Garda shot dead during robbery at Louth Credit Union(Mod warning, 1st post.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

I'd say the CSO is about as reliable as Mickey Mouse when it comes the crime stats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

The tread is about a Garda cold bloodedly murdered, not crime stats.
    I have paid my condolences to the Gardas family, friends and collegues, I will now as I don't want to a part of derailing the thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

I don't mean this to be a defence of any sort for these people but from listening to the reports on this it's seems to me that Det. Donohue may have been unlucky enough to come up against somebody who was unstable.
    It's a crazy and unwarranted thing to do, even among crims - to shoot a law officer down at point blank range. And if reports are right, he hadn't even drawn his gun.
    The crim might be in as much trouble with his mates than he is with the state and us.
    17 years is a long, long time between deaths, the onus on government should be to make sure this doen't happen again. I honestly don't think bringing more guns onto the street is the way to do it.
    RIP again to Det. Donohue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,356 ✭✭✭MakeEmLaugh

Do people suspect this is the work of the Continuity IRA or Real IRA?

Several articles written about the shooting have mentioned Louth's proximity to the border with Northern Ireland, as well as the last shooting dead of a Garda being in Limerick in 1996, when Detective Garda Jerry McCabe was killed by the Provisional IRA.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭Fromthetrees

It's terribly sad news.

We need to reopen Spike island for crimes of this magnitude. Maybe our sentencing seems a little lax in this country at times but maybe we can bring in the possibility of certain crimes having no parole. If a Garda can be murdered while doing his job then what hope is there for any of us with scum like this left out in our society.

I made the point here less than a week ago that if we cut all of public sector pay than the Gardai should be exempt. It may be the wrong time to reiterate the point but the thought that teachers and train drivers are lumped in as part of the same pay negotiations as Garda pay really sticks in my throat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Several articles written about the shooting have mentioned Louth's proximity to the border with Northern Ireland, as well as the last shooting dead of a Garda being in Limerick in 1996, when Detective Garda Jerry McCabe was killed by the Provisional IRA.

It has been reported that the 2 people already arrested are from Dublin, so I don't know what Louth's proximity to the border has to do with anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 spoonfed

I'd bet they have previous, i just hope to fúck they wern't on TR or suspended sentences.

I hope they were, may mean something is actually done now about them being handed out so readily! It's a disgrace if it would have to come to this though for a change to be made.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Happyman42 wrote: »
    I don't mean this to be a defence of any sort for these people but from listening to the reports on this it's seems to me that Det. Donohue may have been unlucky enough to come up against somebody who was unstable.
    It's a crazy and unwarranted thing to do, even among crims - to shoot a law officer down at point blank range. And if reports are right, he hadn't even drawn his gun.
    The crim might be in as much trouble with his mates than he is with the state and us.
    17 years is a long, long time between deaths, the onus on government should be to make sure this doen't happen again. I honestly don't think bringing more guns onto the street is the way to do it.
    RIP again to Det. Donohue.

Unstable? Interesting. What are you basing this on? Attacking Gardai is not a crazy or unwarranted thing to do for criminals. It happens daily.

As to the issue of guns, there is no point arming Gardaí if you aren't prepared for them to shoot people and i don't think the general public is ready for that right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭Dymo

He was armed but was he properly trained in dealing with situations like this, it's very rare this happens but is there constant training for gardai to keep fresh or learn new techniques. He was gunned down in cold blood but why was he even in that situation and how did the scumbags even know he was a guard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭razorgil

ireland is currently the only euro state not actively training and recruiting police officers. even if recruitment were to start immediately, there would be no new gardai on the streets for almost two years. the government don't seem to care what happens in rural ireland. outside the pale doesn't matter it would seem. in twenty years they'll be setting up taskforces to establish why rural ireland has been deserted by the population. they can't see the wood for the trees. people don't feel safe in their own homes, and feel increasingly that they are being abandoned by the state. 60 miles to the nearest garda!? wtf, thats not security. how much worse does it have to get?...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,356 ✭✭✭MakeEmLaugh

It has been reported that the 2 people already arrested are from Dublin, so I don't know what Louth's proximity to the border has to do with anything.

I am just repeating what newspapers like The Guardian have written.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭conorhal

The tread is about a Garda cold bloodedly murdered, not crime stats.
    I have paid my condolences to the Gardas family, friends and collegues, I will now as I don't want to a part of derailing the thread.

reaching for the moral highgound to shut down a discussion is pretty cynical.

The thread is response to that crime, and what to do about it is a resonable response as is questioning the root causes of that crime and how it happened.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

spoonfed wrote: »
    I hope they were, may mean something is actually done now about them being handed out so readily! It's a disgrace if it would have to come to this though for a change to be made.

I think every Garda in the country knew that it would take an incident like this before any real change would happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭HondaSami

Dymo wrote: »
    He was armed but was he properly trained in dealing with situations like this, it's very rare this happens but is there constant training for gardai to keep fresh or learn new techniques. He was gunned down in cold blood but why was he even in that situation and how did the scumbags even know he was a guard.

Was there a situation? im sure he was properly trained in using firearms.
    He was in the situation because he was on duty doing his job when a fcuked up person shot him dead.
    Criminals know guards even if they are not in the squad car.

MagicSean wrote: »
    I think every Garda in the country knew that it would take an incident like this before any real change would happen.

Indeed, it was only in the wake of the murder of garda Gerry McCabe and Veronica Guerin that CAB was set up, which proved to be a very effective weapon against this breed of criminal, we can only hope that some similarly fresh thinking is brought to bare in the wake of this poor mans death.

MagicSean wrote: »
    Unstable? Interesting. What are you basing this on? Attacking Gardai is not a crazy or unwarranted thing to do for criminals. It happens daily.

As to the issue of guns, there is no point arming Gardaí if you aren't prepared for them to shoot people and i don't think the general public is ready for that right now.

Shooting a Garda at point blank range to the head with a shotgun is a crazy, unwarranted thing to do. Yes Garda are challenged and in some cases attacked daily. But I think something like this is extremely rare (17 years since a Garda died by firearm)

This Garda was armed, he obviously didn't feel the situation warranted drawing his weapon, which further convinces me that this was a rash and unstable act.

conorhal wrote: »
    Indeed, it was only in the wake of the murder of garda Gerry McCabe and Veronica Guerin that CAB was set up, which proved to be a very effective weapon against this breed of criminal, we can only hope that some similarly fresh thinking is brought to bare in the wake of this poor mans death.

I think rather than arming all garda, that a sustained, properly funded campaign by the likes of CAB is the way to go. Beat these guys by being more intelligent and make it impossible for them to capitalise on ill gotten gains.
    I think CAB was allowed to wind down to an extent, it was hugely effective at one time.

Shooting a Garda at point blank range to the head with a shotgun is a crazy, unwarranted thing to do. Yes Garda are challenged and in some cases attacked daily. But I think something like this is extremely rare (17 years since a Garda died by firearm)

This Garda was armed, he obviously didn't feel the situation warranted drawing his weapon, which further convinces me that this was a rash and unstable act.

This is the exact argument the defence will use if the perpetrator gets to court.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Dymo wrote: »

I've no idea how well trained AGS are.

In reply to what I highlighted, shots are regularly discharged at AGS and members of the public during armed robberies. Its not that often a member is murdered, which would suggest to me that their training is good.

Shots ARE NOT regularly discharged at army/garda escorts because they (army/garda escorts) pack a very heavy punch, which might suggest the police should be better armed, and more of them should be armed too.

I also believe that anyone found guilty of the murder of a member of the emergency services while on duty, ie a garda, a soldier, ambulance/firefighter, prisoner officer should never take a breath of free fresh air again.

catallus wrote: »
    This is the exact argument the defence will use if the perpetrator gets to court.

I'm not defending him/her at all for a moment. I am just saying that a kneejerk reaction to arm all garda is excessive.

I think rather than arming all garda, that a sustained, properly funded campaign by the likes of CAB is the way to go. Beat these guys by being more intelligent and make it impossible for them to capitalise on ill gotten gains.
    I think CAB was allowed to wind down to an extent, it was hugely effective at one time.

The problem is that specialist units like CAB are very expensive to run and require a lot of specialist staff, it's investigations take a long time, years in fact and and thousands of man hours. Typically such expensive units are the first to experience cuts and it has indeed been run down lately.

Sorry to keep harping on about stats and The Wire, but this is typically the issue that the show addresses. When policing becomes about stats it becomes about visibility and high arrest numbers, not quality policing. This means that few guards have the skills and training for quality police work.

The gangs unit of the guards has been similarly run down which means that it can no longer sit on criminal gangs 24/7 and there is a reluctance to use the new gangs legislation against criminals for some reason, probably because it would require spending a lot of money and time to build a case that risks a serious court challenge by the criminals, this of course would be embarrasing to the government, so they'd rather not persue that angle. it's high cost and potentally bad PR, and now we are seeing the results of this kind of poor decision making.

I know, but that's probably the way it's going to happen.

I don't think arming all Gardai is a good idea either. We could give them all tanks and guys would still try to rob stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭GRMA

Havent really seen anything to suggest it was yet tbh, more likely it was a regular criminal gang although dissident involvement cant be ruled out yet

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I totally agree.
    I will leave my political views on the matter for another time but simply say that the Gardi and intelligence service should be gaining resource support, not have it taken away from them.
    To do the latter is partly helping to put their very lives at risk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭Odysseus

Financially his family will be well looked after. But that no replacement for a lost husband and father.
    I cannot iterate my feelings for those who done this despicable act.

Will they? I remember one AGS member here posting about a family getting the bill for the State funeral of an AGS member?

Odysseus wrote: »
    Will they? I remember one AGS member here posting about a family getting the bill for the State funeral of an AGS member?

Seriously?.

Thats kinda f*cked up.

In the case of a soldier who dies in service his family are afforded a state funeral at no expense (to the family).

I'd have thought, and hope, its the same for a Garda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭Odysseus

Seriously?.

Thats kinda f*cked up.

In the case of a soldier who dies in service his family are afforded a state funeral at no expense (to the family).

I'd have thought, and hope, its the same for a Garda.

It came up in a discussion with on the ES forum a few years back. I don't know how correct it is; but I would trust that poster, so I don't really know to be honest.

Now money canot make up for what a family will go through at a time like this, but yeah, if correct it is fcuked up.

Odysseus wrote: »
    Now money canot make up for what a family will go through at a time like this, but yeah, if correct it is fcuked up.

I couldn't even begin to imagine what the family are going through.

I know how members of AGS are going through, as I've been through similar at the deaths of members of the defence forces at home and abroad.

I've no idea how well trained AGS are.

In reply to what I highlighted, shots are regularly discharged at AGS and members of the public during armed robberies. Its not that often a member is murdered, which would suggest to me that their training is good.

Shots ARE NOT regularly discharged at army/garda escorts because they (army/garda escorts) pack a very heavy punch, which might suggest the police should be better armed, and more of them should be armed too.

I also believe that anyone found guilty of the murder of a member of the emergency services while on duty, ie a garda, a soldier, ambulance/firefighter, prisoner officer should never take a breath of free fresh air again.

My dad happened to be around a couple of years ago when a couple of lads tried to rob a post office (not a transit situation) and the armed response unit were around the corner as well as a few Gardai not in uniform. Long story short, both the Gardai and the the would-be robbers fired shots on a busy street but no injuries and the Gardai messed up in the pursuit etc. and the perpetrators got off. This happened in Dundalk as well and was barely mentioned on the news. The **** that goes on is unbelievable and it's funny how few locals even know the extent of things that I hear about and I strongly doubt I know all of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

K-9 wrote: »
    Some people seem to forget unarmed officers of the Garda Siochana were gunned down by Republican heroes wielding guns, one or two shot in the back.

Did you unlock this thread , stick a dig in at the provies and then lock it again :confused: