I staying in the new going out & are you happy to do it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,352 ✭✭✭naughtysmurf

Growing up in the 70's, the folks always made it out, usually for a nights dancing every week without fail, they also got away during the summer for two weeks without the kids (3 of us left with cousins) but doubt if they were dropping the equivelent punts / euro for a night out that we would now

Got to the stage now that I couldn't be arsed going out, can't justify the overall cost either, happy to get the kids into bed and be my own barman

At a guess, get out about 6 times a year but would tend to go for a meal followed by a few beers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,675 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Rabidlamb wrote: »
    The game has been up for me for years, I've 3 kids under 5.
    The day has come where it's financial madness to go out:
    Babysitter €20
    Taxis €20
    3 hours = 6 drinks each = 12 x €5?? = €60
    So there's €100 spent for 6 pints where I can get 6 cans of Carlsberg & a bottle of wine for herself for less than €20.
    The publicans really have nothing to combat this & the reality is that they loose good customers for a decade or more once kids come along.

After a while you actually begin to prefer your new arrangement.
    Downloading, Netflix, Sky+, Youtube all mean that you can have the finest entertainment on hand, it's not like years ago if the Late Late was crap you were stuck with it.
    The thoughts of having to get dressed up, organise a lift, push & shove at a bar for over priced drink while having to shout over load music starts to sound like madness.
    Instead you can Skype a mate in Norway & have a bottle of red together while catching up.

It's not a rant against the pub trade it's just a realisation that not only am I gone temporarily, there's an increasing chance that outside big occasions I may never be back & that sits fine with me.

Sorry OP but publicans have nothing to do with your rant.

Your old now, you should not be out in pubs anyway, thats a young mans game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭April O Neill

Stheno wrote: »
    Can't stand the noise in a lot of pubs at the weekends anymore.

A DEFINITE sign of age! :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

A DEFINITE sign of age! :pac:

Not really, tonnes of old men drink in pubs

ArtyC wrote: »
    and naked Mondays with the oh!

The full day?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,202 ✭✭✭Rabidlamb

The loud music thing came from studies which showed us drinking more when we are in an environment where we can't converse.
    Like putting extra salt on the cocktail sausages, we sup more.

This is why I see more couples going for a meal out instead of the pub these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

Game over oul lad, enjoy playing Hungry Hungry Hippos or whatever the 2000's equivalent is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,401 ✭✭✭lukesmom

Happy to stay in. I don't miss the endless ques for taxis, entrance fees, over priced drink and same old faces.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭Steodonn

I go out the odd time. Never pay more than €3:50 a pint you just got to a keep an eye out for places doing deals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,675 ✭✭✭✭listermint

The loud music thing came from studies which showed us drinking more when we are in an environment where we can't converse.
    Like putting extra salt on the cocktail sausages, we sup more.

This is why I see more couples going for a meal out instead of the pub these days.

In you're age group.

OP in 'Peoples tastes and attitudes change as the get older' shocker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭SuperGrover

Kids, financials, shrinking social circle, all have me staying in more and more. At the weekend we'll leave dinner 'til after the kids are asleep, cook something nice, have a few drinks, watch a film or something.

Monday or Tuesday night is a few pints around the local with a couple of mates, sitting at the bar, talking shyte.

Works for me.

Don't really miss going out on the lash but that's probably an age thing. Used to love it. Can't be arsed any more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭Evenstevens

The day has come where it's financial madness to go out:
    Babysitter €20
    Taxis €20
    3 hours = 6 drinks each = 12 x €5?? = €60
    So there's €100 spent for 6 pints where I can get 6 cans of Carlsberg & a bottle of wine for herself for less than €20.
    The publicans really have nothing to combat this & the reality is that they loose good customers for a decade or more once kids come along.

Downloading, Netflix, Sky+, Youtube all mean that you can have the finest entertainment on hand, it's not like years ago if the Late Late was crap you were stuck with it.
    The thoughts of having to get dressed up, organise a lift, push & shove at a bar for over priced drink while having to shout over load music starts to sound like madness.
    Instead you can Skype a mate in Norway & have a bottle of red together while catching up.

It's not a rant against the pub trade it's just a realisation that not only am I gone temporarily, there's an increasing chance that outside big occasions I may never be back & that sits fine with me.

I don't think your obliged to have 6 drinks each. Might save some money there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭JohnnyChimpo

I don't think it really comes down to money/the cold/the noise/ the kids, whatever.

It's a pretty simple equation, if you need to get a ride, you'll find the cash to head out somewhere. If you have sex waiting for you at home then it's a whole different story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭hoodwinked

Game over oul lad, enjoy playing Hungry Hungry Hippos or whatever the 2000's equivalent is.

i have a three year old its still Hungry Hungry hippo's,

despite the game makers attempts at Monopoly junior and scrabble junior you get tired of them moving their piece where they want it or putting the word 'CAT' down for the 10th time and usually resort back to Hungry Hippos....:(

I don't think it really comes down to money/the cold/the noise/ the kids, whatever.

It's a pretty simple equation, if you need to get a ride, you'll find the cash to head out somewhere. If you have sex waiting for you at home then it's a whole different story.

A common misconception

I don't think your obliged to have 6 drinks each. Might save some money there.

Thanks Nora.

So now I'll have spent €80 & won't be even merry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,310 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

but doubt if they were dropping the equivelent punts / euro for a night out that we would now
    Depends how you look at it. On the one hand, you could get 4 Guinness and a bag of tayto and still get change from a tenner in the nineties, but on the other hand, £180 a week was a good wage back then, when there was no minimum wage and high unemployment.
    Stheno wrote: »
    Can't stand the noise in a lot of pubs at the weekends anymore.
    Find a pub with a covered heated smoking area. Stay there. Smokers tend to be usually calm (as they're smoking) and thus you don't get much trouble. Also, usually no noise, as the pub doesn't want noise complaints from nearby residents.

I thought all you young 'uns used POF nowadays for the ride.
    Some rough stuff on there mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭ITS_A_BADGER

Cant afford to go out coz im saving for september :( But saying that, i have a bottle of black rum ready for a couple of hot ones and the Tv sky+ and if i get fed up of that, good auld boards, where everybody know your name :)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 42,586 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

I find nowadays, the current generation (me included) who may have bought homes during the boom, the mortgage is the main payment and theres no such thing as "going out every Saturday to the local".

It is now a series of going from event to event, so say theres a christening in Febuary, you;ll save up for that and theres a 30th in March and you hop from these type of nights for the year.

I see my mates every week at football and in the gym twice a week too, so then we have a game of cards every now and again, and the going out bit just comes every month or two if theres something on. ie 30th/big Dublin game or something.

I remember growing up and my mam and dad would be in the local every Wednessday, Saturday and Sunday without fail!

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,464 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

I gave up drinking last year.. and now I go out more than I did before..

I live in a rural area and when I drank, I found the cost of taxis would confine us to the local watering holes/discos..

These days I love hitting the Town (Dublin), have a nice meal somewhere and then have our pick of the nice clubs in town to go to :D cherry on the cake then is driving home, no queuing for taxis or buses.. tis great :D

My drinking has nothing to do with sex. That's a strange idea you have right there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭RebelRed90

xzanti wrote: »
    I gave up drinking last year.. and now I go out more than I did before..

I live in a rural area and when I drank, I found the cost of taxis would confine us to the local watering holes/discos..

These days I love hitting the Town (Dublin), have a nice meal somewhere and then have our pick of the nice clubs in town to go to :D cherry on the cake then is driving home, no queuing for taxis or buses.. tis great :D

Fair play. Ive only ever gone out once on the dry, couldnt hack it and went home after 2 hours.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,352 ✭✭✭gallag

I have not been out since I built my man cave. Even got sky sports in it so I dont have to go to the pub for the footy and beer, wife still moans though, anyone have the solution to that?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 42,586 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

gallag wrote: »
    I have not been out since I built my man cave. Even got sky sports in it so I dont have to go to the pub for the footy and beer, wife still moans though, anyone have the solution to that?

http://t3.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRw4L7LcukxeYMni5fWj8SLUgy1bl7ZO2riadqyg6ruFF_6n2OIwA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,417 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

100% correct but you need to light the open fire with coal and logs and then you are sorted ;)

vicwatson wrote: »
    100% correct but you need to light the open fire with coal and logs and then you are sorted ;)

Or you can go out and actually talk to people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,796 ✭✭✭KungPao

gallag wrote: »

It's the only option I'm afraid :(

KungPao wrote: »
    A solid plan B, will try the duck tape first.

Anyone else have a man cave? It can be any space, I know a guy converted the downstairs toilet lol got a joiner friend to build a chair over the pot and shelvs etc. Every man needs a cave.