Garda shot dead during robbery at Louth Credit Union(Mod warning, 1st post.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭GRMA

Why is it stupid these criminal scumbags who hide behind our flag need to be snuffed out once and for all

RIP to the garda and true servant of the Republic
    its stupid to want the SAS going around massacring people and to forget about civil liberties.

SAS hardly have a good record at that type of thing do they? Innocent people dont deserve to be murdered over this, as you are suggesting

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭HondaSami

Why is it stupid these criminal scumbags who hide behind our flag need to be snuffed out once and for all

Do you know who shot him or you just assuming who it was?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,098 ✭✭✭Stinicker

The blame lies squarley with the scum who shot him.
    disgusting to see posters using this mans death to promote a political agenda.:mad:
    There is no agenda here, but it is totally obvious that crime like this is experiencing a massive upsurge. This is not the fault of the Gardai but of coward politicians and judges. This man was one guard who was killed but look at all the other civilians who are being killed on a near daily basis and that's before considering other serious crime. It seems if you are a regular joe and do something minor you will get crucified but become a career criminal and the law will be firmly on your side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,457 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Has it been confirmed that dissident Republicans were behind it yet?

No matter what type of criminals were behind this I believe we have hit a tipping point with regards too gang crime in Ireland. The Gardai need to be funded to pursue these illegal enterprises in an extremely aggressive manner and the judges need to be told that sentences are put in place that are acting as a deterrent and not the revolving door scenario we have at the moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

Stinicker wrote: »
    There is no agenda here, but it is totally obvious that crime like this is experiencing a massive upsurge. This is not the fault of the Gardai but of coward politicians and judges. This man was one guard who was killed but look at all the other civilians who are being killed on a near daily basis and that's before considering other serious crime. It seems if you are a regular joe and do something minor you will get crucified but become a career criminal and the law will be firmly on your side.

The crime statistic show no upsurge in armed robberies.
    The murder rate is on the decline, and there is nowhere like the 300+ murders you are suggesting.
    Crimes like this murder are rare thankfully, and every lawful resource at the states disposal should be used to catch and convict the bástards who committed it, but it is no reason to exaggerate the actual truth about this type of crime.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,352 ✭✭✭gallag

Financially his family will be well looked after. But that no replacement for a lost husband and father.
    I cannot iterate my feelings for those who done this despicable act.
    Completely agree, and glad to here the family will be looked after, I know right now being pragmatic could seem like lacking understanding of the real issue but it would break my heart to think of his family having to move house, downsize car, take the kids out of clubs etc, the best way of honoring the guard would be for the state to carry on with his main job, looking after his family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

gandalf wrote: »

No matter what type of criminals were behind this I believe we have hit a tipping point with regards too gang crime in Ireland. The Gardai need to be funded to pursue these illegal enterprises in an extremely aggressive manner and the judges need to be told that sentences are put in place that are acting as a deterrent and not the revolving door scenario we have at the moment.

I believe people said we'd "hit a tipping point" back when that innocent plumber was shot dead when Marlo Hiland (I think) was murdered.

And again when Shane Geoghegan was murdered.

In fact, I'm willing to bet it was said when Veronica Guerin was killed.

Yet here we are.

Sorry if that sounds cynical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

Time to change the tide of gangland warfare in this country. A massive injection of cop on is needed in our justice system.

Pretty sure the murder of a police officer was the last crime for which the death penalty was abolished- that's how serious it should be taken.

RIP to the Garda, my thoughts are with his family at this awful time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭razorgil

wnolan1992 wrote: »
    I believe people said we'd "hit a tipping point" back when that innocent plumber was shot dead when Marlo Hiland (I think) was murdered.

And again when Shane Geoghegan was murdered.

In fact, I'm willing to bet it was said when Veronica Guerin was killed.

Yet here we are.

Sorry if that sounds cynical.

not cynical, but sadly true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

Undoubtedly the perpetrators will turn out to be described with that wonderful phrase "they were known to the authorities".
    That's typically how they get caught so fast, yes, and two of them have already been apprehended.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 415 ✭✭shampoosuicide

awful tragedy.

hope this doesn't sound insensitive but i've never really understood the argument (or idea, argument mightn't be the right word) that killing a guard is a more heinous crime than killing an innocent civilian. surely they're both the same level

awful tragedy.

hope this doesn't sound insensitive but i've never really understood the argument (or idea, argument mightn't be the right word) that killing a guard is a more heinous crime than killing an innocent civilian. surely they're both the same level

I think it depends on whether the person was killed because of the uniform or not, out of uniform a person is an ordinary citizen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭GalwayGuy2

Pretty sure the murder of a police officer was the last crime for which the death penalty was abolished- that's how serious it should be taken.

I don't want them to die. I want them to serve their time and, if they are dissident republicans, to put them atop a platter for the country to see how thin and baseless their ideals really are.

In other words, make them serve their time:P

Although, I don't think that a massive injection of guards is the way to go forward. I think we have more, percentage wise before the closures, guards than most European countries, but quite a useless prison system. It's more punishment than rehabilitation, but also there should be proper sentencing, and the sense that there will be instant (humane) retribution if you break the law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,545 ✭✭✭Hogzy

HondaSami wrote: »
    I think it depends on whether the person was killed because of the uniform or not, out of uniform a person is an ordinary citizen.

Not if the offender knew they were a garda or were reckless as such. I studied a case where a guy was fleeing a robbery and blindly shot behind him as he ran, he killed a garda and that was capital murder because of the offenders recklessness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,560 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

I hope that ALL the members of our government, as they sit there having their breakfast this morning and reading the reports on the death of a Garda by the bullet of these lowlifes, stop, and think, about how the government, by their short sighted cutbacks to AGS have and are slowly eroding the morale and strenght of the only thing standing between all out criminal anarchy and the protection of the state's citizens.
    I hope that recent past members of our governments who are drawing big fat pensions, which are far greater than a Garda salary, realise just how much of a drain on our country's economy they are causing, that we have to close Gatda stations and cut back on Garda numbers, training and equipment.
    I wonder WHEN the judicial system will grow up, grow some balls and deal with the criminal world with much harsher sentencing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,065 ✭✭✭WallyGUFC

Open up an island prison somewhere off the coast. Drop food to the thugs once a week. Let them sort themselves out. Might be the only way. System has to get tough on scum like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,299 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

**** civil liberties

let the Rangers and the SAS assassinate the lot of them north and south

And if they take you or a member of your family out by mistake?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,847 ✭✭✭bleg

K.Flyer wrote: »
    I hope that ALL the members of our government, as they sit there having their breakfast this morning and reading the reports on the death of a Garda by the bullet of these lowlifes, stop, and think, about how the government, by their short sighted cutbacks to AGS have and are slowly eroding the morale and strenght of the only thing standing between all out criminal anarchy and the protection of the state's citizens.

Ash here. That's a bit of a stretch now in fairness.

Using the death of one garda to justify wages or protect other people in the force is pretty reprehensible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭Briskit

Adrian was a big gentle giant of a man.

A kind caring husband, daddy, son, brother, uncle, godfather, garda, friend & individual.

The Donohoes are the epitamy of a Great Irish Family & they've been crushed by this grotesque, unbelievable, bizarre and unprecedented affair.

Leave the politics and the hate at the door folks...

Spread the love instead.

Still can't fathom what's happened

I'll miss ya buddy,

RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭Princess Zelda

To be honest, I have nothing really to say that hasn't already been said, but I'll try.

I have a lot of friends in An Garda Síochána, some of whom do have family, and I don't think any of them expect to not come home after a day/night's of work.

One Garda killed in the line of duty is one too many. RIP

Unfortunately it doesn't seem that harsh sentences actually work very well as a deterrent, look at america and their draconian three strikes rule in certain states

bleg wrote: »
    Ash here. That's a bit of a stretch now in fairness.

Using the death of one garda to justify wages or protect other people in the force is pretty reprehensible.

I agree with your point but.

If this government continue on the way they are they will be the cause of uproar on the streets, people cannot continue to take pay cuts in any job, it has to stop somewhere.
    Ministers should be taking a big reduction in pay themselves with all expenses abolished.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 309 ✭✭DwightSchrute1

GRMA wrote: »
    Unfortunately it doesn't seem that harsh sentences actually work very well as a deterrent, look at america and their draconian three strikes rule in certain states

What would you propose as a deterrent instead?

I dont think anything works as a deterrent for stuff like this.

It works for say fiddling your tax or not paying tv license etc ie stuff you'd be really tempted to do but wont cause you'd get in trouble

Murdering people is kinda different when it gets to the stage where someone does it I dont think they think about or care about the punishment no matter how many years jail it is.

deterrence is supposed to only be a part of what jail is about, its supposed to also be about rehabilitation but thats not the case

you dont just go doing serious crime one day after a lifetime of obeying the law, usually its a progressive thing starting off with minor stuff

when you see these people with lots of convictions doing more crimes its obvious that there is something wrong with the system and jail makes these people worse rather than helping rehabilitate them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

RIP.

Undoubtedly the perpetrators will turn out to be described with that wonderful phrase "they were known to the authorities".

I'll be more interested to hear if they were on bail/TR and how many previous they have.

MagicSean wrote: »
    I'll be more interested to hear if they were on bail/TR and how many previous they have.

I'd bet they have previous, i just hope to fúck they wern't on TR or suspended sentences.
    Condolences also to all Garda Donohoes collegues in AGS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,096 ✭✭✭conorhal

The crime statistic show no upsurge in armed robberies.
    The murder rate is on the decline, and there is nowhere like the 300+ murders you are suggesting.
    Crimes like this murder are rare thankfully, and every lawful resource at the states disposal should be used to catch and convict the bástards who committed it, but it is no reason to exaggerate the actual truth about this type of crime.

I'm with Dan Simons, creater of the The Wire when he said:

“you show me anything that depicts institutional progress in America, school test scores, crime stats, arrest reports, arrest stats, anything that a politician can run on, anything that somebody can get a promotion on. And as soon as you invent that statistical category, 50 people in that institution will be at work trying to figure out a way to make it look as if progress is actually occurring when actually no progress is.”

In other words, the statistics are juked, and as far as crime is concerned they are very much at odds with what most people can see on the streets.

Yes, when an awful crime like this gets comitted people can be prone to make wild statements and demands, I expect that, but what baffles me is the people like yourself that also come out of the woodwork, who are actually the different side to the exact same coin as the shriekers, the 'nothing to see here move along, keep calm and carry on' brigage that seem to go out of their way to to sound like government press officers (you're not a government press officer by any chance? That would be funny). I find their stubborn resistance to acknowloging the plainly obvious quite strange.

I remember my mum saying, around the time of Michael McDowell's well wide of the mark 'last sting of a dying wasp' speech, that if a murder happened down the country when she was growing up in the 50's that it would be the talk of the town for months. Can you even remeber the details of the third last murder that happened? The press are only still reporting on the gangland killing of 'that body in the woods guy' so it's fresh in my mind, but the one before that, what happended there again? For the life of me I can't remember because the body count rolls in with such a chilling monotony and regularity that it has merely become the talk of the day.

Something has gone very wrong with this state, we are deluding ourselves that the police have the necessary skills training or resources to deal with it. New thinking is needed on the problem and 'keep calm and carry on' is not the appropriate response any more.

dont forget there were much less people in the fifties

conorhal wrote: »
    I'm with Dan Simons, creater of the The Wire when he said:

“you show me anything that depicts institutional progress in America, school test scores, crime stats, arrest reports, arrest stats, anything that a politician can run on, anything that somebody can get a promotion on. And as soon as you invent that statistical category, 50 people in that institution will be at work trying to figure out a way to make it look as if progress is actually occurring when actually no progress is.”

In other words, the statistics are juked, and as far as crime is concerned they are very much at odds with what most people can see on the streets.

Yes, when an awful crime like this gets comitted people can be prone to make wild statements and demands, I expect that, but what baffles me is the people like yourself that also come out of the woodwork, who are actually the different side to the exact same coin as the shriekers, the 'nothing to see here move along, keep calm and carry on' brigage that seem to go out of their way to to sound like government press officers (you're not a government press officer by any chance? That would be funny).

I remember my mum saying, around the time of Michael McDowell's well wide of the mark 'last sting of a dying wasp' speech, that if a murder happened down the country when she was growing up in the 50's that it would be the talk of the town for months. Can you even remeber the details of the third last murder that happened? The press are only still reporting on the gangland killing of 'that body in the woods guy' so it's fresh in my mind, but the one before that, what happended there again? For the life of me I can't remember because the body count rolls in with such a chilling monotony and regularity that it has merely become the talk of the day.

Something has gone very wrong with this state, we are deluding ourselves that the police have the necessary skills training or resources to deal with it. New thinking is needed on the problem and 'keep calm and carry on' is not the appropriate response any more.

You have chosen to totally misrepresent just about everything that I said. Well done.
    When it comes to data and evidence I will go with the CSO over some fictional character in a US TV show everytime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,096 ✭✭✭conorhal

You have chosen to totally misrepresent just about everything that I said. Well done.
    When it comes to data and evidence I will go with the CSO over some fictional character in a US TV show everytime.

In other words, keep calm and carry on.... *cough*governmentpressofficer*cough* :pac:

BTW that was a quote from the creator not the show, he had previously worked as a Baltimore police detective and wrote the show with his co-creator, an ex teacher and crime reporter for the Baltimore sun, much of the show is an angry jibe at the way policing had become a stats game.