Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off-Topic Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,575 ✭✭✭NTMK

Gbear wrote: »
    Are current gen consoles able to run at 1080p?

7 years is a long time in tech and 1080p will be looking pretty ****ty by comparison by the time 2020 rolls around.

they can but they're have to make alot of compromises most games are at 720p or lower current gen bf3 is 704p.

i think the next gen will only be about 5 years as the recession has delayed the next gen by 2-3 years

5 years would allow 4k to be affordable consumers. graphics tech will allow for 4k gaming output on low power gpus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,299 ✭✭✭✭BloodBath

Will the majority of people have better than 1080p 5 years from now?

The majority don't even have 1080 now.

4k tv's won't be reasonably priced or supported for at least 5 years anyway.

BloodBath wrote: »
    Will the majority of people have better than 1080p 5 years from now?

The majority don't even have 1080 now.

they probably wont but it was the same back in 05. consoles are a great way of pushing tv related tech.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭Squeaky the Squirrel

2m Gold Plated HDMI Cable

Monday special, very handy with the swivel head on 'em.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Random thing happened me today. Was in PC World, bought a Jeantech 250w PSU on clearance for 9.91 - or so I thought. When I opened the box at home, I discovered a very obviously used, extremely dusty, ancient 20pin Besttec PSU that I would estimate to be at least 8 years old. Baffling, irritating and really not good enough, but then I remembered a friend has an old 20pin-board Dell that we suspected had either a dead psu or board, but all my spares are 24pin, so we had just left it at the time. Put my 'brand new' Besttec into it, and voila, up and running again. Funny how things just work out sometimes.

Random thing happened me today. Was in PC World, bought a Jeantech 250w PSU on clearance for 9.91 - or so I thought. When I opened the box at home, I discovered a very obviously used, extremely dusty, ancient 20pin Besttec PSU that I would estimate to be at least 8 years old.
    Not funny how often I see people post similar stuff on PC World Forum.

New TVs with dust on 'em, if they'd bothered to clean it you wouldn't know it was a return...not good at all.

Not funny how often I see people post similar stuff on PC World Forum.

New TVs with dust on 'em, if they'd bothered to clean it you wouldn't know it was a return...not good at all.

Well, in this case, instead of a brand new 250W 24pin dual rail Jeantech PSU, I got an ancient Besttec 20pin PSU with a horrible, single 12v rail and high 3v - luckily it did work out as I had use for it, but for any sort of modern PC, it hasn't a hope. It could have been clean as a whistle and still would have been useless :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭indough

it wont take that long at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

I actually fired up my good old ps3, because i wanted to try out the new Dust514. I am an EVE player, so was looking forward to it.... Well to say the least i was shocked... i am not sure if it was running even 720p, because it looked and felt like crap.

A good bet is that if new gen consoles will be able to do 30fps at 1080p, then it is going to be a HUGE achievement.

No way 4k will be even near 5 years time as an affordable solution. We still cant make a full transition to 1080p and 1440p is still an issue. Keep in mind, it is for freaks like us "normal" 1080p and 1440p. for your average joe 1080p is still a future tech!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭VenomIreland

I actually fired up my good old ps3, because i wanted to try out the new Dust514. I am an EVE player, so was looking forward to it.... Well to say the least i was shocked... i am not sure if it was running even 720p, because it looked and felt like crap.

A good bet is that if new gen consoles will be able to do 30fps at 1080p, then it is going to be a HUGE achievement.

No way 4k will be even near 5 years time as an affordable solution. We still cant make a full transition to 1080p and 1440p is still an issue. Keep in mind, it is for freaks like us "normal" 1080p and 1440p. for your average joe 1080p is still a future tech!

I'm still waiting for CCP to put Dust on PC already.

I have to say it was such a crap looking thing. specially from CCP! Look at EVE?! if you are in to graphics, then this game is there to make your dick hard!

I love idea of it, the guts inside. buying load outs, contracts. Just putting it in dead ps3 old gen console was quite stupid. Hopefully it will jump on to new PS hardware with updated graphics.

indough wrote: »
    it wont take that long at all

Of course it will. It's not supported by anything at the moment and look at the price of 4k panels. 4k players are only starting to make an appearance and cost a fortune as well.

There won't be 4k movies widely supported, no next gen console supporting it, and most peoples net won't have the bandwidth to support online 4k content.

It will be at least 5 years. I'd say closer to 10 before it's as popular as 1080p is now.

Of course it will. It's not supported by anything at the moment and look at the price of 4k panels. 4k players are only starting to make an appearance and cost a fortune as well.

There won't be 4k movies widely supported, no next gen console supporting it, and most peoples net won't have the bandwidth to support online 4k content.

It will be at least 5 years. I'd say closer to 10 before it's as popular as 1080p is now.

there is already at least one 4k tv for around 6000 quid, it simply wont take 5 years for them to come down to an affordable price of say 1000 or less. 5 years is a very long time in the world of electronics and there is already a lot of work going into distributing the content, once they start pushing the technology it wont take long to be adopted just like full hd didnt. better than hd would already be somewhat adopted by the public if it wasnt for companies trying to push 3d but they seem to have copped on now thats a no-go. disagree as much as you like but within the next 2 and a half years we will see who was right

there are even 2.5k video cameras available right now for people to shoot their own content (at less than 3 grand), 4k prosumer will be within the next year or so

everyone i know has adopted 1080p long ago by the way, not many of them are exactly what you'd call tech people either

there is already at least one 4k tv for around 6000 quid, it simply wont take 5 years for them to come down to an affordable price of say 1000 or less. 5 years is a very long time in the world of electronics and there is already a lot of work going into distributing the content, once they start pushing the technology it wont take long to be adopted just like full hd didnt. better than hd would already be somewhat adopted by the public if it wasnt for companies trying to push 3d but they seem to have copped on now thats a no-go. disagree as much as you like but within the next 2 and a half years we will see who was right

there are even 2.5k video cameras available right now for people to shoot their own content (at less than 3 grand), 4k prosumer will be within the next year or so

everyone i know has adopted 1080p long ago by the way, not many of them are exactly what you'd call tech people either

Show me this 4k tv for 6 grand. Prices are closer to 20k at the moment.

The thing is, people had a good reason to upgrade from old analog boxy tv's to digital hd models. Will the hunger to go from 1080p to 4k be the same. I don't think it will, so adoption will be slower than 1080p, even if the price is right.

Show me this 4k tv for 6 grand. Prices are closer to 20k at the moment.

The thing is, people had a good reason to upgrade from old analog boxy tv's to digital hd models. Will the hunger to go from 1080p to 4k be the same. I don't think it will, so adoption will be slower than 1080p, even if the price is right.
    Hisense is selling a 4k unit for under $6,000. Do the math.

http://gizmodo.com/5953002/this-no+name-chinese-company-could-kick-sonys-4k-ass

so yeah, like i said they arent going to be unaffordable for another 5 years at all.

also internet distribution is not the only option here, check out redray and perhaps more importantly red's compression technology. also have a look at 4k by satellite distribution. netflix already moving to 4k streaming along with upgrades in internet infrastructure (at least in urban areas, just look at UPC). if that is not enough then there is upscaling. there are a number of factors here that you just haven't considered

remember also that in my original comment i never said a thing about these tvs being more popular with consumers, just that they will be affordable and there will be content and that it wont take 5 years to happen

http://gizmodo.com/5953002/this-no+name-chinese-company-could-kick-sonys-4k-ass

so yeah, like i said they arent going to be unaffordable for another 5 years at all.

also internet distribution is not the only option here, check out redray and perhaps more importantly red's compression technology. also have a look at 4k by satellite distribution. netflix already moving to 4k streaming along with upgrades in internet infrastructure (at least in urban areas, just look at UPC). if that is not enough then there is upscaling. there are a number of factors here that you just haven't considered

remember also that in my original comment i never said a thing about these tvs being more popular with consumers, just that they will be affordable and there will be content and that it wont take 5 years to happen

Chinese making one 4k yoke, does not mean in 5 years 4k will be as popular as chips in Ireland.

Keep in mind. We are talking about people who make money and dont care about nerds/geeks. They made HDready and then jumped to full HD. If you think they will jump to 4k right away, without even trying to milk people on 1440p, then you are mistaken.
    For a lot of people 1080p is still something to dream about. Even the new consoles are aiming to 1080p 30/60fps!!!

It is not profitable financially to give us 4k now. Chinise can make that one monitor, but it means feck all if its not going to be even supported by anyone.

Look at those current 4k panels. Those are all 50-80inch+++ TVs. Those are not made to be Detailed as feck, those are made to be able to be BIG as feck.

1440p and 2k are getting skipped for tv standards as broadcasters dont want to invest in tech that will be redundant in 5 years.

the reasons for the 50+ inch screens is that they havent been able to bin 4k screens reliably below that.

NHK in japan are planning to broadcast in 4K in july 2014 which is 2 years ahead of their schedule the US and Europe are way behind japan in terms of infrastructure.

Streaming is a no go unless you're lucky enough to have UPC which isnt available in many areas in the cities. Same goes for the US infrastructure it is crap. ISP have caps imposed and are dragging there heels when it comes to improving.

you can burn through 200GB watching 1080p streaming 4k with the new H.265 format would still double that

Did any of ye know that none of the Consoles are allowed on Sale in China!!!!:eek:

http://www.neowin.net/news/china-is-reviewing-game-console-ban-microsoft-looking-to-pounce

Did any of ye know that none of the Consoles are allowed on Sale in China!!!!:eek:

http://www.neowin.net/news/china-is-reviewing-game-console-ban-microsoft-looking-to-pounce

Im more shocked that you thought they wouldnt be banned

Its China

Alot of airsoft clones - decent quality replicas of high quality airsoft guns - come from China, there was a huge crackdown a while back, and some of the heads of the companies producing these replicas were actually executed! Rough country.

Just for making them? Nothing else?

Usually death sentence is for something serious, like the linolin in the milk few years back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Howd I miss that one, I really need to start checking back in with that board more regularly.

Hope JG are safe :P

Just for making them? Nothing else?

Usually death sentence is for something serious, like the linolin in the milk few years back.

Manufacturing firearm replicas is punishable by death in china. I suppose there's no debating that even JG/CYMA replicas, would be indistinguishable from real life firearms...yet still, they're basically 'toy's, hard to imagine such a severe penalty. Guess we're blessed living in the western world! This was 2009-10, by the way. Not all were executed, a lot of heads were jailed, but the companies seem to be back in action again.

It is quite ironic when all the consoles are made in chime, but all consoles are banned in there...

woot woot! Got ESB bill today!

297eu

woot woot! Got ESB bill today!

297eu
    Ouch, is that down from a higher one?

Mine is less than half that.

Ouch, is that down from a higher one?

Mine is less than half that.

Well, its not that bad i guess. when i add up all the stuff: 1pc with 3 monitors and 5.1. then other PC in dining room. 3ds, ps vita often recharged. Big telly with ps3 and xbox unplugged ( i unplugged it now as i rarely used them anyway ). Washing machine, dish washer, electric shower, cooker, electrical heater is always on when i am in my office, and i am always in my office. Plus we did not spent a penny on oil this year. all heating is from fireplace ( coal/brickets) and electric heaters where needed.

So i guess its not too bad.

and electric heaters where needed.
    Thats pretty much only difference between your use and mine, what type is it? Not a hot air one is it?

Oh and ive been replacing blown bulbs with led variants, can get 3watt ones equivalent to old 40watts now. Pricy though at 6 or 7 a pop.

25 year lifespan (25000 hours) though apparently.

Very bright for 40 watts.

well, i went threw my house and started playing aorund with electricity. I had my usual setup on: PC with 3 monitors, electrical heater full blast, plus other stuff on stand by, but not in use. The wheel spined like crazy!!! I think my setup is using as much power as heater lol!

You would be surprised how much electricity takes ****, which is on stand by! all consoles and TV is unplugged from now on, when mises is not at home from now on.
    I switched to oil heater this winter and i have to say it is quite **** heater. ( it was cheap in fairness ). Took ages to warm up and it losses heat almost instantly! Still not even near as much of heat as from small converter heater. which i can control a lot better too.