercise.. Better get back to it tomorrow.

I hear ya on the bread front. It's a b*tch but soooo good!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 4,644 Mod ✭✭✭✭Daisies

Congrats Das and ellieh.

I've just spent the last hour downloading reference articles for a research proposal that I now have to read and grade. Blegh!

SueBoom wrote: »
    I hear ya on the bread front. It's a b*tch but soooo good!

Yeah it is.. I'm gonna try have bread only one day per week from now on.

There's no way I could manage that!

I think I could. :) Breakfast on a Saturday - toast and marmalade. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,565 ✭✭✭Cerulean Chicken

I love bread, it doesn't really have any ill effects for me, probably because I only eat wholemeal/wholegrain bread. But anyways, I decided to give it up for a while, I've gone from eating a slice for breakfast 5 days a week and toast and sandwiches a good few other times in a week to not eating at all. I've eaten bread twice since the 1 of January, both times because I was in a restaurant with a few lovely slices for dipping in things. It's surprisingly easy without it!

Have you noticed many positives from not eating it?