Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

HMV closing (again)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Banjaxed82 wrote: »
    The film bigwigs would sell their granny if it meant keeping a physical product on the shelves. The sooner they accept that film is going the same route as music, the better for all concerned. Obviously not for HMV workers, etc.

There may be more and more people downloading but there is still also demand for the physical product aswell from people like myself. I hate downloading films and would much rather own the blu ray.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,967 ✭✭✭Banjaxed82

There may be more and more people downloading but there is still also demand for the physical product aswell from people like myself. I hate downloading films and would much rather own the blu ray.

I agree. I much prefer having an actual tangible collection, but HMV and the likes can't to stay in business just to satisfy the demand of a minority that's decreasing by the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,491 ✭✭✭thebostoncrab

Banjaxed82 wrote: »

I agree. I much prefer having an actual tangible collection, but HMV and the likes can't to stay in business just to satisfy the demand of a minority that's decreasing by the year.

Actually the stats were posted in AH last week, the majority are buying physical copies of films and the minority are downloading

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,943 ✭✭✭McLoughlin

HMV closing and most other similar places has very little to do with downloading (legal and illegal) its down to the inability to compete with online retailers. The argument that downloading is ruining things is just over exaggerated

I remember from the late 80s to the early 00s with VHS and DVD constantly seeing films advertised in my local cinema or in magazines that never appeared on the shelf of my local shops. I would go in asked about these films they would try to order them in and most of the time after a few weeks nothing would turn up or a rather expensive copy would arrive (I can recall paying up to 40 punt for stuff)

Blackstar and Ebay were the first 2 places I started buying online and very rarely buy instore nowerdays. Xtravision used to be a great place for buying films as they were divided into genres an chances are you could find some gems but now al it sells is "Top 10" and "Ex Retail".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,510 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Actually the stats were posted in AH last week, the majority are buying physical copies of films and the minority are downloading

Then it's clearly not a representative sample, otherwise HMV would still be in business.

Did this survey ask were people buying their physical copies from bricks and mortar shops or online?

We may be slightly behind the curve, but it's the way it is heading. People were still buying VHS to record TV shows after DVD came out, it didn't mean that VHS was going to survive.

To be honest, I love physical copies too. Nothing beats unwrapping that cellophane for the first time and popping a disc into the DVD player. I held off on digital for a while because I didn't feel safe that someone else was in control of my movie/music collection, I wanted it in my hands in case society collapsed and I would have to ride out the apocalypse watching Game of Thrones.

But then I looked at a cupboard FULL of VHS tapes that aren't used anymore and I realised, even owning the physical copy doesn't mean an awful lot. How many people bought into the HD DVD side when it wasn't clear cut which format was going to survive?

I'm not going to even open any piracy can-of-worms here, but the industry needs to take note that when something like iTunes comes along and shows that people are happy to pay for something over pirating it (in my direct experience anyway), it completely blows away any idea that people are cheap and want to steal to save money. People mostly pirate because it gives them what they want quickly and easily (like iTunes), you don't have to jump through a whole load of hoops, create multiple accounts (Ultraviolet) or find that the music/movie you have purchased is difficult to access. Click-done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,709 ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

iTunes is looking more and more appealing everyday. However, I'm still reluctant to purchase from it due to the DRM and the way studios keep pulling or limiting content as part of exclusivity deals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 863 ✭✭✭GastroBoy

Sad to see them go, alway enjoyed having a look around the cd's and dvds.
    Most likely its the start of the end for such places, I cant imagine Xtra-Vision will be far behind, especially now that they have jacked up the price of a rental to 5 euro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,111 ✭✭✭Technocentral

Netflix has definitely cut into my DVD/Blu Ray buying, especially for tv shows like Cheers, Battlestar and Star Trek and also for films that I'll watch a few times but amn't crazy about. I still splash out on the odd Blu Rays of the really good ones if the extras really justify it.

GastroBoy wrote: »
    Sad to see them go, alway enjoyed having a look around the cd's and dvds.
    Most likely its the start of the end for such places, I cant imagine Xtra-Vision will be far behind, especially now that they have jacked up the price of a rental to 5 euro.

They are putting their rental prices up?! Commercial suicide in a recession, never mind in one where streaming and downloads are taking over, bizarre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 863 ✭✭✭GastroBoy

They are putting their rental prices up?! Commercial suicide in a recession, never mind in one where streaming and downloads are taking over, bizarre.

Yep, was a bit of a shocker alright. They are trying to force you to get the 3 movies for 3 nights thing, which is a tenner. But to be honest there is hardly ever 1 movie there you want to see let alone 3.

It is actually cheaper now, factoring petrol cost etc.., to get movies from UPC on demand, which is a shame as it was always a bit of craic going and picking up your movie

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,619 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

And here come the ripple effects :( From Third Window, one of the few remaining dedicated distributors of interesting, quality Asian releases.
    Due to the current uncertainty of HMV/FOPP/PLAY.COM/BLOCKBUSTER and the current mess of the UK entertainment market, we have to push back some of our 2013 releases.

Takashi Miike's FOR LOVE'S SAKE - will be pushed back to JUNE 10th

Kiyoshi Kurosawa's EYES OF THE SPIDER / SERPENT'S PATH will be moved to late summer. Release date TBC

VULGARIA will keep its April 15th release date

Everything else on hold.

We are in a very bad position, as is the UK market so please bear with us and please place your orders with AMAZON for now as they seem to be one of the only places that are going as usual.

Another kick in the arse for a small independent distributor that's already struggling, and another reason for fans of international cinema to despair. This is why I get frustrated by misconceptions like 'physical media is dead' - its the only way many of us can access the films we want to see with decent translations and transfers. The big studios will always overcome, but the less avenues available for niche, world and independent cinema the worse it is for those of us who want to enjoy and support a wider spectrum of film.

And here come the ripple effects :( From Third Window, one of the few remaining dedicated distributors of interesting, quality Asian releases.

Another kick in the arse for a small independent distributor that's already struggling, and another reason for fans of international cinema to despair. This is why I get frustrated by misconceptions like 'physical media is dead' - its the only way many of us can access the films we want to see with decent translations and transfers. The big studios will always overcome, but the less avenues available for niche, world and independent cinema the worse it is for those of us who want to enjoy and support a wider spectrum of film.

The good news is that HMV UK are safe with Hilco buying up their debt yesterday. With a decent restructure the majority of stores should remain open for the foreseeable future. The bad news is that HMV Ireland remains pretty much dead, with the news that the Irush stores may be liable for much of the UK debt the chances if HMV ever having a presence in Ireland is unlikely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,545 ✭✭✭Oafley Jones

That won't change for me till they manage to have decent downloads without artefacting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,255 ✭✭✭Renn

Netflix has definitely cut into my DVD/Blu Ray buying, especially for tv shows like Cheers, Battlestar and Star Trek and also for films that I'll watch a few times but amn't crazy about.

Were you ever really going to buy those boxsets?

Renn wrote: »
    Were you ever really going to buy those boxsets?

Yes, some examples: Had seasons 1,2,3, and 7 of Voyager was going to get the rest (sold them, extras not up to much anyway), all on Netflix, have all three seasons of original Trek, keeping them because of extras but watch the "HD" versions all on Netflix, have 1 to 6 of Cheers, was going to get rest (only on region 1) no need now as extras are minimal and all on Netflix, had the "Miniseries" of Battlestar and Season 1, all on Netflix etc, etc

BTw still buying Blu Rays when I love the film AND it has decent extras, recent example "Tinker, Tailor..." great extras on it too.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,619 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Interesting article from The Guardian here: http://www.guardian.co.uk/film/filmblog/2013/jan/25/hmv-british-indie-cinema?intcmp=ILCMUSTXT9387

Some industry insiders reflecting on how the dominance of supermarkets - which TBH are basically devoid of anything other than blockbusters and DTV-schlock - and Amazon puts both bigger and smaller distributors in a tight spot. Even if Amazon is responsible for 75% of sales, the hypothetical 25% loss from play, HMV etc... may be deciding percentage of a film breaking even or not.

Similarly, Deloitte's initial offer to suppliers added insult to injury: http://www.cueentertainment.com/suppliers-scorn-deloitte-offer-as-hilco-moves-in/

Interesting article from The Guardian here: http://www.guardian.co.uk/film/filmblog/2013/jan/25/hmv-british-indie-cinema?intcmp=ILCMUSTXT9387

Some industry insiders reflecting on how the dominance of supermarkets - which TBH are basically devoid of anything other than blockbusters and DTV-schlock - and Amazon puts both bigger and smaller distributors in a tight spot. Even if Amazon is responsible for 75% of sales, the hypothetical 25% loss from play, HMV etc... may be deciding percentage of a film breaking even or not.

Similarly, Deloitte's initial offer to suppliers added insult to injury: http://www.cueentertainment.com/suppliers-scorn-deloitte-offer-as-hilco-moves-in/

I'm surprised when people actually start believing that Deloitte are there to help the company survive. Make no mistake, they are there to get as much as they can fir themselves and for the bank. I know someone who had dealings with then after they took over a company and they went out of their way to sell off the company stock and machinery asap even though the company was in a great position to survive. If they see more profit for themselves in shutting HMV down then they will do their best to make sure those doors are shut sooner rather than later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

I'm surprised when people actually start believing that Deloitte are there to help the company survive. Make no mistake, they are there to get as much as they can fir themselves and for the bank. I know someone who had dealings with then after they took over a company and they went out of their way to sell off the company stock and machinery asap even though the company was in a great position to survive. If they see more profit for themselves in shutting HMV down then they will do their best to make sure those doors are shut sooner rather than later.

If the company has a reasonable chance of survival then the administrator has a duty to realise this. If however this eventuality appears impossible then the administrator has to maximise a return for the creditors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭wampyrus77

they even wont open their stores

i plenty which could they have sold before closed all their across ireland, what will happen stuff they didnt sell

HMV was good value for wii u games,

Gamestop charges about €69.99 for like of Call of Duty®: Black Ops 2 , 007 Legends, Assassins Creed III.

while in HMV they were €56.99 for like of Call of Duty®: Black Ops 2 , 007 Legends, Assassins Creed III.

HMV also vouches €5 discounts when u spend €35+ u get €5 of this purchase. I cant use these vouchers anymore.

HMV should have sold all their stuff before they closed down for good

• Closed Accounts Posts: 400 ✭✭Rafa1977

wampyrus77 wrote: »
    HMV should have sold all their stuff before they closed down for good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,255 ✭✭✭Renn

Mostly consignment stock, no?

Yup, a vast majority of stock is still owned by the suppliers. A closing down sale is extremely unlikely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,859 ✭✭✭delbertgrady

Irish Times, today:

Sixteen HMV Ireland stores will close permanently and 300 staff will be made redundant its receiver has confirmed. Deloitte head of restructuring services team David Carson said that the 16 shops closed prior to receivership will not reopen and all 300 staff who were previously placed on temporary lay-off will now be made redundant. All stores were loss-making and the receiver was unable to attract a purchaser. Carson cited web-based competition and high rents as adding to difficulties for the retailer.

:(

2025 Gigs and Events: Stuart Murdoch, Lyle Lovett, Stuart Murdoch, Wolf Alice, Camera Obscura, The Corrs/Imelda May/Natalie Imbruglia, Olivia Rodrigo, Iron Maiden, Neil Young/Van Morrison, Dua Lipa, Lana Del Rey, Weezer, Sparks (x2), The Doobie Brothers, Billie Eilish (x2), Oasis, Sharon Van Etten, The Human League/Blancmange, Deacon Blue/Turin Brakes, Gillian Welch and David Rawlings (x2), Nerina Pallot, Sleeper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,709 ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

I guess I won't have any reason to go down Grafton Street anymore. I'm going to really miss that store.

Balls :(:mad: I will seriously miss HMV. No more spur of the moment buying films, will have to plan watching a film about two weeks in advance :mad:, I don't do downloading or streaming films.

Golden Discs or Tower Records have a terrible selection compared to HMV and neither of them are even convenient.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,859 ✭✭✭delbertgrady

Just as one example, Tower didn't get in Untouchable on DVD: it was due to be in the shops on February 1st. Neither store had it. HMV would have had that racked up on their chart wall on the Friday morning, without question. It's only one example, but I'm sure there'll be others in the coming weeks.

There was an article on the future of mainstream music and DVD retail in Ireland in The Sunday Times at the weekend, and someone from Tower was making the point that their efforts to plug the gap in the market since HMV's demise won't always work - the example cited was that nobody bought any copies of the Justin Bieber album from them. I think that's very different from not getting in a few copies of a critically acclaimed, very popular foreign language film.

2025 Gigs and Events: Stuart Murdoch, Lyle Lovett, Stuart Murdoch, Wolf Alice, Camera Obscura, The Corrs/Imelda May/Natalie Imbruglia, Olivia Rodrigo, Iron Maiden, Neil Young/Van Morrison, Dua Lipa, Lana Del Rey, Weezer, Sparks (x2), The Doobie Brothers, Billie Eilish (x2), Oasis, Sharon Van Etten, The Human League/Blancmange, Deacon Blue/Turin Brakes, Gillian Welch and David Rawlings (x2), Nerina Pallot, Sleeper

Just as one example, Tower didn't get in Untouchable on DVD: it was due to be in the shops on February 1st. Neither store had it. HMV would have had that racked up on their chart wall on the Friday morning, without question. It's only one example, but I'm sure there'll be others in the coming weeks.

There was an article on the future of mainstream music and DVD retail in Ireland in The Sunday Times at the weekend, and someone from Tower was making the point that their efforts to plug the gap in the market since HMV's demise won't always work - the example cited was that nobody bought any copies of the Justin Bieber album from them. I think that's very different from not getting in a few copies of a critically acclaimed, very popular foreign language film.

For an other example the day after HMV closed I wnt to Tower Records looking for Lawless and Dredd on Blu Ray they had neither in fact they only had about twenty all really old blu rays, so decided id ring Golden Discs turns out they werent stocking Dredd at all in any of there stores and one store had Lawless and to even find one store that had Lawless I rang every Golden Discs in Dublin and one or two other close to Dublin. Xtra Vision had neither for sale either nor did Tescos all of which i rang a few store to find out.

Basically online is your only real option these days.

Balls :(:mad: I will seriously miss HMV. No more spur of the moment buying films, will have to plan watching a film about two weeks in advance :mad:, I don't do downloading or streaming films.

Golden Discs or Tower Records have a terrible selection compared to HMV and neither of them are even convenient.

I agree with you about downloading, but why are you against streaming? Netflix is excellent (approaching Blu Ray) quality and has loads of movies/tv.