Masked gun man dies after being restrained by shop staff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,816 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Bummppd wrote: »
    Well then I say again.. I feel sorry for you and yours.

Don't feel sorry for me and mine, we're all law abiding people.:)
    Feel sorry for the victims of violent crime. Put them before the scumbags in this world, even if the scumbag is dead ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭Bummppd

A scumbag is a scumbag. Their disgusting vile creatures. They have little or no conscience. The sooner a system is put in place to control them the better. You know straight away by looking at a scumbag that they are a scumbag. They all have the same facial characteristics and act the same and act like complete and utter thugs.

Something needs to be done because people are doing these crimes because there willing to risk it for a suspended sentence. Only people with 20 previous convictions are getting long jail sentences these days. And when I mean long 2 years at most.

I totally agree that they should be punished, My problem lies with people saying that he deserved to die. They're insane.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,730 ✭✭✭Bullseye1

Its quite breathtaking that some people feel sorry for a person who enters a premises with a gun with an intention of robbing the place. What if it was your brother or son? What sort of question is that?

What if one of the innocent customers was one of your brother or son?

It's this logic which results in judges giving out suspended sentences. When will these people realise it is time to stop pussy footing around these people. It's time that civil society take back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,442 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Extinction wrote: »
    An armed robber puts a little or no value on his victims lives, why should he expect something more in return?

Had he shot anyone? all that is known is that he was willing to use something that looked like a gun to hold up a bookies.

For that some people decided to crush him to death and a load of people here applauded.

Honestly, people keep talking about criminals who put no value on human life, when all I can see are a group of people who value it even less.

galwayrush wrote: »
    Don't feel sorry for me and mine, we're all law abiding people.:)
    Feel sorry for the victims of violent crime. Put them before the scumbags in this world, even if the scumbag is dead ;)

To add those icons after that statement just proves that Yes you should be pitied.

Why don't you send his family a Mass card. Cry me a river.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,442 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

A scumbag is a scumbag. Their disgusting vile creatures. They have little or no conscience. The sooner a system is put in place to control them the better. You know straight away by looking at a scumbag that they are a scumbag. They all have the same facial characteristics and act the same and act like complete and utter thugs.

Something needs to be done because people are doing these crimes because there willing to risk it for a suspended sentence. Only people with 20 previous convictions are getting long jail sentences these days. And when I mean long 2 years at most.

Honestly I can't tell if your joking, KPMG girls dad, or actually that racist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,816 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

To add those icons after that statement just proves that Yes you should be pitied.

Wow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 409 ✭✭skyfall2012

Yakuza wrote: »
    I've already said on this thread that I didn't think he deserved to die, maybe he had a dodgy heart / health problems / choked on the gas mask he was wearing. I'm not going to speculate how he died. I am merely saying that your post referring to the character of the clients in the shop was (and I'm being generous here) irrelevant.

i was referring to this quote by another poster "Armed scumbag is dead, law abiding people he threatened are safe.
    My thoughts are with those poor decent people, hope they recover from their ordeal."

Who is to say the people in the shop were law abiding? If 'law abiding' is the premise put forward for justifying this man's death.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 745 ✭✭✭Extinction

So are you lowering yourself to his standards then?

I don't think so. I'm just not a believer in the kind of nonsense that has turned this country into a nanny state where sympathy for criminals has created a situation where armed violent criminals are free to harm members of the public.

Haha "Masked Man enters shop with gun..dies" I feel sorry for the guy.

"People in bookies must be criminals who is to say they are law abiding"

You couldn't make this stuff up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,377 ✭✭✭lightspeed

sfwcork wrote: »
    He didnt fire though? So your of the opinion that any robber should be shot?

Absolutely, Jesus christ why people have sympathy for armed criminals will always be a mystery to me.

If your willing to arm yourself with a gun and attempt to rob someone, you should be willing to take a bullet to the head.

ive no sympathy for this guy. If my son, father or brother was willing to rob someone at gunpoint i would feel the exact same.

Human beings who behave like animals dont have the right to be treated like human beings.

I don't think so. I'm just not a believer in the kind of nonsense that has turned this country into a nanny state where sympathy for criminals has created a situation where armed violent criminals are free to harm members of the public.

It's not like I'm saying I'm all for armed gunmen holding up innocent people, I just don't agree with people saying the man should die it's plainly ridiculous.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 107 ✭✭smellsfunny

Grayson wrote: »
    Honestly I can't tell if your joking, KPMG girls dad, or actually that racist.

I'm deadly serious, maybe I shouldn't have said if a person looks a certain away they are definitely a scumbag but all scumbags have the same characteristics and look about them. Some of the people that look this way mightn't be complete scumbags, but the scumbag is in em. Can you not tell by looking at a person who is a scumbag and who is not?

Grayson wrote: »
    Had he shot anyone? all that is known is that he was willing to use something that looked like a gun to hold up a bookies.

He didn't need to shoot anyone to cause severe long term damage to his victims. It is his own fault that he is dead.

You are all insane, I'm outta here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,533 ✭✭✭SV

Anyone who belives that the crime of armed robbery or theft is deserving of death has to be seriously out of touch with what justice is.

It's not like I'm saying I'm all for armed gunmen holding up innocent people, I just don't agree with people saying the man should die it's plainly ridiculous.

Its not like people are saying he should have getting the electric chair or anything. He put himself in a compromising situation, staff/customers feared for their own life. They did what they felt was necessary since they felt their life was in danger. He didn't deserve to die but brought it on himself and was his own fault.

He didn't deserve to die but brought it on himself and was his own fault.

You'd think everyone would agree with that, the issue is people here saying that he deserved to die and that it was a good thing.

absolutely ridiculous statements to be making.

SV wrote: »
    Anyone who belives that the crime of armed robbery or theft is deserving of death has to be seriously out of touch with what justice is.

Justice is out of touch with what people believe. Justice allows known violent criminals out on bail to commit more crime.

You'd think everyone would agree with that, the issue is people here saying that he deserved to die and that it was a good thing.

Everyone is not saying that. But you haven't condemned his act either and some people have questioned whether people in a bookies office are law abiding. Talk about flipping the coin.

There was a possible consequence for the armed robber and unfortunately for him he lost his life. He was not innocent. Bringing a gun to carry out a robbery is a serious step up from climbing through a window and robbing some jewels or cash. There is serious intent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Jason Todd

It appears he brought his death upon himself. Its his own fault, fine. Some would even say that's karma. But he went in there with the intention of criminal activity and should have been punished to the full extent of the law had he lived. We don't have the death penalty people, it's 2013 for **** sake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭ringadingding

Having been help up at gunpoint, I can tell you this.

Good fùcking riddance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭miller50841

I hate do gooders really do.

Seriously defending scum like that he armed himself and that was enough.

Think just for 1 minute.... how many lives this 1 thief/ thug/ scum bag has screwed up or changed, some people would never go back to work others may have no problem but please do not stand up for someone who would have no problem taking your life if you got in their way.

Cop on people times are changing yes times are hard but what gives anyone the right to rob, murder and injure etc.

I have no time for scum bags and I really mean that.

Justice is out of touch with what people believe. Justice allows known violent criminals out on bail to commit more crime.
    Jason Todd wrote: »
    It appears he brought his death upon himself. Its his own fault, fine. Some would even say that's karma. But he went in there with the intention of criminal activity and should have been punished to the full extent of the law had he lived. We don't have the death penalty people, it's 2013 for **** sake.

I would have liked to see him live to face up to his crimes and punished for them.

His punishment would never have been death.
    This type of attitude that he was deserving of it belongs in countries where the death penalty exists.
    I, for one, am delighted it doesn't exist here.

I just don't understand how someone can equate his crime to anywhere near deserving death.

I hate do gooders really do.

Seriously defending scum like that he armed himself and that was enough.

Think just for 1 minute.... how many lives this 1 thief/ thug/ scum bag has screwed up or changed, some people would never go back to work others may have no problem but please do not stand up for someone who would have no problem taking your life if you got in their way.

Cop on people times are changing yes times are hard but what gives anyone the right to rob, murder and injure etc.

I have no time for scum bags and I really mean that.

I think you're missing the point.

His crime was wrong and he should have been punished appropriately for it, however death was no the appropriate punishment and for that there's a few of us that are saying he didn't deserve to die.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭miller50841

I say shoot them all the scum bags.

I would have liked to see him live to face up to his crimes and punished for them

There is no punishment in Ireland, maybe a suspended sentence if no previous convictions or else a year in jail with 4 suspended or some bull **** like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 409 ✭✭skyfall2012

There is no punishment in Ireland, maybe a suspended sentence if no previous convictions or else a year in jail with 4 suspended or some bull **** like that.

So your saying lets take the law into our own hands and kill.

I would have liked to see him live to face up to his crimes and punished for them.

His punishment would never have been death.
    This type of attitude that he was deserving of it belongs in countries where the death penalty exists.
    I, for one, am delighted it doesn't exist here.

I just don't understand how someone can equate his crime to anywhere near deserving death.

And when he was finished his punishment he would be free to do it all over again. If it was this country he would probably be free to do it again while out on bail.