I staying in the new going out & are you happy to do it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,208 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Rabidlamb wrote: »
    I wanted to look big in front of the lads.
    Few strokes in the jacks before you hit the showers always works for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

20 quid for 3 hours work, I used get a fiver when I was her age.

"when you were her age", so I presume you are leaving a child to mind your kids while you go on the lash, great parenting there bud!
    €20 works out at a little over €2 per child per hour wwhich is misery and exploitive.:mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,202 ✭✭✭Rabidlamb

"when you were her age", so I presume you are leaving a child to mind your kids while you go on the lash, great parenting there bud!
    €20 works out at a little over €2 per child per hour wwhich is misery and exploitive.:mad:

How do you get through a day, seriously.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭April O Neill

BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    Not really, tonnes of old men drink in pubs

Of course they do! I meant noisy, "yoof" orientated pubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭Jazzzman

Instead you can Skype a mate in Norway & have a bottle of red together while catching up.
    yeah...I'll be down the pub if anyone is looking for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

gallag wrote: »
    A solid plan B, will try the duck tape first.

Anyone else have a man cave? It can be any space, I know a guy converted the downstairs toilet lol got a joiner friend to build a chair over the pot and shelvs etc. Every man needs a cave.

Let her have her own cave. I'm making one out of the boyf's other double room. It will have a sofa and a tv and an xbox and my wii. There is also enough space for a big desk and I'll finally have room to build my dream PC. It will also house my extensive wardrobe and a massive full-length mirror. My sound system and a mini-fridge for refreshments when the girls come over to pre-drink.

He has his PS3 and plasma downstairs for Fifa with the lads and I'll have my nerdcave for games and tunes and wine. Cohabitation bliss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Is not breathing the new breathing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

In my late teens / early twenties I was living at home and earning pretty good money. Used to go out every night to include clubbing 4-5 nights a week! :eek:

These days I've got a wife, mortgage, cars, bills, etc and life is very different. I now go out about twice a week to the local for a few beers but mostly drink at home. To be honest unless I'm going somewhere to hear a really good rock band I would rather hit the local early evening (6-9pm) and have a few with the lads then head home for dinner and a few more drinks together.

Thing is I don't miss 'the mad life' at all. Having the craic over a few beers is far better than roaring at each other over sh1te music while paying top dollar for your drinks and entrance to a club. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

I don't go to the pub that much anymore.

I'd much rather go out proper clubbing every now and again, whether it be here, or fly over to a friend in Kiddeminster, and train it down to Manchester.

Go to the pub now and again. I don't really have any self control when I go drinking. One pint, 2 pints, **** IT, TEQUILA! SHOTS! YOU HAVING A DRINK? G'WAN, HERE HAVE 7!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

On taxis, it depends on how much it is to get home. I always share a taxi with a friend who happens to live a mile or so away, cost 10quid each home from town(dublin). There is no way i'd pay 20quid home on my own in a taxi every Sat just to have a night out after forking out 5quid a pint in a late bar(that does not blast music thankfully). Taxi fares are not justifiable for a single occupant.

Who is screwing us for a night out? Publicans, brewers, govt taxes on that drink and the taxi fare as the taxis have a monopoly on late night transport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭rainbowdrop

My daughter gets €20 to mind a 4, 6 and 8 year old, she's happy to get it and I'm happy for her to babysit for that also.

Misery and exploitation would be working in a sweat shop all day, and her attitude is that babysitting is 'easy money'. The kids are being put to bed when she arrives, she might read them a story and then she gets to sit on the couch and watch TV/surf the web for a few hours.

I think €20 is pretty much the average nowadays, going by what my daughter and her friends say. The recession affected babysitters too......

How much do you pay your childminder when you go out Wiley? Maybe your the one getting fleeced:p

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,119 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Pubs ripped me off on Millenium Eve..I'm still bitter so I try to avoid them :cool:
    So yah staying in is the in thing.

My daughter gets €20 to mind a 4, 6 and 8 year old, she's happy to get it and I'm happy for her to babysit for that also.

Misery and exploitation would be working in a sweat shop all day, and her attitude is that babysitting is 'easy money'. The kids are being put to bed when she arrives, she might read them a story and then she gets to sit on the couch and watch TV/surf the web for a few hours.

I think €20 is pretty much the average nowadays, going by what my daughter and her friends say. The recession affected babysitters too......

How much do you pay your childminder when you go out Wiley? Maybe your the one getting fleeced:p

We use babysitters here in work, and they get €15 an hour!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Ilyana 2.0

I enjoy going out with the girls every now and again, or with himself and his friends. I am 21 after all! But I don't do it every week and I wouldn't want to.

Going out in Dublin costs a fortune because of taxis while drink is cheaper (in student-oriented clubs), whereas at home, taxis are cheaper but drinks promotions are rare. Six of one, half a dozen of the other really.

Then of course you're looking at queues for everything, entrance fees, drunken stupidity (on my part and others'), and the inevitable hangover.

I know students who would go out three or four nights a week. I can't afford that but even if I could, I wouldn't be bothered. Sometimes a night in with the boyfriend, a few beers and trash tv is the infinitely better option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

It really does depend on age and single or not.

When I was in a relationship I never wanted to go out at all really, why bother like? A few drinks in with herself and you'll get sex at the end of the night guaranteed.

Now I'm single I go out a bit more but I hate the entire scene.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭rainbowdrop

We use babysitters here in work, and they get €15 an hour!

Give her a job? :D

She 16 and babysit's for neighbours, so €20 is grand for her. Her friends would be the same, minding the children of friends/relatives that they know well.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

The game has been up for me for years, I've 3 kids under 5.
    The day has come where it's financial madness to go out:
    Babysitter €20
    Taxis €20
    3 hours = 6 drinks each = 12 x €5?? = €60
    So there's €100 spent for 6 pints where I can get 6 cans of Carlsberg & a bottle of wine for herself for less than €20.
    The publicans really have nothing to combat this & the reality is that they loose good customers for a decade or more once kids come along.

After a while you actually begin to prefer your new arrangement.
    Downloading, Netflix, Sky+, Youtube all mean that you can have the finest entertainment on hand, it's not like years ago if the Late Late was crap you were stuck with it.
    The thoughts of having to get dressed up, organise a lift, push & shove at a bar for over priced drink while having to shout over load music starts to sound like madness.
    Instead you can Skype a mate in Norway & have a bottle of red together while catching up.

It's not a rant against the pub trade it's just a realisation that not only am I gone temporarily, there's an increasing chance that outside big occasions I may never be back & that sits fine with me.
    Don't forget the obligatory drunken primate who wants to know 'what the fcuk are you lookin ah?'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,123 ✭✭✭KwackerJack

I have a nice car and a nice motorbike. 2 holidays a year and can buy all the treats I want..like my new xbox yesterday and I'm learning to fly :D Now that's saving a good lot and planning but it can be done.

Now when I was out on a regular basis I had none of the above...I was spending €200 over the weekend and when I look back I feel sick....Literally!!

I still go out but only once a month if even that. €200 is not a lot these days, but put that away in the credit union and you will soon see what you could have wasted on drink, babysitters, kebabs,taxi's etc.

If the average couple spends €200 every weekend that's €10,400
    a year :eek:

That's a nice used motor and 2 holidays or a Private Pilots Licence :cool:

I choose to have the nice things in life and sit in with a few bottles and I'm quiet happy with that.

Even if I had the money to go out every weekend I wouldn't bother.

Just look at any social network site and its all 'gonna get smashed,wasted pissed till I fall down' Yea well thats going to be an enjoyable night :rolleyes:

Maybe people don't remember that they spend all that money :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,123 ✭✭✭KwackerJack

A solid plan B, will try the duck tape first.

Anyone else have a man cave? It can be any space, I know a guy converted the downstairs toilet lol got a joiner friend to build a chair over the pot and shelvs etc. Every man needs a cave.

Well I have the Garage when the zx7r is sleeping....and the pc and Xbox is upstairs in the babys future room :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,417 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    Or you can go out and actually talk to people?

Overrated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

I don't think your obliged to have 6 drinks each. Might save some money there.

He wasn't saying it as a fixed amount. It was simply an example.

What are the going to do, sit and stare at a single drink for 3 hours? They may as well enjoy themselves whenever they do head out, especially if they're paying a babysitter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

Ireland could do with Wetherspoons where you don't have to break the bank for a half decent bit of grub and a few pints, some of their pubs are actually quite nice believe it or not.

A lot of folk who stay in are fed up with paying through the nose for over priced Heino ersatz lagers, smart arsed, smirking barmen who saunter over to their pal behind the bar and call you a dick after taking your order, the chances of being in the wrong place at the wrong time as regards trouble and the hassle of getting there and home.

Why not end the Nightclub culture by allowing pubs to close when they like, by all means have Nightclubs for those who are into them, like under 25's and Dance music aficionados, but treat us like adults or Belgians who are allowed to come and go as they wish.

Too many cabals and vested interests in Ireland as to how society functions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭UglyBolloxFace

mariaalice wrote: »
    My youngest went to coppers on Wednesday night and it was so packed that them make them wait until a few people left before they let them in.

Ah congrats on soon to becoming a grandparent :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,352 ✭✭✭gallag

dd972 wrote: »
    Ireland could do with Wetherspoons where you don't have to break the bank for a half decent bit of grub and a few pints, some of their pubs are actually quite nice believe it or not.
    The last time I was in witherspoons in Belfast a bottle of Jacobs creek for my wife was £6.00, and they do pints from £1.80. The problem is though at nights it can be ruff, cheep drink does attract undesirables.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

The last time I was in witherspoons in Belfast a bottle of Jacobs creek for my wife was £6.00, and they do pints from £1.80. The problem is though at nights it can be ruff, cheep drink does attract undesirables.

They're a bit of a curate's egg over here in the UK, a Spoon's in a crappy suburb or provincial town should be avoided like the plague, city centre one's though can be a different kettle of fish.

The last time Mrs. Sof was in a Wetherspoons, it was in Belfast.

She was with her mother, they were just out for a couple of drinks. She ordered a bottle of wine, the £6 one. The barman asked her if she wanted a straw!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭Choochtown

Absolutely nothing to do with age, sex, marriage, kids, cash, noise, etc.

If you are the sort of person who allows the above prevent you from going out and prefers a night imprinting the outline of your stationary body on your overused sofa whilst convincing yourself that going over the magical tenner barrier has really landed you a much smoother Chardonnay and "oh I don't think I've seen this one before, is Ben Stiller in it? Then I'm delighted you don't frequent the same establishments as me.

Give me unpredictability, never knowing what's going to happen or who you might meet over that anytime.

Does anyone know who got evicted from the Celeb Big Brother house last night?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭Huckster

Still reeling from €20 for the babysitter... Jaysus tits.
    Unless you popped out for 2 hours, expect her to reimburse herself by raiding your fridge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

When I was in a relationship I was all about staying in- we used to get blottoed watching a movie at home on a weekend. Would go out for friend's bdays or other occasions, but preferred to stay in and spend some time together (didn't live together).

But now I'm single I'm already antsy to get out and about as much as possible. I'm only 25, time to take back my social life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭Choochtown

It's actually ok to go out while your partner looks after the kids. It's also ok to meet and socialise with people (even people that you might not know too well or at all) and not try to shag them.

For people that like a tad more predictability in their lives it's also ok to scratch your arse at home trying to convince yourself that it will be worth sitting through the double volume TV3 adverts every 15 minutes to watch that hilarious Brit Romcom.

Mmmmmmm nice Pinot!