Garda shot dead during robbery at Louth Credit Union(Mod warning, 1st post.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,521 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

Not necessarily. I can think of a couple republican murders where the car was recovered.

Shootings at Massarene Barracks for one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

According to Philip Boucher-Hayes on Twitter, Det. Donohue was supposed to appear on Crimecall tonight

https://twitter.com/boucherhayes/statuses/296240089598656512

• Site Banned Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭DB10

The car maybe recovered but usually the actual killers aren't. And anyway they are about 20 or more organised gangs in this state not to mention from abroad and the North. According to recent quotes from the Gardai. I'm sure if these thugs were beside the border dumping the car in South Armagh would be a great idea as it brings heat on Republicans which it has.

I have to say the situation is very fcuked. Shooting a guard in the head for no reason and very little monetary reward, is quite baffling even for the scummiest of thugs out there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭Red Pepper

There is I think more to this story and murder than meets the eye. Time will tell.

RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,891 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

Red Pepper wrote: »
    There is I think more to this story and murder than meets the eye. Time will tell.

RIP.

I thinks so too, and not the first time that the shooter has been in shoot-outs with gardai.

Time will tell .. time will tell

. And now we know that the car was stolen earlier in the week in Clogherhead Co Louth , and the Irish Independent is saying that the killer deliberately targetted the detective .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭Paddywiggum

RIP.
    I thinks so too, and not the first time that the shooter has been in shoot-outs with gardai.

. And now we know that the car was stolen earlier in the week in Clogherhead Co Louth , and the Irish Independent is saying that the killer deliberately targetted the detective .

would love to know where ye are getting this view from? all the information the the public domain points to a certain series of events, and i'm sure the Crimecall program tonight will confirm same.

it was a callous murder of a brave man protecting his community and nothing less.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Rte news are reporting that he wasn't supposed to be on duty that night, but had swapped shifts with a colleague.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

According to Philip Boucher-Hayes on Twitter, Det. Donohue was supposed to appear on Crimecall tonight

https://twitter.com/boucherhayes/statuses/296240089598656512

Christ almighty. I am right in understanding there will be an appeal over his death?

donvito99 wrote: »
    Christ almighty. I am right in understanding there will be an appeal over his death?

Yeah, a portion of the program is going to be dedicated to it. And Gardai will give a live appeal for information.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

RIP.

I read a report that he wasn't originally supposed to be on that run, that night.
    He was generously filling in for someone else who couldn't do it.

IF true, it would appear he lost his life not by pre-intentional motivation towards him previously - he lost his life sadly through the actions of a killer who more than likely would have also coldly shot anyone that had stepped out of the car, equally peaceful in action.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,873 ✭✭✭apache

terrible state of affairs. but unfortunately criminal scum are getting braver and braver. there is no deterrent. a total lack of respect for the law and for human life.

in the last 4 years (especially) i would say i have seen the world go mad. its just a new horrible breed that is emerging.

i doubt that very much. you shouldn't be saying that without knowing the full story. it was a planned crime on the credit union but the psychos got trigger happy. absolute scum who couldn't give a toss.

the killer didn't deliberately target the detective.

blame the court system and the liberal heart bleeders who allow these animals out with a high rack of convictions under their belt. the AGS is demorialised with the amount of mupperty going on. fair play to them of pulling out of the croke park talks last week. they are done.

apache wrote: »
    i doubt that very much. you shouldn't be saying that without knowing the full story. it was a planned crime on the credit union but the psychos got trigger happy. absolute scum who couldn't give a toss.

It's not the poster saying that, it's what is being reported by the Irish Independent

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/getaway-car-in-garda-murder-was-stolen-earlier-in-week-3369511.html

As an aside, Kenny has vowed that those responsible will serve 40 years in prison

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

blame the court system and the liberal heart bleeders who allow these animals out with a high rack of convictions under their belt. the AGS is demorialised with the amount of mupperty going on. fair play to them of pulling out of the croke park talks last week. they are done.

No,no,no!! Blame the scum who planned the raid and carried out the murder, blame is all theirs, don't even think of attempting to deflect the blame away from where it belongs!

It's not the poster saying that, it's what is being reported by the Irish Independent

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/getaway-car-in-garda-murder-was-stolen-earlier-in-week-3369511.html

As an aside, Kenny has vowed that those responsible will serve 40 years in prison
    oh ok. is that what the poster meant? i wouldn't care what the papers report or what enda kenny says or alan shatter. they are so far removed from the truth.

No,no,no!! Blame the scum who planned the raid and carried out the murder, blame is all theirs, don't even think of attempting to deflect the blame away from where it belongs!
    what does THIS mean??????

It means the blame lies with killers, not the courts,the politicans,or the the judiciary. The blame lies squarly with the bastrds who planned the raid and shot a Garda dead, the cowards.

yes of course it does!
    but if they are given time and time again to wrangle out of their crimes then the fault lies with the court and penal system. they should not even be around to commit this atrocious murder. they need discipline and boundaries. they are not getting this. they have learned to push it to the limit and stick their fingers up.

its all well and good saying they are to blame and you're right - they are but if they keep on getting leeway this is the result of that.

paramount to our justice system today is human rights which has gone too far. you only need to spend a week in our courts to know that.

if a ruthless psycho has been before the courts numerous times and keeps getting bail and suspended sentences and short terms of imprisonment it is only natural that he will push it.

and this is what we are at. no regard for human life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭repsol

When it suits politicians they claim they cannot interfere with sentencing,so I don't know how Kenny could make guarantees regarding sentencing.It would answer him better to ensure by legislation that ALL murderers serve 40 years plus not just killers of Gardai.
    I expect if they catch these cowards they will serve nothing close to 40 years because Ireland cannot deal with such criminals,if previous sentences are anything to go by.
    Shatter is trying to appear tough on crime yet he signed off on the repatriation of a foreign national who raped and murdered a woman in Longford,back to his country . He is playing to the gallery.

repsol wrote: »
    When it suits politicians they claim they cannot interfere with sentencing,so I don't know how Kenny could make guarantees regarding sentencing.It would answer him better to ensure by legislation that ALL murderers serve 40 years plus not just killers of Gardai.
    I expect if they catch these cowards they will serve nothing close to 40 years because Ireland cannot deal with such criminals,if previous sentences are anything to go by.
    Shatter is trying to appear tough on crime yet he signed off on the repatriation of a foreign national who raped and murdered a woman in Longford,back to his country . He is playing to the gallery.

This is a thread about a murdered Garda and local hero.
    The political rants and abusing of the thread to promote personal agendas is a disgrace!

I agree I think Shatter is playing to the gallery. Like all politicians, let no good tragedy go to waste, shower of B's. :mad:

Id love to see the members of AGS turn their backs tommorow when the Politicians show up at the funeral. Just little small peaceful gesture.

But I know it probably would not be the right place right time.. I just despise them all crawling out of the wood work with the same sound-bytes and cliches as always.

On a more positive note, great to see so many business's, local people looking out for the family. Businesses have been providing food for the wake and funeral.
    We are good people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭repsol

The political rants and abusing of the thread to promote personal agendas is a disgrace!

You are neither a moderator (perhaps a wannabe?) or the OP.I suggest if you dislike the way the thread is going, you stop reading it. You possibly have a few agendas of your own!

this is a public forum. it is an emotive issue. i don't think there is ranting here - only concerned individuals. maybe a mod could clarify?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭Fromthetrees

I really hope they catch the fela that pulled the trigger and he dies in jail. The others that were with him deserve the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Post removed.

i was there myself as am close to them. i wouldn't post the details on a public forum out of repect. i'm in bits but still i'm conscious this is not the place for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

i was there myself as am close to them. i wouldn't post the details on a public forum out of repect. i'm in bits but still i'm conscious this is not the place for it.

I don't really see anything wrong with posting this. I was proud of the way everyone was so together. I actually felt better leaving it than I was going to it.
    But if people think it's offensive or in bad taste I will remove it.

I don't really see anything wrong with posting this. I was proud of the way everyone was so together. I actually felt better leaving it than I was going to it.

I think you have given us a very great insight into how how so many good people have come together in so many ways to honour someone who was so clearly not only a local hero but a national inspiration.
    We do need to remember that the ordinary caring good folk far far outweigh the few scumbags in our midst.

No its not offensive or in bad taste but i don't think its the place for AH. Possibly I may be too close to this but I know his friends and family would not approve of his personal home life being posted on AH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,891 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

Great news from the Irish Times that the Gardai are set to arrest suspects .:
    Gardaí are hopeful they have gathered enough evidence to begin arresting suspects for the murder of Det Garda Adrian Donohoe in an armed robbery near his Co Louth home